Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home oil prices??

• 16-01-2015 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Well folks,anyone got a fill or say 500 litres worth this week?Need a fill soon but hoping price might drop even more...is that likely at all?
    Thanks for any replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Well folks,anyone got a fill or say 500 litres worth this week?Need a fill soon but hoping price might drop even more...is that likely at all?
    Thanks for any replies.

Lady at work here got 1000l delivered for 58c in the last few days.. Oldcastle direction, its a while since I saw it under .60c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Got tract diesel today ( 60c) and the guy said kero was 58c

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Thanks for any replies.

Got quoted 61-63 cent for 500L kero yesterday.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

blue5000 wrote: »
    Got quoted 61-63 cent for 500L kero yesterday.

is Morris oil up yere way

Not that I know of for diesel/heating oil, are for lube oil ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

60c castlebar for 1000l for kero. Wonder do the guys in the know expect oil prices to drop much more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

320 for 500l of agri diesel today. Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Must order 1000l soonish ,will let ye know how I get on....twill hardly drop anymore will it?....havnt time to read business part of paper last while...what conditions have the oil price so low at mo anyway?

Mainly disagreement in OPEC, so they have overproduced, fracking in N. America is another reason, but their production costs are higher, which means that fracking isn't economic below about$45 a barell.

I read somewhere that a barell of oil is traded 18 times between the well and final consumer, if some of these lads got a roasting when prices dropped they might not be as keen to buy it now, so letting price down more.

Mainly disagreement in OPEC, so they have overproduced, fracking in N. America is another reason, but their production costs are higher, which means that fracking isn't economic below about$45 a barell.

I read somewhere that a barell of oil is traded 18 times between the well and fi nal consumer, if some of these lads got a roasting when prices dropped they might not be as keen to buy it now, so letting price down more.

Jaysus a bit like an odd dealers cattle back in the day:)

I heard on the last word there that oil was due to drop some more. According to that fella from AA roadwatch who seems to be on everything when there is a mention of a drop in petrol/oil prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Watch the commodities ............continuing to fall. It is unstood the that OPEC are willing to lower than current levels

joejobrien wrote: »
    Watch the commodities ............continuing to fall. It is unstood the that OPEC are willing to lower than current levels

Pity fertiliser, especially N doesn't fall.
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/tag/fertiliser-prices/

Pity fertiliser, especially N doesn't fall.
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/tag/fertiliser-prices/

Yes fully agree with you. Fertiliser companies are using just another excuse in the book.

Waited till tank was well down,got 1000 litres today...620 euro.Saw that I got 500 litres in September and it was 430 euro....so oil is well down!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭_Jumper_

Saw that I got 500 litres in September and it was 430 euro....so oil is well down!!

So what do you do? Leave it on 24/7?

_Jumper_ wrote: »
    So what do you do? Leave it on 24/7?
    Far from it,500 litres since Sept would be avg usage for most people,this fill will do till well into Summer you would hope.

I'm assuming you don't light a fire?

Do indeed but not till late in evening,like a warm house;)

That's COLOSSAL USAGE Bleating.

5 times mine but I'd light a fire in the winter months so wouldn't be a heavy user.

Easily 3/4 times more than sister/2 kids - lights fire in winter.

I don't think it's even doable leaving it on 24/7 here, sure you'd don't have some leaks/or a thieving bast@rd around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Waited till tank was well down,got 1000 litres today...620 euro.Saw that I got 500 litres in September and it was 430 euro....so oil is well down!!
    595 for 1000 litres here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Whoooo that's a lot. We got 500 litres back in September and there's still loads left. An hour a day in the mornings is all we use.

Kovu wrote: »
    Whoooo that's a lot. We got 500 litres back in September and there's still loads left. An hour a day in the mornings is all we use.
    we get 1000 litres, does us 3 months during the winter, aga on it too and old farm house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    we get 1000 litres, does us 3 months during the winter, aga on it too and old farm house

Ah we have to split our load to two other houses as well! Stove/solid fuel in all to heat the water and rads so little usage for oil.

Perhaps size of house might have something to do with it and any young family at home all day perhaps?
    New / old build also a consideration.
    Obviously if you burn alot of timber , very well the oil may be down.

joejobrien wrote: »
    Perhaps size of house might have something to do with it and any young family at home all day perhaps?
    New / old build also a consideration.
    Obviously if you burn alot of timber , very well the oil may be down.
    yup very hard to compare like for like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

All depends on the house, the insulation and whether you're warm or cold blooded.

My missus could be sitting on the sun and she'd still be complaining of a cold arse

I don't mind warming it though. ....ho ho .....yup ya boyo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Kero is 30pence a Lt in NI at the minute even at a .74 conversion rate works out at 40cent a Lt so it is still way to expensive up here

That's COLOSSAL USAGE Bleating.

5 times mine but I'd light a fire in the winter months so wouldn't be a heavy user.

Easily 3/4 times more than sister/2 kids - lights fire in winter.

I don't think it's even doable leaving it on 24/7 here, sure you'd don't have some leaks/or a thieving bast@rd around.

As some later posters have said its all relative,new build,not a small house,v well insulated but young family and both myself and OH like a comfortable heated house,don't worry no leaks or thieves;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Muckit wrote: »
    I don't mind warming it though. ....ho ho .....yup ya boyo!

Muckit, there was a lad around here and he was quite quite lively with the opposite sex given half a chance but not very picky, regularly would hear lads say "ah don't mind that lad he'd get up on a gust of wind"

Don't know why what you said reminded of that though:D

Heard the other versions too.... the woman that would get up on a hairy hand or the lad that would get up on a cracked plate :D

Then ya have the bandit country saying about a facially challenged lady.....'jays is not even a sniper would take her out!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Or the lad who would get up on himself if he could turn quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Back on topic, Texoil are doing 500ltrs for €300.00 in Mayo. Thats the best price for Kero in Mayo at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We would be the same as Whelan although ours is a Rayburn. It is on 24/7 during the cold months and only gets turned off in Summer.
    The one added benefit is that we always have lots of hot water which is important from now on when the calves start to arrive probably from next week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Heard the other versions too.... the woman that would get up on a hairy hand or the lad that would get up on a cracked plate :D

Or he would get up on a sick hen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Rang around here (Cork) for quotes yesterday for oil.
    They ranged from 630 - 660 (for 1000L)

Ordered it today - and they quoted me 640. Told em I was onto em yesterday, and they said they'd give it to me for 630.

So what's the story with it going up again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Rang around here (Cork) for quotes yesterday for oil.
    They ranged from 630 - 660 (for 1000L)

Ordered it today - and they quoted me 640. Told em I was onto em yesterday, and they said they'd give it to me for 630.

So what's the story with it going up again?

Barrel of oil went from 47 dollars to 57 dollars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

heard it was goin up here from 61 cent to 67 cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Well I got 1000lts delivered for 675 euro and it was 630 last week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Got 900 litres today for 64c litre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Any updates on this. Got to order 1000 litres. Corrib oil quoting 445 euro online that's 44.5 cents a litre. Usually get from them in Roscommon town. Anybody got anything cheaper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

My friend always say ' she would get up on a cat going out a skylight' 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭TPF2012

35 cent a litre in Belleek is being mentioned. Got it for 39 cent 2 weeks ago.

TPF2012 wrote: »

Cheapest I could get down these parts was 42c / litre (ordered yesterday)

Just filled the jeep there from empty for 79 euro, 107.9cpl in local shop. Used to put 80 euro in it this time last year and it wouldnt be 3 quarters full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

whelan2 wrote: »
    Just filled the jeep there from empty for 79 euro, 107.9cpl in local shop. Used to put 80 euro in it this time last year and it wouldnt be 3 quarters full

99 cent at the pumps where I full up. I remember paying €1.47 about a year and a half ago

TPF2012 wrote: »
    If kero is this cheap and diesel stays around €1/L how much kero is going to end up in the diesel?

99 cent at the pumps where I full up. I remember paying €1.47 about a year and a half ago

Where is it 99c Darragh?

1.05 is the cheapest I have seen around us here.