Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty water from farm

• 28-02-2015 2:23pm

Looking for a bit of advice.

Had a fence panel blown down from the other day and Ive noticed that the big farm shed beside me has dirty water running down into my garden.

I never noticed it before due to the fence panel between both properties, the water is running out from the cattle shed down into my garden. Im worried that it is contaminated as the land where the water is running into is very boggy now and my feet are actually sinink into the ground so I think its been leaking into my property for a while.

As this is the garden to my house I dont want my young kids picking yp any infections!

How sohuld I best tackle this with the farmer? I cant beleive he hasnt noticed this before because thee is a clear stream of dirty water running down the slope into my garden.

THanks for any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just talk to him.
    Approach him in a friendly manner and explain exactly as you did here.

Maybe he hasn't noticed this and will be greatful to avoid any potential pollution issues.

The majority of times farmers are decent approachable folk, and as with most people if you start the discussion on a friendly note that's the way it will continue.

If it doesn't stay friendly just walk away rather than getting into a shouting match. If it goes badly there are other avenues to take but I wouldn't start with them. Remember you are obviously neighbours so it's best for everyone if it's kept civil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

EPA, county council,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

EPA, county council,

They would be the other avenue's but as Brian said not the first
    You could start a long running feud with them and that could lead them looking to report you for having a dog loose to burning garden waste
    Just ask him to sort it out when he gets a chance and he surely will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Approach the farmer first he mightn't be aware that it's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

is it run off from yard or overflow from shed? County council where here last week and they said run off from yard can be piped to a field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    is it run off from yard or overflow from shed? County council where here last week and they said run off from yard can be piped to a field

I don't think you can pipe yard water onto someone else's property though,
    If you're piping yard water to a field even, it has to be from a clean yard

rangler1 wrote: »
    I don't think you can pipe yard water onto someone else's property though,
    If you're piping yard water to a field even, it has to be from a clean yard

Ye. Was just wondering is it dirty water or roof run off or overflow from slurry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Call to farmer tell him the situation. He may or may not know, either way he'll stop it as the consequences are major

No need to go nuclear. You'll find he'll take action quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

EPA, county council,

For feck sake, talk about a keyboard warrior. At least say it to the farmer first. You gotta live beside the man for the long foreseeable future I imagine, so at least give him the benefit of the doubt. If he won't play fair then at least you can say to yourself you tried to be civil and go to town on him then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

For feck sake, talk about a keyboard warrior. At least say it to the farmer first. You gotta live beside the man for the long foreseeable future I imagine, so at least give him the benefit of the doubt. If he won't play fair then at least you can say to yourself you tried to be civil and go to town on him then.

"concerned citizen" is the term we use around here,

one guy must have the council number on speed dial, they do'nt pay any heed to him anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

EPA, county council,

That's the last route you would want to go down.

when council came around last week they where acting on a report from 3 weeks previous, all was fine here but they had to go to all farms along the river we border, we had a call from the ifa that they where doing their rounds on all farms on the river

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

orm0nd wrote: »
    "concerned citizen" is the term we use around here,

one guy must have the council number on speed dial, they do'nt pay any heed to him anymore

I've a "concerned citizen" beside me.
    Council have stopped calling to us at this stage. Met one of them lately and they told me they are ignoring him

You'd win first prize at a show with this dude Purebred prick category.

Another neighbour says we have 2 dicks in the parish and he's both of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

[quote="frazzledhome;

Another neighbour says we have 2 dicks in the parish and he's both of them[/quote]
    Hahaha that's a good one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

There was a man living beside a concerned citizen and decided he wanted to wind up. So during the winter he drove the tractor off to the outfarm to feed everyday with the slurry tank hooked up. This neighbour reported the farmer so many times that the council had to pop out. So when the council asked the farmer he said that unhooking the tanker was just too much bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

We had a concerned citizen down the road . You know the type, smells from sheds. Smell from slurry spreading. People driving on NI plates. Cars slowing down at the gate. E PA on speed dial. Passed away, and had alienated so many people, was almost a week before postman raised alarm. (If front gate closed, postman had been ordered to not deliver till he found gates open)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    We had a concerned citizen down the road . You know the type, smells from sheds. Smell from slurry spreading. People driving on NI plates. Cars slowing down at the gate. E PA on speed dial. Passed away, and had alienated so many people, was almost a week before postman raised alarm. (If front gate closed, postman had been ordered to not deliver till he found gates open)

As annoying a person like that is, I feel a great deal of pity for him. It's a horrible thing, a person dying alone and unnoticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

As annoying a person like that is, I feel a great deal of pity for him. It's a horrible thing, a person dying alone and unnoticed.

I dont know , when my time comes I'd prefer to be alone rather than have someone holding my hand or looking down at me taking my last breaths .
    As for being unnoticed , when you're dead being unnoticed won't be bothering you .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Bullocks wrote: »
    I dont know , when my time comes I'd prefer to be alone rather than have someone holding my hand or looking down at me taking my last breaths .
    As for being unnoticed , when you're dead being unnoticed won't be bothering you .

To each his own, I suppose. But I'd like to have family and friends drop in every so often, regardless of my state of health, and not have the postman being the only one coming around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

In similair position to other poster except his dirty water is flowing onto the road and into a guelly on the road and then into our soak pit thats meant to only take clean rain water from road and roof of sheds. Aproached my neighbour 6weeks ago about this and he said would sort it out when fine weather comes. Nothing has bein done since and the great weather he wanted has come.

Dont want to fall out with them but what should one do next

Advice would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

degetme wrote: »
    In similair position to other poster except his dirty water is flowing onto the road and into a guelly on the road and then into our soak pit thats meant to only take clean rain water from road and roof of sheds. Aproached my neighbour 6weeks ago about this and he said would sort it out when fine weather comes. Nothing has bein done since and the great weather he wanted has come.

Dont want to fall out with them but what should one do next

Advice would be greatly appreciated

Just ring him and ask him.

49801 wrote: »
    Just ring him and ask him.

Planning on calling to him alrite and well properly get the same answer and put in on the long finger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

degetme wrote: »
    Planning on calling to him alrite and well properly get the same answer and put in on the long finger

Is there much flow when it's dry/no rain also?
    If he gives you a similar anser as before just lightly hint there could be a council inspector around later in the summer..

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Is there much flow when it's dry/no rain also?
    If he gives you a similar anser as before just lightly hint there could be a council inspector around later in the summer..

When we get heavy rain or theres snow melting we get the off from hes yard, durin these times we get alot of dirty water. Not during dry weather though. To make matters worse it can block up our chanels to our soak pit for clean water and backfill up and flow out around the yards that i have to collect for into my own tanks. This is adding to the volume i have to collect. I can divert it away from entering my tanks tho during high rainfall cause it would fill my tanks overnight. When i divert it, it is run down the cow path and into stream. Dont like doing this but havent much choice. This is cutting up our cow path then aswell. I had a council inspection lately and got on grand. They saw no problem has twas a dry day. I could have told them about my neighbour but i didnt so to give him a chance to sort it out from hes side