Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blanch / d15 group

• 31-01-2015 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

hey.

Been watching the form for a while and haven't seen any groups around the area that's like the one for the south side. Don't really want to have to drive before a spin and was wondering if there would be much interest in setting up something similar around this neck of the woods. I often see lads and lassies on spins on their own or with one other around the area so taught I might make a thread to see if there would be interest in group spins that weren't tied to a club or a particular time.

As usual it would be a no one left behind kinda spin and if numbers are good then different speeds/distances can be sorted as it goes along.

Sooo... Any interest?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Joining a club doesn't commit you to taking part on particular spins on a regular basis, but it does introduce you to potentially like-minded cyclists in the area. You do have Blanch Wheelies on your doorstep, and they may provide you with what you are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Hi buckledwhells

Id be interested in tagging along on spins if there was a northside group.
    D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭pot p

Yeah I'd be interested but with work and family it'd only be every second weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Buckeledwheels

Beasty wrote: »
    Joining a club doesn't commit you to taking part on particular spins on a regular basis, but it does introduce you to potentially like-minded cyclists in the area. You do have blanch wheelies on your doorstep, and they may provide you with what you are looking for.

Thanks beasty. Was thinking of blanch wheelies but they don't do any beginner handy spins until October (according to their website) so taught I'd throw this out for anyone that was looking to just get into a bit of group cycling with shorter distances than clubs would be doing. Can be increased as time goes on.

Taught it might suit people if they wanted to arrange a mid week spin or something if they wouldn't make the weekend ones which clubs run.

Only an idea so no big loss of it doesn't take I suppose.

Thanks for the reply though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I'd be interested...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dono1975

Blanch wheelies currently have a beginner group a touring group and a racing group leaving the Straw hall Sunday mornings @ 09:30

New faces every week sound crowd and newcomers more than welcome

Dono1975 wrote: »
    Blanch wheelies currently have a beginner group a touring group and a racing group leaving the Straw hall Sunday mornings @ 09:30

Ah ok. The site made it look like there was only fast long spins. Good to know.

I'll leave this run anyway as an alternative for people that want to go for spins any other day/time.

Do you need to be a club member to go on those Sunday spins?

Thanks for the heads up though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dono1975

No need to be a member to drop down for a few spins to suss things out

If you want to join its €50 per year and you will need a CI licence for insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

hey.

Been watching the form for a while and haven't seen any groups around the area that's like the one for the south side. Don't really want to have to drive before a spin and was wondering if there would be much interest in setting up something similar around this neck of the woods. I often see lads and lassies on spins on their own or with one other around the area so taught I might make a thread to see if there would be interest in group spins that weren't tied to a club or a particular time.

As usual it would be a no one left behind kinda spin and if numbers are good then different speeds/distances can be sorted as it goes along.

Sooo... Any interest?

I would be well up for this if it's going to go ahead. Haven't joined a club yet and want to get more mileage before I go looking for clubs in the area. Shift work doesn't make it easy for me to make club spins at the weekend either so a bit of flexibility would be great

_DMac_ wrote: »
    I would be well up for this if it's going to go ahead. Haven't joined a club yet and want to get more mileage before I go looking for clubs in the area. Shift work doesn't make it easy for me to make club spins at the weekend either so a bit of flexibility would be great

Good stuff. Bit if interest so it seems so we will let this stand and see if there is any more interest. We can do a what's app or something to organise spins if we have numbers and bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Consey

Blanch Wheelies have 2/3 groups on Sunday mornings depending on numbers. Slowest group leaves no-one behind as long as you have a reasonable level of fitness.

We do have our racers who are training hard at the minute but outside them we have a large leisure contingent at a range of levels/ages/men and women. We stop for coffee and we have experienced cyclists assisting (but not pressurising !!!) the leisure/beginners groups.

We have a good few doing the Junior Trust Sportive tomorrow weather permitting as it starts @ 11am.

If anyone has any questions or would like to assess if they can keep up, feel free to PM me on here, or contact us through our website or facebook page.

It's a good time of year to come out, as when you get to know people through the organised spins, it gives you others you get on with and to organise informal spins with as the evenings get longer. As the Spring/ Summer comes, there will be someone heading out most evenings and at different times for the weekend.

We also have ladies only spins on a regular basis.

So don't over think it or be intimidated by it. if you're able to complete 50km in 2 hours you should be ok ! If you've any doubts or questions before rolling down, just get in touch !!!

I was in the same boat as you a few years ago and I haven't regretted coming down for one second - even though previously I could never have seen myself in a cycling club !

Thanks for that consey. Good clear info.

Just to clarify here I'm in no way trying to dissuade people from joining a club. I'm just suggesting a group for boardsies living out this way to organise spins if they can't make club spins or any other regular spins they might make and would prefer to ride with a few people instead of going out alone. Because as we all know that is soul destroying on a wet/windy day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Consey

Thanks for that consey. Good clear info.

Just to clarify here I'm in no way trying to dissuade people from joining a club. I'm just suggesting a group for boardsies living out this way to organise spins if they can't make club spins or any other regular spins they might make and would prefer to ride with a few people instead of going out alone. Because as we all know that is soul destroying on a wet/windy day :)

No prob - fair play. Great to see all the cyclists out and about in the area even in this character building weather :D

Consey wrote: »
    No prob - fair play. Great to see all the cyclists out and about in the area even in this character building weather :D

Ha ha indeed. I get cold just looking out my window at them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Cyclewizard

I'd be up fir this if it goes ahead

Great stuff. I'll get something organised during the week and we can set up a group on viber/whatsapp and go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Kevincavan83

No need to be a member to drop down for a few spins to suss things out

If you want to join its €50 per year and you will need a CI licence for insurance

CI licence??
    I'm just waiting on my bike to be paid for through btw so was looking at doing some spins when payment goes through.
    Whats with licence and insurance is this the normal practice with all clubs.
    I thought you'd be just able to join and cycle.

hey.

Sooo... Any interest?

Where would you be thinking of for the routes?

CI licence??
    I'm just waiting on my bike to be paid for through btw so was looking at doing some spins when payment goes through.
    Whats with licence and insurance is this the normal practice with all clubs.
    I thought you'd be just able to join and cycle.

Hi Kevin

usually if you want to join a cycling club you can go out with them on three spins or more without insurance, after that if you want to join you have to get some sort of CI insurance incase you crash while out on a club spin causing damage to bikes and bodies.
    D

Tomred13 wrote: »
    Hi Kevin

usually if you want to join a cycling club you can go out with them on three spins or more without insurance, after that if you want to join you have to get some sort of CI insurance incase you crash while out on a club spin causing damage to bikes and bodies.
    D

Thanks Tom,

Suppose that makes a bit of sense.
    Jaysus the minister for finance at home was thinking just getting the bike would be free exercise. ;)

Thanks Tom,

Suppose that makes a bit of sense.
    Jaysus the minister for finance at home was thinking just getting the bike would be free exercise. ;)

The CI licences is only €30 for the year so it's not a big expense and will probable be handy in the event of an accident :)

As for routes it depends on who shows up and what kinda of route they want to do. Prob go out through Clonee and then head towards summer hill/kilcock or maybe head towards dunshaughlin. Can be adjusted as we go along.

Where would suits everyone for a meeting point? Ongar? Clonee? Etc

The CI licences is only €30 for the year so it's not a big expense and will probable be handy in the event of an accident :)

As for routes it depends on who shows up and what kinda of route they want to do. Prob go out through Clonee and the. Head towards summer hill/kilcock or may way head towards dunshaughlin. Can be adjusted as we go along.

Where would suits everyone for a meeting point? Ongar? Clonee? Etc

Hi B

Im coming from city centre via backroads around Blanch so can meet around ongar. what days or times are ya thinking of? Route's a perfect leg stretcher..

Dermot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭raven41

Being a fellow Blancher would be interested in this. Any definite plans yet re time and place?

I'm in the Ongar area so I can meet anywhere around there. I might head out for a spin wed or thurs morning if anyone fancies joining? I stress MIGHT head out because there's a lot better chance of me staying in the bed :D

What kind of distance and pace you into..

not yet wrote: »
    What kind of distance and pace you into..

Prob 45k at between 25/28kph

I'm away the next few days I'll PM you if I'm able to make it.

Hi Folks

I might head out this Sat @12 if there's any takers? Can meet up around Blanch? usually head out to kilbride-rathoath-dunshaulglin and back in the backroads around summerhill to dunboyne. 50k loop

Dermot

Tomred13 wrote: »
    Hi Folks

I might head out this Sat @12 if there's any takers? Can meet up around Blanch? usually head out to kilbride-rathoath-dunshaulglin and back in the backroads around summerhill to dunboyne. 50k loop

Dermot

I'm away this weekend but will be around next weekend if your going out for a spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭harry999

Hi is this group still going - what times during the week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

There's a new club 'Castleknock Cycling Club' that leaves the Carpenter Sunday mornings for anyone interested, all leisure / sportive members. Between 10-20 out each week.

Email: castleknockcyclingclub@gmail.com

The club is registered with Cycling Ireland also with the usual requirements for CI insurance / membership etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Good afternoon Dono1975, just picked up this thread, Id be interested in joining the sunday morning spins from the Straw hall, what distance & pace are the norm?

shaydy wrote: »
    There's a new club 'Castleknock Cycling Club' that leaves the Carpenter Sunday mornings for anyone interested, all leisure / sportive members. Between 10-20 out each week.

Email: castleknockcyclingclub@gmail.com

The club is registered with Cycling Ireland also with the usual requirements for CI insurance / membership etc

Do you need the insurance before you ride or can you go for few spins first?

If anyone wants to come for a spin at half 10ish Sunday Morning I will be heading off from Ongar for a 50k jaunt. Nothing too hectic speedwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭purple cow

Bloggsie wrote: »
    Good afternoon Dono1975, just picked up this thread, Id be interested in joining the sunday morning spins from the Straw hall, what distance & pace are the norm?
    Bloggsie,

Speed is normally around 26kmh. Spins usually head towards Blessington, Tara, The Naul, Summerhill. About 35km out and back from the Straw Hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

Bloggsie wrote: »

wheelies leave from 9am at straw hall on sundays. around 26kph ave doing about 70-80k

only new myself, great group and always welcoming to newcomers