Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 NFL/NHL Venue advice

• 26-01-2015 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭

Guys this thread is a follow on from a zombie thread where a poster was looking for some advice on Páirc Uí Rinn. If you feel that you can offer some info regarding your countys ground to the travelling supporters, some of whom maybe 1st time travellers e.g the commute (train, bus etc, the parking arrangements, the beer, the accommodation etc) could you do so here.

Maybe Bold the ground for easy reference to others. Happy travels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Guys this thread is a follow on from a zombie thread where a poster was looking for some advice on Páirc Uí Rinn. If you feel that you can offer some info regarding your countys ground to the travelling supporters, some of whom maybe 1st time travellers e.g the commute (train, bus etc, the parking arrangements, the beer, the accommodation etc) could you do so here.

Maybe Bold the ground for easy reference to others. Happy travels

I am that zombie thread poster!

1st time traveller to Pairc Ui Rinn this Sunday by train from Dublin to Cork. Probably get a taxi to the Silver Key pub nearby for grub before the match. Any advice for taxi/bus/walking for 4.20pm train home when match ends at 3.30pm?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Pairc Ui Rinn is about 10 or 15 min walk from Pairc Ui Chaoimh if your familiar with that heading further away from the train station. taxi is probably your best bet but I can't say I've ever seen them queuing outside the ground after a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Not my favourite mode of transport, but the Aircoach maybe a better option with regards a bit more flexibility in your timing. It's a non stop to Patricks Quay (about 10 mins further away than Kent Station), but if time is yer own you can go early/ stay late etc.

Dunno whether it applies to you or others interested in going, but I'm told it's an all ticket affair no cash at the turnstiles, so there will probably be an extra 10-15 mins waiting at the ticket van - season tickets will be scanned I'm sure. I've found on away days that lads will bring other peoples ST's just to get them scanned to keep up their attendance % so it maybe worth getting there and mingling for a possible freebie

tickets available for 10 euro if bought in advance from tickets.ie or Supervalu and Centra shops instead of 15 on the day.

just to add, for Pairc Ui Rinn tickets gain you entry to the ground with a choice of a stand and covered terrace on either side with terraces behind the goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What's the best bus company for Cork, Aircoach or GoBe...re seat comfort, wifi working, number of stops along the way etc etc. (The prices are roughly similar.) If you book a specific time online, are you guaranteed a seat on that bus, or is it first come, first served?

Edited because a bust company is NOT the same as a bus company. Who knew? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »
    ...........Edited because a bust company is NOT the same as a bus company. Who knew? :D

Thanks for keeping us abreast ..

I've done the aircoach gig once before and it was non-stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

What's the best bus company for Cork, Aircoach or GoBe...re seat comfort, wifi working, number of stops along the way etc etc. (The prices are roughly similar.) If you book a specific time online, are you guaranteed a seat on that bus, or is it first come, first served?

Oh so you'll go elsewhere for your coach advice......... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Never been on it - but I think they are all pretty similar [going off comments a friend of mine's brother made a year or two back, who used it a lot]

I do think it might be a bit of a first-come first-served situation but not 100% on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

You are guaranteed a spot on the bus

Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney, presumably ten minutes walk from Killarney rail station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

VONSHIRACH wrote: »
    Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney, presumably ten minutes walk from Killarney rail station?

10 minutes might be pushing it just a bit; say 15 to be on the safe side and to get in the stadium.

Come out of the station go right, go right again, go left at the Friary, then go right up the hill and keep going straight until you see the stadium.

Presume you're coming down to the Kerry Dublin game - should know that it's all ticket.

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/news/353134/Sunday_s_AFL_Game_is_All_Ticket

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    10 minutes might be pushing it just a bit; say 15 to be on the safe side and to get in the stadium.

Come out of the station go right, go right again, go left at the Friary, then go right up the hill and keep going straight until you see the stadium.

Presume you're coming down to the Kerry Dublin game - should know that it's all ticket.

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/news/353134/Sunday_s_AFL_Game_is_All_Ticket

Grand, thanks. Was down in 2010 by car but not by train before for a match there. I have a season ticket. Sell out so, and trains sold out leaving Killarney apres match.

So the league semi finals fixed for Nowlan park. Was up there 4 or 5 years ago at a railway cup game so the crowd was only a few hundred and got handy parking. What's the best place to go when a large crowd is expected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

MacDonagh Junction is a shopping centre very close to Nowlan Park, they usually offer match day parking specials in their underground.

https://twitter.com/MacDonagh/status/582138766921474048

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ancapallliath

brettmirl wrote: »
    MacDonagh Junction is a shopping centre very close to Nowlan Park, they usually offer match day parking specials in their underground.

Ill be travelling down from Dublin and will be coming in past Nowlan Park to MacDonagh Junction to Park.
    what will Hebron Road be like on match day? will it be closed to traffic? could head in Dublin Road otherwise.

was considering taking the train only for the benefit of my 6 year old but i think it will be much easier to drive as only real choice of 1 train there and back.
    Thurles has more trains, so if the final is held there I will bring him by train.

Hebron Road will be closed from the motorway side, you will have to travel in the Dublin Road, and access the car park from there.

The Gardai do allow access as far as the car park entrance on the Hebron Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ancapallliath

brettmirl wrote: »
    Hebron Road will be closed from the motorway side, you will have to travel in the Dublin Road, and access the car park from there.

The Gardai do allow access as far as the car park entrance on the Hebron Road.

thanks Brettmirl. thats great to know.
    instead of going straight through roundabout to Hebron Road, will go left and down to Dublin Road. only a few mins detour

Yeah go left, in the Dublin Road, and you can access the car park by turning right just after the train station.

http://www.macdonaghjunction.com/_fileupload/map%20of%20kilkenny.pdf

Hope to head to Clones this Sunday, never been there, but heard of traffic tailbacks re Ulster finals.

Coming from Dublin, what's the best way in and for parking and easy departure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

VONSHIRACH wrote: »
    Hope to head to Clones this Sunday, never been there, but heard of traffic tailbacks re Ulster finals.

Coming from Dublin, what's the best way in and for parking and easy departure?

Depends on what way you are travelling to it - are a number of options M1/M2 or M3 via Cavan. M3 is probably your best option. I would always go as far as I can and once I hit traffic/ parked cars swing the car for home and park up. If you get as far as the playground at the Canal stores I'd park around there and walk the rest of the way. Will make it a lot easier to get moving for home after the game.

what's the layout like in Wexford Park? is one stand better or worse than the other? what is the view like from the terraces?

TIA