Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK reg vehicle not reregistered

• 09-03-2015 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭

I saw this vehicle in traffic today and it really annoyed me. The owner of this vehicle quite clearly is operating in Ireland and hasn't bothered to reregister this vehicle to an Irish plate (and thus pay the required taxes). They've had time to have the company details & phone number put on the vehicle, but haven't done the plate???

Who do I report this to?? Revenue ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Moved to motors

Please take the time to read the forum charter

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

It might be an international company trading in Ireland? I know Sky use UK registered vans in Ireland, the parent company being based in the UK. I assume there is a loophole in the instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

daheff wrote: »
    I saw this vehicle in traffic today and it really annoyed me. The owner of this vehicle quite clearly is operating in Ireland and hasn't bothered to reregister this vehicle to an Irish plate (and thus pay the required taxes). They've had time to have the company details & phone number put on the vehicle, but haven't done the plate???

How about you just mind your own business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

kona wrote: »
    How about you just mind your own business?

tis my business if I have to pay higher taxes because this chancer isn't paying his

It's not your business.

He's avoiding a illegal tax. Fair play to him. If your so hell Bent on policing the roads you should get a little notepad and go check every car you see for nct and tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

But this is not true in this case;)

He's avoiding a illegal tax.

how is it illegal?
    If your so hell Bent on policing the roads you should get a little notepad and go check every car you see for nct and tax.

so if I see somebody breaking the law your view is I should ignore it? What if its somebody after a hit & run incident...should I just go about my merry way and say 'Fair play to him' hes gotten away with that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,228 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Ring Revenue and ask them how much they will reduce your tax if you can get them his details.

Report back here with the amount. It might take you an hour or so to type all the zeros after the decimal point but it will be time well spent.

cnocbui wrote: »
    Ring Revenue and ask them how much they will reduce your tax if you can get them his details.

Report back here with the amount. It might take you an hour or so to type all the zeros after the decimal point but it will be time well spent.

will do...back in an hour or so :cool:

Seriously though, if he and his ilk paid their taxes we'd all have to pay less. Its not that nonpayers would be an addition to the pot. The pot is to pay for things...not run a profit as big as possible. Your & my share of the payment depends on how many people the cost has to be shared amongst, so the more people who fess up and pay the less we all collectively have to pay.

how is it illegal?

so if I see somebody breaking the law your view is I should ignore it? What if its somebody after a hit & run incident...should I just go about my merry way and say 'Fair play to him' hes gotten away with that one?

There's a difference between killing somebody and not paying vrt.

Your logic is flawed, you don't pay extra just because he isn't paying vrt.

There's millions wasted in this country, if your putting your keystone cop badge on you might want to look into where the waste is.

Vrt is a illegal tax under eu rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Seriously though, if he and his ilk paid their taxes we'd all have to pay less. Its not that nonpayers would be an addition to the pot. The pot is to pay for things...not run a profit as big as possible. Your & my share of the payment depends on how many people the cost has to be shared amongst, so the more people who fess up and pay the less we all collectively have to pay.

What if it's a UK business run within Ireland and the UK?

Does the same apply if we see Irish trucks over in the UK(of which there are many) that they should pay UK motor tax also?

vrt would be €50 anyway iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭durtybit

I think your smoking too much pot

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Vrt is a illegal tax under eu rules.

Why are we still paying it then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I have a similar question... there is an S class merc in our estate on Russian plates... has been for two years, driven daily. It annoys me slightly mainly as it is not taxed and possibly not insured as a result.

Why are we still paying it then?

Think the government is being fined but the fine is less that the vrt take.

wonski wrote: »
    vrt would be €50 anyway iirc.

But if the vehicle were registered on an Irish plate the owner would have to pay road tax and insure via an irish registered company (thus increasing the corporation tax that company would pay to the state)....and all those 50's add up too.

But if they don't have to then why would they complicate things for themselves?

There are foreign companies setting up businesses in Ireland to save on corporate tax, too.

That's how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

But did you not think that this van might belong to UK based company which just operate in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

They still have to register the vehicle in Ireland after a certain period IIRC, regardless of the parent company's location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,228 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Horse feathers. Governments take as much tax as they think they can get away with collecting. There is no amount to be collected - after which they give any extra back or reduce rates. Given Ireland's monumental debt, every cent they can collect would be going towards that - if they could even collect enough to finance current expenditure - which they can't.

If there was 100% compliance with every single tax, no one would pay so much as one cent less tax.

It's a bottomless pit - no matter how much get's thrown in it never fills up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

We brought a van in from England last year , the garage had sent the registration documents to the dvla and it took nearly 5 months to get them sorted so we could register it over here . As was said , maybe the op should mind his own business and be thankful he doesn't have anything more serious in his life to bother him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

Jebus good job you don't actually work for the Gardai or the revenue!
    You see a van with a non-irish plate and you think you are Columbo!

Maybe you should just wise up and cop yourself on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

They still have to register the vehicle in Ireland after a certain period IIRC, regardless of the parent company's location.

What if vehicle is constantly cruising between Ireland and UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Fatswaldo

I work for an Irish company, we pay our taxes in Ireland. We work in Ireland and UK. Because of the peaks and troughs in each business location, we can have UK registered vehicles operating in Ireland (and vise versa). Each 'foreign' vehicle can operate in the other jurisdiction for up to 12 months. Insurance is not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

He's avoiding a illegal tax.

It's not illegal. How could it be if the NCT are charging it? :confused:

CiniO wrote: »
    What if vehicle is constantly cruising between Ireland and UK?

That's a different scenario, I'm going to assume that because the van in question has been sign wrote to suggest it's permanently based in ROI, it doesn't leave the state to go to the UK.

If not, every company in ireland that was owned from abroad and had driver's on the road could get away with driving a foreign registered vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/vrt-guide.html
    In order to register an unregistered vehicle (or one previously registered outside the State) you must make an appointment with the NCTS within 7 days of its entry into the State to have a pre-registration examination of the vehicle carried out. You must complete the registration process and pay VRT at the NCTS Centre within 30 days of the arrival of the vehicle in the State.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

what if the van owner/driver is resident in the uk and here on short term basis for a contract and driving home at weekends. the sign writing can be a temp wrap.
    Too many scenarios where the op could be wrong, and if they are right its only a matter of time before they are stopped by the guards anyway. Best to keep your nose out op imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

That's a different scenario, I'm going to assume that because the van in question has been sign wrote to suggest it's permanently based in ROI, it doesn't leave the state to go to the UK.

If not, every company in ireland that was owned from abroad and had driver's on the road could get away with driving a foreign registered vehicle.

Why would you assume that? You have herd of Northern Ireland right?

Maybe I should report the a Donegal based bus service that does pick ups in Derry!

daveyeh wrote: »
    It's not illegal. How could it be if the NCT are charging it? :confused:

Don't get me started on the ncts.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_registration_tax_%28Ireland%29

mullingar wrote: »

Commercial Use

6. What conditions apply?

A motor vehicle which is owned by or registered in the name of a person established outside the State may be brought into the State for commercial purposes for a period not exceeding 12 months. The information contained in paragraphs 2, 3 and 5 above apply to commercial use. However, certain specific rules also apply.

Ok. :confused:

But its not illegal.

Why would you assume that? You have herd of Northern Ireland right?

Maybe I should report the a Donegal based bus service that does pick ups in Derry!

Maybe because it said "Dublin" in big black letters on the back, and had an 086 prefix number also.

As i said, just an assumption.

And if the bus is based in Donegal (i.e. in the ROI) and operates outside of the state, then it probably should be registered in Ireland so report away if you feel so inclined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

I'd definitely report him. It's another form of thievery.

Ok. :confused:

But its not illegal.

It is, your being taxed on goods you bought inside the eu.

Maybe because it said "Dublin" in big black letters on the back, and had an 086 prefix number also.

As i said, just an assumption.

And if the bus is based in Donegal (i.e. in the ROI) and operates outside of the state, then it probably should be registered in Ireland so report away if you feel so inclined.

It doesn't matter what is written on the back of the van.

Would it make any diefference if it was plain white?

What matters is what company is it registered to.
    It could be here for 1 year on UK plates legally.

It is, your being taxed on goods you bought inside the eu.

You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/faqs-vrt.html#question2

I thought VRT was illegal under EU law?

That is not the case.

Member States are entitled to charge national taxes provided that there is no discrimination against imported goods in favour of indigenous goods.

VRT is a national tax in Ireland and does not contravene EU law in that the VRT payable on the registration of an imported vehicle is equal to the amount of residual VRT contained in a similar vehicle already in the State.

You should report it to revenue OP.

Let them decide if he should be paying.

You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/faqs-vrt.html#question2

I thought VRT was illegal under EU law?

That is not the case.

Member States are entitled to charge national taxes provided that there is no discrimination against imported goods in favour of indigenous goods.

VRT is a national tax in Ireland and does not contravene EU law in that the VRT payable on the registration of an imported vehicle is equal to the amount of residual VRT contained in a similar vehicle already in the State.

I can understand it on new cars, on secondhand cars that's aload of bollox, residual vrt FFs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

10days from the date of entry to book a Vrt inspection and 30days to complete it.
    The Van could have been sign written in the UK on iit's way over mainly because it's less than half the price over there,it could have been on the way for Vrt when you saw it unless you have been looking at it for months in which case it could be a UK based company working here as said earlier.

There are a lot more serious crimes happening why not tackle them instead of picking pointless problems..

Seen as the van has Irish details and not UK it won't be long untill the gardai spot this and stop the vehicle more than likely impound it,all they need is the date you insured it and they know how ling it's been here

I can understand it on new cars, on secondhand cars that's aload of bollox, residual vrt FFs.

But it is not illegal (yet).

It is being challenged, but it is still there.

You not understanding it doesn't make it illegal.

People evading and avoiding tax means other people have to pay more tax to make up any shortfall.

I'd rather evaders had to pay instead of an increasing likelyhood of my taxes being increased.

It's common sense to inform on evaders.

wonski wrote: »
    But it is not illegal (yet).

It is being challenged, but it is still there.

Fair point, but back on topic, reporting somebody on a yellow plate is just abit too busybody for my liking.

Hope people like that never try bend a rule in their life, all they are doing is setting themselves up for a fall.

You not understanding it doesn't make it illegal.

People evading and avoiding tax means other people have to pay more tax to make up any shortfall.

I'd rather evaders had to pay instead of an increasing likelyhood of my taxes being increased.

It's common sense to inform on evaders.

It's a bottomless pit, do you believe taxes will fall if there's 100% compliance!?

I'd rather the op go and tackle the scumbags robbing a living on the dole their whole lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭td2008

Could somebody do me a favour and actually report me? :pac: I've been trying to re-register my uk car for the last month, rang the revenue about 5/6 times and they still haven't solved the issue. Seems to be a problem with the system since it was exported previously. :mad:

td2008 wrote: »
    Could somebody do me a favour and actually report me? :pac: I've been trying to re-register my uk car for the last month, rang the revenue about 5/6 times and they still haven't solved the issue. Seems to be a problem with the system since it was exported previously. :mad:

They are probably trying to figure out how much was refunded so they are not short at the end;)

td2008 wrote: »

Well surely it's a matter of reinstating the original Irish reg number?

It's a bottomless pit, do you believe taxes will fall if there's 100% compliance!?

I'd rather the op go and tackle the scumbags robbing a living on the dole their whole lives.

Yes I do, I think auction politics will show up soon enough. If tax take is good, those ****ers will be queueing up to cut taxes to get in again.

And I agree on the dole bum issue. But both reporting evasion and making those work-shy sponges work can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭td2008

No it looks like they actually give a new reg number, from the export faq

importing a vehicle from another country which had been previously permanently exported from the State under the Export Repayment Scheme. Do I have to re-register the vehicle?
    A vehicle previously registered in the State and permanently exported under the Export Repayment Scheme would have received a VRT refund.
    Such a vehicle is unregistered in the State and must be presented at an NCTS Centre for registration within the normal timeframe. VRT will be payable at the time of registration and a new Irish registration number will be issued.

I did receive an export refund but I've also got the VRT exemption and have received the letter from the revenue for this. When i brought it to the NCT centre they couldn't get it on the system , they rang the revenue then told me to go to the motor tax office who then told me to ring the revenue again and it's been with them for the last few weeks :confused::confused: Probably a unique situation but more than likely the revenue IT system cannot handle the fact that it was exported and then imported again. Probably take them a few months to fix that but insurance will only cover me another few weeks. And I'm sure the guards would have no problem taking the car anyway :rolleyes: