Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 21st. February 2015

• 20-02-2015 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭

white-fluffy-puppy.gif

kitten-falling-asleep-o.gif

NWS_20130908_Opi_020_28860084_I1.JPG

Hello you. :)

Coming up on the show this week one of the most outspoken broadcasters on the national airwaves, Ivan Yates, will be in to talk about the issue of debt that is affecting so many people in Ireland and how it affected him personally. Mixed Marshall Arts stars Ais ’The Bash’ Daly and Paddy ‘The Hooligan’ Holohan will be in to talk about why they have dedicated their lives to this extraordinary form of combat. Theatre producer Ronan Smith will be in to discuss his diagnosis with early onset Alzheimer’s. Coronation Street star Kym Marsh will be in to talk about life on the cobbles and how she balances her soap life with real life and about the tough times she has gone through. The fantastic Ward Thomas will be in to perform their latest single “Push for the Stride”. Tune in at 9.35pm and enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Is that Kym Marsh your former co-star, Welsh Megaman? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Skid X wrote: »
    Is that Kym Marsh your former co-star, Welsh Megaman? :)

Yes, but sadly we've moved on. A National Soap Award can change a person...and not for the better. :(

Mixed Marshall Arts stars Ais ’The Bash’ Daly ...

I like how the SNS have invented a new Cage Fighting thing which involves Marshall Amps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I like how the SNS have invented a new Cage Fighting thing which involves Marshall Amps!

I know of no thing that cannot be improved by involving Marshall amps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Naaaah. I'm out. I'll dip in and out of here though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Not a very exciting lineup.
    Doesn't seem that long ago since Ivan Yates was on with Tubridy...I know he is never stuck for words, but, a bit of overkill.
    On the plus side, no Mary O'Rourke, MLOD, or indeed Twink :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Looks like Brendan's jokes at the start might be highlight of the show tonight.

Yates might be worth a look. Although recently he seems to have become a bit of an attention seeker with his laddish views and opinions delivered only to stir the shít. In fairness he had a book to flog and needed the publicity, so we'll allow him that.

But now it would be good to hear less of the booze and gambling bull and more of him giving Enda Kenny & Co a good verbal thrashing. Few people can actually master a good rant about the government the way Yates can. He has the experience to know what he's talking about and the ability to express it without sounding like a pious right wing prick or a whinging leftie.

Let's hope we have less of the cross between Jeremy Clarkeson and Sinead O'Connor, and more of an angry Ivan Yates at his best.

As for all the other guests tonight - Never heard of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Heh, great post Lapin.

Ivan Yates, will be in to talk about the issue of debt that is affecting so many people in Ireland

He had to go away from all his friends (who didn't know if he would ever return), spend a long time in the wilderness unable to communicate, bored out of his tree watching Television with no means of sharing his opinion.

Moving abroad for Bankruptcy reasons - quite similar to getting banned from Boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Very similar to a Boards ban. He even took up serious drinking while stranded in Wales. Poor thing.

True, but at least being banned from boards doesn't drive a man to drink in places like Wales.

You can do a perfectly good job of that here without troubling those poor Welsh divils. They have enough troubles of their own. :pac:

This Fine Gael rubbish that's on now.

Enda should just hold up a sign here whenever he wants the arse lickers to clap.

It might eliminate the awkward pauses when he expects them to, but they don't know if he wants them to or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

^^^^^^^^^^

Yes. I saw the end of it. Like feckin badly trained seals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

you mean the puppy and kitty won't be on? :(

liked them i did:(

Yo. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Yo Yo,

looks like no sling this week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

This is a dull lineup

I'll be watching the boxing on C5 from 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Yo. :)

I guess there's only one response to that....

YO, YO-SELF B1ATCH

cca845d3f69648a8bc399545a2dc03ae.jpg

This McDonald's ad is stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Good Evening All!

I'm here for Mr. Yates, I don't think I'll be able for any more misery after last night's LLS.

tampopo wrote: »
    Yo Yo,

looks like no sling this week...

The sling has gone?! :eek:

I bet the sling is there when he comes back on.

Sling is back!

Sling back

Lapin wrote: »
    I bet the sling is there when he comes back on.

I think I'm gonna send in my own jokes for that show... I'm pretty sure that I can do better...

ooops, bit of premature speculation there on my part. it wasn't on in the preview....

Skid, you have to get audience tickets for next week!

He's one of the most outspoken broadcasters on the airwaves...

Tubridy?

I think those who said sling and those who said no sling are kinda both right.

He's aged quite a bit hasnt he..

tampopo wrote: »
    ooops, bit of premature speculation there on my part. it wasn't on in the preview....

I fell into the same trap a few weeks ago.

The Sling is in and out like a Fiddlers Elbow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

0000d85710a.jpg

Noel Gallagher? Good call :)

Not a fan (musically), but hopefully there will be an interview - never dull with Noel.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Skid, you have to get audience tickets for next week!

Noel! I would love it!!

I love Chris and Ivan in the morning, they're great craic. I don't know how anyone can listen to Mourning Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Noel Gallagher? Good call :)

Not a fan (musically), but hopefully there will be an interview - never dull with Noel.

Hes on MOTD2 tomorrow night too.

He's aged quite a bit hasnt he..

That's what Welsh Guinness does to a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I wish Ivan was as funny when he was a politician.

Evening all.

This is the guy that walked away from how much debt from state owned AIB...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

I fell into the same trap a few weeks ago.

The Sling is in and out like a Fiddlers Elbow.

Don't remind us. Never been so disappointed. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

How longs Ivan a Man City fan?

Noel! I would love it!!

Ask Noel if he will get Northern Uproar back together :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Ivan lived in Wales for a year, WM. Did he shack up with you? ;)

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I love Chris and Ivan in the morning, they're great craic. I don't know how anyone can listen to Mourning Ireland.

MI is far more professional

0000d85710a.jpg

It's the love hate dentist.. :eek:

5zkvrt.jpg

one of my local councilors is busying herself on national issues and I'm approaching a TD for local issues. It's all funked up, I tells ya..

very frustrating...

I thought anyone bankrupt can run for national parliament?

Is it a Sling or a very very loose tie?

efb wrote: »
    MI is far more professional
    It definitely is but I don't like being depressed before I do my day's work. At least with Ivan and Chris I have a laugh on my journey to work.