Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bath or Shower?

• 28-01-2015 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭

Im undergoing a medical treatment which requires me to take a bath twice a week. Before that I hadn't had a bath for at least 7 years as we don't actually have one anymore so I always have a shower.

So whats the AH Preference when it comes to personal hygiene

Bath Or shower 19 votes

Bath
    0% 0 votes
    Shower
    100% 19 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Rag on a stick job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

ryanf1 wrote: »
    Im undergoing a medical treatment which requires me to take a bath twice a week. Before that I hadn't had a bath for at least 7 years as we don't actually have one anymore so I always have a shower.

Shower. A bath is basically being in a pool of your own dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Shower. Baths are manky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭spongebob89

Pool of dirt me arse ur man must roll in dirt all day an shower once a month.. Theres nothing better than inching your way into a scalding hot bath after a hard days work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Got the old bum grapes OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Why no hose option?

Fcuk you OP! Rich fecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Shower. Baths are manky.

Isn't the point of soap to kill dirt and not make it manky?

Got the old bum grapes OP?

No (this time) but it is to do with a skin problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Shower...

Mine just got fixed today, for the last few weeks it's been like someone dribbling on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Jacuzzi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Had a bath for the first time in 9 years when I stayed in a hotel last week. It was glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

Both - I usually shower because it's quicker and more efficient etc but I do love me a bath at least once a week.

We've moved house and I have yet to figure out how to heat enough water for a proper bath - I am bath deprived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Had a bath for the first time in 9 years when I stayed in a hotel last week. It was glorious.

Jesus,you must have stank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

had the biggest craving for a bubble bath the other week but I had no bubbles :( worst day of my life. no joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Shower on my own, bath with company.

Shower for me, bath for the OH usually.

Sometimes we share a bath or a shower though, just to conserve water like, BOO Irish Water! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    had the biggest craving for a bubble bath the other week but I had no bubbles :( worst day of my life. no joke.
    real men don't have bubble baths

Only have a shower where I am now, but am house sitting where there is a huge 2 person tub. There will be baths had, many baths.

That said, I get all excited at the prospect of a bubble bath, but wind up getting bored after 10 minutes. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Hitchens wrote: »
    real men don't have bubble baths

thats good to know, I 'll remember that if I ever decided to be a man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

What is this 'washing' you all speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

Nothing like a hot bath in the winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Shower of bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Baths are less dirty than most people think.

Showers are a lot less water efficient than people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Showers are for cleaning yourself, baths are for relaxing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

A bath all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

You don't get clean in a bath. You're just spreading your own filth about yourself.

If you want a bath before your shower? Grand, bathe before your shower, wash it off in the shower. Don't go soaking yourself in dirty water in a bath and think that you look or smell clean afterwards. You don't.

I get bored in the bath in a much shorter time than it takes to run it.

I do have the occasional one after a race or something but the effort of it. I'd always shower after it anyway.

Showers for me please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

You don't get clean in a bath. You're just spreading your own filth about yourself.

If you want a bath before your shower? Grand, bathe before your shower, wash it off in the shower. Don't go soaking yourself in dirty water in a bath and think that you look or smell clean afterwards. You don't.

Total rubbish! It doesn't even work like that at the molecular level of soap and dirt, and no one comes out the bath dirtier than they went in ffs!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Shower to get clean, bath every now and then to relax in. If I'm taking a bath I always shower quickly before and after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Bath, can relax with a bottle of beer and listen to some music. Helps with aches and pains from work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

You can get deep heat bath soak, it's really good after working long hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I once sharted in a bubble bath, would not recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Real men use the shower.....

.....to wash down the tub before running a scented bath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

Total rubbish! It doesn't even work like that at the molecular level of soap and dirt, and no one comes out the bath dirtier than they went in ffs!

You might come out cleaner, but you certainly don't come out clean!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I really don't get why some people think baths are dirty. They're not. However, you should take a minute to shower yourself down after a bath to wash off all the suds and dirty water you were sitting in. But even if you don't, you will still be clean and unsmelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Isn't the point of soap to kill dirt and not make it manky?

But then there is the soap scum. None of that in a shower it doesn't have time to form.
    I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Candie wrote: »

That said, I get all excited at the prospect of a bubble bath, but wind up getting bored after 10 minutes. :(

Same here. I often get excited about a bath when I go home to my Mother's house, and then it's a major let down!

When I worked in a hotel I used to have baths in the evening after working 12 hour shifts, good for winding down!

But then there is the soap scum. None of that in a shower it doesn't have time to form.
    I

Try not cleaning the shower cubicle door or tile for a few weeks and you'll see plenty of scum. PLENTY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I love a nice warm bath. I could sit in it for hours, often have! I don't have a bath in my new house :( Really miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Waits for noxx to make an appearance...... :P

Shower for me, only have baths when my back is at me

kfallon wrote: »
    Waits for noxx to make an appearance...... :P

Shower for me, only have baths when my back is at me

Nox!

Get epsom salts and use handfuls in the bath when your back is sore, its really soothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Showers for me. But once a month I love to send the rest of the family out on a fools errand and jump in to a radox bath wiht some nice tunes in the background....just blissful me time!

Nox!

Get epsom salts and use handfuls in the bath when your back is sore, its really soothing.

Ah it only plays up every now and again! Have difene spray and heat pads! Old age is kicking in :(

kfallon wrote: »
    Ah it only plays up every now and again! Have difene spray and heat pads! Old age is kicking in :(

30 is a tough age alright :P

If only..... :p

Showers are nice and quick, you could be in and out of one before the bath is even run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Shower!!

Aint got time for bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

shower..... I don't have the patience for a bath! I'd end up having my backside tip the bottom and I'd be out again.... 8 minute showers do me grand!!

Another thing is I'm always afraid I'll fall when getting out of a bath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

powerhose for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭AlteredStates

Baths for chilling, shower for cleaning...