Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women Only Gyms

• 24-01-2015 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Seem to be more prevalent in recent years. Are they really necessary? What is the appeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

Seem to be more prevalent in recent years. Are they really necessary? What is the appeal?

Is it legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

When you bend over in your lycra there won't be the obligatory Sweet baby Jesus sighs. Or is that just for me. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

So that women can choose to spend their leisure time exclusively with members of their own gender.

Like men only golf courses.

Of course, men only golf courses are the devil and women only gyms are perfectly alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

caustic 1 wrote: »
    When you bend over in your lycra there won't be the obligatory Sweet baby Jesus sighs. Or is that just for me. :pac:

From you or at you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

From you or at you ?

Both.:D

DeadHand wrote: »
    So that women can choose to spend their leisure time exclusively with members of their own gender.

Like men only golf course.

Of course, men only golf courses are the devil and women only gyms are perfectly alright.

This.
    So sexist, the fellas should be up in arms burning their jocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Its because panda was sniffing the benches after them

Dat dere groin sweat

Aren't they gone completely? The likes of curves and those kind of gyms? I thought they were all done away with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

To prevent perverts like me from following them into the locker room and asking do they need a hand changing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

They're there so that I won't be distracted from making all kindz of gainz by yoga pants squats.

Aren't they gone completely? The likes of curves and those kind of gyms? I thought they were all done away with.

Nope, alot of gyms have unisex sections and women only sections. No men only however.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I thought the same haven't seen one in ages

Nope, alot of gyms have unisex sections and women only sections. No men only however.

Which gyms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Whats a gime?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Which gyms?

Total fitness used to before they closed. Energie dont

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I wonder how women only gyms work? Like in my gym, all they aware to do is threadmills and about 5 mins of the exercise bike. I would hate to see the wait for the threadmills in those gyms

Stheno wrote: »
    Total fitness used to before they closed. Energie dont

I'm in Ben Dunne and Crossfit and they don't either.

I used to be in Crunch and they had no women only section.

I don't see an issue with it. People should be free to associate with whomever they choose in a private members club capacity. If there is public money involved then that's different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Whats a gime?

Oh, a gime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Pfft, I go to the gym to creep. Female only gyms are minus craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In the likes of Portmarnock men can only become full members but women can still pay green fees (at a reduced rate for family of a member) and play as well as using the clubhouse facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ehh, I can tell you for a fact that men-only gyms are quite a lucrative business the last couple of years, I would know because my brother owns and operates a few of 'em!

There's still plenty of women only gyms around too, but I've never heard of any man wanting to join one, and there's my mate that runs a chain of zumba studios who tells me the vast majority of his clients are women.

Y'know what I've never seen though? Men joining the likes of weight watchers, slimming world, etc. I'm sure a few do, I've just never heard of 'em.

I don't think there's any discrimination involved in separate gender gyms, they just serve different markets is all - some women prefer to exercise with other women, some men prefer to exercise with other men, and then the unisex gyms are for anyone.

Me I'm quite happy to never set foot inside one, wouldn't be my thing at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It was all the women showing up at golf courses to ogle men playing golf in leotards that caused it.

Perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I really don't get why people are arsed about this sort of thing.
    If you want a women-only gym, go for it. Male-only fried chicken restaurant? More power to you.

The problem really arises when people want to have their cake and eat it. It's fine to discriminate against people who aren't you but as soon as someone discriminates against you or someone you care about, all of a sudden your problem becomes society's problem.

Most people never stop being giant babies who're happy to run roughshod over the rights of others that they expect to have themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

I'm in Ben Dunne

Doesn't he find that uncomfortable?

Y'know what I've never seen though? Men joining the likes of weight watchers, slimming world, etc. I'm sure a few do, I've just never heard of 'em.

ll.

There are men only weightwatchers groups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Westwood has ladies only gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A bit backwards in this day and age. Similar to women only marathons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

My local gym in north Kildare has a ladies only section.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A bit backwards in this day and age. Similar to women only marathons.

There'a a women's mini marathon and also a men's mini marathon (10km races), I don't know of any women's only actual marathons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

There'a a women's mini marathon and also a men's mini marathon (10km races), I don't know of any women's only actual marathons?
    whats the mens one?

edit its ARC 10k with less than 300 running
    the ladies one gets what about 40,000?

Tigger wrote: »
    whats the mens one?

I can't remember, it's in the phoenix park, used to be a bupa run but they're not in the country any more so I'm not sure.

Gender specific charity events are counter intuitive IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Tigger wrote: »
    whats the mens one?

May bank holiday weekend in the Phoenix Park. 10km race. ARC sponsor it now.

The women's mini marathon raises more for charity than any other event in Ireland. Who knows if it would raise more if it was unisex? Perhaps it would, The Great North Run in Newcastle certainly manages it, but that's a half marathon so excludes a lot of the slower folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

hfallada wrote: »
    I wonder how women only gyms work? Like in my gym, all they aware to do is threadmills and about 5 mins of the exercise bike. I would hate to see the wait for the threadmills in those gyms

Is a threadmill used for sewing?

Is the Flora women's mini-marathon still gender specific though? That's the only one I could think of, and in recent years lads have been dressing up in drag just for the hell of it to join in the fun?

The women's mini marathon raises more for charity than any other event in Ireland. Who knows if it would raise more if it was unisex? Perhaps it would, The Great North Run in Newcastle certainly manages it, but that's a half marathon so excludes a lot of the slower folk.

I just don't see the point in advertising charity events aimed at one gender in this day and age. I went to run in one once and they gave some sort of participation medal to female runners and none to the men. It certainly discouraged me from running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Gyms need women in tight pants bending over in front of men to increase the mans testosterone levels so he can lift heavier. If there were no women then there would be no strong men. Then there would be unopened jam, marmalade and pickle jars everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

hfallada wrote: »

yip

http://gfycat.com/SleepyPoliteEmperorpenguin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Is the Flora women's mini-marathon still gender specific though? That's the only one I could think of, and in recent years lads have been dressing up in drag just for the hell of it to join in the fun?

They don't allow men in drag to participate fully: no finishers medal, needing to lie on the application form...

McGaggs wrote: »
    They don't allow men in drag to participate fully: no finishers medal, needing to lie on the application form...

It's like apartheid but worse

McGaggs wrote: »

For the sake of some sexist ideals they are reducing the potential intake for their charity of choice. I can see things like this going the way of the dodo.

I can't tbh. For the sake of a medal you're complaining about gender equality. It sounds like you're just complaining for the sake of it when most people's minds are focused on raising funds for charity and the medals are just a token of gratitude for their participation. I imagine if men were to start complaining about medals it would tarnish the whole fun element of the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Think I'll open a 'Whites Only' gym and see how I get on.

They sell out before the entry closing date most years. That may not be the case if men were to participate. The men's equivalent doesn't get a fraction of the interest, I'm not sure why that is? The flora mini marathon was started by a group of women who wanted to get other women to walk/run. Certainly seemed to work if over 40,000 women (it's the biggest women only event in the world) raise money every year for charity. Women don't bat an eyelid at the men's only race but men don't show up to run, instead they complain about the women's one and why they can't do it too.

I'm not into women's only gyms or that kind of thing mostly, they're not my thing, I like to lift weights when I'm in the gym, very heavy ones - something women's only gyms would lack I'd imagine (though I've never been in one so this is a guess). I don't mind if women feel that that's what they need in order to be active, nor men. If we can get more people working out and being healthy then we should cater for those who lack a bit of confidence.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I think Premier Fitness in Finglas is a women only gym or has a women only section. It's fairly new too, only started 2 or 3 years ago. It may have changed though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭batnolan

If there are women only clubs then of course there should be men only clubs. Think it is odd that women would want to segregate themselves from men in a gym. Anyone in a gym shares a common goal to get fit and look good, it is nothing to be embarrassed about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's like apartheid but worse

Worse than apartheid, the holocaust and the world wars combined, let's be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,232 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Omackeral wrote: »
    Think I'll open a 'Whites Only' gym and see how I get on.

You can follow with a boys only school.