Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour throwing excrement into our garden

• 04-03-2015 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi All,

We just bought a new site to build our family home on, beautiful site with mature trees, our site sits next door to a very small house where an old couple live and have done for some time. The property they own is filthy, old cars torn apart , clothes hanging off trees, rubbish everywhere etc, and as far as we can see they have no toilet. They seem to have been using our site to go toilet in. the reason I say this is because when I was cutting some trees and tidying up site I found piles of sh*t with tissue everywhere, no other houses within a kilometre. I recently erected a boundary fence only to find the sh*t hanging off it and tissue stuck to it, clearly thrown from the neighbours side.
    I called the council and they say its a civil matter? The council said Call the Gardai. I do not think this is the case, no septic or toilet? Is this not the councils problem?
    Can someone please tell me what we should do or some advice?
    Its an absolute disgrace its 2015 and we have this going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I'd get back on to the council and speak to someone who deals with environmental health. Not a legal opinion but just what I'd do.

I'd also put a camera out there and once I have evidence I'd have a quiet word backed up with a letter if an apology and immediate cessation was not forthcoming.

Beyond that engage a solicitor and guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Disgusting!

Have a few beers and a vindaloo. Leave the results on their doorstep and see how the dirty yokes like it :mad:

On a serious note though, I reckon Mark gave the right suggestion and that's precisely what I would do.....without a few beers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Sounds like you will need a big wall to keep them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Wow, you do realise you are choosing to live next to these people.

I would consider selling the land. Life is to short for crappy neighbours. These are people who happily live crapping in a bucket what can anyone scare them with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

sounds like they don't even bother with a bucket.

Return to sender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Elderly couple living in filth and not quite the full shilling

Call to the HSE perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 paulrww

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Elderly couple living in filth and not quite the full shilling

Call to the HSE perhaps?

Thanks for all the replies, I'm waiting for my solicitor to call me, he might shed some light on the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

There is somebody like this in nearly every parish.

If you cannot buy them out, sell and move

Life is too short to live beside such people