Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look down on people?

• 09-02-2015 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭

And if you do, do you feel bad about it? I do subconciously sometimes and mainly feel quite bad about those ones. However when I'm in a right mood and everything is amplified I feel like a king compared to some of the utter pointless morons I encounter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I'm too small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Not usually, I'm quite short.

EDIT: Fuck you eternal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

6ft. So yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

fr336 wrote: »
    And if you do, do you feel bad about it? I do subconciously sometimes and mainly feel quite bad about those ones. However when I'm in a right mood and everything is amplified I feel like a king compared to some of the utter pointless morons I encounter.

No

But then i'm not a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

No

But then i'm not a cnut.

You're on After Hours. Are you sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I'm tall so yes. Grovel minions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Any body lower than 5 11 and I look down on them. But I look up to those taller than me.

I know my place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭incrisis

I am only 6', but taller than quite a few, so I have to look down so that I don't look like I am being aloof..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

If she is wearing a low cut top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I tend to look wistfully into the middle distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

No

But then i'm not a cnut.

Says who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Yes, from a short analysing of a persons behaviour and demeanour I can determine if they are of a lower class peasantary that is rife in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

At 6'1 generally yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Yeah, once I'm on the second floor looking down.

These height jokes are actually amazing.....I'm currently in A&E because my sides split open. Original genius, god bless you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I wouldn't condescend to look down on anyone. I'd be above that sort if carry on and would not think much of people who would. In fact I would look down on them. ;-)

These height jokes are actually amazing.....I'm currently in A&E because my sides split open. Original genius, god bless you all.

Don't get short over it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

With my stepladder of greatness I look down on everyone

You can look down on alot of people from a plane.

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    To be totally honest, I used to think I was better than some people, education, job wise etc.

Not sure what made me turn around and realise I am no better, and who gave me the god given right to think I was different.

I was angry with myself for thinking it, but now I realise with pride I am the same as anyone else.

You cannot tell by looking in at someone what's going on in their life.

So all humans are equal in every way? I agree on a basic respect level of race, gender, sexuality etc etc but above and beyond that? Some people are clearly more intelligent than others, want to do more good or simply lead a more interesting life than others. You're putting yourself down, you're not the same as any other old tom dick or harry simply because you're human.

Look forward to crouching on some trolley for three days.

I died but they brought me back to life...come on more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'm 6' 2" in my bare feet so I tend to be able to look down on people from a physical point of view. I find myself drawn to other intelligent, generous and perceptive people, so no looking up or down required. I cannot abide petty jealousy and resentment. I'll therefore silently judge endlessly negative people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Must be small so.

This ironic yet desperate line of height jokes won't be complete until The Backwards Man arrives...come on any second now...

Stop taking up hospital beds, you can go to your GP with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yes, you ! :pac: :pac: joking of course.

I think it's natural in humans to do so at sometime in their life. I don't think its healthy or nice to do it as a rule constantly though or be a snob, however...

There is a guy I work with who on the face of it is a nice person yet at work is the most useless tool you could ever encounter and will put a lot of his effort into getting out of work or finding ways around getting lumbered with the most technical aspects of what we do so somone else will have to do it. He is at the job longer then anyone else and is also older and more experienced, yet he is universally considered a pure idiot. It's impossible not to look down on somone like that at times when they themselves put themselves in that position but I try to look on everyone the same unless they go out of their way for me to do so otherwise, regardless, of gender, background, education, I try to treat everyone with respect and as an equal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

6ft. So yes.

midget:pac:.

6ft 6in

oh and don't none of you deformed plus 6,6ers think of outdoing me. Yez are an abomination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I live at the top of the country, I look down on the lot of you.

I'm 6' 2" in my bare feet so I tend to be able to look down on people from a physical point of view. I find myself drawn to other intelligent, generous and perceptive people, so no looking up or down required.

Why? Are they all 6' 2" in their bare feet too?

This ironic yet desperate line of height jokes won't be complete until The Backwards Man arrives...come on any second now...

Hes on the sauce tonight.

A minute out...bless you.

When I see bedraggled examples sucking on Linden Village at 9 am on the streets and cooking up behind cars, I do have a tendency to feel slightly better about my own personage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

If that means you live Dunnyg-gall you can't look down on anyone.hun (cept dem nordies)

Why? Are they all 6' 2" in their bare feet too?

Must be a German thing.

No shoes = happy Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

So all humans are equal in every way? I agree on a basic respect level of race, gender, sexuality etc etc but above and beyond that? Some people are clearly more intelligent than others, want to do more good or simply lead a more interesting life than others. You're putting yourself down, you're not the same as any other old tom dick or harry simply because you're human.

I laughed...

I deleted my post because I felt it was too serious for the topic with all the jokes, I. Felt it would fall flat....

I have had the sh 1t kicked out of my life over a 5 year period, it taught me that not am I no better, but I am the same, I assumed I was so different, but being the same makes me feel good,

Kinda hard to explain, I think....

Strumms wrote: »
    Yes, you ! :pac: :pac: joking of course.

Of course ;) If I met me on the aviation forum I'd blow a gasket.

There was the whole necknomination thing... I looked down at those idiots and shook my head at society and how we could have gotten here, until I realised that it was possible for the gene pool to self cleanse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I'm 6' 2" in my bare feet so I tend to be able to look down on people from a physical point of view. I find myself drawn to other intelligent, generous and perceptive people, so no looking up or down required. I cannot abide petty jealousy and resentment. I'll therefore silently judge endlessly negative people.

You must have woeful trouble tearing yourself away from the mirror in the mornings, my good man.

As a lanky yoke myself, I do look down. But I've come to realise that there are two ways of doing so.
    Actually bending your head = A grand chap.
    Just lowering your eyes = A ****.

Tall order..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Occasionally when I meet the the odd skanger from Dublin. They'd have to be a real hardcore certified skanger though before I could even attempt to look down on them.

Strumms wrote: »
    There was the whole necknomination thing... I looked down at those idiots and shook my head at society and how we could have gotten here, until I realised that it was possible for the gene pool to self cleanse.

You should have seen the boiling water challenge.. :roll:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I´m never condescending to others

for those of you that don´t understand bigger words condescending means to talk down to

bjork wrote: »

for those of you that don´t understand bigger words condescending means to talk down to

Now that was mildly funny compared to the short 'jokes'.

Tall order..

Tis a hairy subject.

You should have seen the boiling water challenge.. :roll:

Mammy would make you drink the whole lot now if she found out, they don't just give water away you know.

Tis a hairy subject.

That's putting a bit of a stretch on it.

It's a toothless accusation really

bjork wrote: »

I work on the top floor so I look down on everybody.