Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman fatally shoots herself while adjusting gun hidden in underwear. Yes, in America

• 20-02-2015 5:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

This week's gun story from America is another sad one.

It could happen anywhere though.

From the Indo

Michigan police said Christina Bond (55) was looking down at her underwear, where she was carrying a .22-caliber revolver, when the gun went off.

“She was having trouble adjusting her bra holster, couldn't get it to fit the way she wanted it to," a police spokesperson told local media.

"She was looking down at it and accidentally discharged the weapon.”

There are many lessons to be learned from this.

But the only one I can think of right now is, be more careful around bras from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Lapin wrote: »

It could, but it wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

"What a tit!"

"She was caught in a boobie trap"

"You were only supposed to blow the bloody drawers off!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Reminds of me the recent story of the gangbanger in LA who blew his ass off when he sat into his car. He had the pistol tucked into the back of his pants, when he leaned back in the seat the weapon discharged and ruptured his lower back and ass area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Reminds of me the recent story of the gangbanger in LA who blew his ass off when he sat into his car. He had the pistol tucked into the back of his pants, when he leaned back in the seat the weapon discharged and ruptured his lower back and ass area.

hes still awaiting ass transplant surgery.

anyway ... obviously only more guns can solve this complex dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

So he busted a cap in his own ass :p

Could tell himself "Keep the change ya filthy animal" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Wide Load

Yeah but if she didn't have the gun it could have been someone else who shot her!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

"She was looking down at it and accidentally discharged the weapon."

She was looking down at it? Doesn't she know she shouldn't look at it directly, and it should only be seen in the reflection of her shield? Simple failure in application of basic safety technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The only way to stop bad knickers with a gun is good knickers with a gun.

Two pairs of knickers, women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

hardCopy wrote: »
    "What a tit!"

"She was caught in a boobie trap"

"You were only supposed to blow the bloody drawers off!"

Leave some for the rest of us

Anyone else think of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

Awaits MadsL's reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Christina Bond in Blastopussy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You have to admire the sheer variety of methods American civilians use to shoot themselves. Its only a matter of time before someone over their blows off their backside while on the toilet when reaching for the paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

It's Denis O Briens fault.

Everything seems to be his fault lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"She was looking down at it and accidentally discharged the weapon."

She was looking down at it? Doesn't she know she shouldn't look at it directly, and it should only be seen in the reflection of her shield? Simple failure in application of basic safety technique.

??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Moar guns! 'murica!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I'm blown away by the response time it too to Assist her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Breastfeeding has just become dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

Sad and pointless. I really hope we get tougher gun control laws over here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Police now suspect foul play - they are checking for booby-traps.

Yeah, it's been done, but it's a bra that shot its owner, how mad is that. Most men will sympathize though, Bras can be trickey feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

This is why, despite my username, I could never be trusted to own a firearm. Being as gaffe prone as I am I'd definitely be more of a danger to meself than any potential attacker could ever be. Doesn't even bear thinking about tbh.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭junipergreen

This is why, despite my username, I could never be trusted to own a fireman. Being as gaffe prone as I am I'd definitely be more of a danger to meself than any potential attacker could ever be. Doesn't even bear thinking about tbh.....

Seconded. I've sliced my hand open, not once, but twice, with the handle of a sweeping brush. I shudder to think what might happen if I ever laid hands on a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

This is why, despite my username, I could never be trusted to own a fireman. Being as gaffe prone as I am I'd definitely be more of a danger to meself than any potential attacker could ever be. Doesn't even bear thinking about tbh.....

Just be glad we live in a society where owning a gun isn't the norm. Thank God for sanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This wouldn't have happened if she had had two guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

diomed wrote: »
    Breastfeeding has just become dangerous.

And she probably wondered why no one did the motorboat with those bad boys. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

This week's gun story from America is another sad one.

It couldnt though. Not all countries have constitutions that entitle people to carry weapons to shoot themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

This wouldn't have happened if she had had two guns

Or a machine gun.

Yes ladies,your jugs are safe with an AK47.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Not all countries have constitutions that entitle people to carry weapons to shoot themselves.

Not all countries have the freedom to shoot themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Tzardine wrote: »
    It's Denis O Briens fault.

Everything seems to be his fault lately.

And the bondholders, don't forget the bondholders or the government, don't forget them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Idiot.

Nodin wrote: »
    ??

Do people not reference the classics any more? Anyone who looked at the Gorgon would die. Perseus avoided this by instead looking in the reflection of his shield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

If her left tit had a gun too this would never have happened.

#muricalogic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Just be glad we live in a society where owning a gun isn't the norm. Thank God for sanity.

Did Santy bring her the gun ??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Whatever about wether someone should have a gun in their bra (I'm going with no) or if someone should even own a gun, I think we can all agree that giving guns to blind people is a bit silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Grayson wrote: »
    Whatever about wether someone should have a gun in their bra (I'm going with no) or if someone should even own a gun, I think we can all agree that giving guns to blind people is a bit silly

The SH3 section of the Paralympics would disagree with you.

Now, not giving Piers Morgan a gun, I think on that point you'd have universal support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭bobdcow

Didn't a lad from Limerick a few years back mess about with a gun in his bedroom and end up shooting himself in the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

bobdcow wrote: »
    Didn't a lad from Limerick a few years back mess about with a gun in his bedroom and end up shooting himself in the head?
    That was that fine upstanding citizen and credit to his community, Philip Collopy:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-short-life-and-bizarre-death-of-ruthless-gunman-26523323.html
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0323/115428-collopyp/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Should have had a toddler carry her gun for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

It could, but it wouldn't.

But it does and quite regularly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

??
    A gorgon Nodin! gorgon!

Or glock. I'm not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Do people not reference the classics any more? Anyone who looked at the Gorgon would die. Perseus avoided this by instead looking in the reflection of his shield.

Yes, but I can't say that I'd be thinking along those lines when a woman shoots herself in the eye trying to stuff a pistol in her bra.

The quote from article indicated that the act of looking at the gun caused her death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

bobdcow wrote: »
    I'm not sure, but where I come from, stories like that have been concocted as fig-leaves for suicides. It's a bit like the one-car collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

She should have had a gun in each cup. If you only arm one tit, and it decides to go psyco, then you're fukked. If more tits were packing then this sort of stuff would never happen.