Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teens terrorising our house, Gardai doing nothing about it

• 26-01-2015 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Honestly I don't know what I hope to get from this thread, advice, comfort, maybe just a rant to get it off my chest, who knows. We'll see what happens

Long story short, some teens from around the town have taken up the habit of banging on our windows every few nights. First they did it to annoy the people who would be coming around to visit me, now they just do it to piss me off. And I don't just mean a slight rap on the window, it's a full-on slap with the palm of their hands. And considering it's a single-pane window about 4ft x 4ft, that makes quite a bang

Now if I lived alone that would be one thing. But I don't. I live with my semi-disabled father, and my almost 90-year old grandmother. Most of the time they don't notice it, because they spend most of the day in the small living room, where they don't hear it. But the times they are in the room when they do it, it gives them a fright, as you could understand. Especially when my grandmother has a meeting on in the main living room, and they do it then. Honestly, a 90-year old woman having to put up with that, it genuinely could give her a heart attack

Here's the kicker. I've called the local Garda station about it countless times. All they ever say is that they'll "have a word with them". What fcuking good is that? I don't know if they've ever done anything about it, and if they have it clearly doesn't work, since it's been happening on and off for months. I rang them last night, and they said they needed to catch them doing it - even though they know who it is - and if the keep doing it, they'll talk to their parents - they've been doing it for months, how much fcuking longer do they need?

My grandmother's going to try ringing them whenever they bother to pick up the fcuking phone, but honestly what's the point? All they seem to do is protect the people who are terrorising the house and making me feel miserable all the time, and protecting the cnuts who are doing it. It's bullsh1t

My mother has had to talk me down off several ledges over this. I've lived here all my life, and while I do plan on moving out eventually, I wanted to do it under my terms, to grow up. But this is making me want to to just go in the middle of the night and never look back. All thanks to the cnuts who keep it up, and the Gardai who do fcuk all to prevent it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

It certainly sounds unpleasant, but it also seems like you are adding to the tension. The fact that you say that your mother has to talk you down so much suggests, to me, that you are creating a separate problem by getting so worked up about it.

I don't see how that does anybody any good, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

It certainly sounds unpleasant, but it also seems like you are adding to the tension. The fact that you say that your mother has to talk you down so much suggests, to me, that you are creating a separate problem by getting so worked up about it.

No. Just no. Why the hell should the OP and their family put up with this kind of rubbish, because the little scrotes are bored, and their parents too lazy to teach them respect and manners? What happens when the little darlings actually break the window??

If the Gards won't take action, then I would suggest you make an appointment to see the Superintendent of the station and discuss the matter with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cocopops

Any time I have trouble with teenagers loitering, I take out my phone and pretend to take a video/photos of them. They leave within 20 seconds. Every. Single. Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Sinead Mc1

Install video camaras. Pack of 2 very cheap in Argos. Around 230e I think. If you go to maplin though they may install them. Don't get duds as they don't give the glare that real ones do and the little ****s will prob know this.
    This will probably be enough to put them off but, if not, you'll have footage now which you can produce to the gardai.

No. Just no. Why the hell should the OP and their family put up with this kind of rubbish, because the little scrotes are bored, and their parents too lazy to teach them respect and manners? What happens when the little darlings actually break the window??

If the Gards won't take action, then I would suggest you make an appointment to see the Superintendent of the station and discuss the matter with them.

I didn't suggest that they do have to put up with it. They don't. But the OP doesn't have to be taking out his stress about it on his mother. That won't solve any problem.

That's one thing he can control, that's free and immediate.

And the OP can still pursue it with the Gardai or security recordings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Even if you write to the Superintenent that Gardai can sometimes not be in a position to really do anything. Firstly they need evidence these kids did it, secondly it's such a minor crime the kids won't get any punishment and if their parents don't give a **** then it's very difficult to get them to stop.

Two suggestions OP - if you're male consider coming up with solutions yourself. Otherwise if you have local Sinn Fein TD/councillor contact them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

This comes up quite a lot in the Accommodation & Property forum, and the important thing is that you follow procedure, and report it to the Gardaí at each occurrence. In particular, you should find out who your local community officer is - he or she will be the person who liaises with Neighbourhood Watch organisations and such, and you may be able to get them to call out to your house and assess the situation for themselves - a mention of a 90 year old relative may get you some leverage here. People power is also important - if it's happening to your neighbours too, then ask them to report it to the police too, as it shows that it's more endemic, rather than you just having a whinge, in their eyes.

As mentioned, if you're not getting a satisfactory response from your local station, go up the chain, and ask to speak to a superintendent about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

If you could borrow a cross dog from a friend for a week or two it could scare them off, best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

A camera on the outside wall would record these teens entering your premises. Then take that to the gardai.

A lot of the time these type of kids thrive on knowing they're bugging people.
    Don't engage with them. I realise they're annoying but speak to the gardai and insist something must be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Install a motion sensitive security camera that comes complete with a flood light that will go off as soon as they approach the window in question. Either it will scare them off or you will as you come barrelling out the front door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

Maybe the OP could get one of those machines (I forget what it's called) where it emits a noise sensitive to teenage ears, but adults can't hear it.

Does anyone else know what I'm speaking of?

Maybe the OP could get one of those machines (I forget what it's called) where it emits a noise sensitive to teenage ears, but adults can't hear it.

The mosquito? Www.compoundsecurity.co.uk

That's it!! Thank you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭kelledy

I Was brought up in an area with lots of gangs of kids hanging around in Dublin and I can tell you now the police don't wana know about things like this . It happened all around me when I was growing up and from what you are saying they seem like little trouble makers but not total scumbags

You have 3 options here
    1 wait for the police to sort it
    2 install cameras and hope it scares them away
    3 get the help of the toughest man you know and get him to threaten them ( without laying a hand on them )

I know many people won't like that final option but when I was a teenager I use to do silly things like this , and as soon as we were confronted properly we backed off totally

This is just my opinion but I'm pretty sure they just need put back in there box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭username000

Install security bars on external windows?

Please bear in mind that there are some questions about the legalities of using these in Ireland, if I remember correctly. A more practical, and perfectly legal approach if you don't think you are getting anywhere with this, would be to contact your local paper, and ask them if they would be interested in doing a piece about a 90 year old pensioner being terrorised by youths in the area. I suspect that police interest might increase dramatically then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

mike_ie wrote: »
    Please bear in mind that there are some questions about the legalities of using these in Ireland, if I remember correctly.

Plus (and I may be wrong here) but I get the impression that the OP is pretty young himself, so may well be as bothered by it as the local knackbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

To be honest, when I was still a teenager and some establishments had them, they wouldn't stop teenagers hanging around a spot, never mind just walking passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

How about a motion sensitive sprinkler? Many people get them to keep cats away, but I don't see why getting soaked wouldn't deter teenagers too.

kylith wrote: »
    How about a motion sensitive sprinkler? Many people get them to keep cats away, but I don't see why getting soaked wouldn't deter teenagers too.

With the water charges coming in !?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Why in Gods name should anyone have to put up with that, and I'm not surprised his Mum has had to calm him down on a few occasions, I'm sure she feels vulnerable and under attack also but doesn't want to let him see that..
    If the Guards were any good they would set up some kind of 'small' operation to try and catch these dirt bags... Seriously. The Gardaí never seem to do enough, they don't be long buzzing about when someone is shot, that seems to get them all excited... Bless them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

ardle1 wrote: »
    Why in Gods name should anyone have to put up with that, and I'm not surprised his Mum has had to calm him down on a few occasions, I'm sure she feels vulnerable and under attack also but doesn't want to let him see that..
    If the Guards were any good they would set up some kind of 'small' operation to try and catch these dirt bags... Seriously. The Gardaí never seem to do enough, they don't be long buzzing about when someone is shot, that seems to get them all excited... Bless them.

A small operation to catch kids banging on a window? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭me0w

A small operation to catch kids banging on a window? :pac:

It's harassment and intimidation , don't minimise it.

This needs to be nipped in the bud before it gets any worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Is speaking to the scrotes' parents an option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP
    don't ring the local Garda station every time this happens. Chances are they aren't logging it and so it's not being reported as a crime.

Dial 999 every single time. It has to be logged then. Go as far as asking for an incident number each time.
    Mention your 90 year old grandmother and how she panics every time and you are concerned for her safety and health

And if possible install cameras. I see lots of houses with them these days and they seem quite effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Dave! wrote: »
    Is speaking to the scrotes' parents an option?

Unless you are 100% sure that the parents aren't scrotes themselves, then that's never an option. And even if they're not, it's still more than likely they'll go off the deep end at any criticism of their Jimmy. It's bizarre these days how people are so blinkered/not bothered about their own kids. I swear when we were kids my mother used to positively welcome any reports of bad behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

OP
    don't ring the local Garda station every time this happens. Chances are they aren't logging it and so it's not being reported as a crime.

Dial 999 every single time. It has to be logged then. Go as far as asking for an incident number each time.

Please don't do this, OP. 999 is for genuine emergencies only and ringing it for anti-social behaviour like this is only clogging up the line for people who genuinely need a speedy response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Unless you are 100% sure that the parents aren't scrotes themselves, then that's never an option. And even if they're not, it's still more than likely they'll go off the deep end at any criticism of their Jimmy. It's bizarre these days how people are so blinkered/not bothered about their own kids. I swear when we were kids my mother used to positively welcome any reports of bad behaviour.

Yeah I know, would imagine the parents are scrotes (though to be fair, I wasn't always an angel when I was a teen), so I'd imagine it'd be more likely that you'd have to strong arm them rather than reason with them. What 'strong arm' options are available is another matter, but targetting the parents in some way is worth considering.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Please don't do this, OP. 999 is for genuine emergencies only and ringing it for anti-social behaviour like this is only clogging up the line for people who genuinely need a speedy response.

i completely disagree here.
    do you really not consider someone banging on your window and intimidating you every night, a crime? what if it was an adult doing the same thing? would you still consider this anti-social behaviour?

the point is that by dialling 999, it will be logged as an incident as opposed to ringing the Garda station where it probably isn't being logged, because they don't have to.

when it's logged as an emergency the Guards have to come out. it will then be taken seriously.

talk to a friendly Guard off-the-record and ask him whether it's appropriate or not to dial 999 when you aren't getting a sufficient response from the local station. i did!

For clarification, this has been taken directly from http://www.garda.ie
    When do I call 999?
    You should call 999 or 112 in the case of an emergency. An emergency is any incident which requires an immediate Garda response. Examples of emergencies are:-
    • A danger to life
    • Risk of serious injury
    • Crime in progress or about to happen
    • Offender still at scene or has just left
    In all other circumstances when reporting a crime you should contact your local Garda Station. You can find out details of your local Garda Station in our Station Directory. Anyone with information regarding a crime can also ring the Garda Confidential Telephone Number 1800 666 111.

A bunch of teens banging on a window, as antisocial and annoying as it may be, is not a "crime in progress or about to happen", no matter what way you try to spin it.

Don't just call - go to your local police station each time you are being pestered, and make an official complaint. This is all the record that you need. This is not what the 999 service is for.

For clarification, this has been taken directly from http://www.garda.ie

A bunch of teens banging on a window, as antisocial and annoying as it may be, is not a "crime in progress or about to happen", no matter what way you try to spin it.

Don't just call - go to your local police station each time you are being pestered, and make an official complaint. This is all the record that you need. This is not what the 999 service is for.

So Mike, do you not consider that a crime? Are we simply devaluing crime because there aren't enough Garda resources?

We have no idea of the intention of the people banging on the window. They may want to lure the occupier out for example to commit another crime.

A 90 year old woman for example on her own in the house hearing this banging is perfectly entitled to ring 999. She doesn't know what the intention of the people responsible are.

One of the examples you quoted was 'crime in progress or about to happen'
    Again are we saying that terrorising families and old people is no longer a crime?

But it could be "offender still at scene"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

What I suggest you do is cower in fear until the kids get bored. This is the society we have created - children can frighten and intimidate adults with absolute impunity, parents aren't interested and the state aren't interested...that is until you try and do something about it yourself in which case they will become VERY interested. It's a sick backward situation based on some warped sense of morality combined with the complete abdication of personal responsibility which feature largely in Ireland today.

i'm actually concerned at the advice being given out not to ring 999

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

You can still ring your local station and ask for a garda to come out, just dial the non-emergency number.

999 is for something urgent, life threatening. To give you an example, I once dialled 999 driving home in the dark to report several loose horses on an unlit main road, on a bad bend. I got told off by the emergency services because loose horses who, imo could potentially cause a crash or pile up, was not deemed an emergency to the emergency services, and I should have called the local Garda station instead. Lesson learned.

So by all means the OP should contact the Gardai, but loitering teens who have been hanging around for a few weeks is not an emergency, unless they do something that is threatening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

If you ring 991 and they transfer you to the local station then there is a record of the call and that least that way the station HAS to pick up the call, instead of it ringing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I know it's distressing for the OPs family but in this instance calling 999 would be like going to A&E for a cold; it will tie up the line and possibly mean that someone whose father is dying of a heart attack can't get through or take gardai away from an actual emergency.

The OP would be better to keep the curtains drawn or keep to the back room and deny these scumbags the oxygen of notice. They're doing what they're doing because they know they're annoying people, take that away and they'll get bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I had younger kids (11-14) causing hassle at a place I rented years ago. I followed each of them then went to each ones parents. Some of the parents were extremely rough, their kids didn't just stop they'd cross the road rather then chance be seen walking past the house. The rougher the parents the more seriously they took the complaint, id be a bit worried I may have caused some kids to be beaten by their parents though.

My sister had an awful problem with teenagers in her area when she moved in to her new house. The teenagers were throwing eggs at the house every night, covering the walls, windows and car. One night they stole their wheelie bins and set them on fire on a green across the road. My sister and her partner were struggling financially, expecting their first child and didn't have spare cash to be buying new bins but they chose to ignore them and eventually the mongrels got bored and found someone else to bother.
    Unfortunately, calling the guards is glorifying their behaviour and making them out to be heroes in front of their mongrel friends. This attention only makes them repeat their behaviour and think of even worse ways to annoy you the next night. Also, I think teenagers that turn out like this were never disciplined by their ignorant parents to begin with so why would they care if the guards were calling to their house now?
    I know it's hard when your trying to protect your family but I would recommend that you all agree to sit still for a week or two and no doubt these idiots will move on to find someone else to annoy. Don't be surprised if it get worse before it gets better as they may wonder where the attention has gone and push more buttons to get a rise out of you, but they will soon get bored and give up! I wish you all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I had younger kids (11-14) causing hassle at a place I rented years ago. I followed each of them then went to each ones parents. Some of the parents were extremely rough, their kids didn't just stop they'd cross the road rather then chance be seen walking past the house. The rougher the parents the more seriously they took the complaint, id be a bit worried I may have caused some kids to be beaten by their parents though.

That's actually the best idea in my opinion. Maybe make sure that you are no on your own when you are following them. Expalain to thye parents about the 90yr old granny etc. If that doesnt work start recording and give to gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I thought the garda told the OP that they couldnt do anything unless they caught the kids in the act?

Well how do they do that if you dont call 999?

So if its not an issue that can be left until the next day but needs to be acted on immediately then the only way to get straight through is to call 999.

Right?

InTheTrees wrote: »
    I thought the garda told the OP that they couldnt do anything unless they caught the kids in the act?

Well how do they do that if you dont call 999?

So if its not an issue that can be left until the next day but needs to be acted on immediately then the only way to get straight through is to call 999.

Right?

By ringing the local station instead of 999...