Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inherited Tractor

• 29-01-2015 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭

Hi folk.

I inherited a tractor when my father passed away in August. It only occured to me that I will need to get ownership transferred into my name.

Does anybody have experience of this or where do I start?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I'm not sure in your situation. If it's a transfer from one person to another, the seller just signs the back of the tax book. Perhaps ring your local tax office. Sorry l'm not much help. Sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Muckit wrote: »
    I'm not sure in your situation. If it's a transfer from one person to another, the seller just signs the back of the tax book. Perhaps ring your local tax office. Sorry l'm not much help. Sorry for your loss.

I'm not sure either. As you said, it's a simple job to just transfer ownership but obviously Dad can't sign anything now!

As you suggested, I think I'll have to call the tax office tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

People in Shannon have no idea what your Dad's signature looks like. Just saying like.
    Otherwise you will have to get a form signed by your solicitor to state you are uncontested owner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    People in Shannon have no idea what your Dad's signature looks like. Just saying like.
    Otherwise you will have to get a form signed by your solicitor to state you are uncontested owner.

If his dad is dead it might be slightly suspicious!

Suspicious to who?

I'll see what has to be done the legit way first and see how I get on.

It's simple enough to do strictly "by the book" just the matter of getting the solicitor to state the facts I writing. If you know him well, he might e not even charge you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Suspicious to who?
    AP2014 wrote: »
    If his dad is dead it might be slightly suspicious!

Dated last July.

At the end of the day he is forging someone's signature. I presume that is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

At the end of the day he is forging someone's signature. I presume that is illegal.

Only if you get caught:D:D

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Only if you get caught:D:D

Jaysus and I get called a cowboy from lads around here !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Talking about doing illegal stuff on the internet is not the thinking if criminal masterminds;)

Jeez, we have some clean living people in the country yet. I'm impressed.

Fine law abiding citizens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Fine law abiding citizens!

A credit to themselves, considering they are governed mostly by crooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

After my dad passed away we just completed the transfer of ownership and mam signed his signature (as she did mostly when he was alive too).
    No problems doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭valtraman

Just drop in to local Garda station with proof of death and transfer forms and get them stamped ,fully legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

I was in a similar situation a couple of years ago. The vehicle wasn't actually willed to me but ownership was being transferred. I had to get a commissioner of oaths to sign a form (sorry, can't remember what the name was) and send it on to Dept of Transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Based on my experiences of doing anything out of the ordinary involving vehicle ownership in this country I would say if you have the log book then just sign the form and send it in.

Every person in the tax office will give you a different set of requirements and then when you satisfy those requirements the person who opens your envelope will have another set of requirements.

I've been ringing the tax office all morning and nobody is answering the phone. I even tried two neighbouring counties (as I presume the rules are the same) and no answer there either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

By the time you get to talk to some one you'd have the tractor registered in your name if you just sign the reg document and send it in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Justjens wrote: »
    By the time you get to talk to some one you'd have the tractor registered in your name if you just sign the reg document and send it in!

You don't need to forge the signature - usually just sign as executor (assuming that you are the executor) in the spot where the living person would normally sign. Write ("as executor of XXX" below the signature").

Generally the executor (/s /trices) "step into the shoes" of the deceased so they can exercise most of the powers that he or she could done in life. Sometimes the recipient of the document (registration agency) might want a copy of the probate / stamped will / whatever demonstrating that the executor is duly appointed.

If there is no will/probate, your solicitor will do a letter to the effect that you are legal owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

_Brian wrote: »
    After my dad passed away we just completed the transfer of ownership and mam signed his signature (as she did mostly when he was alive too).
    No problems doing this.

+1, did the same with my mothers car when she passed away. No problem whatsoever.

I finally got through to the tax office in Cavan. It's not my county, but the good people in the office I need won't answer the phone.

They said I need to send in the tax book, the change of ownership form and a letter from my solicitor saying that I am inheriting the tractor.

Thanks for all the responses folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

:
    It's simple enough to do strictly "by the book" just the matter of getting the solicitor to state the facts I writing. If you know him well, he might e not even charge you.

:cool: