Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boring People You Have Met

• 12-02-2015 12:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

I've met quite a few terrible bores in my time, probably nice enough people but just start snoozing as soon as they start speaking.

The absolute worst was a fella I met in a bar one night from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan (just spelt that without google, go me:P), who spent his summer holidays with his Da in Palm Springs California for thirty odd years.

Well, if there's a single bend in that road from Canada to SoCal that I don't know now, it's due to my terrible memory and not to his detailed description of his campervan roadtrips:(

Who's the most boring poor soul you have ever had the misfortune of conversing with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

And what makes you so interesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Sorry Backwards Man I nodded off for a second there, what were we talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yer man actually remarked that I was the most interesting person he ever spoke to, because I had been to California (well just Barstow), New York, Paris (suburbs) and er . . Dublin.

Sheltered life those Canucks live:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

He walks backwards faster than you can run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭LucidLife

Yer man actually remarked that I was the most interesting person he ever spoke to, because I had been to California (well just Barstow), New York, Paris (suburbs) and er . . Dublin.

Not one for generalization are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

We run the electricity off the gas and the gas off the electricity..they have the finest boilers in the world...god I remember when I first saw that boiler...no round envelopes for me!

LucidLife wrote: »
    Not one for generalization are we?
    Not at all eh? eh? eh? eh?

/Canadian accent

Not at all eh? eh? eh? eh?

/Canadian accent

Well in my experience bars ain't really the best places to meet interesting people. Most genuinely intriguing people I met here in Saskatchewan don't frequent bars. Saskatchewan is full of interesting people. I'm interesting myself and the place suits me outside of when it gets to -40/-50....then I meet nobody and hibernate

That's celsius right? That's another hour of conversation me and yer man had, the difference between metric, imperial and US measurements!:pac:

I still have his email, think I'll drop him a line!

Seriously though, a lot of my most favourite people are Canadians, Shania Twain, Celine Dion, Bryan Adams, Kevin Costner, The Littlest Hobo, you got a lot going on up there.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I once met the most interesting man in Tyrone, he claimed to have the biggest snot of 1995

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I've met quite a few terrible bores in my time, probably nice enough people but just start snoozing as soon as they start speaking.

The absolute worst was a fella I met in a bar one night from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan (just spelt that without google, go me:P), who spent his summer holidays with his Da in Palm Springs California for thirty odd years.

Well, if there's a single bend in that road from Canada to SoCal that I don't know now, it's due to my terrible memory and not to his detailed description of his campervan roadtrips:(

Who's the most boring poor soul you have ever had the misfortune of conversing with?
    Everyone is interesting in their own way.

But just because you MADE this brilliant interesting thread I now have the chance to post one of my most favorite songs of all time by one of my most favorite artists. Thank you Mr Backwards Man!

Because it does touch on what you asked

People who are boring ...no one is boring ...yet we are all a little boring. Boring is something we have to learn ...

At the local dance, whilst posing by the door
    A largie begged: "would I come on the floor?"
    Above the band, my voice was heard,
    Quite suddenly it had occurred to me:
    I'm bored!

I'm bored with everything I touch and see
    I'm bored with exposes of LSD
    I'm bored with Frank Sinatra's new LP
    And so I roar (shoo-be-do-be-do)
    I'm bored.

Drinking different coloured wines or beers
    (Chug-a-lug chug-a-lug)
    Just quite frankly leaves me bored to (tears for souvenirs)
    And quite apart from what one hears,
    I've been like this for years and years
    You see? Ennui.

I'm bored with Mother Nature or her son
    I'm bored with everything that should be done
    And so, I just poke out my big red tongue and [raspberry]
    I'm bored.

I'm tired of art!
    (Drawing bored)
    Sex is a drag!
    (In a bawdy house, I dare say.)
    Awk! Australians bore me!
    (You mean the a-bore-iginals, don't you?)
    I'm bored to death!
    (Like mortar board)

I am bored.
    [Repeat many times, round-style]
    This is boredom you can afford, from Cyril Bored

I hate each Julie Andrews film they've made,
    I'm just a nasty narrow-minded jade.
    Don't think that I will smile at it,
    I'm not a weak-willed hypocrite,
    I'll say: I'm bored!

I'm bored with with-it men in spotty ties
    Who hum (hmm-hmm-hmm-hmm) tiresome tunes like Edelweiss
    I'm bored, and when I hear it
    In a trice, I shout, I'm bored!

The only thing that ever interests me...
    Is ME! (Me! Meee! Me! Me!...)

Boring people don't listen to me and walk away when I am talking and saying important things!:mad:

Nah I am pretty boring. :o

I am good at small talk HOW BORING IS THAT??

And Now I must waltz around the room to Tubas in the moonlight. :p

Actually in the quiet time is where the stuff IS sometimes. Energy ..vibes ..I dunno...

I can be pretty boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Eutow wrote: »
    He walks backwards faster than you can run.

Well, ok, Im satisfied with that I guess.

Ah there's more to me than that man

I've been everywhere, man.
    Crossed the desert's bare, man.
    I've breathed the mountain air, man.
    Of travel I've had my share, man.
    I've been everywhere.

You forgot Kerouac! At least I think you did

He was a Yank, New England French I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That's celsius right?

Doesn't matter, -40 is the same in both.

True, but -50 ain't:P

God, I love the smell of pedantry in the morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I literally just patrol boards looking for people who have asked vaguely pointless questions so that I can smugly respond to them and bask in my own sense of self satisfaction. :pac:

He was a Yank, New England French I think.

Haha my bad, given I read most his books I don't know why I just thought he was Canadian. ...perhaps because I'm in Canada reading one atm....blonde moment or my balding black headed equivalent.

I literally just patrol boards looking for people who have asked vaguely pointless questions so that I can smugly respond to them and bask in my own sense of self satisfaction. :pac:
    Ha, were you that guy?

It's one thing having your own gallon and pint, but your own fluid ounce, that's just bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Seriously though, a lot of my most favourite people are Canadians, Shania Twain, Celine Dion, Bryan Adams, Kevin Costner, The Littlest Hobo, you got a lot going on up there.:)

Kevin Costner isn't Canadian

Me too

Sorry

Todd Gack wrote: »
    Kevin Costner isn't Canadian

Me too

Sorry
    Ha! Always thought he was. Must be because he's so cool.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Anyone who's talked about work for more than 2 minutes when not in work... so my brother and...?? (which is terrible to say given the amount he's done for me over the years)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

that guy who bored me to tears on holidays saying he was one of the chelsea pensioners.. blah blah blah #loadsamoney GO AWAY!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Without question, a manager in a firm of accountants that I once worked for who was literally the embodiment of the worst stereotypes about accountants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Based purely on your taste in music I'm gonna have to say you. Sorry, thought you were cool once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Collie D wrote: »
    Based purely on your taste in music I'm gonna have to say you. Sorry, thought you were cool once

no one on boards is or was ever cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

In general, boring people are the ones who are primarily interested in themselves, and like to talk about their interests at length. It saddens me however that I haven't been to Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. This will need to be rectified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My brother's friends are a painfully boring group of people. They are an incredibly unambitious group of men with no desire to challenge themselves or engage in any sort of self-improvement. As a result they find themselves hanging around a small town in East Galway like some tragically real version of the Hardy Bucks.

Their lives seem to revolve around watching South Park and smoking cannabis. The worst of them is actively involved in the cannabis legalisation movement. Always there with some reference from some dubious journal with no peer review. As I said to my brother, if he spent as much time doing an online training course as he does trying to justify his drug addiction then he might not be unemployed.

Thankfully my brother seems to have distanced himself somewhat from this group. It can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

On the bus to vegas were we?

Not quite, had to meet my cousin who lives in San Diego so drive down I-15 to meet him halfway. That's a kind of a boring story too, all I've seen of California is a shopping centre car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

especially people who only want to talk about themselves, and can't get a word in!!

Collie D wrote: »

At least you can't question my judgment on canine superheroes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

My brother's friends are a painfully boring group of people. They are an incredibly unambitious group of men with no desire to challenge themselves or engage in any sort of self-improvement. As a result they find themselves hanging around a small town in East Galway like some tragically real version of the Hardy Bucks.

Their lives seem to revolve around watching South Park and smoking cannabis. The worst of them is actively involved in the cannabis legalisation movement. Always there with some reference from some dubious journal with no peer review. As I said to my brother, if he spent as much time doing an online training course as he does trying to justify his drug addiction then he might not be unemployed.

Thankfully my brother seems to have distanced himself somewhat from this group. It can only be a good thing.

The gift that keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

When I'm not feeling well and have insomnia, I always end up watching Canadian science fiction films on SyFy at 4am. Last night/this morning, I watched Stonado, about tornados that flung out big exploding rocks (not stones) onto Boston. (Most of the actors were Canadian.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Ah there's more to me than that man

I've been everywhere, man.
    Crossed the desert's bare, man.
    I've breathed the mountain air, man.
    Of travel I've had my share, man.
    I've been everywhere.

Here's my attempt TBM to win The Most Boring Person you ever met award.

I'm going to assume you know that song through Johnny Cash? I was watching some obscure music program some years ago, and this song was being discussed. Initially an Australian song, many versions now exist for different countries around the world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I've_Been_Everywhere

The Peanut wrote: »
    Here's my attempt TBM to win The Most Boring Person you ever met award.

I'm going to assume you know that song through Johnny Cash? I was watching some obscure music program some years ago, and this song was being discussed. Initially an Australian song, many versions now exist for different countries around the world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I've_Been_Everywhere
    That's actually pretty interesting, you're going to have to try harder. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Drunk Bono in Lillies one Saturday night back in 2005 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

That's actually pretty interesting, you're going to have to try harder. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Chijj wrote: »
    The gift that keeps on giving.

Jasus feck it ignore doesn't seem to work on quoted posts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Oyva bigwan

Backwards man the backwards Man I can walk backwards fast as u can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I was at a 21st party a couple of years ago and was introduced to a fella and his wife that vaguely knew my family. Now the warning signs should have gone off when everyone disappeared and left me on my own with this lad. He proceeded to bore the ear off me about him refinding God, and telling me that the Second Coming of Jesus was imminent. Neither him or his wife cared to take on board my take on religion, but much rathered freaking me out with their nonsense.

Eventually I said I needed to go toilet but snuck out an emergency exit and back into the far side of the bar away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

That's celsius right? That's another hour of conversation me and yer man had, the difference between metric, imperial and US measurements!:pac:

I still have his email, think I'll drop him a line!

And whats wrong with Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, Robbie Robertson, Michael J Fox ?

You might as well have added Justin Bieber to your list to really make it complete.

So are you one of the Bismarcks out of Loughrea ?

Now I am left wondering what these bucks make of you ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

So the light went out in my refrigerator...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Having a monologue with myself...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 doctor_yes

I was at a 21st party a couple of years ago and was introduced to a fella and his wife that vaguely knew my family. Now the warning signs should have gone off when everyone disappeared and left me on my own with this lad. He proceeded to bore the ear off me about him refinding God, and telling me that the Second Coming of Jesus was imminent. Neither him or his wife cared to take on board my take on religion, but much rathered freaking me out with their nonsense.

Eventually I said I needed to go toilet but snuck out an emergency exit and back into the far side of the bar away from them.

he sounds more nutty than boring