Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the recommended weekly drinking guidelines too cautious or are we all dipso's??

• 28-01-2015 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

Just curious to hear opinion on this as I was thinking about it earlier. I think the recommended weekly average is about 9 pints of beer for men and 6 for women. I personally drink twice a week and would sink 6-8 pints at least one of them nights and probably about 5 on the other night. Some weeks a lot more.

From what I've seen around me, most people who drink are easily in excess of these safe drinking limits. What i'm wondering is the opinion of AH on whether they're too cautious? We'll all die anyway, so will the benefit of staying within these limits really add that many years to our lives? I'd rather have a social life. And for anyone who says they enjoy a great social life without drinking, fair play to you. But it happens to be something I enjoy doing. Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I enjoy a great social life without alcohol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

frag420 wrote: »

Well done. Why the apparent condescending tone though?

As regards the OP, yes I do think it's too cautious. Like any health guidelines, both individual metabolisms, and family history should be taken into account, instead of a blanket survey to cover all bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

frag420 wrote: »
    A big round of applause for the fantastic frag420, ladies and gentlemen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It's 3-4 litres of water per day isn't it?
    Otherwise you can die from too much H2O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

roro1990 wrote: »
    Just curious to hear opinion on this as I was thinking about it earlier. I think the recommended weekly average is about 9 pints of beer for men and 6 for women.

Chin chin! Let's obey the experts, that's what I say.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/news/a-bottle-of-wine-a-day-is-not-bad-for-you-and-abstaining-is-worse-than-drinking-scientist-claims-9271010.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

Op you drink too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

My name's my Asemageddon and I'm an alcoholic....

.....according to the recommended drinking guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Personally, 9 pints seems fairly grand. Not gonna lie, I overdo that nearly every time I drink, but I'm positive that's pretty bad for you, hell, I probably had the equivalent of about 40-50 pints 3 nights over the weekend, if not more, that would be including shots and bottles as well though. Incredibly unhealthy thing to do, but it's great craic. I'm sure if I were to do that every weekend it wouldn't take long before it would take it's toll. On an average week that I do go out, I'd probably drink about 10 pints over the night and stay away from drink for the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd say the limits are reasonable. 12 pints plus every weekend, most weekends of every year can only have a damaging effect on your health in the long term. It won't improve it anyway. If we were French, Italian, Spanish or Japanese we would think such consumption was madness. But we're conditioned by our culture to think it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

We have the same guidelines as other countries. In other countries they find it reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Would be rare that I'd get through 9 pints in a week nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I can enjoy myself without drink quite easily, if I needed beer to have a good time I'd never sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

9 pints a week is a lot. I would have about 5 to 6 pints one night out a fortnight or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

21 units for a man = 10.5 pints per week.
    14 units for a female = 7 pints per week.

That's the recommended safe amounts.
    I drink about 12 units per week but used to drink a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

The Doctor looked me squarely in the eye. "You seriously need to reduce your alcohol intake or you'll ruin what's left of your liver completely."

"Fcuk off, Doc," I replied. "You always say that when it's your round. Get the beers in, you tight cnut."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

21 units for a man = 10.5 pints per week.
    14 units for a female = 7 pints per week.

That's the recommended safe amounts.
    I drink about 12 units per week but used to drink a lot more.

where did these recommended amounts come from? Not saying they're wrong but I sourced mine from http://www.yourdrinking.ie/about-alcohol/what-is-a-standard-drink/ Apparently we're supposed to have 17 standard drinks which according to this website equates to 8.5 pints. Naturally I rounded it up to 9 though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

To be honest I think the problem we have with drink isn't the amount of units in a week, it's the amount of units in a session. All well and good drinking 21 units a week, but drinking them all in one night can't be good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

Op you drink too much.

I'm quite aware of this fact, well based on the recommended limits anyway. I'm wondering is too much subjective though. I know aul lads that do be in the pub 6 nights a week having 6 pints every night and have been for 30 years, not a bother on them. Maybe they got lucky but I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

According to the chart roro posted, I go through around 10 units per fortnight. I thought i consumed more than that in units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

snubbleste wrote: »

isn't three a recommended minimum? It's a hell of a lot more than 4 to kill you though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Normal week I'd have anything between 2 to 8 drinks. Hard to say exactly because it varies so much. Occasionally it could be more if something like a wedding or trip away comes up.

Not particularly bothered about homilies on needing to drink to have a good time. I can have a perfectly good time without drink but I like a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

The thing is, most of us are intelligent and self aware enough to realise if we're trying to kid ourselves. For every one of those articles (which seems to have been published by The Daily Mail) there are a million articles which highlight the dangers of anything above a small amount of alcohol. We can play around with numbers and play around with ambiguity and individual differences, but for anyone who is health and appearance conscious, putting a limit on alcohol consumption is usually a high priority.

Drinking small amounts of alcohol could very well be better than going teetotal, but to suggest that it's healthy to drink a bottle of wine a day is going down dangerous territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm sure with a little effort I could get myself up to the recommended 10 pints per week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Jinonatron

Drink about 4 beers every two weeks. Couldn't handle more.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Just curious to hear opinion on this as I was thinking about it earlier. I think the recommended weekly average is about 9 pints of beer for men and 6 for women.
    Oh Crap :eek:

I've years of catching up to do , brb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Well done. Why the apparent condescending tone though?

I think you'd only detect condescension in that post if you were really looking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

where did these recommended amounts come from? Not saying they're wrong but I sourced mine from http://www.yourdrinking.ie/about-alcohol/what-is-a-standard-drink/ Apparently we're supposed to have 17 standard drinks which according to this website equates to 8.5 pints. Naturally I rounded it up to 9 though :)

http://www.icap.org/Table/InternationalDrinkingGuidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

snubbleste wrote: »

Actually it depends on your weight and activity level. Overweight people need more water.

There's various calculators for it out there - http://www.csgnetwork.com/humanh2owater.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

nibtrix wrote: »
    ... Overweight people need more water. ...
    But there's water in beer, right?

Right??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

El Weirdo wrote: »
    But there's water in beer, right?

Right??!!

Yeah, so drinking beer contributes to our daily water intake.

Coffee as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Aren't they always guidelines?

I've known people who have drank liks a fish since they were in their '20s and never had issues from it and still drink like fish well into their '60s.

That being said: a lot of people drink too much. Just don't try to fool yourself about it and you're fine

Somewhere between I Don't Drink And You Shouldn't Either and Non Drinkers Aren't To Be Trusted/Are Killjoys there is a happy medium, and that's probably in the region of the recommended guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

The WHO say that anything under 35 units a week for men and 17.5 for women is low risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    The WHO say that anything under 35 units a week for men and 17.5 for women is low risk

Thanks.

I definitely won't get fooled again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Might be a good idea to not let it get that far though. Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I find being drunk is a great excuse for my behaviour over the last 40 years.