Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Research Chemicals - Legality

• 06-02-2015 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Chosentime

I've ordered a Research Chemical, which I now believe must be illegal. I know that ignorance of the law isn't defence.
    It's been held up in customs. It's called 'Ethylphenidate: THere is an article on it o wiki that doesn't mention it being illegal in UK, but I think Ireland is more strict and pretty much everything is illegal.

From the website I ordered it seemed OK to get posted to Ireland. I got it posted to a parcel motel two weeks ago but it hasn't shown up.

I have no other issues with drugs / anything I have is prescription. I ordered 50, 50MG pellets from a British site.

They're obviously being held in Portlaoise. Do I get sent what is called a 'love letter' for this?
    Do I have to respond? Do the Gardaí come to my house? I have no criminal record,
    I just would like to have an idea what's going to happen

I'm a 34 year old professional and this has just been a stupid mistake. V anxious and annoyed at myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Chosentime wrote: »
    Do I have to respond?

Mod

The quoted part is a request for legal advice. No legal advice can be requested or given.

So that part must be considered deleted.

I think that legal discussion can carry on in relation to the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think custom seize and destroy illegal substances.

I dont believe they take it any further unless its quite a serious drug or quite large quantities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Chosentime

THanks, do they send a letter that I've to reply to? Will i get a criminal record?

And Ethlyphenidate considered serious? It's on all the Research Chemical sites in the UK. I had no idea it would be serious here. I'm so stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

We can't comment on what will happen. Your mileage will vary.
    Research Chemical
    An interesting question would be "Are you a research chemist?", with suitable qualifications, experience and support structures to use such a chemical?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Will the meth be blue like in Breaking Bad? :pac:

Nope, just wondering if someone has ordered something similar and what was the outcome if seized.

I had something seized once, by HM Customs, I wasn't keen to engage with them on getting it back. Then broadband came along!

What do you mean about broadband?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What do you mean about broadband?

He downloaded the XXXXXXX over the internet. ;)

I'm a 34 year old professional and this has just been a stupid mistake. V anxious and annoyed at myself.

Right, obviously legal advice can't be given here but hypothetically if you were caught shoplifting do the following: Cooperate fully with the guards in relation to arrest, search* etc. say nothing. Speak to a solicitor at the earliest opportunity, say nothing. Go through the motions, say nothing. Did I mention say nothing.

Obviously anything you're told by a solicitor on the day overrides the above but don't think 'ah sure I'll be a good boy and smooth it all over with the nice policemen'. Call a solicitor and in the mean time complete this word puzzle: Rearrange these words: nothing say.

There's nothing you can do now so just try and put it out of your mind as much as you can.

*Given the possibility of a search make sure you've no more research chemicals about the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Admittedly, I didn't look very hard, but I didn't manage to locate ethylphenidate on a list of controlled substances. Does anyone know if it's caught by any legislation other than the Misuse of Drugs Act?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

The Criminal Justice (Psychoactive Substances) Act 2010 was passed during the "head shop" moral panic a few years back, it forbids importing any "substance, product, preparation, plant, fungus or natural organism which has, when consumed by a person, the capacity to...produce stimulation or depression of the central nervous system of the person, resulting in hallucinations or a significant disturbance in, or significant change to, motor function, thinking, behaviour, perception, awareness or mood".

So a substance doesn't have to specifically named on a list of banned substances in order for it to be illegal, it is enough for it to have psychoactive effects as defined above.

OK, well what is the likely outcome, do you think. I'm sure this happens regularly as there are so many UK website advertising this stuff. They will destroy the 50 ethylphenidate and send me a letter ?

No one really knows, what happens in one case might not happen in another, it probably depends on whether there's any focus on it.

I know its very difficult but just try and forget about it for now.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I have no idea about this from a legal perspective but I remember someone from South Africa who ordered some cigarettes that she couldn't buy here. They were seized by customs because she'd ordered a large quantity, as she was a heavy smoker. They just wrote her a letter setting out that they were seized because they thought, due to the quantity, that she was going to sell them.

She wrote back saying that she smoked 40+ a day and these would only last her 3 months or something. They wrote back saying that was fine but unfortunately the cigarettes had been "destroyed" before they received her letter.

Also, this is Joe Duffy's fault again.

They could.

Or you could be looking at a raid. That could be months down the road though.

Yeah, I'm Pablo Escobar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Yeah, I'm Pablo Escobar.

So you've stopped worrying about that delivery and are now taking the p**s, obviously one of your earlier orders slipped though the net.

Or just did the sensible thing and found a local drug dealer :D

No I'm not taking the piss, but I hardly going to have my house raided.

Well I'm sure they can put my name into the system and see that it's clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Well I'm sure they can put my name into the system and see that it's clean.

That just means that you haven't been caught before, and doesn't mean that they know for sure you haven't done it before. They may think you have been lucky before, but now they have something they can follow up on.

Just curious though ... with these "research chemicals" ... what are you researching? :D

It's named in the first post.

Grand, well I've nothing illegal on my premises.

It's named in the first post.

Maybe next time your research won't be illegal. :D

As for a search, my neighbours had a search warrant served, to check for drugs. It was a forced entry search, so they needed a new door and door frame afterwards.

Just because you have nothing doesn't mean that it's going to be a painless search.

K grand. I'm sure they'll come with tanks as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

Paulw wrote: »
    As for a search, my neighbours had a search warrant served, to check for drugs. It was a forced entry search, so they needed a new door and door frame afterwards.

Just because you have nothing doesn't mean that it's going to be a painless search.
    Yep, and seeing as how this is an internet-related case, they could decide to seize all your computer equipment and hold it for several years while they check it for more evidence.

K grand. I'm sure they'll come with tanks as well.

No, a sledgehammer is usually what they carry to open doors. Knock once, then entry. It stops you having time to flush/destroy anything.

Not being a bit OTT people, no? I don't think the Gardaí would follow up in this fashion.

No, that is more reality than you might think. Forced entry is not uncommon. So is siezure of computer equipment for internet related crimes, including importation of controlled substances.

But again, you may get lucky and nothing might happen. Or, it might be followed up on. You don't know, and may not know for a while. You could come home from work one day, see the door smashed open, with just a note on the door and a Garda inside. That is what my neighbour came home to.

K well thanks for all your apocalyptic views. Not anyway realistic as to what would go on in a small case.

Bye.