Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New toyota hilux

• 12-01-2015 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭

Test drove the new crewcab hilux.3litre,and I just thought it was under powered ..not very responsive for 180 break.can any one shed light on why this could be ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

friend has one says the 4 wheel drives takes a bit from his and she is fairly heavy, some comfy spin al the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I had plenty of them true work. I love them the best bus on the road. They are all underpowered you have to get them chiped and they go like a skalded cat.

Was it the new shape with the big front grill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I had plenty of them true work. I love them the best bus on the road. They are all underpowered you have to get them chiped and they go like a skalded cat.

Bought a new 2.5 in 2012. I don't do heavy towing so wasn't looking for a lot of power, but I wouldn't find it underpowered in ordinary driving.
    I got it way cheaper than the 3ltr, they were happy to move it I'd say.
    Fuel consumption is disappointing, as you say, a great jeep.

rangler1 wrote: »
    Bought a new 2.5 in 2012. I don't do heavy towing so wasn't looking for a lot of power, but I wouldn't find it underpowered in ordinary driving.
    I got it way cheaper than the 3ltr, they were happy to move it I'd say.
    Fuel consumption is disappointing, as you say, a great jeep.

I like the 2.5 very gutsy and full of torque. Most 4x4 are fairly thirsty but the trooper and pajero IMO are by far the worst. The resale value on the hilux are very very good to.

Do you have a sheep cover on the back for the tray? Nabourgh has one on his hilux it looks like a good job.

I like the 2.5 very gutsy and full of torque. Most 4x4 are fairly thirsty but the trooper and pajero IMO are by far the worst. The resale value on the hilux are very very good to.

Do you have a sheep cover on the back for the tray? Nabourgh has one on his hilux it looks like a good job.

I have an ordinary canopy with windows in the side, I like a crewcab because it keeps the ****e/wet dogs etc away from the seats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

richie123 wrote: »
    Test drove the new crewcab hilux.3litre,and I just thought it was under powered ..not very responsive for 180 break.can any one shed light on why this could be ?

at the end of the day its a jeep

I drive my jeep like a car, I push her on fairly hard

and I pay the price at the pumps

but sure im worth it ! :D

jeeps are more rugged and reliable than cars and not as refined driving wise but youll soon get used of them

I cant stand it if I have to drive a car now having drove jeeps for years

the visibility for overtaking is a bonus ! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

at the end of the day its a jeep

I drive my jeep like a car, I push her on fairly hard

and I pay the price at the pumps

but sure im worth it ! :

jeeps are more rugged and reliable than cars and not as refined driving wise but youll soon get used of them

I cant stand it if I have to drive a car now having drove jeeps for years

the visibility for overtaking is a bonus ! :cool:
    Probly so there was only 17 km on so maybe a bit of hard driving would liven it up a bit .im coming from a 104 bhp 10 caddy which is a rocket on d road u no.

Have you ever chipped one of your own ?

Ya it's a good job. I'm a bit heavy with the foot to so I like a bit of life in it. Few hundred bob but worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I have an old landcruiser but would love a hilux. There's a all new hilux coming out over the next 12 months. Might be a good time to get a good deal on the outgoing model. Dropping diesal prices make driving jeeps less painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Probly so there was only 17 km on so maybe a bit of hard driving would liven it up a bit .im coming from a 104 bhp 10 caddy which is a rocket on d road u no.
    4x4s will feel a little slower but they can shift without your realising it. I had transits, some fast cars and my last yoke was a highly modified car van weighing 1150kg with 160bhp and alot of torque and tbh the jeep is nearly as fast without feeling so. 4x4s are cruisers but generally have plenty of poke when called upon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Chipped a hilux before. Disaster. When it was working the extra poke was not noticeable but most of the time it kept throwing up a fault with the engine management system and would go into limp home mode. Have had three hilux and to be honest I'm not that impressed with them anymore. They have gone too car like and gone away from their role of an ultimate workhorse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Get a ford ranger.

I've also drove the new amarok..serious lock on it.180 hp in a 2 litre lovely machine to drive ..no reputation though compared wit hilux and three grand deaer..41000 incl vat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Get a ford ranger.

The new one looks v nice. I know it's only aesthetics, but looks go a long way. The Mazda and ford crewcabs were supposed to be good jeeps, but never really sold that well, I believe because they were ugly. Ford have solved that now with the new Ranger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

The new one looks v nice. I know it's only aesthetics, but looks go a long way. The Mazda and ford crewcabs were supposed to be good jeeps, but never really sold that well, I believe because they were ugly. Ford have solved that now with the new Ranger

Farm has a 13 plate xlt crew cab. Nice enough bus comfy agree older model had 'rugged look' but is good truck. Have an 08 one that was on hire and bought out right when changing over. Reliable other than 2 turbos but i suspect fool play(students/worker out lamping) for one :rolleyes:. Sometimes you need something more than financial sense to clinch the deal, 5 year of looking at a concrete block can get depressing if not too much in it.

current jeep has 150k miles on it and its only just ran in,
    brother reckons they get quicker when older, im not to sure about that though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Amarok is a lovely looking machine..was looking at one in a dealers up north. can ya import them cheaper than that as commercial? do you just pay 200 if you have herd number? No VRT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

Nettleman wrote: »
    Amarok is a lovely looking machine..was looking at one in a dealers up north. can ya import them cheaper than that as commercial? do you just pay 200 if you have herd number? No VRT?

Crew cabs do not qualify for €200 VRT, or even King cabs, has to be single.

Anyone try the new Isuzu D-max, twin turbo and 3500kg towing rate along with 180bhp, and 40 mpg;) fuel economy by all accounts!

According to my local DOE test centre the D-max has the best pass rate.

Justjens wrote: »

Anyone try the new Isuzu D-max, twin turbo and 3500kg towing rate along with 180bhp, and 40 mpg;) fuel economy by all accounts!

The dmax and ranger are my next two to look at this week hopefully..have to say the reversing cam in the hilux is some job brilliant you'd reverse to within a half inche of a wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I really think the Isuzu would be the only one worth thinking about as a workhorse. Other than that a landrover defender, of your brave enough. The rest of the new bunch are only toys for people that want to feel a bit macho. A reversing camera?? C'mon now lads, do you really need that for backing up to trailer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Get a ford ranger.

+ 1 got one before Xmas,way better value than a hi lux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I really think the Isuzu would be the only one worth thinking about as a workhorse. Other than that a landrover defender, of your brave enough. The rest of the new bunch are only toys for people that want to feel a bit macho. A reversing camera?? C'mon now lads, do you really need that for backing up to trailer ?

You might not need the camera but its handy for parking in tight spots,i think they should be on ever new car(or else those reversing beepers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Hilux2005

Justjens wrote: »

Brother has a 141 2.5 D-Max through work says its an animal on fuel at best 25mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Really irritates me when manufacturers sell cars on the strength of "creative" mpg figures. There's a website, honestjohn.co.uk that publish real mpg figures for all cars, as a percentage of claimed mpgs. submitted by drivers.

How many jeeps have the track of the ifor Williams on their numberplate/bumper

i see they are in fencing the new m18 today

mulligan fencing have some hiluxs on the job and only for I know my jeeps I wouldn't know it was a hilux it was so covered in ****

such a place they parked it too
    must get wicked abuse

Haha true your right to an extent I thought like you before I actually saw it in practice ..they are a brilliant job!!!

You can back the ball in directly under the hitch, very handy, no more pulling/pushing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Anyone have a newish pajaro?
    Was in a very nivce SWB 2010 today. Lovely machinr and ate the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

i see they are in fencing the new m18 today

mulligan fencing have some hiluxs on the job and only for I know my jeeps I wouldn't know it was a hilux it was so covered in ****

such a place they parked it too
    must get wicked abuse

They were in fencing in our place aswell , they have a fair skelp of jeeps . The new ones looked well shook

Anyone have a newish pajaro?
    Was in a very nivce SWB 2010 today. Lovely machinr and ate the road

if there was ever a heap of ****e that is one of them

by the way I have a pajero for breaking if anyones interested, engine fxcked, gearbox fxcked, but the air con works !:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

Another thing to look out for is leg room in the back seats , a lot more room in the hilux compared to the others

Bullocks wrote: »
    They were in fencing in our place aswell , they have a fair skelp of jeeps . The new ones looked well shook

id say they do more miles in the field than they do on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

by the way I have a pajero for breaking if anyones interested, engine fxcked, gearbox fxcked, but the air con works !:D
    :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

rangler1 wrote: »
    How many jeeps have the track of the ifor Williams on their numberplate/bumper

bumper? numberplate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Hi Lux here from work. 2.5 serviced twice a year or so. 200000k or so on it, never missed a beat.
    Never needed anything for a DOE really.
    I often thought it was sluggish till I had to stop, you'd be moving quicker that you'd think.

I wouldn't rate it off road though. It's a big heavy jeep. But not helped by the tyres I'd have on. I suppose if I was off road more I'd have all terrain tyres.

kowtow wrote: »
    bumper? numberplate?

from hitting the hitch when they reverse too far to the trailer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Nissan Navara isn't a bad jeep.
    Had one on farm here until it died recently. Did 380k km before it died. Never a spot of bother in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

On my second L200 here. 2.5 but chipped by dealer. Good crew cab and can handle 6 cows in the box. Trouble free.

Brother has pajero 3.2 would leave mine for dead on the road. Difference is his would spin on a cow shyte whereas mine never got stuck, yet?!! Great in a field with Goodrich All terrain tyres

Dawggone wrote: »
    Nissan Navara isn't a bad jeep.
    Had one on farm here until it died recently. Did 380k km before it died. Never a spot of bother in fairness...

Had one for a week once. Man I was working for gave me his when my car was broke.
    6 gears was great 100k in 3rd gear was easy for it
    He had her on a big cow box as well would hold 6 cows easy. Bit saucy on juice iirc

96 discovery here. Good yoke has pulled 5/6 fat bullocks to factory numerous times. Took40 heifers out to out farm this yr in two days and brought them home aswell.
    Be under good bit of pressure heading up out of yard though
    Hard to know what ye would buy that would have as good fuel consumption as it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Spent the morning doing school runs in the Landcruiser this morning, as all the wannabe 4X4's (Quasquis, Sorrentos, etc) were pulled up on the side of the hills.
    In years to come when those kids think back, I'm going to be the boll1x, that brought all the kids to school the day it snowed!!
    In fairness though re traction, tyres are 75% of the battle.
    On my 3rd LC here, mpg aside, they are the dogs dodos

Anybody try out those AWD jeeps?

Tried out just about all the brands a few months ago and I liked the new Ford Ranger, but on driving the AWD it made my mind up for me.
    Plenty ponies, comfortable, easy on fuel and the best to pull. You would forget you had 3 or 4 ton on behind and off road as good as the crew cabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Tried out just about all the brands a few months ago and I liked the new Ford Ranger, but on driving the AWD it made my mind up for me.
    Plenty ponies, comfortable, easy on fuel and the best to pull. You would forget you had 3 or 4 ton on behind and off road as good as the crew cabs.
    pulled a 12x6 iw cattle body on a xc90 and was surprised how stable it was with a load on. Only downside was the 2.4 was lacking a few horses. Have an auto box lwb pajero myself and wouldn't trade it for anything. Power aplenty, comfortable and reliable. Use it as my work van too. I do like the new ranger though. The new defender is supposed to be decent for a 2.2 and being that it's the last year they're making them they will hold their value even more than before I bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mrs Frazz had a Merc Ml 270 AWD auto, some bus to pull a trailer the odd time I
    stole it. Some yoke to drink juice also. Don't think I've ever driven a nicer vehicle. I'd put it with the Range Rover

kay 9 wrote: »
    pulled a 12x6 iw cattle body on a xc90 and was surprised how stable it was with a load on. Only downside was the 2.4 was lacking a few horses. Have an auto box lwb pajero myself and wouldn't trade it for anything. Power aplenty, comfortable and reliable. Use it as my work van too. I do like the new ranger though. The new defender is supposed to be decent for a 2.2 and being that it's the last year they're making them they will hold their value even more than before I bet.

I married an xc90 for 5yrs...
    It was 5yrs before we could get a divorce...:)

No bad jeep but very underpowered.
    Had a few Pajero's over the years and they are OK.

Mrs Frazz had a Merc Ml 270 AWD auto, some bus to pull a trailer the odd time I
    stole it. Some yoke to drink juice also. Don't think I've ever driven a nicer vehicle. I'd put it with the Range Rover

Yes I had a brief love affair with the v8 RR a few months back and had one on trial. Broke down twice in a week....
    Bought the German version instead.
    Brother used to drive an ML, nice but underpowered ( and not too reliable).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

one thing i noticed at ploughing was i couldnt see any isofix on the back seat of hilux, kinda essential for anyone with young kids i would have thought, maybe it was just the vehicle on display now or something