Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

removing stone field walls

• 19-02-2015 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭

I have lots of them some of them are in very bad repair and would like to move them to make fields bigger.
    Are their regulations surrounding this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

epfff wrote: »
    I have lots of them some of them are in very bad repair and would like to move them to make fields bigger.
    Are their regulations surrounding this

What length of stone wall / acerage is involved?

Some links

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/remove-hedgerows-stone-walls-ditches-peril/

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/ruralenvironment/environment/environmentalimpactassessment/EIAGuideforFarmers200212.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

As far as I know, only if you're in REPS or Aeos (sic) schemes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

As far as I know, only if you're in REPS or Aeos (sic) schemes.

Are you sure of that ?

orm0nd wrote: »
    Are you sure of that ?

That's what the "as far as I know" bit was about. Want to contribute yourself? Definitely couldn't with reps anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

That's what the "as far as I know" bit was about. Want to contribute yourself? Definitely couldn't with reps anyway.

I don't really know,

but reason I'd asked were you sure,

I always had in my mind ( not the best haunt in fairness :o ) if you were getting SFP or DA etc, you had to plant a length of hedging equal to what you take out before you remove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

I asked my planner lately about filling in a drain, that's splitting a field in 2. Reckoned that you should notify the Dept, usually isn't a problem, so long as the resulting field size isn't over 15 acres.
    Best to check yourself, AND get it in writing, for future reference, in case of problems down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

I don't really know,

I always had in my mind ( not the best haunt in fairness :o ) if you were getting SFP or DA etc, you had to plant a length of hedging equal to what you take out before you remove

This is correct, we took out 80m a few years ago and got fined after a cross compliance inspection this year. Have a year to plant equivalent hedgerow.
    We let a nuisance of a 1 acre field into another. I knew it was to be replaced but it got left on the long finger

I don't really know,

I know local lads who waited until they were out of reps before they took walls to amalgamate fields. Assumed they weren't breaching cross compliance. One cute hoor couldn't wait until he left reps and used to take 20 yards off a wall every year. Days before satellite observation I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I know local lads who waited until they were out of reps before they took walls to amalgamate fields. Assumed they weren't breaching cross compliance. One cute hoor couldn't wait until he left reps and used to take 20 yards off a wall every year. Days before satellite observation I suppose.

I often wondered how ye get away with it over ye're side. I see lads quarrying stone and covering creegs. You'd be in handcuffs if you tried it around here.

Ye're well compensated for it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 B25

I'd suggest you ring the Department and ask them. You can't go wrong then.