If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Didn't have any badges on it anyway bar the GOLF badge, I don't think 1.4's were badged were they?

Yea, AFAIK 1.6 would be badged, 1.4 had no badge.
    I know that road very well (I travel on it every day) and there will be a bad accident there some day. There is simply too much traffic on that stretch of road to be funnelling traffic of that volume from two lanes into one lane - hence the traffic build up in the morning and evening times. The council really need to do something about it. I guess there is no money for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

cadaliac wrote: »
    I know that road very well (I travel on it every day) and there will be a bad accident there some day. There is simply too much traffic on that stretch of road to be funnelling traffic of that volume from two lanes into one lane - hence the traffic build up in the morning and evening times. The council really need to do something about it. I guess there is no money for that.

Tis grand at night but I know what you mean during the day, I remember coming down a few weeks ago and there was a broken down truck just past the garage, que's all the way back up the hill and down to Carrigaline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Mr pickles, do you recall where you acquire your led's? The ones you gave to me that didn't fit the 900? I've them in the focus and they look authentic. Compare that to the mondeo, they're very blueish, I prefer the ice white colour.

Also, is there any way of stopping the led's from dimming down and still glowing for a while after the lights are turned off. Did I read that resistors or something are needed?

Mr Mondy

Thank you for your query, the led's your seek are simply 39mm festoon led's, however i have taken the hassle out of looking so here is a lovely linky

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/2-x-39mm-Festoon-Bulb-3-SMD-LED-5050-C5w-Canbus-Warm-White-Interior-Light-VW-/251508928918?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3a8f19b196

Sir picklington of the shire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sir picklington of the shire

Indeed, thank you good sir. I shall proceed and purchase those post haste!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Indeed, thank you good sir. I shall proceed and purchase those post haste!

Jolly good!

Cut the arm off myself today in work, on a micras bonnet of all things, when the girl pointed it out which sounded somehting like this "omg your arm is bleeding omg etc" I had a monty python moment :D

Tis_But_A_Scratch_NEW_T_SHIRT_sand.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Didn't have any badges on it anyway bar the GOLF badge, I don't think 1.4's were badged were they?

Yep on the mk5 1.4 has no badge, 1.6 petrol just has 1.6 badge, early 1.9tdi have a 1.9 TDI badge late ones like mine just have TDI badge, 2.0 Tdi have a 2.0 tdi badge. The 2.0 SDI have no badge either. They are about 73bhp so about as slow as a 1.4. Although it is more likely to be a 1.4 as 2.0sdi are fairly rare here in Ireland I actually don't think they were sold new here just a few imported secondhand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

cadaliac wrote: »

I'd call that road a joke only for the amount of serious accidents that have happened on it. A port, and loads of pharma plants, and a big commuter town and a boreen to handle all the traffic. Travelled that way when things were booming - a giant queue to get down to ringaskiddy every morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Very nice Honda S2000 going around Thurles. Presuming the owner lives in Thurles as I've seen it alot around lately. Certainly the best example of one I've ever seen. (Yes I know, I should've taken a picture of it :p)

Also, seen MetzgerMeister's car yesterday. Cleanest car I've seen in a long time. Looks like it just rolled out of the showroom! Credit where credits due.

You probably saw it from a distance, up close it's in a right state :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

You probably saw it from a distance, up close it's in a right state :pac:

I love this :)

Lads I don't know if any of you follow it but in the BTCC opener this morning Aron Smith got himself a strong second!
    Nice to see what he does today yet and for the rest of the season!

Looks like it could be a great one!

YbFocus wrote: »
    I love this :)

Lads I don't know if any of you follow it but in the BTCC opener this morning Aron Smith got himself a strong second!
    Nice to see what he does today yet and for the rest of the season!

Looks like it could be a great one!

I never really watched BTCC but have such fond memories of playing TOCA, I should really start following it.

Christ man its epic! its the only proper paint swapping and proper dog fight type racing left!
    With an irish twist in it, it just gets better :)

Cian had another bike stolen, chap took a view that nobody else would!

Made a new video :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Downloaded boards.ie app for android.

I have no idea how to quote a post with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Argh are ye bledin serious, that's ****e. Vehicle theft needs to be bumped up to capital punishment levels if you ask me.

Cian's videos are absolutely hilarious though, fair play to him

Haha that's quality! Song choice was class!

Argh are ye bledin serious, that's ****e. Vehicle theft needs to be bumped up to capital punishment levels if you ask me.

Cian's videos are absolutely hilarious though, fair play to him

He's in an apartment block with an automated gate etc! Still cant hold onto them!!

He'll love to hear that about the video man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

He's in an apartment block with an automated gate etc! Still cant hold onto them!!

He'll love to hear that about the video man :)

Seriously every single one of those vlogs had me in stitches,

He reminds me of The Viper from Hardybucks the way he goes on, hope the vlogs keep up!

Seriously every single one of those vlogs had me in stitches,

He reminds me of The Viper from Hardybucks the way he goes on, hope the vlogs keep up!

He was offered some time in it as he knows one of the lads :)

Funny how the same feel washes off him :)

Second race in the BTCC won by 0.04 of a second!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    I have no idea how to quote a post with it.

Just tap the writing you want to quote and then tap the pen at the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Went to start the classic, battery was dead. I am getting a dab hand and swapping out the battery :pac: Going to get my mechanic to fit a isolator switch on the battery.

I have the very same problem with a Daf 65 CF, there is a drain on it and if left for a few hours both batteries are dead :mad:

So I have become very good at disconnecting the battery and not electrocuting myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Went out to drive to cars and coffee this morning and battery is dead, must have been in the car 10 years+, saw it was on its way out this last winter, need something bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

Cars and Coffee was interesting.

****e Coffee.
    But two DeTomaso Panteras.
    I didn't think there was even one of them yokes in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Christ man its epic! its the only proper paint swapping and proper dog fight type racing left!

You should check out the V8 Supercars series in Australia. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    You should check out the V8 Supercars series in Australia. ;)

Love it too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Love it too :)

There does be serious head to head battles in that series.

So I have a leak. A fuel leak. Fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

The road between Paris and Dijon is class, why anyone would take the motorway when you've got twisty roads all the way and the surface was like a race track.
    Bring on Milan tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The road between Paris and Dijon is class, why anyone would take the motorway when you've got twisty roads all the way and the surface was like a race track.
    Bring on Milan tomorrow.

I forgot about your trip did you and 166man take the 156 in the end or 166. How are you getting on so far ? Id imagine they are some roads to drive alright.