Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Self Aid 1986

• 15-02-2015 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭

Was it just a big wankfest for Irish and nearly Irish musicians and RTE? I was at the gig. Paid £14.50 for the ticket. Some good stuff, but in hindsight what did it prove or achieve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Even I don't remember that and I'm one of the oldies here. Auld Ones/Auld Fellas forum I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

wankfest
    lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

It didn't achieve a whole lot - but it was a great gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Even I don't remember that and I'm one of the oldies here. Auld Ones/Auld Fellas forum I'd say.

Well I'm obviously a bigger oldie.:D Lets wait and see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

As a 15 year old at the time any excuse to see Leslie Dowdall in action was a good day in my perverted little book.

Jawgap wrote: »

Yeah. A decent enough concert, but **** me it achieved nothing really, did it?

Red Kev wrote: »
    As a 15 year old at the tome any excuse to see Leslie Dowdall in action was a good day in my perverted little book.

Jaysus she was a ride!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I remember it well and it was just one big ego trip by Irish artists. Achieved nothing and I don't think any of them cared neither.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Yeah. A decent enough concert, but **** me it achieved nothing really, did it?

No it didn't - but as Red Kev said - Leslie Dowdall........Nom, Nom, Nom.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was it just a big wankfest for Irish and nearly Irish musicians and RTE? I was at the gig. Paid £14.50 for the ticket. Some good stuff, but in hindsight what did it prove or achieve?

Wankfest apparently.

Well as a 14 year old still in school, I contributed my ticket fee and then bought the double album on vinyl when I was 15!

Paid for from a part time job! The irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Red Kev wrote: »
    As a 15 year old at the time any excuse to see Leslie Dowdall in action was a good day in my perverted little book.

How completely random. I met Lesley Dowdall yesterday and I had no idea who she was!!!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

bit embarrassing looking back but was a great concert at the time.

"Let's make it work" etc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Serious line up all right - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self_Aid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nothing, as was evident at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I remember it, being 13 at the time, but wasn't overly interested in it. It felt like an excuse for Irish bands to have a big gig after the whole Live Aid thing. I probably wasn't wrong.

A lot of that happening alright.

Just found this video which is a behind the scenes look.

Fookin Hell! Really shows it up for what it was. Of course Bono managed to "touch" the people with his carefully managed "speech". I've had my doubts over the years, but Im moving towards wankfest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Decent concert which raised a lot of money for a decent cause at a very bleak time in Ireland, nothing wrong with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I have the album they released of that gig and remember it well. Bono sounded a bit embarrased to be there in my opinion.
    Unlike him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Just found this video which is a behind the scenes look.

The cider swillin' boyo's meeting Bono @ 38:30 are hilarious. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I was doing my Leaving Cert. It was huge news back in the day. Christ, they were innocent times.

The Peanut wrote: »
    I was doing my Leaving Cert. It was huge news back in the day. Christ, they were innocent times.

Well you get the vote for being the oldest! But yeah innocent times even if it now looks a little like a bunch of dicks having a party on behalf of a depressed nation. That said and with most of them washed up to some degree, I enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Well you get the vote for being the oldest! But yeah innocent times even if it now looks a little like a bunch of dicks having a party on behalf of a depressed nation. That said and with most of them washed up to some degree, I enjoyed it.

I was a child genius; did my leaving cert aged 11.:D

I was actually 16 but I can distinctly remember being underwhelmed at the time. I was listening to Bruce Springsteen a lot; the small town Americana he served up in Born in the USA seemed worlds away to the depressing sh*te the Irish lads were selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

BenEadir wrote: »

Serious line up all right - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self_Aid

Was it illegal in the 80's to organise an event without having Brush Shiels turn up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

My only memory is Joe Lynch introducing a band in "Dinny from Glenroe " mode.

I suppose it would be like having Bela from Fair City acting as MC at Oxygen.

Innocent times indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

A massive circle jerk if yis ask me ... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Did it actually happen?

I also assumed it was a pastiche of charity gigs by The Onion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

It was almost as successful and productive as The Gathering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

no it wasn't it was crap the sound was all over the place typical of the RDS at the time

....they even threw apples at in tua nua "get off the stage" the gurriers were shouting

it was one big cringefest

Very mixed feelings in here about this.

fryup wrote: »
    no it wasn't it was crap the sound was all over the place typical of the RDS at the time

....they even threw apples at in tua nua "get off the stage" the gurriers were shouting

it was one big cringefest

Well, I certainly have fond memories of it. About 20 to 30 of us went in a big mixed group. Even the walk all the way home was great craic.

^^^^^^^^^^^^

rose tinted glasses??

one of my induring memories was of mike murphy in the RTE studio and he says to the watching public..."we have people in from the bbc watching the proceedings so its important you should donate"

facepalm

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

rose tinted glasses??

one of my induring memories was of mike murphy in the RTE studio and he says to the watching public..."we have people in from the bbc watching the proceedings so its important you should donate"

facepalm

Not really. I didn't see the TV coverage, so perhaps I missed the more cringey elements.

I remember it as a great day out. And people always misbehaved at gigs. I remember Freddie at Slane stopping mid song to have a go at security for being too 'physical' with the punters in front of the stage; people being flung off the stage at the Phoenix Park Racecourse gigs and the Edge dodging bottles bring flung on stage at a Lark in the Park - they were all still pretty good gigs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Choodefat

I remember thinking Van the man and Rory Gallagher were good at Self-Aid...

The Croke park gigs back then, anyone?
    Simple Minds, the same year, had mad lightning, especially during 'The American' ('...here comes the flack..!'), 1985 had Michael Stipe sing with his back to the crowd, after being bottled and tamatoed ( U2 were due on), and 1987 U2 again, with The Dubliners/ Pogues and Lou Reed...
    Wow is it that long ago? I'd grab my coat if I could find my glasses hah

Choodefat wrote: »
    I remember thinking Van the man and Rory Gallagher were good at Self-Aid...

The Croke park gigs back then, anyone?
    Simple Minds, the same year, had mad lightning, especially during 'The American' ('...here comes the flack..!'), 1985 had Michael Stipe sing with his back to the crowd, after being bottled and tamatoed ( U2 were due on), and 1987 U2 again, with The Dubliners/ Pogues and Lou Reed...
    Wow is it that long ago? I'd grab my coat if I could find my glasses hah

Bob Dylan at Slane in 1984(?) - the riots.......we arrived down to go camping and didn't even have the chance to get off the bus - the Guards got on and told the driver to turnaround and go back to Dublin!

Any gig where the Army (allegedly) is put on standby to rescue the situation surely qualifies as 'epic'!

Jazus that was a bummer hah. Me best friend at the time, told me the day after the Slane Dylan gig, that his sister was sick and didn't go, and noone wanted the ticket.
    Cue me staring at him until he finally said "ah feck, I forgot you liked Dylan..."

Dunno where he is now, and frankly...

Choodefat wrote: »
    Jazus that was a bummer hah. Me best friend at the time, told me the day after the Slane Dylan gig, that his sister was sick and didn't go, and noone wanted the ticket.
    Cue me staring at him until he finally said "ah feck, I forgot you liked Dylan..."

Dunno where he is now, and frankly...

We still got to see the gig - the next day, my mother drove us down - and then came back an collected us that night at 1-00am!

Ah good stuff...
    The mother asked dad "...will we go into dublin, and sure we might 'find him around somewhere'...' when I didn't come back that night after Croke '85...early bold days heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

I'm seeing wankfest in the first post and subsequent posts about how tasty Leslie Dowdall was.

Did a bunch of teenage lads pay to go have a fap at some woman singing?

Bob Dylan at Slane in 1984(?) - the riots.......

only in ireland would have a riot at a bob dylan concert:D classic

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I have the album they released of that gig and remember it well. Bono sounded a bit embarrased to be there in my opinion.
    Unlike him!

Bono was uncomfortable being there and he knew he was damned if he did, damned if he didn't. If he refused to take part he was a wanker. If he took part he still looked like a wanker because it wasn't a big enough for his ego nor could he hijack the whole thing for himself. Whatever about being able to blow your own trumpet in England and America, Bono knows he can't blag the Irish acts and Irish fans that were there so he just had to meekly take a back seat.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Was it illegal in the 80's to organise an event without having Brush Shiels turn up?

Agreed. That wanker showed up everywhere and he sucked.

"Battle of the Bands" special guest Brush Shiels
    "Paddy's Day gig" with Brush Shiels

You always knew the concert organisers were desperate to fill air-time when that tool was scheduled in.
    And that retarded beret.

^^^^^^^^^^^^

remember when he used to do the guitar lessons on anything goes on a saturday morning, he used to spend half the time laughing at his own jokes

Egginacup wrote: »
    Agreed. That wanker showed up everywhere and he sucked.

"Battle of the Bands" special guest Brush Shiels
    "Paddy's Day gig" with Brush Shiels

You always knew the concert organisers were desperate to fill air-time when that tool was scheduled in.
    And that retarded beret.

I worked in the Baggot (when McGettigan owned it) for a while and Brush turned up there at plenty of gigs - yes, he seemed to be on everything but I found him to be a really good bloke - not like some of the wannabes we got who felt they'd made it because they'd got a four week Thursday night residency on the back of a cancellation.

I'd say the reason he was on everything was because he was a decent skin - he just couldn't say no if someone asked him to do something!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

did the Bangles play self aid? i seem to recall they did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Wasn't born. Never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Bob Dylan at Slane in 1984(?) - the riots.......we arrived down to go camping and didn't even have the chance to get off the bus - the Guards got on and told the driver to turnaround and go back to Dublin!

Any gig where the Army (allegedly) is put on standby to rescue the situation surely qualifies as 'epic'!

http://www.nytimes.com/1984/07/10/arts/town-clears-wreckage-of-bob-dylan-rioters.html

philstar wrote: »
    did the Bangles play self aid? i seem to recall they did

Don't think so - but they did play Slane in support of Queen, iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I remember it. Bono came back from being President of America and made all the unemployed people happy again. And Bob Geldof did some swearing on the telly and made my mammy laugh and my daddy got drunk and went to the pub. And he said some swearing things too.