Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fast and reliable car. Plz help to choose. into big shapes so no 3drs

• 17-02-2015 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

Hi lads. Will thank yours all beforehand. So here we go. At the moment I drive 1.3 colt.
    I am looking for a fast and reliable car. There are a lot of cars nice and fast. But I don't want stupidly buy nice one and spend money fixing stuff.
    Cars I have viewed: bmw 525i. Lexus is 2.2dor2.5p. Ford monde St 2.2dor3.0p. Honda accord 2.2do2.2.4p.
    I do about 10-15k a year. Mostly back roads. About 30km a day or more sometimes.
    I have about €6.500-7.500 to spend. I'd like to buy low tax car but they expensive. Plz lads help me. Something fast and reliable. Wud not like to be visiting mechanics often. Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mazda 6 MPS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭midaev1

bazz26 wrote: »
    Mazda 6 MPS?

Been in mechanics and in few places they said mazdas are very expensive to fix. was looking for mazdas 3MPS and drove one. My brother used to have.

they are nice cars. but the Q is, are they fast? I really wanted to buy 525or530 but almost everyone say they are full of trouble. dont want to be spending money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bodonnell

Turbo Forester either 2.0 (170bhp) or 2.5 (227bhp), have had both very reliable with just regular servicing & would be well suited to those back roads.

what car is that bodennell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bodonnell

midaev1 wrote: »
    what car is that bodennell?

Sorry, Subaru Forester petrol models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

they are nice cars. but the Q is, are they fast? I really wanted to buy 525or530 but almost everyone say they are full of trouble. dont want to be spending money

What're you gonna do with a fast car on back roads - sure you'll get 80kph out of pretty much anything these days...

gonna over take granny drivers.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

gonna over take granny drivers.

:D:D:D

On back roads? Maybe our ideas of what constitutes a back road are a bit different.

How old are you OP? You come across as a little young, and more than a little likely to come a cropper in your fast reliable car. I just hope you don't bring anyone else down with you... :(

On back roads? Maybe our ideas of what constitutes a back road are a bit different.

How old are you OP? You come across as a little young, and more than a little likely to come a cropper in your fast reliable car. I just hope you don't bring anyone else down with you... :(

not that young to be irresponsible. I'm mostly driving by my self. just want good fast horse to run sometimes. uknow. i think best bet is Honda Accord 2.4 so far... just checking out Opel astra OPC.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

not that young to be irresponsible. I'm mostly driving by my self. just want good fast horse to run sometimes. uknow. i think best bet is Honda Accord 2.4 so far... just checking out Opel astra OPC.

What do you mean you're mostly driving by yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That accord is not fast though.

Its all relative of course, it'll be faster than a 1.6 avensis or whatever.

Do you have perspective on what fast/slow is, not being smart but what have you been driving till now?

Stheno wrote: »
    What do you mean you're mostly driving by yourself?

like no kids or nobody in the car. just me travelling

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That accord is not fast though.

no? WTF. was told that they are real horses

Type R is what you're looking for.

Accord 2.0 is 150bhp.

There was an 08 civic type r with the expensive tax on here for 8 grand or something.

Type R is what you're looking for.

Type S is 150bhp.

been driving colt 1.3 and megane 1.6 want something flashy or how u say it, nice big car. fast as well.

Right.

In that context, you're not necessarily looking for a proper fast car.

Example; I have a 140bhp 1.8 civic hatch that can overtake effortlessly and is plenty fast on the backroads of clare.

I wouldn't call it fast, but something like that would be a Supercar compared to your last few cars.

You probably don't need a balls-out turbo nutter car to get your kicks. A soggy merc isn't gonna be any fun either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Type R is right, or Golf GTI, Focus ST, Cooper S (strictly petrol)? Considering it's just you, would you consider small and light? MX5, BMW Z3 or Z4?

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Type R is right, or Golf GTI, Focus ST, Cooper S (strictly petrol)? Considering it's just you, would you consider small and light? MX5, BMW Z3 or Z4?

i'm a fat man so dont think small cars will suit me. what about opel opc?

Do you mean a corsa/astra/vectra/insignia/zafira opc

seen astra for far

Astra would be tighter for a big fella than a focus or golf. The roof and seats are a bit lower.

are bmw 525 that bad?so cheap and so beautiful they are but everyone say they are just trouble dono that to do. like mondeo st and 525

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Don't discount the small cars if you're a tad heavy, they're surprisingly comfy. I know big fella's that drive serious small cars. Try them.

OPC looks good though.

are bmw 525 that bad?so cheap and so beautiful they are but everyone say they are just trouble dono that to do. like mondeo st and 525

If you want a bit of power, elegance and comfort, get a 3.0 a Jaguar S Type, they're 240bhp and RWD. you'd get a minty 02-03 for under €2 grand, add another €1800 for tax and you've got cheap flash, smashing seats, lovely timber and leather and instant respectability.
    They're also an entertaining bus to hustle on a country road. Not BMW-sharp but still surprisingly capable.
    You'll still have enough left over to tax it for 2 more years.

Barges are cool.

Be aware that guy has 3 cars for sale right now.

I also have a thing about the name Nathan. Would never buy a car from a Nathan!

Be aware that guy has 3 cars for sale right now.

I also have a thing about the name Nathan. Would never buy a car from a Nathan!

:):):) nice spot. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I have a 2002 E39 525i Sport Auto, it's plenty quick and if you don't mind doing some work yourself, pretty cheap to run, barring the 1080 tax of course!

Are you looking at E39 (2000-2003) 525i's or E60 (2003-2010) models?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

2003-2007 accord 2.4 (190 PS) is a lovely car, i used to have one which was 6 yrs old. Always felt like a well-built car, although in my case the differential was on the way out after 18 mths of relatively hard driving (80k miles on the clock total, nearly 8 yrs old at the time).

in my opinion though it's a waste getting a 5 door car, if you aren't regularly going to be using the rear seats - most 3dr coupes are the same shape/size/seating area as the 5 door saloon versions.

i moved on to an m3 coupe (3dr) which was the same age as my accord at the time, and although it's much higher maintenance, i've not had any space complaints in it even carrying 3 passengers - it's the same size and shape as the regular 5-door 3 series saloon of the same model year.

4 years later and still using the same coupe - i'd never go back to a 5 door unless i had to (or maybe if i was carrying 3 passengers every day - even then i'm not sure).

I have a 2002 E39 525i Sport Auto, it's plenty quick and if you don't mind doing some work yourself, pretty cheap to run, barring the 1080 tax of course!

Are you looking at E39 (2000-2003) 525i's or E60 (2003-2010) models?

I'm looking at bmw 525i 2006 petrol or diesel. maybe 3.0D

cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s60r/8700830?offset=2 this is crazy car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

If you go for an older BMW be prepared to overhaul the cooling system. It's going to need it one way or another. Suspension can be soft enough on them and they like to throw up the odd electrical gremlin, talking about the likes of a 525 here.

It's simple, if you want a nice, classy car with a bit of poke and for it to be reliable go and buy a Lexus IS250.

Good call. The is250 is lovely, which is strange considering how dreadful the is220d is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Grow up boy. get a corolla and a bicycle!

garancafan wrote: »
    Grow up boy. get a corolla and a bicycle!

:D:D:D very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Good call. The is250 is lovely, which is strange considering how dreadful the is220d is

I even considered one myself, they're not the biggest inside, but having been in one, silky smooth, just a generally nice classy way to waft around in.

Agree on the diesels though, headgaskets I believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Get on to DoneDeal and find "Ford Mondeo Titanium X" for sale in a garage in Cavan (ad was put up 10 days ago).
    (As I am a "new user" I cannot post links)

I know its different from what was mentioned above, but Im driving the 1.8tdci model and its fast enough and not bad looking either.. Cannot recommend it enough!

166man wrote: »
    I even considered one myself, they're not the biggest inside, but having been in one, silky smooth, just a generally nice classy way to waft around in.

Agree on the diesels though, headgaskets I believe?

Just shocking power delivery, shuddery engine, and then the issues

:D:D:D very funny

This topic is actually very serious.

This isn't really the place to discuss it though.

you seem to be serious and understanding of cars apart from from some others,,, what do u this of this? Www.cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-325d-m-sport/8635450?offset=4

If you are going to be paying 3.0 litre motor tax you might as well stretch for a 330d. And from someone who owns BMWs I cannot see them being in any way more reliable than a Mazda MPS which was dismissed earlier.

What about a Lexus GS300:
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Lexus/GS300/EXECUTIVE/127414206622340870/

On the other hand, having, momentarily, the attention of a person who wishes to purchase a fast car for the purpose of commuting on back roads is, in my view, an ideal opportunity to discuss the wisdom and maturity of such a proposed course of action.