Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Howard Marks dying of Cancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

ryanf1 wrote: »
    It doesn't mention a time

Fecking ridiculous, why can't they be specific and say 20 past 6 on Tuesday. We are busy people yano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

His IRA connctions don't endear him to me. His drug smuggling was notorious.

So many lives ruined!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

His IRA connctions don't endear him to me. His drug smuggling was notorious.

So many lives ruined!

Yea, weed ruins lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Karma.

I mean he's 69 and has led a more eventful life than 99% of people will

Shur it's 'karma' when anyone dies... serves them right for having the temerity to live!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Karma.

Good strain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Read the book years ago and saw him in 2013 when he read extracts from his book for us and I got to ask him a few questions at the end. Hilarious, interesting man.

I mean he's 69 and has led a more eventful life than 99% of people will

Shur it's 'karma' when anyone dies... serves them right for having the temerity to live!

As someone who is fit and healthy at the age of 71, I'd say he didn't live much of a life. You have no idea how eventful and joyous the lives of others are. The best part of a decade in prison was, I'm sure very eventful and a satisfactory way to live for him.

Karma indeed!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Karma.

Do you really believe it is karma? I'm not religious in any form but do you really believe in karma? As much as I scratch my head in curiosity at believers in a faith it's people that pronounce bad luck to be karma that really intrigues me.

Can you explain karma and do you always hold this religious based belief for events that arise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Ah he is such a nice guy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Now, his aim is to continue his battle for the legalisation of marijuana
    From beyond the grave?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

humberklog wrote: »
    Do you really believe it is karma? I'm not religious in any form but do you really believe in karma? As much as I scratch my head in curiosity at believers in a faith it's people that pronounce bad luck to be karma that really intrigues me.

Can you explain karma and do you always hold this religious based belief for events that arise?

Its seen as the natural law of consequence by the karmic traditions of India.
    A Buddha supposedly said something along the lines of you have to be enlightened to understand it fully. Its supposedly way beyond human understanding, but isn't restricted to this lifetime ... so you can get off scott free in this life but be reborn in you next life with a huge bill - a bit like the celtic tiger but with tripods and ass tortures instead of bankers and austerity.

*may require intention, effects can be both negative and positive, 100% reliable, karma responsibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

As someone who is fit and healthy at the age of 71, I'd say he didn't live much of a life

And yet you say...
    You have no idea how eventful and joyous the lives of others are
    Karma indeed!

Got it.. when people I don't like die, it's karma. I'll bear it in mind

And yet you say...

Got it.. when people I don't like die, it's karma. I'll bear it in mind

Your logic totally evades me. :confused:

Therefore, I'll leave you to it. I don't believe in arguments for argument's sake.

The stench of jealousy off some of the posters in this thread is stronger than a group of lads burning some UK cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

As someone who is fit and healthy at the age of 71, I'd say he didn't live much of a life. You have no idea how eventful and joyous the lives of others are. The best part of a decade in prison was, I'm sure very eventful and a satisfactory way to live for him.

Karma indeed!

Read the book and watch the film, then judge

mikom wrote: »
    The stench of jealousy off some of the posters in this thread is stronger than some burning UK cheese.

I'd like to know what there is to be jealous of?

hju6 wrote: »
    Read the book and watch the film, then judge

In fairness the movie is pure shite.
    Hope the story gets remade again someday.

I'd like to know what there is to be jealous of?

Look inside yourself.
    Namaste.

In fairness the movie is pure shite.
    Hope the story gets remade again someday.

Look inside yourself.
    Namaste.

You're going to have to explain your philosophy for someone as unenlightened as myself. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The man looks dreadful for only 69. I suppose a life of chronic cannabis use takes its toll.

I'm not one to gloat over someone's imminent passing. Hope he has found peace and his family get to spend some quality time with him over the coming days/weeks/months.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

all this talk of looking inside and bowel cancer.
    got to book that prostate exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Could'nt have happened to a nicer fella:rolleyes: Karma indeed !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

All this dancing around. Srameen and schwiiing want to say "dirty drug scum", mikon and hju6 want to say "narc!".

Just go for it lads.

Karma.
    [/B]
    You're going to have to explain your philosophy for someone as unenlightened as myself. :rolleyes:

Oh I assumed that you were supremely enlightened seeing as you decreed that Karma existed and caused Howard Marks to be diagnosed with inoperable bowel cancer, a cancer which has now spread to his liver and lungs.
    Karma, what's your Karma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Do people really believe in karma?

:o

No, but they don't have the balls to just say "I am glad he is dying".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Apparently so. Surprisingly, it's not the hash-smoking crusties mentioning it in this thread.

They seem to gobble up every other line of shite fed to them, so why not.

Apparently so. Surprisingly, it's not the hash-smoking crusties mentioning it in this thread.

Hash? Sure I've Blueberry here, there feck would I want hash for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Hash? Sure I've Blueberry here, there feck would I want hash for?

Blueberry? Is that one of those junkstick "strains?"

I am afraid I am not enough of a weed snob to answer this question :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

I've always found it too mild. Don't much like coconut either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

The man looks dreadful for only 69. I suppose a life of chronic cannabis use takes its toll.

That or the terminal cancer, I suppose

Here's a picture of him at 66 long before any cancer.

http://archive.oneandother.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/%C2%A9-Howard-Marks-620x330.png

The haggard and weary face of a chronic cannabis user.

http://archive.oneandother.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/%C2%A9-Howard-Marks-620x330.png

Straight out of Reefer Madness.

A face that has seen and done far more than most people, a face with a right to be haggard

Like what? Other then being a career criminal of course. Has anything he done been of any value to decent society?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Found Mr nice to be really entertaining.

Read a follow up book about his family history or something where his ego seemed to have really exploded, had to give up on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

He's a legend and I'm sad to hear the news.
    I'm not gonna feed any of the trolls spouting ****e about karma either.
    He bought a non addictive, much sought after substance and sold it on again, big deal.
    A pacifist all his life too for that matter.
    Good luck Howard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Sad for his loved ones but seemed like a kinda crap person to his kids and first wife.
    The stench of jealousy off some of the posters in this thread is stronger than a group of lads burning some UK cheese.

Do people not realise how juvenile they sound when they accuse people of jealousy for no apparent reason?

His life was indeed interesting and colourful, but I can't imagine many people aspiring to live like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

I don't know about the longterm effects of cannabis might be a contributory factor I guess but to me he just looks like any other life long cigarette smoker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Could'nt have happened to a nicer fella:rolleyes: Karma indeed !!!!!

By all accounts he's extremely nice.

Auldloon wrote: »
    I don't know about the longterm effects of cannabis might be a contributory factor I guess but to me he just looks like any other life long cigarette smoker.

Most likely a lot more to do with the tobacco in his joints than the cannabis

It's a real shame, he is a great character and a harmless, pacifist.

I was only listening to and enjoying this podcast with him last week, very honest and entertaining interview.

Like what? Other then being a career criminal of course. Has anything he done been of any value to decent society?

as in ?

as in ?

People who don't use illegal drugs for a start.

Yous aren't seriously arsed having that whole conversation? What could possibly be the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

For a minute, I thought you were talking about what I was smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Skin damage due to cigarettes and sun damage. But do you really want to be the prettiest corpse in the graveyard?

He has been places, and had excitement in his life. Yes he broke the law by importing and selling cannabis, laws that countries around the world are now re-evaluating. But you have to admire some of the ingenuity he went to in his bid to skirt the law.

He was a bit of a **** to his first wife, and kids, but it seems to be a trend for people of that age and social standing.

My brother suggested I read Mr Nice. I decided I'd humour him and give it a shot. I had no hesitation in stopping reading the egotistical nonsense after a few chapters. The scumbag collaborated with the provisional IRA in importing guns and drugs through Shannon Airport back in the 70's. He was a drug dealer. Almost certainly a sociopath as well.