Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BROADCASTERS must not undermine the authority of the Government............

• 27-01-2015 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭

I wonder what the mean by undermine?.They say we can challenge public policy and have open debates.
    Will they allow debates if only one side shows up?.
    Will comedians be allowed to take the piss or is that undermining the government. Seems a bit vague to me this "undermining" part.It could cover anything.

BROADCASTERS must not promote crime or undermine the authority of the Government under new programming standards.
    But the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) insisted broadcasters will not be inhibited from challenging public policy or having open debates about how the Government operates.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/broadcasters-must-not-undermine-authority-of-government-under-new-guidelines-30941115.html

First they came for the broadcasters, and I did not speak out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Inciting rebellion & what not.

Whatever it takes to keep Ben Gilroy from the airwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I wonder what the mean by undermine?.

it says "promote crime or undermine the authority of the government"

I think that means that broadcasters shouldn't call on people to break the law or incite rebellion

I don't think it has anything to do with debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

First they came for the broadcasters, and I did not speak out...

If that included Brian Ormond then I'd be prepared to turn a blind eye....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Does that mean if SF get into government half the pages of the Indo will be blank?

A highly subversive individual, I'm sure he's under tight surveillance.

I'm sure he knows he's under surveillance. Might be part of the thrill. Ormond could be a Hydra like creature though. Chop off his head and two more appear in its place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I'm sure he knows he's under surveillance. Might be part of the thrill. Ormond could be a Hydra like creature though. Chop off his head and two more appear in its place.

Stay away from Jedward so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Sinister development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Riskymove wrote: »

I think that means that broadcasters shouldn't call on people to break the law or incite rebellion

I don't think it has anything to do with debates

You couldn't tell people to break the law or ignore regulations etc. You can however say that they are a shower of useless gits.

But you can't mention the Iona institute unless they are standing next to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

The phrase "promote crime" is pretty vague. Love/Hate could be interpreted as doing just that. Would this mean an end to such series? How about broadcasting a series like Top Gear, which glamorises driving fast & could thus be seen as promoting the violation of traffic laws. Looks like an even blander TV landscape is ahead of us.

The Peanut wrote: »
    Stay away from Jedward so.

A multi-headed Brian Ormond is a nightmarish enough vision. Thinking too long about the idea of a 64-headed Jedward could drive the more weak-willed amongst us completely insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I wonder what the mean by undermine?.They say we can challenge public policy and have open debates.
    Will comedians be allowed to take the piss or is that undermining the government. Seems a bit vague to me this "undermining" part.It could cover anything.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/broadcasters-must-not-undermine-authority-of-government-under-new-guidelines-30941115.html

What's with the "we"?

Care to declare an interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

BROADCASTERS must not undermine the authority of the Government............

Sieg Enda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

So on something like water charges would the state broadcaster have to toe the line and promote charges as a good thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

do you have him on german tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

ScumLord wrote: »
    So on something like water charges would the state broadcaster have to toe the line and promote charges as a good thing?

It has to be fair and balanced. People arguing for and against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Listen.Believe.Obey.

arayess wrote: »
    do you have him on german tv?

No, but you did have him on Irish television over Christmas. And the one before that. And he makes an appearance in the digital editions of most of the Irish newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

ScumLord wrote: »

I think you could debate if a good idea but calling on people not to pay or whatever would be an issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

No, but you did have him on Irish television over Christmas. And the one before that. And he makes an appearance in the digital editions of most of the Irish newspapers.

It may be so - thankfully i avoided him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I don't see why we need this stupid new rule, its not like our broadcasters are staffed by subversives poised to overthrow the state.

RTEs pathetic, grovelling apology a few years ago for having the temerity to include a fairly light-hearted report on some fella sneaking a potrait of a naked Brian Cowen into the National Gallery springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Valetta wrote: »
    What's with the "we"?

Care to declare an interest?

Think he means the humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

strobe wrote: »
    Think he means the humans.

Or lizard people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Nothing exists except an endless present in which the Party is always right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Does that mean if SF get into government half the pages of the Indo will be blank?

And that surely, could only be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

and what would happen if someone decided to pop over the border and set up a community radio which was critical of the Irish government? A bit like the X radio stations in Mexico in the 60's and 70's:
    A border blaster is a broadcast station that, though not licensed as an external service, is, in practice, used to target another country. The term "border blaster" is of North American origin, and usually associated with Mexican AM stations covering large parts of the United States and United States border AM stations covering large parts of Canada. Conceptually similar European broadcasting included some pre–World War II broadcasting towards the United Kingdom, "radio périphérique" around France and the US government funded propaganda station Radio Free Europe targeting eastern Europe.

With broadcasting signals far more powerful than U.S. stations, the Mexican border blasters could be heard over large areas of the U.S. from the 1940s to the 1970s, often to the great irritation of American radio stations, whose signals could be overpowered by their Mexican counterparts. These are also sometimes referred to as X stations for their call letters: Mexico assigns callsigns beginning with XE or XH to broadcast stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Seriously. This f*cking country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Je Suis Charlie Haughey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Riskymove wrote: »

I would have preferred if the wording said something like illegal to incite violence or civil rebellion, but I think the vagueness of the wording leaves it open to future abuse by governments.
    Some comedians ,journalists and radio shows could be considered to "undermind" the government by not showing them "proper respect".
    Although not IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

No more role model criminals in Fair City / Sorry Sumo, you´re cut!

This will depend on what the government determines as undermining and if they are aware of the boundaries of their authority.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

and that's exactly how they wanted it!! ;)
    Custardpi wrote: »
    The phrase "promote crime" is pretty vague. Love/Hate could be interpreted as doing just that. Would this mean an end to such series? How about broadcasting a series like Top Gear, which glamorises driving fast & could thus be seen as promoting the violation of traffic laws. Looks like an even blander TV landscape is ahead of us.

a blander tv landscape is the least of our worries that may come out of all of this
    I don't see why we need this stupid new rule, its not like our broadcasters are staffed by subversives poised to overthrow the state.

RTEs pathetic, grovelling apology a few years ago for having the temerity to include a fairly light-hearted report on some fella sneaking a potrait of a naked Brian Cowen into the National Gallery springs to mind.

we don't, they do!! ;)
    I would have preferred if the wording said something like illegal to incite violence or civil rebellion, but I think the vagueness of the wording leaves it open to future abuse by governments.
    Some comedians ,journalists and radio shows could be considered to "undermind" the government by not showing them "proper respect".
    Although not IMO.

fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭Daith

Attention. This is an emergency broadcast, all is well in the Ireland, my authority as Taoiseach is total.

I was on RTE before. Just before i was about to go on, they hit me with,

"If you saying anything bad about the current government, we take you off" If you say bad about the Gardai we take you off."

I was left scratching my head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

I was on RTE before. Just before i was about to go on, they hit me with,

"If you saying anything bad about the current government, we take you off" If you say bad about the Gardai we take you off."

I was left scratching my head.

ya should have used your first opportunity to shout "fcuked her right in the pussy!!" and be done with their censoring nonsense!!