Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Atlantic Coast Challenge 2015

• 15-01-2015 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭

As requested....

So who's going ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

On the issue of ridiculous scores and not being in with a chance of winning - perhaps we should do a for fun comp between all boards related teams - as of course we are all honest golfers :D

Might make it interesting to post scores after each day and see how teams are getting on. Pressure on the final days perhaps ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

I'm going have been every year since it started, finished 7th overall as a team one year and would agree the scoring is high. Maybe some of the team thought it was a Champagne scramble.
    That said not many of us would travel to Carne just to play it as it is so far out of the way and the value for the 3 courses is super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

I dont play any comp to win maybe for my Society in my clubs its me against the course and to get my HC down! would love to do this some year but sadly wont be this year.

But just going for the courses and cheap rates and craic is valve in itself IMO.

Are all days played as a scramble?

I'm even considering trying to fit in Strandhill while I'm up.
    Never get to play links so tempted to go links mad for the days :D

alxmorgan wrote: »
    I'm even considering trying to fit in Strandhill while I'm up.
    Never get to play links so tempted to go links mad for the days :D
    Going to try and get the open in Strandhill in on the friday before myself.

mike12 wrote: »

And stay the whole w/e ? :eek:
    Living the dream

benny79 wrote: »
    I dont play any comp to win maybe for my Society in my clubs its me against the course and to get my HC down! would love to do this some year but sadly wont be this year.

But just going for the courses and cheap rates and craic is valve in itself IMO.

Are all days played as a scramble?

No, 3 person team event. 2 to score on each hole I think

Home in Mayo is less than a hour from Sligo so usually head down for a week around the ACC.
    I'm the same as Kevin i play with my Brothers and one played 10 rounds last year 3 were in the ACC and 3 up in the Great North Links if he played more he would be a bandit off 20 but we are just out to play 3 great courses and have a laugh, forget the comp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

On the issue of ridiculous scores and not being in with a chance of winning - perhaps we should do a for fun comp between all boards related teams - as of course we are all honest golfers :D

Might make it interesting to post scores after each day and see how teams are getting on. Pressure on the final days perhaps ? :D

I think this is a great idea, definitely makes it a bit more interesting when there is a side bet/game going on. Would just be for bragging rights, but that's good enough for me.

So the longer evenings and blue skies have got me thinking about this.

Can't wait. Only hope is you arrive with game in sufficient state to enjoy it fully.

Really looking forward to it, 3 days of nothing to think about except golf.
    Have we many boardies going this year, was it about 15 last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

ACC virgin here. Can't wait. Still haven't dropped that particular bombshell on her indoors yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was a class trip - almost too class for us , we burnt ourselves out year 1.

I think we may hit North / Donegal.

I think it being mid week is a bit awkward. Will go back to 3 courses at some stage but not in ACC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭yettie1701

Agree with Fix. I was great craic altogether and unbelievable value. We stayed in the diamond coast hotel that sponsors the event I think. Nice hotel and definitely not expensive. But the midweek thing is a bit too much for me this year. Amazing courses that ill definitely play again and again. Trying the Gold Coast triangle this year at the weekend. Have a blast to everyone who is making the pilgrimage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Anyone still planning on doing this?

I'd be interested if someone is still looking for a third member or setting up a boards team.

Can't think of a better way to spend a July week in the West!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I'd be interested if someone is still looking for a third member or setting up a boards team.

I'm already down to play with a couple of friends, but there was good interest/involvement from Boards lads last year. Don't think they're all playing this year though.

Am doing it again this year after a great year last year. Hopefully you'll find a team as it is a great three days with great courses and getting to meet fellow golfing nuts over a few pints in the evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Booked my team in yesterday for the 1.40 slot. (one of a very few left)
    Carne first, then enniscrone and finishing in rosses point.
    Never played either of the courses before so really looking forward to it.
    Green fees on the three courses in July are nearly €300 combined so to be getting them all for €139 is great value!!!

fearruanua wrote: »
    Booked my team in yesterday for the 1.40 slot. (one of a very few left)
    Carne first, then enniscrone and finishing in rosses point.
    Never played either of the courses before so really looking forward to it.
    Green fees on the three courses in July are nearly €300 combined so to be getting them all for €139 is great value!!!

Same rotation as us. Where ye basing yourselves ?

No accommodation booked yet alx but the plan is to drive to Carne from Galway on the Monday morning.
    Stay in Ballina on Monday night and to stay in Sligo on Tuesday night after Enniscrone and home to Galway after golf in Sligo on the wednesday.

That's the plan anyway ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Lads how much just this usually cost for the Golf and accommodation? I take it you have to book the accom yourself separate. So a ball park figure would do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lads how much just this usually cost for the Golf and accommodation? I take it you have to book the accom yourself separate. So a ball park figure would do..

We rented a 4 bed house in Enniscrone for 450, within falling distance of the pubs. Had to take it for the week but only used it Sun-Wed. 4 of us stayed in it so it makes sense even if you're only using it for 2 or 3 nights of the week.
    Plenty of room to dump the clubs etc and a bit more freedom than a hotel. Cheaper too, think it was about 90 a night when I checked the hotels.

I think we spent about 500 all in. Can't remember the exact breakdown but something like
    120 Accommodation.
    130 Golf.
    50 Petrol.
    30 food and beer for the house.
    180 drinking and eating out (60 a day/night)

There are savings to be made, and advisable to do so, on the final line :)

Golf per person is €139
    Accomm for two nights(mon and tues) I am hoping will be about €70/€80 ish per person sharing. Hoping to stay in treble rooms.

Food will probably be another €100 for the three days.
    Diesel €40 each
    And I suppose extra curricular activities are optional ;);)

So minimum I suppose you are talking somewhere between €300-€400

My plan is drive Tipp to Carne Monday (early start :eek: )
    Then off to stay in Diamond Coast Hotel in Enniscrone so I am on courses doorstep for next morning.
    Then drive to Rosses Point after round and stay in Yeats across road from course.
    Making it really easy on myself in terms of the next morning.

Can't bloody wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭yettie1701

PARlance wrote: »
    We rented a 4 bed house in Enniscrone for 450, within falling distance of the pubs. Had to take it for the week but only used it Sun-Wed. 4 of us stayed in it so it makes sense even if you're only using it for 2 or 3 nights of the week.
    Plenty of room to dump the clubs etc and a bit more freedom than a hotel. Cheaper too, think it was about 90 a night when I checked the hotels.

I think we spent about 500 all in. Can't remember the exact breakdown but something like
    120 Accommodation.
    130 Golf.
    50 Petrol.
    30 food and beer for the house.
    180 drinking and eating out (60 a day/night)

There are savings to be made, and advisable to do so, on the final line :)
    I'd say you lot spent 500 on beer alone.

yettie1701 wrote: »
    I'd say you lot spent 500 on beer alone.

Should about cover Monday alright :-)

I think it is coming clear as to why we are not going again. :D

We definitely have done ACC. We even played Strandhill day before.

It has been mentioned - but go to enjoy yourself,

The Banditry is shocking.
    The slow play is awful.
    Carne wasn't in great shape (IMO) _ (should be sorted this year)

Don't go out crazy early - but be aware as the day goes on - it looked - not just slow , but stopped. if you like a few drinks, I mean it must have been 5 to 6 hour rounds behind us from 10- 11 oclock on.

Some lads are happy enough with this - as it is a rare time, you could do with using up a bit of time and you are not going anywhere quick ( A bit like a boards outing (joke :P:D))

Try get two playing partners - without a tendency to slip into shanks when tired and emotional.

It is a great few days - if you haven't done something like that before - just in pubs with golfers - was a great atmosphere in Enniscorne - guitars etc. World Cup was on too - and people West of the Shannon are eccentric to put it a certain way, I fitted in very well.

Not sure what my own plans are this summer yet. Too much else on, I think.

Will hit a more Northern one at some stage - Kerry too.

But ACC a must do , you will love it or never want to go back,. But still have had a great time.

Anyone (kevin ?) know what holes will be in use in Carne and how the changes in Rosses Point will affect if at all ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

Don't know about Carne but the changes in the point wont affect really you at all. A new extension on the right of the first green and a new bunker on the left, there won't be a pin on the new part of the green at least there hasn't been one there yet as its not fully bedded down yet. The exact same applies to the second and the fifth re the greens, extended but not in play. You will see a new green on the third and a couple of new tees here and there but none will be in play. Next year will be a little different though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Just booked in for this, can't WAIT!!!

So myself and phkk and a non boardsie : ( are all sorted for the ACC 2015.
    Carne-Enniscrone-Rosses Point.
    Booked into the sands in enniscrone for monday and tuesday night.
    Here's hoping for some maith go leor weather!!!

Only two weeks to go!!! Can't wait.

Looks like the good weather is going to continue for this event. I've only played one links course before so really looking forward to playing 3 and in 3 days aswell! Quick question- is it all three scores to count per course or is it two best scores from three to count?

Ok so folks less than a week to go to this (damn this week is gonna be long :D ).

So to follow up on this idea....any boards related teams that are interested come on here after each day and post their team scores and we can see at the end who has emerged as the Boards ACC Champions 2015 :D

Good luck to all

Ok so folks less than a week to go to this (damn this week is gonna be long :D ).

So to follow up on this idea....any boards related teams that are interested come on here after each day and post their team scores and we can see at the end who has emerged as the Boards ACC Champions 2015 :D

Good luck to all

Great idea, we'd be on for that!

Good luck to all

Post the leading scores too alx - will be good info towards the debate of what sort of score ye as groups could have seen out there in that format.

You playing Fix?

phkk wrote: »
    You playing Fix?

No - we burnt ourself out last year.

Was a great weekend - I'd say I will go again - but now glad I didn't, as wouldn't have got the time off this year.

Great event - we were out early , I think don't expect fast games after say 11 am, but in fairness, not like you have anywhere to go after.

Looks like weather is great again ?

Great laugh in pubs most nights.

Will do. My magic pen order from ebay is caught up in customs so we're unlikely to win it this year ;)

The pubs in Enniscrone will be in bits when they hear ye're not coming back this year Fix :D

How many boards teams (or players) are there this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Good luck to all

Will do - although I'm the only Boardsie rep in our group. I'd hoped to get a blog up each night but our tee time has moved back to 2.36pm so not expecting to arrive at the hotel in Enniscrone till well after 9pm.

Wouldn't it be great if we get 3 days of good weather.

Will do - although I'm the only Boardsie rep in our group. I'd hoped to get a blog up each night but our tee time has moved back to 2.36pm so not expecting to arrive at the hotel in Enniscrone till well after 9pm.

Wouldn't it be great if we get 3 days of good weather.

No problem with that. Any team with a boards representation will do.

Will post up as well, think we are first out in carne on day 1. See they have changedthe format for this year. All 3 cards to count and all scores beating css will be returned to your club.
    Will be interesting to see the scoring.

Myself and phkk will keep ye updated on our progress or lack off during the three days. :D:D:D

Will post up as well, think we are first out in carne on day 1. See they have changedthe format for this year. All 3 cards to count and all scores beating css will be returned to your club.
    Will be interesting to see the scoring.

I doubt it'll be bothering us but it's only fair really.

So is it all 3 scores on the card counted?

Edit, from Carne;

COMPETITION FORMAT: 18H Stableford Competition. A combination of all 3
    scores will make your team score.

What does that mean?

Senna wrote: »
    So is it all 3 scores on the card counted?

Edit, from Carne;

COMPETITION FORMAT: 18H Stableford Competition. A combination of all 3
    scores will make your team score.

What does that mean?

I'm presuming that all three cards are added up and that is your score for the day??

120pts+ a day will still probably be coming in
    :mad::mad::mad:

Interesting. I guess we'll find out on the day.
    Seems like some moves being made to keep everything above board anyway which can only be a good thing

I'd be delighted if all 3 players scores do count, bandits will be very disappointed.

Now if we could just get the weather forecast to improve...

Senna wrote: »
    I'd be delighted if all 3 players scores do count, bandits will be very disappointed.

Now if we could just get the weather forecast to improve...

But would they ?

Not sure what impact it would have .

Honestly lads. Just go and try play well .

Anything near top 10 is remarkable. Aim for that. Forget the crazy stuff.

I sort of played to handicap on 2 courses. You can walk away very proud with playing to handicap or over 30 on any course out there, is very good.

Pints and great golf company and laughs more important.

Terrible to say that . But life, requires a few days away from comp too, sometimes.