Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are DRL's the new Fog Lights?

• 12-01-2015 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭

Ok so I have seen this too many times and it's really starting to annoy me.

Idiots driving around at night with just their DRL's.

I'd be 95% sure that they do this intntionally as they think it makes them look cool and shows off how well specced their car is, in the same vein as the "sidelight & fogs" brigade :rolleyes:

What these fools don't realise is that while their DRL's are eminating with coolness, the back of their cars are completely unlit.

Ironic really how a safety feature has the potential to be so dangerous.

Maybe they just forgot to turn on their lights when it got dark, but their smug faces make me think otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,822 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Stop looking at other driver's faces and watch the fcuking road! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Strider wrote: »
    Stop looking at other driver's faces and watch the fcuking road! :pac:

Who said I was driving! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

I'd be 95% sure they don't realise they've no lights on, as a lot of cars with DRLs light up the dash automatically too. I've even met a couple of Traffic Corps cars (Hyundais mostly) with this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,822 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

ION08 wrote: »
    Who said I was driving! :)

Touche :pac:

But seriously, it is an issue. I sometimes see it around dusk and I usually just assume they've been driving since it was bright and just forgot to turn them on. I haven't seen it in the pitch dark yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    I'd be 95% sure they don't realise they've no lights on, as a lot of cars with DRLs light up the dash automatically too. I've even met a couple of Traffic Corps cars (Hyundais mostly) with this problem.

Same when they got Avensiss a few years back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Dr.Teeth

I have drl, I cannot switch them (only) on at night. Not that I would anyhow.
    I wonder do they realise that they have no rear lights on...
    I was driving in front of a jeep (with fogs on) one night, i pulled into a petrol station, he pulled in behind me, I asked him would he mind switching them off due to the glare, (wet road) he said they're not fog lights, they're SPOTLIGHTS....wtf...rolled my eyes and moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Don't most drl equipped cars also have Auto on dipped beams etc??

Yeah Id like to think so too.

I was driving along a straight road yesterday and a mondeo with just DRL was driving towards me, car infron flashed him, then I flashed him and the car further behind me also flashed him! (Long straight road) - the back of his car was still unlit in my rearview mirror as he passed the third car.

So he was either doing it intentionally or chronically stupid, in which case ironic how a safety feature can be so dangerous!

As regards Garda cars, i thought it had something to do with how sirens are wired up, either way, you'd want to wake up to yourself, especially if your traffic corps!!

barney 20v wrote: »

Bizzarely, no.

All new cars are drl equipped now.
    As regards Garda cars, i thought it had something to do with how sirens are wired up, either way, you'd want to wake up to yourself, especially if your traffic corps!!

They used to be on all the time on the likes of the mondeos.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Dusk is different to dark. In fact, I would say people turn their full lights on too early which makes those with their side lights on look less visible because the rest are overly lit up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

With my mothers octavia once the DRL's are on the back tail lights and number plate light stay on. So basically the back of the car is lit up all the time. I think it's the best set up but every other car seems to be set up drl lights on on the front only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

barney 20v wrote: »

Not necessarily. And even if there is an Auto setting, you can just switch it off.

On VW, you have: OFF-Auto-On.

Personally I always leave mine on Auto and almost never touch the light switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Bizzarely, no.

All new cars are drl equipped now.

They used to be on all the time on the likes of the mondeos.

Bizarre is right!!
    Our 2005 mondeo st has Auto lights and auto mirror .... Crazy that new cars haven't got auto lights.
    Ps , as a habit I usually drive with dipped beams on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

ya i think most dont realise they have no lights on. drl's are brightish to light up and with loads of cars always having their dash lights on regardless of lights on or off you'd forget. as a driver with no DRL's happened to me once or twice coming out of a petrol station all the dash is light up and street lights are on suddenly wonder why the front is so dull. oh look me driving around with no lights on. although anyone i see driving without them i flash them just to pretend their friends are ahead and the lights come on asap.

and arent Drl's auto anyways always on. so even if the driver doesnt realise there are some sort of lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Hyundai IX35s are the worst offenders; there's two separate twats in Dundalk that drive around at night with DRLs on AND foglights on, but no low beams. Drives me mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

DRL's are bright but they throw out hardly any light! Try driving with them in the dark with no other lights on and you won't see too much in front of you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭db

Jesus. wrote: »
    Dusk is different to dark. In fact, I would say people turn their full lights on too early which makes those with their side lights on look less visible because the rest are overly lit up.

If it's dark enough for lights don't use "side lights", dipped or full headlights only. Side lights are for parking only when you want your car to be see like on an unlit road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's just driver stupidity and lack of concentration. If DRL's were not fitted these same drivers would still probably drive around with no lights on.

Oh not the "DRLs are a waste of time, you don't need lights on during the day" argument again....

Hyundai IX35s are the worst offenders; there's two separate twats in Dundalk that drive around at night with DRLs on AND foglights on, but no low beams. Drives me mental.

Now that you remind me, it was one of these I saw doing to same too. Pitch dark and no rear lights...only stupid front LEDS.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Oh not the "DRLs are a waste of time, you don't need lights on during the day" argument again....

I think its a euro requirement now, same with electronic handbrake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

From what I see most Garda cars in Ireland drive with dipped lights on at all times. Fair play to them. Maybe it's just some internal regulations for garda.

On the other hand last week I was driving through rural road in Wales. It was about 5pm and nearly completely dark. A car was oncoming without any lights. It was a miracle I saw it, and when I saw it I flashed the hell out at him with my headlights. Only few seconds later I discovered, when car was passing that it was a sqad car.
    I was actually expecting he is going to turn around and pull me over - but not.
    Instead I was in the mirror, that he turned on his lights.

DRL's are designed to be effective during daylight, not at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I'd be I've even met a couple of Traffic Corps cars (Hyundais mostly) with this problem.

I met a Garda car with only DRLs on just before Christmas at about 7pm on a very twisty stretch of road between Nenagh and Thurles. How the bunch of plonkers in the front seats didn't notice that they had no headlights on is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Think the RSA needs a new slogan,

"Be safe, be seen, but not too seen."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

That a problem in its self side lights are parking lights and should only be used for parking,
    normal dip beam are for driving

JoeA3 wrote: »
    DRL's are bright but they throw out hardly any light! Try driving with them in the dark with no other lights on and you won't see too much in front of you...

Cars only have;

Full beams= Very bright, use when no cars in front or coming against you or not to be used in lit up areas.
    Dipped beams=when its low light in mornings and evenings and nightime when cars are in front or coming against you or in lit up areas.
    Daytime running light's=like it says, for daytime driving, not dusk or nighttime, helps highlight you on the road.( Note: most times rear lights are not on in this mode)
    Parking lights (they're NOT SIDE LIGHTS)= Used when temporarily parking on the roadside, to highlight your car to others in low light or nighttime.
    Foglights (they're NOT SPOTLIGHTS)=used by boy racers and fools, because they're soooo cool. Seriously used in foggy or adverse weather (snow, hail, very heavy rain etc.)

Thats a scary statement to make, seriously no jokes.

db wrote: »
    If it's dark enough for lights don't use "side lights", dipped or full headlights only. Side lights are for parking only when you want your car to be see like on an unlit road.

When its not dark enough for full beams they shouldn't be used. Side lights are sufficient. If everyone adhered to that then there'd be no problem. You often see such a case with four or five cars coming along with side lights on and then some guy with full beams comes along and he's overly lit up, almost like an emergency vehicle. Sometimes it can almost (but not quite) dazzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

When its not dark enough for full beams they shouldn't be used. Side lights are sufficient. If everyone adhered to that then there'd be no problem. You often see such a case with four or five cars coming along with side lights on and then some guy with full beams comes along and he's overly lit up, almost like an emergency vehicle. Sometimes it can almost (but not quite) dazzle.

By full beam I'm assuming you mean dipped beam? If a dipped beam is dazzling you must have heart palpitations at night.

Dipped beam yes and I said "not quite". Its unnecessary a lot of the time and only serves to overly light up one car to the detriment of all others which are perfectly visible already.

Some people say it annoys them terribly or "drives them crazy" to see someone with DRL's or fogs on in normal conditions. I don't use either but neither do I understand the excitement it seems to cause amongst others. I wouldn't even notice whether someone was using them or not.

There is NO SUCH THING AS SIDELIGHTS, they're parking lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Dr.Teeth wrote: »
    I think its a euro requirement now, same with electronic handbrake.
    Huh? I wasn't aware of the electronic handbrake requirement. Can't see any emissions reason, and the safety benefit must be absolutely miniscule in the real world. Was this from the straight bananas committee?

YES THERE IS

nHSK2c.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

I think the term parking light is a stupid term. when your driving your not really parked and when you park you usually switch off to conserve the battery. sidelight sounds better because their normally to the side of the main beam
    Typical sidelights are the small, white, relatively dim lights located on the front nearside and offside corners of the car.

so yes there is such thing as sidelights most of the americans would probably use that term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

In that case, there is no such thing as an electronic handbrake. A parking brake however....... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Sidelights do exist, mainly in America or on swedish cars in fairness. I can a benefit of making every one call all variations of sidelight/parking light "parking lights"-if we do it long enough it might sink in to those who like to drive around in pelting rain and darkness with only the dimmest available lights on.

Jhcx wrote: »
    I think the term parking light is a stupid term. when your driving your not really parked and when you park you usually switch off to conserve the battery. sidelight sounds better because their normally to the side of the main beam

so yes there is such thing as sidelights most of the americans would probably use that term.

Side lights is probably correct term technically.

But parking lights suits better their desired use.
    Because they are designed to be used when vehicle is parked.
    It is illegal in many countries to use them when vehicle is driving.
    Pity it's not illegal in Ireland.

Seems like not many agree with my OP but one thing is certain, DRL's with no Rear light and a lit up dash is a Huge design flaw!!!

One step forward, two steps back for safety.

Garda traffic corp cars with just DRL's and back of car unlit says it all really :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

CiniO wrote: »
    Side lights is probably correct term technically.

But parking lights suits better their desired use.
    Because they are designed to be used when vehicle is parked.
    It is illegal in many countries to use them when vehicle is driving.
    Pity it's not illegal in Ireland.

Illegal in UK. Should be here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Seems like not many agree with my OP but one thing is certain, DRL's with no Rear light and a lit up dash is a Huge design flaw!!!

One step forward, two steps back for safety.

Garda traffic corp cars with just DRL's and back of car unlit says it all really :rolleyes:

Have had to knock on peoples windows when cycling home to let them know that they only have DRLs on. Met by confusion, and then realisation when I ask them to just check the stalk is in the correct position. Scary that a lot of (hyundais or is it kia...) don't illuminate the rears with the DRLs. Also, a lot of DRLs are crazy bright in the fronts, further adding to confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

I suppose I'm one of the smug barstewards that has my DRL's on all the time in conjunction with Auto lights that come on dipped when ever they are needed. Even if it just gets darker with heavy cloud cover or if entering a multi-story car park. As they are zenon's the Fog lights are contained in the same head light unit so no glarey fogs for me and the dipped beam is a straight line so it doesn't blind oncoming traffic like the idiots with the after market white or blue bulbs in normal halogen units.

Oh, did I also mention that there is Adaptive lights for the full main beam that dips automatically when there are oncoming lights, rear lights in front or street lights on the road.

Smug and because I can be.

mags1962 wrote: »
    I suppose I'm one of the smug barstewards that has my DRL's on all the time in conjunction with Auto lights that come on dipped when ever they are needed. Even if it just gets darker with heavy cloud cover or if entering a multi-story car park. As they are zenon's the Fog lights are contained in the same head light unit so no glarey fogs for me and the dipped beam is a straight line so it doesn't blind oncoming traffic like the idiots with the after market white or blue bulbs in normal halogen units.

Oh, did I also mention that there is Adaptive lights for the full main beam that dips automatically when there are oncoming lights, rear lights in front or street lights on the road.

Lighting in cars needs to standardised across all cars i.e. Lumen limits applied, and made a proper fine/ points offence.
    Too much fecking about with aftermarket add-ons and super bright LEDS (AUDI especially) and of course auto-dip and adaptive as standard.

mags1962 wrote: »

You're entitled to all that smugness as long as youre not driving around at 9pm with no lights on the rear. After that I couldnt care if you have all the option boxes ticked on your Kia :P

DRL's are on the front only because they are designed to allow other road users ahead to see you. Manufacturers cannot really mitigate for every idiot scenario when it comes to using proper lights, maybe other than been made to fit auto lights as standard. And even at that some people chose to switch them off.

At the end of the day a driver should still have some sort of responsibility in knowing the difference between driving at night with DRLs or dipped lights on.

^^ That being said, there's no reason why they can't code the rear lights to come on too. More light is better than no light, and most new cars have LED tail lights so power consumption is minuscule. Why not be seen from the rear as well as the front?

Becasue the whole idea of DRL is that it's only front lights.
    Absolutely no point in having rear lights on during good weather at daytime.
    And "good weather at daytime" is the only time when DRLs should be used.

Would you not agree that rear DRLs would improve rear visibility, if not even by a small amount? Would you also agree that North Atlantic countries are predominantly overcast most of the year round? If they stick em on the front, I don't see what they shouldn't be on at the rear.

And no, i'm not saying they should substitute proper lights in low light conditions, or general common sense. I'm just saying the rears should pop on with the front DRLs, why on earth not.

Would you not agree that rear DRLs would improve rear visibility, if not even by a small amount?
    Actually I would not agree.
    During daytime with good visibility, I don't believe having rear lights on would make a single difference.
    In all my driving career, it never happened I didn't notice a car from the rear at daytime.
    IMO having rear lights at daytime is 100% pointless.
    Would you also agree that North Atlantic countries are predominantly overcast most of the year round?
    Well Ireland definitely is. But still no need for rear lights at daytime.
    If they stick em on the front, I don't see what they shouldn't be on at the rear.
    Because in front they help a lot to see oncoming cars, and help to judge their distance and speed.
    Rear lights at daytime can hardly be seen at all. You can see vehicle from few hundred meters or more, but you can only say if it has rear lights on or not, when you are very close (usually less than 100m).

And no, i'm not saying they should substitute proper lights in low light conditions, or general common sense. I'm just saying the rears should pop on with the front DRLs, why on earth not.

Only reason why not, is just because it's pointless.
    If everyone started using rear lights at daytime all over the world, I don't believe it would prevent a single accident.
    That's why it's pointles.s

There are plenty of instances where it would make sense to have rear lights on during the day. Like a car up ahead stopped in traffic under a bridge in shadow. Navigating through a multi-story car park, sitting behind a large articulated truck blocking the sun, moving in slow moving traffic under motorway bridges.

And a hundred other bizarre combinations where having illuminated lights could give you an extra second to stomp on the brakes for whatever reason you aren't paying attention.

Yes, front DRLs are massively more visible in daylight. That's not a reason to not illuminate the rears.