Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi-Tec January Sale - 50% off

• 14-01-2015 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭

Courtesy of moneysavingexpert.co.uk. Link. Enter 50SALE at checkout. £3.99 flat rate shipping to Ireland.

410uVWUq%2B7L._SX395_.jpg

I just bought this low-cut version of the same walking boot I've had for five years and which I use daily for walking the dog in all sorts of muck. Much lighter to wear than they look, really comfortable, and watertight like no other leather boot I've tried (OK, I haven't pushed this limit, but I have regularly stepped ankle-deep in water and not a drop has come through). Also the soles have held up brilliantly, despite my worries that the quite soft, "spongy" material would start cracking across the ball of the foot long before the stitching or uppers gave trouble (at least, that's what I usually find).

£33.98 (€44) delivered, whereas they're closer to £50/€65 on Amazon.

Grand job for the aul' weather that's in it... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭silverwood

Thanks OP. I just ordered the same as it's a great deal.

Just be aware that the correct discount code is actually 50SALE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

silverwood wrote: »
    Thanks OP. I just ordered the same as it's a great deal.

Just be aware that the correct discount code is actually 50SALE.

I see no where to apply the discount code - in shopping basket i see " confirm order now " after credit card etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

I see no where to apply the discount code - in shopping basket i see " confirm order now " after credit card etc

It appears above the shopping cart on right hand side, think it says "have a discount code?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

silverwood wrote: »
    ...the correct discount code is actually 50SALE.
    Whoops, sorry — edited now. :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 115 ✭✭nomeban

Can't find that boot anywhere.

Got a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭silverwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Not related to this hi-tec sale but this "Hi-tec Hard Rain Shell jacket" is going for around £15 on Amazon (RRP £65). Select "Black 2" as colour, and only size XL left, and only 3 left.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hitec-Mens-Hard-Rain-Shell/dp/B00IID08LM/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1421242541&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=hi-tec+hard+rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Great find OP, pair of boots and runners and delivery for under €40.00 ! Nice 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaSCaDe711

Thanks OP, great find, and just ordered. Exactly what I need, as the Regatta I have (and have been using regularly recently) are still a purchase I regret. Look forward to putting these on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

peckerhead wrote: »
    Courtesy of moneysavingexpert.co.uk. Link. Enter 50SALE at checkout. £3.99 flat rate shipping to Ireland.

I just bought this low-cut version of the same walking boot I've had for five years and which I use daily for walking the dog in all sorts of muck. Much lighter to wear than they look, really comfortable, and watertight like no other leather boot I've tried (OK, I haven't pushed this limit, but I have regularly stepped ankle-deep in water and not a drop has come through). Also the soles have held up brilliantly, despite my worries that the quite soft, "spongy" material would start cracking across the ball of the foot long before the stitching or uppers gave trouble (at least, that's what I usually find).

Great deal/discount,well spotted,tnx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭varuka

Be aware that you have to apply discount code before you fill in details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Mandzhalas

Great sale. Just ordered 3 pairs hiking boots for 60£. Delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Cheers for this OP. Two pairs of boots for under e70. Absolute bargain!! Come in use for work and personal use. Made my day this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

Cheers Peckerhead. Nice pair of waterproof golf shoes and pair of casual shoes ordered..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

Sound OP. I got some walking shoes reduced from 75 to 50 and then using the code to 25 pounds!

Legend! Well happy with this deal. What the best thing about it is that I actually need a pair instead of the usual BA splurge purchase :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Feck it, very few boots left in size 9. Might be doing abit of hiking for the first time this year so a pair of boots at this sale would be great.

Was looking at these....any hikers know if they would be suitable for doing somewhere like Carrauntoohil or similar?

http://www.hi-tec.com/uk/sierra-lite-original-luxe-mens-light-hiking-boot-brown-bamboo.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Got a couple of pairs of court shoes thanks OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

LowOdour wrote: »
    Feck it, very few boots left in size 9. Might be doing abit of hiking for the first time this year so a pair of boots at this sale would be great.

Was looking at these....any hikers know if they would be suitable for doing somewhere like Carrauntoohil or similar?

http://www.hi-tec.com/uk/sierra-lite-original-luxe-mens-light-hiking-boot-brown-bamboo.html

they should be grand, just dont go out hiking in a new pair of boot what every you buy, ir you;l quickly run out of feet, break them well in first or you'l regret it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

thanks, got a nice new pair with all the magical rain-proof stuff.
    the discount was a cent more than the shoes ended up costing me without shipping :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Molzer2

Thanks op, got two pairs of trainers for the kids and sandals for herself all for €45:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

What's the fit like on these? I wear a 'normal' size 9 UK. Is there a little extra room to allow for a thick sock or is it a good bog-standard fitting?

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

I can only speak for the boot I linked to above; in my experience, I find them fine with either, but I seldom bother with very thick socks because the inner lining/padding is already pretty toasty warm. Unless you were going to be, I dunno, standing around for hours in the snow or something. And (again in my experience, YMMV) there was no breaking-in at all with these, they were just supremely comfortable from the first wear — almost a kind of memory foam thing going on, if that's not too odd a comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Great find OP

Before I order, is the uk shoe size the same as the Irish shoe size?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭homingbird

boobar wrote: »
    Great find OP

Before I order, is the uk shoe size the same as the Irish shoe size?

If you are using dunnes stores as a fitting size you would want to try a shoe shop for proper size because i am wearing a size 10 shoe out of dunnes & i am a size 11.

Today I got my delivery from Hi-Tec - the boot OP mentioned on the first post and a pair of merino wool socks.

The nice folks at Hi-Tec have gone to great length to make sure I am well served. They have tied the laces for me. And they have scuffed the boot a bit to make sure that it looks worn in. They have carefully muddied the sole as well...

Yep, they have send me a used pair. It's not worn out - but very used. Check your deliveries carefully - may be I am just the unlucky one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭bromley52

positron wrote: »
    Today I got my delivery from Hi-Tec - the boot OP mentioned on the first post and a pair of merino wool socks.

The nice folks at Hi-Tec have gone to great length to make sure I am well served. They have tied the laces for me. And they have scuffed the boot a bit to make sure that it looks worn in. They have carefully muddied the sole as well...

Yep, they have send me a used pair. It's not worn out - but very used. Check your deliveries carefully - may be I am just the unlucky one.

Did you smell the socks?

Seriously? Wow...! :eek:

I just unboxed mine and they're pefect (not gloating, sorry!) I'd say a very stern call to their customer service line is in order. I'd be expecting an apology and a brand new pair by next post. If you can, take a couple of photos so that you can email them.

bromley52 wrote: »
    Did you smell the socks?

You made me smell them! Luckily they smell unused!
    Seriously? Wow...! :eek:

Couple of pics. I will try ringing them tomorrow AM. They could argue that I tried it on and got it dirty.. lets see how good a crowd they are when they hear this.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wz1scsti02me14k/IMG_20150119_201528.jpg?dl=0
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ubuqoo84734iawe/IMG_20150119_201631.jpg?dl=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 drink_milk

Did it take long to arrive to Ireland? When did you guys place your orders?
    Thanks.

positron wrote: »
    You made me smell them! Luckily they smell unused!

Couple of pics. I will try ringing them tomorrow AM. They could argue that I tried it on and got it dirty.. lets see how good a crowd they are when they hear this.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wz1scsti02me14k/IMG_20150119_201528.jpg?dl=0
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ubuqoo84734iawe/IMG_20150119_201631.jpg?dl=0

Go social media with that if they don't apologise. I'd imagine you'll be sorted out though.

drink_milk wrote: »
    Did it take long to arrive to Ireland? When did you guys place your orders?
    Thanks.

Ordered 14th, arrived 19th

Have prob with one of the insides of one of the boots, like it's not stiched properly up by the toe, ya couldn't wear it, the other inside feels quality.

Suppose ill have to send them back after emailing them, hope they refund the postage cost.

I'd imagine you'll be sorted out though.
    I'd like to think so, too. It'd be one thing if these came from some 3rd-party re-seller, or were seconds on clearance (that's how I bought my original pair, on eBay) — but these are a reputable brand, bought straight from the manufacturer's own website.

In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if someone in their dispatch services (or quality control or whatever) doesn't get a right árse-kicking. Things like this can be hugely damaging.

Mightn't be a bad idea to give them a link to this thread, too, so that they can see they're being watched on this one. I think they'll know pretty quickly what the right thing to do is. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭stenan

Thinking of ordring a pair of these or the boot version. Just wondering if the boot itself is wide as I have a wide foot?

I'd like to think so, too. It'd be one thing if these came from some 3rd-party re-seller, or were seconds on clearance (that's how I bought my original pair, on eBay) — but these are a reputable brand, bought straight from the manufacturer's own website.

I rang Hi-Tec Customer service, and while being professional, they didn't sound all that bothered or apologetic. They initially gave me a FREE POST address to send it to, and once I figured out AnPost won't accept free post to addresses outside Ireland, I rang Hi-Tec back and they asked me to pay for regular unregistered post and they will reimburse the postage by cheque or PayPal. Pain in the neck.

Lesson learned here for me is that the Amazon level of Customer Support that I have gotten so used to, is an exception and not the norm.

It's an online purchase so there you go. I don't see why the big hoo ha. Ill be contacting them regarding the problem I have and can't imagine there'll be a huge problem. Sometimes companies get it wrong, righting that wrong is the measure of a good company.

The managing directors email address is on the inside of the box, if you feel so harshly done by then email him.

I thought that note was quite a nice touch actually.

stenan wrote: »
    Thinking of ordring a pair of these or the boot version. Just wondering if the boot itself is wide as I have a wide foot?
    I guess it depends how wide... My feet are fairly average*, I think, and there's certainly no discernible tightness there — as I said above, I could easily wear thick padded socks without any problem.

(* I only have one pair of shoes that are specifically marked as "wide fit", an old pair of Timberlands. They do feel looser around my foot than these — a bit too loose, tbh. They're comfy for work wear, but I wouldn't use them for walking other than on flat ground 'cause my foot does move around a bit inside. So like I said, it depends just how wide your feet are. If you always/only buy wide-fitting shoes, then maybe think again. But these are certainly as wide as or wider than any normal shoe; they're not at all over-tight like some I've tried)

Hope the returns/replacement work out OK for positron and vicwatson. And yes, I agree that Amazon are probably the Gold standard in this area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭varuka

Got my Hi-tec hiking boots yesterday and they're perfect fit and very comfortable. Thanks OP.

Yup me too. Very comfortable and a 70 quid saving.

Cheers OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭KayeQ

Thanks again to the OP very happy with my purchase 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mac.in

I ordered through parcel motel. I would like to know if anyone got through parcel motel; how long did it take and was there any issues during the transit trough parcel motel? TIA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Mine arrived yesterday,6 days

mac.in wrote: »
    I ordered through parcel motel. I would like to know if anyone got through parcel motel; how long did it take and was there any issues during the transit trough parcel motel? TIA.

May I ask why when they have free delivery?

vicwatson wrote: »
    May I ask why when they have free delivery?

I was told they charge for the delivery to Ireland. So went through PM to save some quids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Ordered mine Sunday, arrived today.

Very comfortable. Looking forward to trying them out this weekend

I was told they charge for the delivery to Ireland. So went through PM to save some quids.

Apologies its a flat rate of stg 3.99

vicwatson wrote: »
    Apologies its a flat rate of stg 3.99

Even I didn't know if it was free/charged. My partner booked it for me. So I was wondering if there was an option of free delivery, when you mentioned about it. Now, I am sure it would have been charged £3.99 if it was directly posted to Eire.

In fairness to their customer services it is spot on, sent back an order today that I had a problem with, emailed them a copy of my certificate of postage showing the amount this morning and this afternoon got an email to say they've sent it back to me via my paypal account in EURO (so no exchange rate fluctuations). First part pretty good, lets see how long it takes to get my replacement shoes !!

Update: I ordered shoes on Jan 19. The PM website has updated today at 14:10 as the order had reached Belfast today and been in transit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Got my two pairs on Wednesday. Brilliant quality, couldn't fault them. Cheers OP!!