Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midlife crisis or just coming of age?

• 15-02-2015 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭

So I'm sitting here with a glass of wine - lamenting my ridiculous attempts of late, to somehow recapture the misspent youth I never had!

Out past midnight, drinking more than is probably "respectable", experimenting with nefarious substances, flirting with younger and older men. Not picky at all it seems. A walking cliche of a woman making a bit of a tit of herself if I'm being brutally honest.

So AH the question is - what ridiculous, pathetic or downright outrageous things have you done at a time of stress or change in your life! (And for gods sake I don't care how you feel - just spill the beans and make us laugh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

How old are you ?

I was here before you , I saw her first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

How old are you ?

Apparently I'm "in my prime"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Pwindedd wrote: »
    So I'm sitting here with a glass of wine - lamenting my ridiculous attempts of late, to somehow recapture the misspent youth I never had!

Out past midnight, drinking more than is probably "respectable", experimenting with nefarious substances, flirting with younger and older men. Not picky at all it seems. A walking cliche of a woman making a bit of a tit of herself if I'm being brutally honest.

So AH the question is - what ridiculous, pathetic or downright outrageous things have you done at a time of stress or change in your life! (And for gods sake I don't care how you feel - just spill the beans and make us laugh)

F'ck it and go for it, only live once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

We're gonna need photos I'm afraid!

Yeh I hear that voice quite a bit on my left shoulder. Tempting little fûcker he is.

Use protection , I had the ****e frightened out of me at Christmas with a near miss.

And then the other little blighter on the right shoulder come along with that little nugget to freak you out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

My sorta gal.

I always found I got on best with gals who weren't the least picky.

Don't be hard on yourself ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

No crime in enjoying yourself, OP.

Feck the judgemental.

Your first paragraph , don't worry about a thing .

Your second paragraph , I came out of a nightmare marriage and now I'm starting to enjoy life again, I'm starting to notice people again.

Third paragraph , I'm not stressed , but ridiculous includes three chipped teeth , a lost phone and coat , see the previous comment about protection and various requests to " please leave now , sir " .

Regards , happy midlife whatchamacallit.

My sorta gal.

That sir , is a nice post.

My sorta gal.

Yeh I'm kinda drawn to men more than women, I have a few women friends but there just not as much fun to be around as men.

I just want to have a laugh and a bit of fun. But I can feel myself on the precipice of something bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Pffff no matter how old you are you're still young. Have fun and enjoy yourself, **** the begrudgers and **** em again.

No regrets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I think I know you!!

Your Fun!!! :D

Klgrmn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Get yourself a cat. Get yourself a cat now!

Love it. Nurture it. Stroke it. Then get more cats. A dozen should suffice.

Don't go out and don't open the door. Spare yourself the misery that is people.

And when you die leave all the money you saved to a cat sanctuary.

Or.

Go buck wild and ride them like you're post menopause. And leave your body to medical science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Pffff no matter how old you are you're still young. Have fun and enjoy yourself, **** the begrudgers and **** em again.

No regrets!

Sounds like she done her fair share of fcuking, so she probably has already fcuked them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

You're your own worst critic, and hard on yourself - and we all are when we go around doing exactly as we please (Oh, for shame! ....Not). Amazing how even grown women cringe after the fact, as if the priest was in the business of naming us from the pulpit. Been there, far too many times for my liking at the time but about 5 years on I couldn't give a flying proverbial. I was enjoying myself for the first time in a long time and quite honestly the stress I was trying to leave behind me should have seen me in the psych ward, so I did well, considering.

Ok, to answer your question....probably the time (I live in a tiny rural community) I got rat arsed at a local wedding afters and somehow managed to drive home with the rather fine looking neighbour, to his house. Parked at odds with the drive, and didn't make it out of his house in time in the morning to save face, ie. his entire family and all the other neighbours driving up the road on the way to mass with my very recognisable car showing up the full glory of my inebriated parking.

Quite apart from the stupidity of actually driving home drunk from the village, neither of us lived that one down for nearly a year. Aarrghh, the slagging was shocking! Couldn't look at each other without cringing till a few years ago :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

It's just life OP. I've can't remember the number of times I've made a fool of myself in my life; some I actually can't remember. I've abused my body and my wallet but both have recovered.

I've very few regrets. It's my life. The only person I ever hurt was myself. In my forties now and very settled. I look back mainly with fondness rather than regret. All those irresponsible actions got me to where I am. Not pretty but it could have been much worse.

The Peanut wrote: »
    It's just life OP. I've can't remember the number of times I've made a fool of myself in my life; some I actually can't remember. I've abused my body and my wallet but both have recovered.

I've very few regrets. It's my life. The only person I ever hurt was myself. In my forties now and very settled. I look back mainly with fondness rather than regret. All those irresponsible actions got me to where I am. Not pretty but it could have been much worse.

I'm in my forties and thought I was settled - then BOOM! Breakout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

You're grand, you just need our newest product :

http://img.ie/image/9s

Sounds like she done her fair share of fcuking, so she probably has already fcuked them

Then she should go back for 2nds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I was wild all through my late teens and through my twenties. I had plenty of money and a huge tolerance for alcohol; dangerous combination. Some family tragedies close to home brought a degree of sense to my behaviour.

Many of us have the capacity to breakout and go mad. Mine - I hope - is primarily in the past. This is your life. Simply, if you're not happy try and change. We've all had those reflective Sundays; the proverbial morning after the night before where we over-analyse ourselves.

Well would ya lookit that , so am I .

Snap ;)

The Peanut wrote: »
    Many of us have the capacity to breakout and go mad. Mine - I hope - is primarily in the past. This is your life. Simply, if you're not happy try and change. We've all had those reflective Sundays; the proverbial morning after the night before where we over-analyse ourselves.

I don't necessarily want anything to change. I feel happy enough most of the time. Just need a little extra oooomph now and then. Husband is a bit older than me and I think he's getting ready to take it down a notch and I don't want to. Poor fcuker I'll end up killing him - dragged him out a couple of times and had to carry him home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

A walking cliche of a woman making a bit of a tit of herself if I'm being brutally honest.
    There's enough people saying those unfounded things, without you saying it about yourself.

Why....who said something? :eek:

Shrap wrote: »
    Quite apart from the stupidity of actually driving home drunk from the village, neither of us lived that one down for nearly a year. Aarrghh, the slagging was shocking! Couldn't look at each other without cringing till a few years ago :(

We've all done it. ;)

Cmon - spill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Snap ;)
    Snap snap;) You couldnt have posted this at a better time for me OP..Im in the exact same situation as you and feel much better knowing Im not alone...go for it :)

I smell a boardsie midlife crisis beers night coming up :D

Colser wrote: »
    Snap snap;) You couldnt have posted this at a better time for me OP..Im in the exact same situation as you and feel much better knowing Im not alone...go for it :)

Man it's a ride alright. Up one minute down the next. But I feel quite alive at the prospect of my next escapade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I smell a boardsie midlife crisis beers night coming up :D

There will be some nice cars in the car park at that one!

The smell of hair dye and old spice would be lethal :pac:

We've all done it. ;)
    Cmon - spill!

Hoping right now that he doesn't have the other side of this story :eek: Hmm. Perhaps that was a bit recognisable. In the spirit of making you look a whole lot more respectable than me OP, I may not have done myself any favours! Thoughts? I think I should take my post down!

Nah, it was honest and its out there now. I got your back.:D

Cmon - spill!

OK - I wasn't planning to but:

This was late 70s early 80s. A nights drinking with the first firm I worked at. I remember the pubs "speciality" was to serve Guinness in 1 litre steins. I went at them like a hog :p.

I had no thought of getting back to my folks. Anyway a gal (Lynn - I think) said I only live round the corner come back to mine - and another guy called Doug as well. So the three of us set off walking. Part way on the walk back Doug must have sobered up a little and thought better of it, because he made his excuses.

Anyway we get back to Lynn's for what must have been the most disappointing night of passion she had yet experienced - if I do say so myself.

In the morning we slept in. Do I do the sensible thing and pull the obvious sickie? Oh no, we arrive at the firm late, together and red-faced. I sat opposite an "elderly" woman (probably wasn't that old but to me in my early 20s ....) and her first words were "Your turn last night was it?"

An embarrassing day or two - I still cringe a little :)

Yeah....that's close enough to sh1tting on your own doorstep! Although in my case, it was the neighbour's doorstep :eek: :P