Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the flatline Athlone Half Marathon - Sat Sept 12th 2015

• 05-03-2015 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Just a reminder to all that the 4th annual flatline Athlone half marathon is open for entries.
    Costs just €20 to enter til the end of March.

We expect a sell out again this year so get in early...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 RossyR

Just a reminder. Early bird of €20 finishes on Tue next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Early bird price of €20 still applies for today only as there was a glitch with the registration link last night.

Just to remind everyone the entry fee will jump up again after midnight tonight

We are well ahead of entries compared to this this time last year and expect to
    sell out as we have done every year so far.

Don't miss out ðŸ˜႒

A 10k option has been added to the billðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Fudge74

Anybody know if the 10k is open to walkers?

Fudge74 wrote: »
    Anybody know if the 10k is open to walkers?

Yes walkers are more than welcome.

Just a reminder that today is last day for transfers and deferrals.
    Also the price jumps up after this weekend.

The Flatline has sold out every year so far and we don't expect it to be any different this year.

Don't miss out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Is it possible to switch from the Half to the 10km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭caseyjones1

I've signed up for the 10k, anyone done it before and care to tell me a bit about the course?

This is the first year that there has been a 10k option.
    All the details are on athlonehalfmarathon.com but like the half marathon course the 10k course is very flat.
    The two routes share the last 5k...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

REMINDER Website says entries closing midnight Sunday night/Monday morning. Get in there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Any info on pacers?

Beef wrote: »
    Any info on pacers?

All information is on athlonehalfmarathon.com

Pacers for 1.25, 1.30, 1.35, 1.45, 1.50, 2 and 2.10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I know you have to be over 18 to apply for the half, does anyone know if that applies to the 10k also. The youngster turned around today and asked me could he do it too (he's done 10k's before).

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I know you have to be over 18 to apply for the half, does anyone know if that applies to the 10k also. The youngster turned around today and asked me could he do it too (he's done 10k's before).

Over 18's only I'm afraid.

Getting very close to being full at this stage so if anyone else interested now is the time 😉

Thanks RossyR, I got the answer from them. The young fella turned around, after running another 5k today and narrowly missing his pb, and said he felt like doing the 10k in a few weeks time! As you do! Wouldn't it be great to be young and not a bit fazed by runs or distances, you just go for it!

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Thanks RossyR, I got the answer from them. The young fella turned around, after running another 5k today and narrowly missing his pb, and said he felt like doing the 10k in a few weeks time! As you do! Wouldn't it be great to be young and not a bit fazed by runs or distances, you just go for it!

Yeah you can't beat the youth.... they have great stamina ðŸ˜႒

Is anyone else following P&D and doing this race as a tune up? If so, how are ye re-arranging the schedules? I'm in a heap here. This week is a step back week with a long run of 14 miles. Would I be better of to sneak in a 20 mile LSR this week and run easy next week ahead of the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Any idea what kind of numbers will be running this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Any idea what kind of numbers will be running this?

Over 800 last year.

Weather not good for this:

WEEKEND OUTLOOK calls for a period of stronger winds and showers as deep low pressure skirts by the Mayo and Donegal coasts bringing almost gale force southwest winds at times (50-90 km/hr) and further rainfalls of 15-20 mm but this time hitting most regions at some point, but not without a few dry intervals too. Temperatures on the weekend appear likely to remain in a narrow range between 12 and 16 C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

WEEKEND OUTLOOK calls for a period of stronger winds and showers as deep low pressure skirts by the Mayo and Donegal coasts bringing almost gale force southwest winds at times (50-90 km/hr) and further rainfalls of 15-20 mm but this time hitting most regions at some point, but not without a few dry intervals too. Temperatures on the weekend appear likely to remain in a narrow range between 12 and 16 C.
    id prefer that weather to last years weather, it was scorching last year.

jake1970 wrote: »
    id prefer that weather to last years weather, it was scorching last year.

Not if you have a 90km/h wind against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shane1981

Had a quick look at met.ie earlier, wind seemed decent enough. Early days yet though.

web_irl_wind_2015091212.gif?h=1441731600000

shane1981 wrote: »
    Had a quick look at met.ie earlier, wind seemed decent enough. Early days yet though.

web_irl_wind_2015091212.gif?h=1441731600000

Met eireann don't do more than 3 days ahead. The guy in the boards forum is class

Many here doing this race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Yup, I am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Me too. Looks like we might miss the worst of the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Don't mind the rain, hate when it's windy. Looking forward to my first half marathon

me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Nervously looking forward to it :)

Me doing the 10K. Was ok and looking forward to it til last night. The nerves kicked in and now I don't feel ready. My last two runs this past week weren't great so I'm not feeling prepared now. If the rain lets up I might go for a light little run this evening to stretch out and hopefully that will sort me out and get me back on form. I'm newish to running and it just shows that with running so much of it is really in the mind!

What condition will those back roads be in, does any one know?

Will any of the roads be flooded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭averagejoe123

Presume that it's too late to register for the half? Website says no so I'm just making sure.

Hi Averagejoe, I think I saw on their facebook page that the half is full but they will be taking entries for the 10km in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

What condition will those back roads be in, does any one know?

Will any of the roads be flooded?

There not prone to flooding AR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

tang1 wrote: »
    There not prone to flooding AR.

forecast is not too bad for tomorrow morning. It could even be dry. Won't have the crazy heat to contend with like last year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Tom Joad wrote: »
    forecast is not too bad for tomorrow morning. It could even be dry. Won't have the crazy heat to contend with like last year!

Ugh, still haven't recovered from last years heat!! Good luck tomorrow TJ.

Any truth to the rumours that there's Erdinger at finish??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

Any truth to the rumours that there's Erdinger at finish??

Yes there is

marchino wrote: »
    Yes there is

Great! Nice incentive for the last mile:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great! Nice incentive for the last mile:D

It's non alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 TheGreenMile

No Erdinger at the finish :( Still a great event and an even better Long sleeve top. Well done to the organisers. One thing out of the organisers control (to a certain extent) was the pacers. The 1:25 pacers seemed fast early only. Mile 2 and I clocked a 6:16 when part of the group. I heard they finished 1:23 but thats not confirmed. The 1:30 pacers passed me at mile 11 asking his group was 6:36 ok? I wondered who was meant to be doing the pacing. With 200mts to go the 1:30's had stopped before the final corner giving me a chance to pass them. I finished in 1:28:**. Looked back to see one of the 1:30's running away from the finish line. To others it might look like him been very helpful to get others across the line. To me he was killing time ( bout 90 secs of it :). My rant over , i must mention they seemed like nice guys and full of encouragement for thoae around them. Im guessing inexperience a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

I lost touch with the 1:25 pacers after 10 miles and I finished in 1:24:01 so they were 1:23. No complaints though - I run my own race and it's good to have a group to run with.

I didn't run with pacers but I'd find it very hard to criticise anything about that race to be honest. Showers would be nice but I'd consider them a luxury with such a large field in the race. Would certainly recommend it.

+1 an excellent race and very clear that it was organised by runners themselves. Water bottles at the water stations where they're needed and the coke at the end was very welcome though I'm usually not a coke person :)

I think I read somewhere that participants could shower and use the pool facilities in a hotel in Athlone but I could be wrong.

Couldn't fault it on execution and price :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

No Erdinger at the finish :( Still a great event and an even better Long sleeve top. Well done to the organisers. One thing out of the organisers control (to a certain extent) was the pacers. The 1:25 pacers seemed fast early only. Mile 2 and I clocked a 6:16 when part of the group. I heard they finished 1:23 but thats not confirmed. The 1:30 pacers passed me at mile 11 asking his group was 6:36 ok? I wondered who was meant to be doing the pacing. With 200mts to go the 1:30's had stopped before the final corner giving me a chance to pass them. I finished in 1:28:**. Looked back to see one of the 1:30's running away from the finish line. To others it might look like him been very helpful to get others across the line. To me he was killing time ( bout 90 secs of it :). My rant over , i must mention they seemed like nice guys and full of encouragement for thoae around them. Im guessing inexperience a factor.

One of those 2 1:30 pacers did it by himself last year and he was spot on. They gave me the slip at mile 9, I met one coming back to collect me in the last k. I did 1:29:19 or so with a positive split. As was said above, it's not fair to criticise the pacers, we're all responsible for ourselves. I pace occasionally myself, it's not easy.

Otherwise a lovely race as usual, apart from the no beer!

Nice to meet up with Martyboy, he finished beside me for his first sub 90. Massive kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 TheGreenMile

Showers were available in the hall where you got your race number. Plenty of hot water :)

Who was wearing the boards ac t shirt? I was too socially awkward to say hey ;)

I was wearing a Boards ac top, you should of said hello. Were you racing? how did you get on?

First half marathon for me 1:30.31:)