Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Questions from a newbie about boots, gear etc

• 13-02-2015 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭

Just got my first pair of hiking boots. Do they need breaking in before being worn for any longish period of time? I have worn them around the house for a couple of hours. Other than feeling heavier than any other kind of footwear, they feel fine. Was thinking of going for a hike around Howth tomorrow, but don't want to pull up lame with loadsa blisters after only half an hour.

They are the Regatta brand. I know, I know....they have a crap reputation. But they were a gift and I want to see how I take to this hiking lark, before I decide to shell out on a pair of really good boots.

Can anyone recommend a good pair of inexpensive hiking socks? I saw a pair for 16 quid in Great Outdoors, but I can not justify that much money for just one pair of socks, not just yet any way. What about insoles, do I need them & if so, what brand?

Also looking for waterproof pants/trousers that will fit a 5 ft 2 female. All the ones I have looked at, seem to presume that the planet is made up of 6ft giants. :mad:

Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭fergusb

If they are leather boots, the more you wear them the more comfortable they should be. However fabric boots are generally softer so don't need to be really broken in, I think. As long as they are comfortable its the main thing, don't wear them on anything very long on the first day in case they do get a bit sore. Throw a pair of runners into your bag for emergency on your first hike. Also if you can wear the boots for a short walk to the shops or something it should give a bit of an idea if they will cause blisters or not.

As for socks, if you are worried about blisters, consider getting a pair of liner socks (as well as your hiking socks). I usually wear liners and have never had an issue with blisters. But you do have to buy 2 pairs of socks instead of just 1.

As for insoles, I'd avoid them unless you really need them, if the boots fits comfortably no need, however if the boots are loose or your foot slides a bit, they are a cheap way of making a potentially painful pair of boots into something wearable. If you do want to get insoles, I'd go into Great Outdoors with the boots and chat to them.

As for waterproof trousers, just shop around, Great Outdoors have a good few, also 53 Degrees North have a good selection so just see if they have any women specific ones, generally however they are on the baggy side so you can wear over your normal trousers. But if they are really long, they will just get uncomfortable and you'll end up standing on the ends of them.

Some people swear by TK Max for hiking stuff, so might be worth checking out for trousers and socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That's brilliant info. Thanks a million. I don't mind the trousers being baggy, but when they are a foot longer than your leg is, its just a pain in the arse.

No idea what liners are? I presume I get them in a sports/outdoor shop, if I wind up needing them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭fergusb

Liners are something like these:
    http://www.bridgedale.com/coolmaxr-liner

Basically super thin, moisture wicking material. You'll get them in any outdoor shop I think.

TK Maxx always has hiking socks.

Cheers, yeah, I hear good things about TK Maxx.

What is the point of liners exactly? Is it to prevent your feet getting wet/sweaty, or do they act as a buffer between your sock/boot and your foot to prevent blisters forming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Mark#1

Tesco do an anti-blister hiking sock - €6 for a 2-pack. I've had 10+ pairs for over a year and can't fault them. They're grand for hikes & walks. If you're into snow/very cold ground, they won't keep your feet warm.

Cheers. Thanks for that. I'll check them out.

The boots and I survived a 2 hr trek around Howth. We did fine, but they did feel quite heavy. That didn't make them hard to walk in, but I found that if I was standing on uneven ground, it was easy for my entire foot to twist to one side, as the sheer weight of the boot carried it over. I wonder do hikers wind up with a lot of twisted ankles as a result? That never happened when I'd do Howth in ordinary, lightweight runners.

I also found that while the boot fit my foot very well, they were very loose at the ankle. That may be why my ankle turned so easily. Even with the boots tightly laced, there was a fair bit of empty space at the ankle, if ye know what I mean. Is there anyway to counteract this, as I don't have room in side the boot to wear more socks, just to bulk up the lower leg area.

Also, are the laces in Regatta boots tough and durable? Or should I invest in a better set? If so, what brand? When I am pulling them tight, I get the feeling that I may snap them & I don't want that to happen in the middle of a hike.

This is the boot I am wearing btw, it is the Lady Garsdale Mid

http://www.regatta.com/lady-garsdale-mid-walking-boot.html

Thanks again for the input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

The laces have outlasted the soles in every pair of regatta footwear I've ever had! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Work out your ankles more :) Just kidding. No there should be little or no movement in the ankle when the laces are tight. The purpose of boot is to support your ankle so you don't go over on it. Having them loose will be the same as in an ordinary shoe or worse. Very dangerous on uneven terrain. I can't think off the top of my head what you can fill the gap with other than thick socks. Are you 100% sure you have them laced properly. I know it may seem stupid but I have seen it in the past. My boots are forever coming lose while on boggy ground but I have to make a conscious effort to stop and tighten them as the risk is too much. You go over on your ankle even somewhere remote and mountain rescue will have to come get you more than likely. No one wants that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I don't know if it's my feet, or the boots, but any time I buy pair of hiking boots the laces often open when I'm out and about. Might be just bad lacemanship, so to speak. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Mark#1

I'd call that a shoe, rather than a boot, or maybe a mid-height boot? I don't imagine a boot of that design will offer much in the way of ankle support, probably on par with a runner/trainer.

FWIW, my own current boots are Lowa Combat GTX - they have quite a high ankle cuff, probably higher than most hiking boots (and higher than most folk like), but that's the way I like my boots.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qN0rTCzKC14

For light or occasional hikes and walks, or until you get a feel for what you like and dislike about them, I'd say just enjoy whatever hiking or walking you do do while wearing these boots, and then you'll have an idea of what you'd like in any replacement pair.

Boots might be a bit of overkill around Howth, but out on ranges they are absolutely a must, especially at this time of year. It's not just the ankle support, it's also the grip.

As for being loose at the ankle, try anchoring that area with this lacing technique...

http://youtu.be/WeKZ2LeESJQ

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I've tried that method, held up pretty well.

Unfortunately, the boots, though not used that often, are now starting to perish somewhat. The heel is coming off on one. Maybe shoemaker's glue (not shop bought stuff) might help. The side rubber, heel and connecting sole bit have kinda split on the other. Might be the end, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I use duck tape breaking in boots. Stick it on as soon as you feel rubbing.

Two pairs of socks help too.

End of the line.

deadboots_zps4ddkqwk8.jpg