Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VRT - wrong assessment.

• 23-02-2015 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭

Going on from my thread in buying a uk import, had a problem today at VRT.

Quadruple checked the revenue site and VRT is 1900. NCTS says its 2500 :mad:

So, showed them the printout and they checked, and checked and checked again, they were sound, very careful, but alas, its right. So, SIGNED the form but did not pay. They explained my quote was wrong as it was a different model.

Got home and tried to recreate their quote. As per their form, I have a Mondeo Titanium blah blah, and it is indeed 2500. But mine is the Titanium X, which is different on the revenue website and is only 1900. They selected the wrong model.

I did horse back up there but they were closed.

I take it they have the ability to amend the VRT bill - it has not been paid yet and I can show them their error? Simple thing to do, no problem with that! Just hope the signed form is not binding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Any overpaid tax, once shown, can be amended. Not sure exactly how it works with vrt, but there you go eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

was the titanium x not a higher spec to the titanium??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I would've thought titanium x would be more valuable and thus more vrt?

What's the year, mileage and co2 as per V5 cert?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I would've thought titanium x would be more valuable and thus more vrt?

What's the year, mileage and co2 as per V5 cert?

Perfectly reasonable assumption but look yourself

stat code 41387759
    Mondeo diesel 10/2010 TITANIUM 138bhp

107000 miles emissions 139g
    vrt €2551

MY CAR

stat code 40987709
    Titanium X
    As above

VRT 1912 euro.

NOTE there are 2 titanium x on there, but second one has higher emissions resulting in quote of 2600 euro.

What emissions is on your v5?

156 or 139

139g
    138hp
    manual
    hatchback

140ps=138bhp

Getting €2551 for titanium too.
    Strangely a January 2010 has more expensive vrt than October 2010...

The titanium x for €2690 has emissions of 156. OMSP is €9978
    The titanium x for €1912 has emissions of 139. OMSP is €10068

OMSP of non "x" titanium is €13429 though.....

Seems they were putting you in the wrong emissions band?

I dont get you. Using their figures and the V5, its 139.

They have it on the printout its a titanium, but its not, its the X

Go down the drop down list, past titanium, and you will find titanium x. Its different. There are two. The first x is mine, the second x is higher emissions.

Getting €2551 for titanium too.
    Strangely a January 2010 has more expensive vrt than October 2010...

The titanium x for €2690 has emissions of 156. OMSP is €9978
    The titanium x for €1912 has emissions of 139. OMSP is €10068

Seems they were putting you in the wrong emissions band?

Nope, I recreated their quote by using standard titanium NOT by using titanium X. They didnt go down the drop down far enough.

Have they determined an OMSP for your car?

I had this 3 years bringing in a Hyundai i30, vrt on a top spec model was cheaper than a base model for some odd reason, I wasn't complaining.

Have they determined an OMSP for your car?

Dont know.

I can see how they did it, simple, just like you did it. Question is, is it easily fixed when I go back tomorrow. Change it from Titanium, to Titanium X. They will get the right figure.

Question is, do they have the ability?

Bring a printout of the quote with you.

I think its giving an incorrectly low OMSP, hence the lower vrt figure.

I gave them the printout. They couldnt work out what was wrong.

I now know what it was - they were using the wrong model - titanium.

They should have been using the X version. The printout was only printed an hour before I went to them.

I am hoping when I show them the wrong model, they have the ability to redo it.

Chance it away, should be grand. Tell them a titanium x is a lower spec model :)

Why would I have to chance it? They used the system. They put in wrong model. Cost is now 2500. Get them to use right model, cost is 1900.

So......
    I went back to them today to show their error. Now the VRT is 3100.

I stood there in disbelief. They tell me the revenue website is wrong and anyway, is only an estimate.

I felt sick. Ended up paying it, and now banging in an appeal TODAY.

Fecking sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

So......

I stood there in disbelief. They tell me the revenue website is wrong and anyway, is only an estimate.

Fecking sickening.

kind of inevitability about that I thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DraganGTD

This is unbelievable but I am sure through an appeal you will get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

So......

Fecking sickening.

This happened to me with a seat Leon, they are a horrible bunch. Once they see irregular lookup activity it alerts them to that car and they check it apparently - it was because I was looking it up every day to check and sometimes multiple times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭soc

FYI, prices they quote for VRT are only valid for something like 24hrs. They change everyday. We got VRT done on our car a few years back...it was a Friday, and of course Banks were closed by the time they finished, so we couldn't pay it there and then. The price they quoted us was above what we expected from the online calculating we did... but we just shrugged it off, and thought 'oh well'.

Went back first thing on Monday with the cash only to be told that the VRT had gone up even more (I think it was a few hundred)! This was despite assurances from them on Friday that we just turn up on MOnday with the money. We were naturally very annoyed. Anyway, we paid and then appealed, and got a good chunk back (I think it came back, or even slightly below, the figure we originally expected to pay). Definitely appeal ASAP

I sent a polite letter to revenue appeals in Rosslare. Put my case explaining I bought the car in good faith armed with the 1900 euro VRT quote, then got quoted 2500, then ended up paying 3100.

I politely stated my case and personal circumstances which required the car to be purchased and got a letter back yesterday.

They have determined the OMSP to be €13,426 which in turn generates a repayment of €538 !!

Thank feck for that. The wife got unfairly dismissed by Tallaght Hospital, and this was the remains of her payout from the Rights Commissioner.

Very happy with that, Revenue in Rosslare were very fair :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Happy they reverted some of the money back to you. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mittimitti

How long did the appeal take ?