Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long until it's not as cold anymore lads?

• 07-02-2015 12:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭

I just want to be able to go outside in t-shirts again without feeling the pneumonia coming. How many more cups of tea need to be drank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I did a quick browse of climate change reports and it looks like it'll be 2090.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

I just want to be able to go outside in t-shirts again without feeling the pneumonia coming. How many more cups of tea need to be drank?

Love the winter so I can hide my moobs. T-shirt weather can stay away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭LucidLife

Be glad of what you have. Imagine being stuck in -30-50 most of the winter....and not a decent cuppa this side of the Atlantic either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

You just want any excuse to show off your gains.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Grayson wrote: »
    I did a quick browse of climate change reports and it looks like it'll be 2090.

9T1kgIr.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I remember it being 20C on Paddy's Day in 1999... not going to happen this year according to this...

http://www.accuweather.com/en/ie/donegal/207815/daily-weather-forecast/207815?day=36

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I had good fun strolling around Limerick in January in jeans and a T-shirt. Got some very funny looks from people I'm jackets and scarves. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Nearly there, mid-day now is nice, mornings and nights though are still freezing! Sub 20°C!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

I just want to be able to go outside in t-shirts again without feeling the pneumonia coming. 

You're in the wrong country so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

I remember it being 20C on Paddy's Day in 1999... not going to happen this year according to this...

http://www.accuweather.com/en/ie/donegal/207815/daily-weather-forecast/207815?day=36

Accuweather is about as accurate as that raving postman ye have up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Let Evelyn Cusack throw shade on their forecasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Nothing beats strolling round a golf course in shorts and t-shirt, rare as rocking horse droppings in this country though.

Driving the carts on a wet course is a good laugh all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Driving the carts on a wet course is a good laugh all the same

Yep, I'll give you that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It snowed on paddy's day a few years before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Become a fattie, fatties don't feel the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

When the "it's too hot" threads start :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭todders

Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

When I replace these bad boys with flip flops.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭Dep!

Thats for Donegal. Sure ya may as well have put in "Alaska".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

NOOO! 7 degrees in mid March. I can't take this shít anymore. January blues are now extended to Feb & March by the looks of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I thought the 7 and 8 degrees daytime temps in the latter part of this week felt positively balmy once enduring -8c whilst standing at the bus stop this past Tuesday morning. With a chest infection. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

It's still winter at the moment despite many people thinking that Spring started on Feb 1st(that's. An old pagan belief).

Spring actually starts on March 21.

When you are roasting in a fiery hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭happysunnydays

Be end of April/beginning of May really but you'll start to see improvement in temperatures from Paddys onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭happysunnydays

....and then its the happy sunnys days! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If we get powerful and static high pressure to the east and slack low pressure to the west the temps could hit mid teens by early March but alas nothing like that on the horizon.

CJ Haughey wrote: »
    Accuweather is about as accurate as that raving postman ye have up there.

Accuweather is very good actually.

I wouldn't pay heed to anything past five days, weather forecast-wise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I just want to say that I love the idea of measuring time in cups of tea.

Do you know when is Pancake Tuesday this year MistyCheese?
    Eh, yeah, it's about 30 - 32 cups of tea away, John.

Unfortunately it probably won't work on a large scale as John might only drink a cup of tea every other day so he won't be looking for the Jif lemon until gone April. It'll be long gone out of the shops by then.

This day next week will be about 27 degrees.

Where I'm going :D

If we get powerful and static high pressure to the east and sl....

NERD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

We're now moving into inbetween weather territory where it can be too 'warm' for a coat but too cold not to have a coat. So when you put the coat on, you get too sweaty and warm so you take it off but then you're kind of cold and the sweat evaporating just makes you colder but then you don't want to put the jacket back on because you know you'll get too warm again so you just break down and cry.

thelad95 wrote: »
    We're now moving into inbetween weather territory where it can be too 'warm' for a coat but too cold not to have a coat.

Nah, still way too cold to go coatless. We're still sub ten degrees every day, I wouldn't shed my coat until it gets to 14 degrees or above personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Ne're cast a clout till may be out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I was wearing shorts one day last week. Granted I was about the house, but hey, shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 glassdaisies

I dunno, I live where it's flip-flop and Tshirt weather all year long. Was sunny and 20 during the day today. Though, I will be over in Dublin and Galway next week, so hoping I will bring some sun along with me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

I've been in Canada all winter going around in a tshirt and jeans while the locals looked at me like I'm an eejit... Its lovely here, I think Ireland got confused with that country its supposed to be !

Stinjy wrote: »
    I've been in Canada all winter going around in a tshirt and jeans while the locals looked at me like I'm an eejit... Its lovely here, I think Ireland got confused with that country its supposed to be !

What part of Canada? I thought it was freezing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭La Mer

Ye wouldn't be long getting frost bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Canadaka is fine they have a warmer type of dry cold, this is humid cold, even the Siberians can't stand this windy Atlantic damp cold.

Solution 1: Just wear lots of Heatrub™ toasty, with a bit of a slight minty smell.

Solution 2: Install a mile high curve walled mirror* - all along the edge of North Antrim coast tilted inward about 15o.
    So the low sun will be double-dosed, be it a hot wan like Jamaica man, all Februrary for real, get me?

* Norway did this once, to enlighten a darken wolverine Valley (smaller scale of course).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

This day next week will be about 27 degrees.

Where I'm going :D

I always thought it was hotter than 27 in hell? :p

What part of Canada? I thought it was freezing there

west coast, its a totally different kind of cold, not as damp (usually) but the locals think its bitter cold, they'd not last in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Didn't wear a hat, scarf or coat going into town yesterday and I was only a little bit chilly. I hope the sunny weather comes soon. I'd rather be too hot than too cold!

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Didn't wear a hat, scarf or coat going into town yesterday and I was only a little bit chilly. I hope the sunny weather comes soon. I'd rather be too hot than too cold!

Definitely. As nice as standing in front of the fire naked is the warmth goes almost instantly as soon as you leave the room whereas if it's a really hot day and you use a fan or take a cold shower you still feel chilled for a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Love the cold weather, gimme a bout of snow any day!

Rosie Rant wrote: »

ah but in the cold you can continue layering clothes/jackets in the heat you can only take off so much...

Stinjy wrote: »

Big difference between BC and Saskatchewan tho! Was -50 for two days straight here start of Jan. I.e you would have literally frozen to death in a t-shirt

Canadaka is fine they have a warmer type of dry cold, this is humid cold, even the Siberians can't stand this windy Atlantic damp cold.

Solution 1: Just wear lots of Heatrub™ toasty, with a bit of a slight minty smell.

Solution 2: Install a mile high curve walled mirror* - all along the edge of North Antrim coast tilted inward about 15o.
    So the low sun will be double-dosed, be it a hot wan like Jamaica man, all Februrary for real, get me?

* Norway did this once, to enlighten a darken wolverine Valley (smaller scale of course).

Your perception of Canada is just funny. Granted some parts are like what you describe a lot more are not I assure you. And I've spent time everywhere from east to west coast over last 16 yeards so know from experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

True enough slight jest implied, have felt both the chilly 'eternal winds' of St.Johns and winter of Toronto.

As a general rule though, it's a dampish aul windie coul here.
    A warmer cold would still be better than this coldish-cold, cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

When the Bumble Bees are buzzing around in their cool black and yellow fur coats.