Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake Coke.

• 26-02-2015 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭

Got this in a Polish shop.The bottle cap is an odd design and it tastes nothing like coke.
    Are there different recipes around the world or was this made in a bathtub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

You've got aids now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Coke does have different recipes around the world, I've bought coke out of foreign shops, including Polish shops, and I can't say I noticed any difference, but usually when I do that I'd be on the go and wouldn't be paying too much attention, and I'm sure some Polish shops sell Irish coke. I highly doubt anyone would go through the hassle of bootlegging something as cheap as coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

FatherLen wrote: »
    You've got aids now

So have you , Len , so have you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Yeah I think the recipe can differ alright depending on country, to do with costs I suppose. By the way, does anyone know what Coca Cola is sweetened with here? I've heard that in the US it's corn syrup whereas in Mexico it's sugar cane, leading many Americanos to cross the border to bring back the better tasting product. I assume it's done with sugar beet here, can anyone confirm?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Coke does have different recipes around the world, I've bought coke out of foreign shops, including Polish shops, and I can't say I noticed any difference, but usually when I do that I'd be on the go and wouldn't be paying too much attention, and I'm sure some Polish shops sell Irish coke. I highly doubt anyone would go through the hassle of bootlegging something as cheap as coke.

A lot of uk coke for sale in vending machines here. So I wouldnt be too surprised.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

ah were watchin ruddy documentary on cocacola t'other day - original recipe included cocaine an that.
    di thee know - they still import them ruddy coca leaves from Bolivia and theyre so big no-one dare question them int it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I know Fanta which is a coca cola company has different flavours and colours in different countries. It actually tastes like Orange in Germany and looks like its made from Oranges in France.

So there is no reason why Coke wouldnt be slightly different in Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

The 3 litre of Coca Cola sold in Iceland supermarkets tastes different and I don't know anywhere else that sells a 3 litre bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

My husband drinks plenty of coke and he always says when he has visited other countries ie france , Germany ,Spain, it not the same as ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Check the best before date... I've found that if it's very close to or beyond the BB (shops are selling it) then it tastes absolutely crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

FatherLen wrote: »
    You've got aids now

If you're here, and I'm here...who's saying mass?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Check the best before date... I've found that if it's very close to or beyond the BB (shops are selling it) then it tastes absolutely crap

8/4/15.

kneemos wrote: »
    8/4/15.

That's well gone so. Polish people write dates the opposite way to us so that actually means 15th April 2008. How much have you drank of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Ya feckin eejits....

It's compuslory for Polish food shops to put those labels on foodstuffs for the english speakers, load of me bollix jobs for the boys bullcrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Irish coca cola is superior to uk sugary shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

You got Sting with Polish Coke there - Poke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Yeah coca cola have different recipes all over the world. I've never drank Polish coke though & judging by OPs reaction I won't anytime soon.

Was it cheaper or just convenient?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Used to get German coke in a local shop. I can only assume Germans like very sweet drinks because this stuff was diabetes in a can. Fecking gorgeous though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Guffy

Uk coke tastes different. Local supermarket sells a lot of uk sourced stuff but i hate the coke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

For some reason this thread reminded me of the Soda Stream 'cola' that my parents used to give us. It was like drinking fizzy marmite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yeah coca cola have different recipes all over the world. I've never drank Polish coke though & judging by OPs reaction I won't anytime soon.

Was it cheaper or just convenient?

Certainly wasn't cheap,1.25.Beside the bus stop though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Custardpi wrote: »
    I assume it's done with sugar beet here, can anyone confirm?
    Last sugar factory closed down nine years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

hfallada wrote: »
    I know Fanta which is a coca cola company has different flavours and colours in different countries. It actually tastes like Orange in Germany and looks like its made from Oranges in France.

Fanta here tastes manky. A chipper I used to go to in Fairview used to stock Fanta bottles imported from Spain, the difference in taste. It actually tasted like orange instead of the tacky tangy orange chemical crap we get here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

My husband drinks plenty of coke and he always says when he has visited other countries ie france , Germany ,Spain, it not the same as ireland

The Coke sold in Northern Ireland is even different, it's actually nicer and closer in taste to the original flavour it was years ago.

Last sugar factory closed down nine years ago

I'm aware of that but we still use the stuff (imported in processed form presumably) though don't we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Different recipes in different countries. Irish cherry coke is awful compared to US or UK.
    Yeah I think the recipe can differ alright depending on country, to do with costs I suppose. By the way, does anyone know what Coca Cola is sweetened with here? I've heard that in the US it's corn syrup whereas in Mexico it's sugar cane, leading many Americanos to cross the border to bring back the better tasting product. I assume it's done with sugar beet here, can anyone confirm?

Yeah, US uses corn syrup for everything. I prefer it to whatever they use here. Only had Pepsi with sugar cane but it is quite nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Different recipes in different countries. Irish cherry coke is awful compared to US or UK.

I've noticed that the taste of cherry coke varies nearly every time I've bought it here. Sometimes tastes great other times it tastes more like diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Karen23 wrote: »
    The 3 litre of Coca Cola sold in Iceland supermarkets tastes different and I don't know anywhere else that sells a 3 litre bottle.

super value do 3 ltr bottles of coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Since 2007 all sugar in Ireland is cane sugar from the EU.

Remember the good old days when you only needed one spoon (I used to put in just half a teaspoon) of Irish beet sugar and it would stick to the end of the cup. That cane sugar you need 3-4 spoons just to get a slight taste of it. That's why I don't drink tea or coffee anymore.

Coca-Cola sell concentrate to bottlers who mix it with water, sweeteners and carbonate it. I find our Coke fizzy and sweet. The UK Uxbridge Coca-Cola as blank and bitter (Note Northern Ireland have the same Coke as we do). Coca-Cola in the USA, Malta, Spain, Australia, Philippines are all horrible. Some bitter some too sweet.