Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AR/tist in the spotlight: Netwerk Errer

• 12-03-2015 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

Thanks to Dubgal72 for taking questions for the week in what was a very interesting thread. Up next Netwerk Errer has kindly agreed to step into the spotlight. A relatively new poster here, he has brought a lot to the forum in his short time here. So, let's get started!

You ran as a junior, could you tell us a little about that?
    Why did you start running again?
    How did you find this forum?
    Where does your user name come from?
    Tell us one fact about yourself we might not know!

Thanks! Off we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hi Netwerk Errer

1. What is your choice as tracks most strenuous/difficult/tough event, excluding the decathlon, and maybe a reason why?

2. Your favorite sport to watch when it's at its best. Non T&F sport

3. Your favourite movie and why?

4. A challenge or thing thing to experience/do before you die. It's something achievable, you don't have to work hard for it. You get to do it. What is it?

5. If you could enact one law in society what would it be? Can be an existing law that you can tweak/amend, or a completely new law of your own development?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Excellent choice,

Favourite place to run/race?
    Are you a Kerry or Limerick man?
    Sporting hero?
    Thoughts on Munster Rugby if any?
    You mentioned you once worked part time as a green-keeper, do you play & McIlroy or Harrington, who has had more influence on the Irish game?
    Favourite training session?
    My obligitary last question, favourite beer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hi NE and great choice DG :)

How did you gain your running knowledge? You seem very well up on training theories and principles, philosophies, the science of running etc… I like how you question everything on the different debates and it leads to interesting discussions.
    Have you studied this or does it come from just a personal interest and reading about it?

What professional coaches influence your own ideas most?

Would you like to get into coaching yourself at some point or do you currently do any?

What’s your proudest running achievement to date?

What’s your favourite distance to race?

I think you said you did the marathon last year? Was that your first? If not, how many have you done and when will you do the next one?

Favourite alcoholic drink?

Do you get annoyed when people tell you you should stop smoking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Do you do any mobility or strength work? Stretching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

How many cigarettes did you smoke today? (just kidding, sorry couldn't resist).

Seriously, you have been quite open on your log about having had drug use problems in the past... can you share a bit more (whatever you're comfortable with) about how you got into over-using and how you managed to turn yourself around?

Apart from running, what other obsessions interests do you have at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Jayz all the good questions are gone already! Gona have to go away and steal other spotlight qs think laterally....

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Jayz all the good questions are gone already! Gona have to go away and steal other spotlight qs think laterally....

That's why I always get in first!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Netwerk_Errer

Thanks pconn and Dubgal!:) Great insight and answers from DG last week, Going to be a helluva an act to follow!

Interesting questions so far and I'll get around to answering them as best I can when I get home this evening.

Thanks folks!:)

Hey Pconn! Bloody hell, I'm nervous!

You ran as a junior, can you tell us a little about that?

Yeah, I started running at around 10 years old and like most young runners, my gateway into athletics was through school sports days and the community games. The community games was really the catalyst in igniting my desire to run and was my first taste of competition in athletics. The 600m was the distance of choice for me. Now, I don't know how the community games run the races anywhere else but around these here parts, 600m was 2 laps of a GAA pitch and the distance depended on how sober the linesman was and it was always a slugfest in the mud. That's where my first taste of success was, I won 2 county golds for the 600m in two years.

After my first county win, I got my first taste of road running at 11 over 10km. The primary school kids used to always raise money for charity and take part in the local 10k. I didn't go to the same school as them but that wasn't go stop me, I knew them all really well anyway. I ended up winning the little primary school age race we had going on by a long way. After that, I was hooked on road running and ran another 4-5 road races until age 13, probably most notably, finishing 2nd overall in my hometown fun run twice, weak field but I that never bothered me back then.

Unfortunately, my days of junior running were short lived as other sports commitments took priority after that.

Why did you start running again?

Really, even long after I had given up and lost interest in playing every other sport, I still had this underlying sense of desire and unfinished business with running, I wanted to know how good I could be. But like a lot of teenagers, I was more concerned in impressing my mates with lightweight drinking achievements and mischief.

I hit an ultimate low point in my early twenties where I had to do something and make a life decision, that was the perfect doorway back into running for me. I got to kill two birds with one stone, get back into a sport I loved and turn my life back in the right direction, win win situation.

How did you find this forum?

I think the first time I came across here was about a year ago, I was searching up on Renato Canova posts and found a thread by the TRR or T runner I think, but there was some cracking discussion going on.

I kinda started lurking a bit after that and found the sub-3 thread and I decided to throw my hat in the ring and join.

Where does your username come from?

Shamelessly stolen!:D I thought it was apt though. I've my fair share of blonde moments where the noggin goes blank and all the wrong things come out of my mouth. I don't mean it that way but I just fumble over my words.

Tell us one fact about yourself?

I have 3 guitars but I can't play:D

Hey Walshb!:)

What is your choice as tracks most strenuous/difficult/tough event, excluding the decathlon and maybe a reason why?

Guessing you want me to say the steeplechase;) I think it's definitely up there with the 400mH and the 800m and IMO, it's the toughest for both elites and club runners, probably more so for the club runner because they are moving slower. A flat 3k is difficult enough as it is but throw in 5 steeple jumps a lap and it's a completely different beast. The stop-start pace, the effort in hurdling, the impact on landing, pushing off the waterjump and the jaunty angle when you splash into it. It takes more effort to hurdle in the steeple than it does in the 400m because of the pace difference, you wouldn't have half the momentum. Picture yourself in your next 5k running the last 400m, the legs are wobbling, the air is like treacle, you still have to jump 5 3ft barriers to make it to the finish line and a faceplant is only a misplaced foot away. A beast of an event!

Speaking from experience of an event I have done, It's the 800m.

Your favorite sport to watch when it's at it's best, Non T+F sport.

When it's at it's best, definitely cycling, no doubt about. Been a huge fan since I was a kid. Nothing beats the excitement of a big mountain day in the giro or the TDF, anything can happen at anytime. The whole concept of the sport make it intriguing to me, it essentially an individual sport practiced by teams and that can make for some drama. It's like poker on wheels. The tight team tactics of the last few years have dulled the sport a little as you don't see as much attacking from 30k or near out anymore but on a day when it all comes together, it's cycling all day!

Your favourite movie and why?
    This is a tough one. It's close between a lot of them. The Dark Knight, Shawshank, Magnolia, Donnie Darko, Pulp fiction, Django unchained and Trainspotting.

I'm going to have to say Forrest Gump even barring the fact that it gave birth to one of the most annoying heckles ever for runners. The story was what hit home with me and how we set limitations on ourselves from our beliefs. Some brilliant scenes in the movie, classic cinema lines and the soundtrack was epic.

A challenge or thing to experience/do before you die, it's something achievable, you don't have to work for it. What is it?

Beat you in a debate!:D No seriously, living with a tribe, not headhunters or anything:) but a tribe like the Masai etc. I honestly love to get in touch with my survival instincts, that's if I have any but it would be amazing to see if I could cope and adapt.

If you could enact one law in society, what would it be?

This is going to be controversial. I was going to say decriminalise all controlled substances but the government beat me to it!:D I really think it's the way forward, prohibition doesn't work and if we don't learn from history, we're bound to repeat it. Drugs are a scourge on society and cause far more damage when illegal. It creates civil wars like no other, all you have to do is look at the Mexican border to see how damaging it is. The problems they create go far beyond addiction.

Excellent and interesting answers. I am with you on the cycling. I was a big fan of the Giro and TDF during the 80s and 90s. Lost touch after Lance retired. Got a bit boring I felt.

The 3 K you nailed it with your description. The 800 always gets mentioned, and I would argue it would win out in a poll question.

The survival thing with the Masai, wow, surprised me. Never even thought of something like that.

Thanks for those answers.

Hey tang!:)

Favourite place to run/race?

Definitely the DCM. I've had some of my toughest moments on that course but the support is just incredible. It's our national marathon too so it just towers above every other race I have run and there is a lot of local club history in the race. I love hearing the club masters stories about the race back in the early days and following in the footsteps of Irish sporting giants. It adds the whole experience for me.

Are you a Kerryman or a Limerick man?

100% Limerick born and breed.

Thoughts on Munster Rugby

It's been a long fall from grace. I feel there's a resurgence coming but I can't see past the big budget teams from France in Europe. Development squads will only get you so far and player wages are on the rise so it's always going to be difficult to compete with the likes of clermont who can buy at will. Rugby has moved on a lot since the group of lads from down the road and a few kiwis took down Biarritz in 2006. It's good to see the likes of Peter O Mahony commiting his future to Munster but I feel a lot of players will leave the Country over the next few years with the temptation of a fat paycheck looming across the channel.

You mentioned you worked as a greenkeeper, do you play & McIlroy or Harri? Who has had the most influence on Irish golf?

I play a bit nowadays, not that much. I used to play a lot from the age of 12 to 16 (4 days a week during the summer) and I got down to 11 but with work and everything after that, I left my membership expire and only play a few times a year and more like a 24 handicapper. Actually had to walk off the course the last summer because I'd no golfballs left:o.

Harrington or McIlroy? IMO, it's McIlroy, simply because he's the Tiger Woods of his era and every kid with an interest in sport knows who he is. That's undoubtedly going to lead to a massive boost in juvenile members which can only be good for the game.

For me, I'm always going to be a fan of Harrington. He always liked to make things difficult for himself but he set the tone on majors for GMac, Clarke and McIlroy to come. Harrington's win in Carnoustie is up there in my all time favourite sporting moments. Nailbiting stuff!

Favourite training session

3x2 miles @ 10k pace 10 days out from a race. Hit the effort comfortably and I know I'm in for a good day!:)

Favourite Beer

Rebel red. Beautiful craft beer. Knock your socks off!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

If you could punch anyone on Boards and get away with it, who'd it be?
    4 people from here you would have around for dinner, why and what would you ask them to bring with them?
    Could you survive without social media?
    Are you married?
    If yes how did you propose?
    What's the most romantic thing you've ever done?
    Savoury or sweet?
    How many bars of chocolate could you eat in one sitting?
    What would be your death row meal?
    What's your favourite race?
    Have you ever vomited before, during or after a race?
    Most embarrassing thing that's happened to you at training or during a race?
    What's your favourite training session?
    Which session do you tend to avoid the most?
    Who is your arch nemesis?
    What is your secret weapon in a race?
    In 10 words or less, who is Network Errer?
    What would your Patronus be?
    How many press ups can you do to fail?
    How long can you hold a plank to fail?
    How long can you hold a side plank leg raised after reading this? :D

How did you gain your running knowledge? You seem very well up on training theories and principles, philosophies, the science of running etc… I like how you question everything on the different debates and it leads to interesting discussions. Have you studied this or does it come from just a personal interest and reading about it?

Hey O!:)
    Really, I got alot of from reading letsrun. Posters like Canova, MPR, Malmo, John Kellogg, Henry Rono(megathread of his bumped today) OrvilleAtkins, Jack Daniels and loads more. I wouldn't say I know a lot but I think I have a decent grasp of the basics. It's always going to be a case of the more you learn, the more you realise how much you don't know. Sometimes I get ahead of myself and think I know more than I actually do.

I always like to like to question a person's perspective on their ideas. Ecoli especially:(, He's a vault of knowledge and IMO and a lot of other poster's, He's the best poster here and a guy you have to question to see his thinking behind it all. It's sad to see a guy of his quality go who puts so much time and effort into A/R and hopefully he'll be back again.

I haven't studied any form of training or coaching, it's all just an OCD thing.

What professional coaches influence your own ideas most?

If I was going to say anyone and he's not a professional coach, It would be George O Malley(Malmo)ex-American record holder in the steeple. He's a grumpy ol bloke at the best of times and trying to pull any sort of Information out of him is a disaster:eek: He's all about the zen of running and effort and so trying to get pace ranges out him is like trying to steal a banana from a thundering gorilla. But when you do, it's golden!:)

Really though, My training is bits and pieces of everything and anything stuck together with water soluble glue. It chops and changes with how I feel and what weaknesses I'm finding along the way.:)
    Would you like to get into coaching yourself at some point or do you currently do any?

Would love to! I'm pushing to get a place in Sport and exercise science and would love to eventually go down a coaching route. It's an incredibly rewarding type of career. You get to see a person progress, their character, and will to improve and you get to help others achieve their goals.:)

What’s your proudest running achievement to date?

The DCM 13. After a day of horror in Limerick that year where I blew up completely at 17 miles and walked most of the way to the finish line, I was determined that no matter how painful it got in the DCM, I was going to run the whole thing which I did. Came in battered and bruised at 3.15. A PB by 52 minutes. Pretty sure it took me another 3+ hours to climb the stairs that night.:)

What’s your favourite distance to race?

I'm torn on this one. It's between the half and the 800m. Two completely different challenges but equally as difficult to race to my best. I'm going to go with the half just because the lungs don't fancy the 800 with all the you know what;)

I think you said you did the marathon last year? Was that your first? If not, how many have you done and when will you do the next one?

Yeah, I done Dublin last year and it was my 3rd one. I was going for a sub 3 but that was gone after about 14 miles and my shot at a PB was gone around 20 miles due to a knee injury. I limped home to a 3:55.

Not a hope I am I going near the marathon for the foreseeable future. Everything is speed, speed and speed for the next couple of years.

Favourite alcoholic drink?

Answered above to tang. Although, I'm a sucker for a grey goose when I'm too baloobas to understand how much it costs

Do you get annoyed when people tell you you should stop smoking?

:D:p Sometimes!:) usually more when smokers are telling me to stop. A bit of badgering never goes astray though. Really, the only way to stop hearing it is to stop smoking. Then, it's my turn to tell people to stop.:)

IvoryTower wrote: »
    Do you do any mobility or strength work? Stretching?

Rarely do strength work, only during the winter. It's something I really should be doing more of but I hate the gym with a passion.

I do loads of stretching, 3 times a day for 15 minutes and do yoga postures and hip openers. I still use static stretching a lot but I focus more on dynamic stretches pre-workout. Here is a routine I've started using lately from Galen Rupp.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBPMx72PpAA

Also trying to incorporate this warmup into my pre workout and race days.

http://www.runningwritings.com/2014/09/getting-warm-up-right.html?m=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Do you listen to music when you run? If so what gets you MOVING?

Hey anna!:)

:D none today, it's only 5:30 yet though.

Seriously, you have been quite open on your log about having had drug use problems in the past... can you share a bit more (whatever you're comfortable with) about how you got into over-using and how you managed to turn yourself around?

Sure. It's going to be a long one though.:eek:

I first started to dabble in drugs when I was 14. We started hanging around with an older crowd of 16-17 year olds at the time. The better we got to know them and one thing lead to another and we started smoking dope together. Make no mistake, it wasn't pushed on us, it was our own choice and we happily accepted it. It started off as a weekly thing but that quickly changed. By the time I was 16, I was smoking it everyday. We used to sneak out the back at school every morning, lunchtime and evening to light up a spliff. Rather inevitably, I ended up dropping out of school when I turned 17 and got a job. As soon as I had money and wasn't living at home, I could do pretty much anything I wanted and I went full throttle. I quickly moved onto harder drugs like cocaine, ecstasy, acid, magic mushrooms, speed, ketamine and anything I could get my hands on a daily basis.

By the time I had hit 19, My head was starting to play tricks on me and I was becoming heavily paranoid and crumbling from inside. I knew deep down that something was wrong but I couldn't admit to myself what it was, I thought it was only a phase and I'd come out of it but that wasn't to be. I did have a mini ephinany around this time and sat my Leaving Cert and passed it but the situation only got worse for the next 2 years before I really started to take notice. I was coming to the revelation that my whole identity was tied up in that lifestyle and when I talked to people who weren't users, I had nothing to say. Every story from my life revolved around using, I had become completely one dimensional. I'd grown so ashamed of using that I felt guilty even telling a story from those years. I started to question who I was and who I'd become. It was the first time I questioned how I was living and where I was going in life. I'd lost nearly every friend bar one over the past two years and really didn't know what to do. I was lost! I had a full on mental crash and realisation.

I quit everything a few days later, July 27th 2011. The next few months were the hardest I ever went through and something I never ever want to experience again. The drugs had papered over the cracks for years and as soon as I quit using, all my demons came flowing out. In the five months that followed, I can count on both hands how many times I left my house. I had chronic panic attacks if I stepped outside the door and couldn't function around anyone, I was terrified of being judged and intensely self-conscious. On many occasions over those few months, I thought about ending it all.

I had to get my act together and find something I was passionate about, easier said than done as I had no motivation, no excitement and couldn't enjoy anything. I felt completely empty inside. The only embers left were my passion for running and a glint of hope that I could redeem myself. I had to set a plan of action in place that on January 1st, I would hit the road and see how I would get on. It worked, running was one of the only ways I could get out of the house, It was the only time where I didn't feel self-conscious or have crippling panic attacks. Obviously, because I found a way to get out, I ran everyday for the next 6 weeks. I might only have being doing a mile or two but that was enough, It was rebuilding my confidence. I finished my first race in 50 minutes and I was like poppa smurf coming down the finishing straight. Blue in the face and arms swinging all over the shop in celebration.I went on to run a few more races that year but ultimately I ended up slacking off in May and not running again until next year.

Knowing I could do it, I set the plan into motion again for Jan 1st and I'm still chippin away now. I was still in a rough spot going into 2013 but there was a lot more hope than I had felt in a long time. I was coming around but I was still incredible self conscious and terrified of been negatively judged around crowds and people in general. What kind of work does a person who has chronic anxiety around people and crowds do? I got a job in a bar:D It helped ginormously, I lifted myself to a place where I could walk out the door every morning and evening when I wanted to. I had to face my fear of being around crowds and people everyday and there's nothing quite like exposure to dull fear. I haven't had a major panic attack in over a year. Ultimately, A combination of running and a nervous breakdown got me off the stuff and heading in the back in the right direction:D I can laugh at irony of that now but it was a helluva a scary time in my life. Not quite the cheeky little scut I was before all of this but I'm actually half decently functional now........I think. Others might disagree:D

Apologies to anyone who actually read that , it's a little long but it does cover 11 years of my life. If Jordan can release a new autobiography of sh*te every 3 years, I didn't do too bad with the editing on this post.:)

Boards I do a lot of cycling when the weather clears up, mostly just leisure rides with no competitive aspect to it. Just joined a local club who are really just in it for the craic and the pints so it's all good.

Running takes up a lot of my energy so when I get home, I like to just veg out on the couch and watch the box or listen to some choons. Generally, just take it easy!:)

Sorry tang! Just noticed I missed your question on sporting hero.

Sporting Hero

There's so many I can think of for this, don't really have a sporting hero now but when I was younger, I had loads. Most of them didn't turnout to be great role models in the end, hhhnmmm.......Not sure if that says something about me.:D

There was Roy Keane, Tiger woods, Jan Ulrich, Ian Thorpe, Sonia, Mark Caroll Andy Cole, Peter Shmicheal. I even had a brief spell of fascination with Goran Ivanisevic..

My sporting hero was Ronaldo(el fenomeno, R9) he's the greatest player I've ever seen. His pace, skill, passing, acceleration, could shoot off both feet and used to make fools out of goalkeepers. He was just scintillating to watch and an absolute goal machine.

Without doubt a top 5 all time player. Could argue him as the most skilled man ever with a ball.

Great questions and answers so far NE, what a story. Kudos. Congratulations on getting and staying clean, it's a long hard road.

A few non-running questions to start with:

What's your favourite colour? :)

What was your favourite drug (I'm trying not to anticipate speed ;) ) and why?

How old are you (you can give an age range if you're shy :D )?*

Title for your autobiography?

What will your epitaph say?

And now some running stuff:

What's your go-to post race or hard session food?

Have you made up with your coach?

What's the hardest running target you have set yourself?

What's the time frame for it?

Ever considered ultra running?

*oops I'm guessing from the clues there, you're about 25?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭paddybarry

Hey anna!:)

:D none today, it's only 5:30 yet though.

Sure. It's going to be a long one though.:eek:

I first started to dabble in drugs when I was 14. We started hanging around with an older crowd of 16-17 year olds at the time. The better we got to know them and one thing lead to another and we started smoking dope together. Make no mistake, it wasn't pushed on us, it was our own choice and we happily accepted it. It started off as a weekly thing but that quickly changed. By the time I was 16, I was smoking it everyday. We used to sneak out the back at school every morning, lunchtime and evening to light up a spliff. Rather inevitably, I ended up dropping out of school when I turned 17 and got a job. As soon as I had money and wasn't living at home, I could do pretty much anything I wanted and I went full throttle. I quickly moved onto harder drugs like cocaine, ecstasy, acid, magic mushrooms, speed, ketamine and anything I could get my hands on a daily basis.

By the time I had hit 19, My head was starting to play tricks on me and I was becoming heavily paranoid and crumbling from inside. I knew deep down that something was wrong but I couldn't admit to myself what it was, I thought it was only a phase and I'd come out of it but that wasn't to be. I did have a mini ephinany around this time and sat my Leaving Cert and passed it but the situation only got worse for the next 2 years before I really started to take notice. I was coming to the revelation that my whole identity was tied up in that lifestyle and when I talked to people who weren't users, I had nothing to say. Every story from my life revolved around using, I had become completely one dimensional. I'd grown so ashamed of using that I felt guilty even telling a story from those years. I started to question who I was and who I'd become. It was the first time I questioned how I was living and where I was going in life. I'd lost nearly every friend bar one over the past two years and really didn't know what to do. I was lost! I had a full on mental crash and realisation.

I quit everything a few days later, July 27th 2011. The next few months were the hardest I ever went through and something I never ever want to experience again. The drugs had papered over the cracks for years and as soon as I quit using, all my demons came flowing out. In the five months that followed, I can count on both hands how many times I left my house. I had chronic panic attacks if I stepped outside the door and couldn't function around anyone, I was terrified of being judged and intensely self-conscious. On many occasions over those few months, I thought about ending it all.

I had to get my act together and find something I was passionate about, easier said than done as I had no motivation, no excitement and couldn't enjoy anything. I felt completely empty inside. The only embers left were my passion for running and a glint of hope that I could redeem myself. I had to set a plan of action in place that on January 1st, I would hit the road and see how I would get on. It worked, running was one of the only ways I could get out of the house, It was the only time where I didn't feel self-conscious or have crippling panic attacks. Obviously, because I found a way to get out, I ran everyday for the next 6 weeks. I might only have being doing a mile or two but that was enough, It was rebuilding my confidence. I finished my first race in 50 minutes and I was like poppa smurf coming down the finishing straight. Blue in the face and arms swinging all over the shop in celebration.I went on to run a few more races that year but ultimately I ended up slacking off in May and not running again until next year.

Knowing I could do it, I set the plan into motion again for Jan 1st and I'm still chippin away now. I was still in a rough spot going into 2013 but there was a lot more hope than I had felt in a long time. I was coming around but I was still incredible self conscious and terrified of been negatively judged around crowds and people in general. What kind of work does a person who has chronic anxiety around people and crowds do? I got a job in a bar:D It helped ginormously, I lifted myself to a place where I could walk out the door every morning and evening when I wanted to. I had to face my fear of being around crowds and people everyday and there's nothing quite like exposure to dull fear. I haven't had a major panic attack in over a year. Ultimately, A combination of running and a nervous breakdown got me off the stuff and heading in the back in the right direction:D I can laugh at irony of that now but it was a helluva a scary time in my life. Not quite the cheeky little scut I was before all of this but I'm actually half decently functional now........I think. Others might disagree:D

Apologies to anyone who actually read that , it's a little long but it does cover 11 years of my life. If Jordan can release a new autobiography of sh*te every 3 years, I didn't do too bad with the editing on this post.:)

Boards I do a lot of cycling when the weather clears up, mostly just leisure rides with no competitive aspect to it. Just joined a local club who are really just in it for the craic and the pints so it's all good.

Running takes up a lot of my energy so when I get home, I like to just veg out on the couch and watch the box or listen to some choons. Generally, just take it easy!:)
    Well done NE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Amazing story NE. Great to see how far you've come since the darkest days.
    A few cheeky fags doesn't seem like a big deal after reading that!
    You deserve a hell of a lot of respect for overcoming what you did.
    It's wonderful that you had running to help get you through it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I think we have a serious candidate for Post of the Year!

Amazing stuff, well done on your journey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

wow, that's an amazing story and thanks for your honesty, much respect indeed.

Question: what else, if anything, would have gotten you out of the house if not running?

how do you think you would cope now if you could no longer run?

what would you say to someone who says running is too hard and 'not for them'?

Favourite singer/band?

Hey CM!:)

Gotta be walshb! See if his defence still holds up.:)

4 people from here you would have around for dinner, why and what would you ask them to bring with them?

Whoever has the most booze!:)

Uhmm, not sure about what to bring.............Oh yeah, copious amounts of alcohol or a hoover. Both are welcome:)

Could you survive without social media?

Yep, don't Facebook and barely ever use twitter, only to catch up on soccer and athletics news.

Although, if whatsapp is social media, I'd be doomed without it!:eek:

Are you married?

Don't think so!

If yes how did you propose?

What's the most romantic thing you've ever done?

Close the toilet door!:D No seriously, I'm hopeless when it comes to romance. A surprise weekend away at a Mick Flannery gig last year was about the limit of my creativity.

Savoury or sweet?

Sweet

How many bars of chocolate could you eat in one sitting?

Haven't found my breaking point yet. Easily get through a party pack of fun size milky ways. How many chocolate bars are in a gallon of chocolate milk? That's the answer!:)

What would be your death row meal?

A rare fillet steak with peppercorn sauce, mushrooms, thick cut chips and side salad. A can of club orange to wash it down.

What's your favourite race?

^^^Answered to tang, the DCM is my favourite. The Adare 10k comes in second for sentimental reasons.:)

Have you ever vomited before, during or after a race?

Yeah, twice after races. My two best 10k's. The RunKillarney 10k and another in Tralee this year. I was holding on for dear life in both for the last kilometer but couldn't hold it in when I crossed the line.

Most embarrassing thing that's happened to you at training or during a race?

Definitely the Charleville half last year. Nature called about halfway through and I had to go, you know, no. 2:eek: I don't what I was thinking but I stopped at a house on the side of the road and knocked on the door. A woman answered and I asked her if I could use the toilet, she didn't let me and I had to call to her neighbour who did. Pretty embarrassing asking people you don't know if you can use their toilet:o

What's your favourite training session?

3x2 miles @ 10k pace 10 days out from the race. Great to session to see where you are. I love anything from mile repeats up. Anything shorter and I'm likely to faint.

Which session do you tend to avoid the most?

Long marathon paced long runs. I done 30k at marathon pace 3 weeks before the DCM last year. An absolute beast of a session! But I don't like long runs that finish at marathon pace. I find it ballbreaking to have to pick up the pace when I've already run 14-15 miles.

Who is your arch nemesis?

Anyone who passes me in a race.

What is your secret weapon in a race?

Finishing speed. I've got a pretty strong kick compared to most people running similar times.

10 words or less, who is Network Errer?

Smoker, joker, midnight toker. Get my lovin on the run!:)

would your Patronus be?

I'll get back to you on this one. I'm none the wiser to what a patronus is after reading that.

How many press ups can you do to fail?

How long can you hold a plank to fail?

Just under 2 minutes.

How long can you hold a side plank leg raised after reading this? :D

A wobbly 46 seconds!:eek:

Hey Hannibal!:)

Do you listen to music when you run? If so what gets you MOVING?

I used to when I started back running but not anymore. I stopped after the death of my ipod in a running accident. It slipped out of my pocket and I caught it on the way down, not with my hands though, square on the foot and luanched it 40 yards down the road and destroyed it.

I always liked the A team tune!;) Mostly listened to folk music when running. Nice and relaxing and fitted in perfectly for a nice early morning run.:)

Gotta be walshb! See if his defence still holds up.:)

I should be disgusted, and offended, but comin' first in anything has to have some meaning. I'm gonna' look at this positively, Netwerk.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

A boy da kid!

Most inspirational Limerick sportsperson?

Cannabis - harmless relaxant or gateway drug?

Had you been partying the night before the Plassey 10k this year?

When & where will you go sub 3?

3 races on your bucket list?

Alcoholic drink of choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Both yourself and Dubgal72 should be applauded for having the courage to discuss issues that effect both of yeah in such a public, open and honest manner.

Since one of our mods seems to have been abducted or something I have only one question

Favorite Flavour of crisps ?

Great questions and answers so far NE, what a story. Kudos. Congratulations on getting and staying clean, it's a long hard road.

Hey DG! Thanks:)

A few non-running questions to start with:

What's your favourite colour? :)
    Red

What was your favourite drug (I'm trying not to anticipate speed ;) ) and why?

Ecstasy. The rush while on it is intense, negative thoughts and doubt don't exist. The feeling of well being and empathy is crazy. *runs out the door to get some. ......jk:) The negative effects are horrendous. The comedown is crippling, you're only hoping the grim reaper will knock on the door for the next two days.:eek:

How old are you (you can give an age range if you're shy :D )?*

Your on the ball, I'm 25 with the maturity of a 12 year old:)

Title for your autobiography?

Gotta be my log title, "the breaks even out in the long run" I think it really sums up everything that I've experienced. The high, the lows, roundabouts and everything in between. They are all part of the journey and play a significant role in getting where I want to be.

Other than that it would have to be,
    My life so far: A journey from rags to handtowels:)

What will your epitaph say?

I knew if I waited around long enough something like this would happen.

A George Bernhard Shaw classic.

And now some running stuff:

What's your go-to post race or hard session food?

Has to be chocolate milk. Sometimes, I wonder if I'm actually addicted to running or if I run as an excuse to chug down a gallon of chocolate milk. Not sure if it qualifies as a food though but It's the first thing I reach for after a good workout

Have you made up with your coach?

Yeah, We're starting to get along again now. Tbh, it was a stupid argument on a night out and we can both be stubborn when it comes down to it. To be fair to him, he wants to get the best out of everyone and he's as tough as nails.

He gets frustrated with me because he thinks I can do a lot better than I am which is probably true and I can see where he's coming from. I can be a pain in the hole at times. The air is clear now so I'm happy out. I never wanted to leave the club and definitely would've regretted it if I had.

What's the hardest running target you have set yourself?

Run the Fukuoka Marathon. Sounds simple on the face of it but outside of the Olympics and World Championships, It's the most difficult marathon in the world to qualify for. Usually the cut-off for applicants is a 2:40 marathon already in the bag. And you're not even safe during the race. A sweeper bus follows the field around, if the pace of any runner falls below 2.40 during it, they get pulled off the course. 2.39:59 would probably bag you last place.

What's the time frame for it?

It's a long-term goal but I feel it's within my reach if I put the effort in. I think it's possible that I can make it to that level in the next 6 years if all goes well. Some people might call it delusional but I can't see why it isn't possible. I feel it's in me to run that fast.

Ever considered ultra running?

Not a chance, The marathon is far enough for me and too long most of the time. As much of slagging ultrarunning gets around here, I've huge respect for those who go out and do it. It must take huge mental and physical strength to run those distances.

Even thinking back lately to when Enduro ran the spine race, I was thinking to myself, I've gone to bed and woke 5 times during that race:eek: That's incredible to think of.

Really, my focus is on getting faster at the shorter distances and I don't see myself ever running past 26.2 miles.

Thanks DG!:)

*oops I'm guessing from the clues there, you're about 25?

Thanks NE, loving the answers, going to reply properly tomorrow, zzzzs are calling now :)

wow, that's an amazing story and thanks for your honesty, much respect indeed.

Hey Firedance! Thanks:)

Question: what else, if anything, would have gotten you out of the house if not running?

I don't think there would've been anything else. When I used to try an go outside in any other situation, even if it was only 100m away from home, I'd get a feeling of intense panic and my first instinct was to leg it back into the house, it was the only place I felt safe.

I still don't know why I didn't have the same experience when I ran, I just didn't. I believe I would've relapsed or worse long before it even got to the point of finding something to get me out the door without running. It was the only motivator for me to push through the turmoil I was feeling for months before I even went out on my first run.

how do you think you would cope now if you could no longer run?

I'd be grand!:) I'm a lot stronger now and not lost anymore. Running was a starting point for me when I had nothing else but it's not the be all and end all for me now. I'd be pi**ed if I couldn't pursue my biggest passion but there's so many other things I want to experience and achieve in life now.

would you say to someone who says running is too hard and 'not for them'?

If the person wants to get into it but is finding it too difficult. It would be picture the goal and why they are putting in the hard yards when they feel like it's too hard or get discouraged, it's a sport of patience. If you push through the hard days now, better days are ahead and it gets easier.

If they just really don't like it, I think they have to find something else to do.

Favourite singer/band?

There's so many. Right now, I'm listening to a lot of Creedence Clearwater, Led Zep, Lumineers, Edward Sharpe & the magnetic zeros, the XX, Buffalo Springfield, Bon Iver and Alt J.

If I had to pick a favourite though, It's the Rolling Stones. Not many bands can claim to be still touring 50+ years after they formed. Amazing band and a miracle in itself that most of them are still alive.:)

Thanks!:)

A boy da kid!

A boy da the kid!:)

Most inspirational Limerick sportsperson?

For me, it has to be the man mountain that is Paul "Tacklemore" O Connell. A giant among men and a driving force in the success of Munster and Irish Rugby. Arguably between him and Neil Cusack for most world renowned Limerick sportsperson.Just alone, Learning to speak Afrikaans to take down South Africa's lineout in 2009 shows just how dedicated he was to winning. A brilliant leader and a class act to boot.

A special mention to Niall O Shaughnessy though. He was an idol of mine growing up. Born raised only a few doors up from my grandmothers and still spends a lot of time there. He ran in the 72 and 76 Olympics and was one of the best Irish milers ever. Only narrowly missed out on the indoor mile World record, he ran 3:55 that night which is still the under 23's national record.

Cannabis - harmless relaxant or gateway drug?

Semi-harmless relaxant in my opinion(1000 more harmless than alcohol. I think the gateway theory is flawed and it's all about the person's mindset and if for example, coke was more available than cannibis to people at a younger age, people would start using that first and the argument would be that it was a gateway drug. It's all about mindset and availability in my opinion.

you been partying the night before the Plassey 10k this year?

Haha!nabbed:D. Nah, Just a bit ring rusty! Only been on the lash once this so far this year. Funny to think I ran that same loop 3 times in a row just 15 or so weeks before at pretty much the same pace fairly comfortably.

When & where will you go sub 3?

It's a long way off yet, definitely another few years. I'd be confident of doing it this year if I was doing a marathon but I'm not. My coach and Joe talked some sense into me the evening of the DCM and advised me to focus on the shorter stuff for the next few years and by the time I throw my hat in the ring again, I should be well under 3. I'm not strong enough yet and every marathon I have done ended in injury. I can't see myself toeing the line of a marathon for at least another 3 years.

3 races on your bucket list?

^ Dubgal, the Fukuoka Marathon. Qualifying and running in a race of that quality would be class. Not many marathons where a 2:30 runner finishes towards the back of the field.

Carlsbad 5000, one of the fastest 5k's on the planet and huge race in the US that attracts some of the best athletes on the planet. Course record is something like 13:0x.

Addis Ababa 10k. The biggest race in Ethiopia.

Alcoholic drink of choice?

Answered to tang and Ososlo already. Mostly drink Heineken if I'm out and about in a pub. People are going to think I'm an alcoholic on top of everything else!:eek:

walshb wrote: »
    I should be disgusted, and offended, but comin' first in anything has to have some meaning. I'm gonna' look at this positively, Netwerk.:P

Haha! Took it on chin:)

Both yourself and Dubgal72 should be applauded for having the courage to discuss issues that effect both of yeah in such a public, open and honest manner.

Thanks Ger!:) I have to say fairplay to Dubgal. She lead the way and I'm not sure I would've shared as much had she not bared her soul last week.:)

Since one of our mods seems to have been abducted or something I have only one question

Chili Doritos all day!

Thanks Ger!:) I have to say fairplay to Dubgal. She lead the way and I'm not sure I would've shared as much had she not bared her soul last week.:)

Chili Doritos all day!
    Thanks, both of you. It's amazing how quiet the ghosts are once you release them :) It's also a testament to the A/R community here that we feel we have been able to, so again, thank you, everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Lake Biwa in Japan is even harder to qualify for than Fukuoka. Think you need around 2:30, and the race itself is brutal as the splits you need to reach to avoid getting kicked off the course start off hardest, and get slightly easier, to encourage those to go out hard in true Japanese Kamakaze style. A club mate of mine in Melbourne, who is Aussie of Japanese descent, ran 2:26 in Melbourne to qualify, then 2:28 in Lake Biwa. Google that race.

A few questions:

1) Mo Farah; in your heart of hearts, do you believe he is clean?

2) Have you ever considered trying sprinting?

3) What are your track and field PBs?

4) Sonia O'Sullivan or Katie Taylor? And why?

5) What 5 retired athletes would you invite for a night on the piss? (Two of these must be drug cheats). Explain your selection.

Lake Biwa in Japan is even harder to qualify for than Fukuoka. Think you need around 2:30, and the race itself is brutal as the splits you need to reach to avoid getting kicked off the course start off hardest, and get slightly easier, to encourage those to go out hard in true Japanese Kamakaze style. A club mate of mine in Melbourne, who is Aussie of Japanese descent, ran 2:26 in Melbourne to qualify, then 2:28 in Lake Biwa. Google that race.

Jaysus!:eek: you're setting the bar high. Will definitely check it out!:)

A few questions:

1) Mo Farah; in your heart of hearts, do you believe he is clean?

You're going get me banned!:eek:

Yep, I believe he is, call me naive but I do . I do have suspicions about what's actually happening in Oregon though and a lot of that stems from Salazar's past and pushing the limit of legal performance enhancers during his running career. I believe that NOP are doing the same thing and while legal, highly morally questionable. I kind of to laugh in disgust that Rupp's thyroid specialist has treated 27 Olympic medal winning athletes with Thyroid replacement therapy which isn't illegal with a TUE but the condition is a controversial one at best though as It only seems to occur in elite athletes and mainly elderly women.

I don't believe that Nike has overstepped the line because of the damage it would do to their brand if a doping scandal broke out and risk/reward isn't there in my opinion. Tbh, I wouldn't be surprised if Nike were losing money in funding the Oregon project.

I could very well be completely wrong but I give him the benefit of the doubt.

2) Have you ever considered trying sprinting?

Not yet, I'm shocking out of the blocks, I'm about as explosive as a lame calf. I do have pretty good top end speed so the 200/400 might be a good distance for me but I'd need a humongous amount of training to actually compete and I despise the gym. Distance running will always be my first love but I'm not adverse to jumping in sprint races for the craic but that's about all is. Might change my mind down the line but right, more than happy doing what I'm doing.:)

3) What are your track and field PBs?
    Haven't done much track running so there all over the shop.
    400m: 66s relay split, 71 straight 400
    800m: 2:24
    3000m: 10:45
    5000m: 20:04

Some serious work to be put into them this year.

4) Sonia O'Sullivan or Katie Taylor? And why?

Katie Taylor. It's impossible to argue with her dominance and class in the ring, she's an incredible athlete and multi-talented playing two sports at the very highest level. Her record and titles say it all. Sonia was a great athlete and her record does a lot talking but just on sheer dominance, I give Katie the nod and possibly the greatest Irish sportsperson ever.

5) What 5 retired athletes would you invite for a night on the piss? (Two of these must be drug cheats). Explain your selection.

Does Mike Powell count as retired!?:)

1. Rod "I just wanna drink beer and train like an animal" Dixon. A brilliant character and surely one to go on the lash with.

2. Alberto Salazar. get him baloobas and find what's going on in Oregon.

3. Neil Cusack. To meet and pick the mind of an Irish Boston marathon winner. Limerick man too and well able to handle a pint of stout from what I hear.

4. Cathal Lombard. Find out why in the hell someone with something to fall back on would sacrifice their integrity by doping.

5. Ben Johnson. Be interested to know how he felt about finally getting his hands on Olympic Gold only to have it stripped the next day. It obviously didn't stop him from doing it again but I'd like to know how he feels about it now

Thanks Chivito!:)

Katie Taylor. It's impossible to argue with her dominance and class in the ring, she's an incredible athlete and multi-talented playing two sports at the very highest level. Her record and titles say it all. Sonia was a great athlete and her record does a lot talking but just on sheer dominance, I give Katie the nod and possibly the greatest Irish sportsperson ever.

Thanks, Netwerk, for putting Chivito out of his misery. He tosses and turns at night thinking of this question....:D

Note: Netwerk is a T&F fan and aficionado. Not sure he has any grá for boxing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hi NE, very interesting thread.

1. Tell us more about that first ever race. What was it about it that drew you in?

2. Favourite Irish TV drama?

3. Tell us a joke.

4. Apart from on Boards, do you write?

Thanks. :)

Hey Murph!:)
    Hi NE, very interesting thread.

1. Tell us more about that first ever race. What was it about it that drew you in?

Long time ago, Find it difficult enough to write up a race report the evening after a race:D but I'll give it my best shot. The Community games and sports day was always a mahoosive deal back in the primary school days, beat everyone from in class and you were the dog's bollix for a year at least! We were only little kids but we talked a big game when it came to any sport.:)

My first proper race was the 600m community games. I'd already found out from little school races that it was a perfect distance for me, good mix of speed and distance. The race was nearly 2 laps of a GAA field and everyone used to run barefoot. All I can remember from the actual race is flat out sprinting at the start and front running from the off and collapsing flat on my face when I crossed the line(not much has changed:D) in first a few seconds ahead of 2nd. Proud as punch after that, I'd say I slept with the medal every night for the next month.:D still have it now.

http://i.imgur.com/rxiB3Q1b.jpg

I think the reason I got hooked was really down to my competitiveness, I was a fiery little scut and was able to release the fire in a positive way in running, The intensity and sense of being on the frontline was far more exciting than when I played soccer, golf, football or any other sport. I really enjoyed team sports but the idea of a race was and still is the essence of sport for me.

2. Favourite Irish TV drama?

Not the biggest fan of Irish produced drama but I have to go with the obvious one of Love/Hate. Gets a lot of criticism for tons of different reasons but for once, I have to say fair play to RTE for not watering it down. Some of it is difficult to watch and shocking but that's what drama is in my opinion. Unpredictable and gritty and that's what I look for in a drama.

3. Tell us a joke.

I'll keep it clean

A woman runs into a doctor’s office and says “doctor! doctor! You have to help me, Everywhere I touch on my body hurts!”

The doctor said, “Show me"

So the woman poked her ankle and screamed in agony. Then, she poked her knee and yelled OW. She poked her forehead and screamed again.

She was about to keep going when the doctor said, “That’s enough, let me think this over.” He thought for about a minute and said “I think I know what your problem is. "You broke your finger.”

4. Apart from on boards, do you write?

Bit and pieces in a diary I keep which is about the size of it, Hemingway is safe as I'm far from a literary master, more like a literal disaster when it comes to writing. It's actually the reason I was so apprehensive about doing this thread, I struggle to put my thoughts down expressively in writing. It gets lost in translation somewhere between the noggin and keystroke. Expressive writing is definitely a skill I would love to improve, a dying art form although there's a few masters hanging around here.:)

Thanks.

Thanks Murph!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Closed A/C ??

What the?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Pb's up to marathon?

Enjoyed Reading this, well done on everything!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭watercarrier

Very upsetting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Strange goings on around here methinks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Why did you close your account? :)

All the best man, hope your back in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Thanks NE for the honest and thoughtful answers here. I hope you'll be back again. The forum needs positive contributors like you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Closed thread.

Netwerk error, PM if you want it reopening.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

...and we're back.