Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Babysitting rates

• 02-01-2015 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

So what do you pay?

We've a girl at the minute looking for €10/hr. Seems a bit crazy that going out for 5 hours costs €50 cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

just do it wrote: »
    So what do you pay?

We've a girl at the minute looking for €10/hr. Seems a bit crazy that going out for 5 hours costs €50 cash.

Jayzuz, did you read the farm labourer rates thread? The big dairy boys on the plains of Munster and Leinster, talking about less than that in the hand to qualified operators!
    Tell that girl to get on F&F and see how tough pay conditions are in farming -;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Does she milk cows and cut down trees while she's there? If so I'd say its a fair rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Junglewoman

The value is in how she responds in the event of an emergency should something happen. You don't mention how many children she will be looking after and what ages they are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭DoomZ

Ask her is she registered for tax, USC, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

Babysitting is really a peace of mind payment rather than a labour cost IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

So what do you pay?

We collect our babysitter at 8.30 ish and she gets dropped home in our taxi at 2 or 3 or 4. Wifi, TV and snacks and she gets €30, sometimes €40 if we generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Susandublin

Sort of depends in her age too. If she was a bit older and was good (I.e reliable and honest and responsible) then it would be almost acceptable - if it's a schoolgirl who eats your food and just watches tv then its a bit much!
    Finding someone trustworthy is key - I use family but if I knew someone good who would charge up to €10 then it wouldn't be the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Would you like this kept to the farming sector JDI? may be better answers elsewhere (no offense lads!):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Thats the usual rate OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

if the kids like her and you trust her 10 euro is grand, granny babysits here so a voucher every once in a while is all she wants, normally go out early and bring kids with us, home by 8, if we go out with out them we go mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

Unless its a 15yr old 10 euro is about the going rate and fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Junglewoman

Sort of depends in her age too. If she was a bit older and was good (I.e reliable and honest and responsible) then it would be almost acceptable - if it's a schoolgirl who eats your food and just watches tv then its a bit much!
    Finding someone trustworthy is key - I use family but if I knew someone good who would charge up to €10 then it wouldn't be the worst.

You are entrusting children into her care, responsible is a minimum requirement. Babysitting is not merely being a presence in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

30 bucks,picked up at 8.30 and dropped home at 1 ,2 or 3 or whatever time we get home.ad lib soft drinks,sweets,crisps etc,wi Fi and tv.our current one is excellent but she's now 15 and has found out what boys are and drink will be next and that's our babysitter done with!!!.i think we're doing well at that rate.use her now and again as our daughter is first on both sides of our families so there's nearly a row anytime we go out as to who's babysitting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Kovu wrote: »
    Would you like this kept to the farming sector JDI? may be better answers elsewhere (no offense lads!):pac:

Keep it in F&F. the posts thus far from non-farmers haven't really helped. The rate of everything in Foxrock is more than is Ballydehob ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

mahoney_j wrote: »
    30 bucks,picked up at 8.30 and dropped home at 1 ,2 or 3 or whatever time we get home.ad lib soft drinks,sweets,crisps etc,wi Fi and tv.our current one is excellent but she's now 15 and has found out what boys are and drink will be next and that's our babysitter done with!!!.i think we're doing well at that rate.use her now and again as our daughter is first on both sides of our families so there's nearly a row anytime we go out as to who's babysitting!!

We get a local girl sometimes €6/hr and she will do nights or daytime either. Has her own car
    Responsible, and has looked after her younger siblings and cousins for years now

Another girl we had was €30 for the night and would stay over if we were late home, missus was always happy with her as she's not far off being a qualified doctor now

I feel it is too much to give a schoolgirl - it gives her an unrealistic expectation of the workplace. "All I've to do is sit on my tod, watch telly, go on the internet, eat whatever and get a nice cash payment at the end of the night". Note the €10ph is cash in hand. That's €50 for 5 hours and our instruction is always ring us if there is any issue.

What I'm really interested to hear is what others are actually paying.

3 replies so far paying €30 for a night which I think is fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Keep it in F&F. the posts thus far from non-farmers haven't really helped. The rate of everything in Foxrock is more than is Ballydehob ;)

Coming from someone who lives 5 miles west of Ballydehob, it's a expensive neck of the woods for babysitting! €10/hr is the norm for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I feel it is too much to give a schoolgirl - it gives her an unrealistic expectation of the workplace. "All I've to do is sit on my tod, watch telly, go on the internet, eat whatever and get a nice cash payment at the end of the night". Note the €10ph is cash in hand. That's €50 for 5 hours and our instruction is always ring us if there is any issue.

What if they're spoiled little brats up every 5 minutes trying to run rings around the babysitter? Not every baby sitting job involves lovely quiet little children that stay in bed.

i used to get 5 pound/ hour over 20 years ago, so 5 euro an hour allowing for inflation over 20 years is a tad stingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭DeJa VooDoo

DoomZ wrote: »
    Ask her is she registered for tax, USC, etc

Good man, Enda.......:rolleyes:

whelan2 wrote: »
    i used to get 5 pound/ hour over 20 years ago, so 5 euro an hour allowing for inflation over 20 years is a tad stingy

With all due respect Whelan it's fine to say that when you've granny to look after them. When my daughter gets to babysitting age there is no way I will allow her get so much. What are unqualified people getting paid in creches? I bet after tax it's not more than €10 and that job is a hell of a lot more demanding job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭DeJa VooDoo

€50 a night from say 7pm till 1am sounds about right.
    There's a lot to be said for having a good, reliable and capable (if anything goes wrong) babysitter.

Coming from someone who lives 5 miles west of Ballydehob, it's a expensive neck of the woods for babysitting! €10/hr is the norm for us

Ballydehob, Cork 4 :)

With all due respect Whelan it's fine to say that when you've granny to look after them. When my daughter gets to babysitting age there is no way I will allow her get so much. What are unqualified people getting paid in creches? I bet after tax it's not more than €10 and that job is a hell of a lot more demanding job.
    we go out once in a blue moon, twice a year maybe when granny looks after them- she wasnt well for a long time last year. if you are making it a regular event perhaps agree a rate with babysitter beforehand ? I used to babysit every second saturday night from 8 til what ever hour they came home at, he used to drop me home .

other thing is you could get an older person to babysit , a widow or something, i know of one woman who does this around here and is glad to get out of her own house for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭cam1452

Iv the sister come over stays the night. Wifi food al that crack she's 15. And gets €20. Put saying that she went babysitting sum where else New Years. Must of been more money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

That's €50 for 5 hours and our instruction is always ring us if there is any issue.

Age of kids come into it. €30 for an easy gig where the kids are in bed an hour after mammy and daddy leave (or are already in bed) is grand, but you won't be keeping the sitter long if they're having to work for their money!

Although a few will watch the TV, etc, some of the older ones use the time to catch up on study and coursework. Providing nibbles, etc, ensures they don't food over, and this allows you ensure that any sweets that are banned from your house don't turn up that way (very rich chocolate, high-sugar content sweets, etc). It also allows you to provide cheap tat rather than having the babysitter add the cost to her gig. If having to bring 4 hours of nibbles and only getting €30, she may look elsewhere.

Depending on age, having someone keep tabs on them can mean peace of mind, esp when they get to the age where sneaking out the moment the parents leave the house should no-one else be there.
    When my daughter gets to babysitting age there is no way I will allow her get so much.
    Although you say that now, when your kid gets to that age you won't want some fecker taking advantage of her good spirit and ripping her off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    he used to drop me home .

We a know what that means :D

he was always locked, wouldnt let my daughter babysit -when she is old enough- unless she is being dropped back in a taxi, no he wasnt bold:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Our girl has her own car, with us 9 yrs and has never called us once. We pay €25 flat wheather we're gone an hour or 4.

I know I'm a mane dairy farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Our girl has her own car, with us 9 yrs and has never called us once. We pay €25 flat wheather we're gone an hour or 4.

Every penny a prisoner :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

i got cornered into babysitting years ago. half way through the night i decided i better go check on the kid. after an hour searching i had to ring the parents to see where they kept her. it was one of those old farmhouses and the only way i can describe where she was in a wardrobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Jeez I have never heard so much crap.
    This is your child (children) that you are entrusting into someone else's care. OK most family members will not expect or accept payment so excluding them what do you think is a proper rate €5/hr, €8/hr, €10/hr or more so that you and your partner can have a night out with relative peace of mind.
    For fecks sake, I pay a local man (sub-contractor) €10/hr to mix and feed milk replacer to calves when we want an evening off. He does not have to tuck them into bed or tell them a bed time story or even phone me if one of them is poorly.
    I had two super babysitters when my two were young. Both were teenage children of neighbours and worth their weight in gold. We used to pay them IR£5 per hour and if we were very late home we would give them a bonus and apologise to their parents keeping them out so late.
    Rant over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I feel it is too much to give a schoolgirl - it gives her an unrealistic expectation of the workplace. "All I've to do is sit on my tod, watch telly, go on the internet, eat whatever and get a nice cash payment at the end of the night".

Whenever we hire a babysitter, giving her a realistic expectation of the workplace is our top priority! I give her some filing to do and ask her to produce some graphs in excel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

loyatemu wrote: »
    Whenever we hire a babysitter, giving her a realistic expectation of the workplace is our top priority! I give her some filing to do and ask her to produce some graphs in excel...
    Ha ha nice one :)
    In fairness to our two babysitters, both have become young entrepreneurs in their own right.
    One (male) runs a carpentry business while the other (female) runs a hairdressing/beauty/fitness business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

A babysitter would be mad to accept less than €10 p/h. If they are reliable, then they are worth it. If you don't think they are worth that find someone you think is worth that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Sounds generous actually... I take it she does the evening milking as well, though?

I think a fair solution is €20 for first 2 hours and €5 per hour after that?

A babysitter has never had anything to do here but if she did end up having a rough night she'd get a good tip for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

What age do ye think someone needs to be to babysit or kids need to be to look after themselves for a few hours

djmc wrote: »
    What age do ye think someone needs to be to babysit or kids need to be to look after themselves for a few hours

Once they can roll a spliff, I recon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

djmc wrote: »
    It really depends on their experience. If they have been minding their own younger brothers/sisters, they sometimes get gigs at an earlier age than someone who hasn't. As with all jobs, experience counts.

kowtow wrote: »
    Sounds generous actually... I take it she does the evening milking as well, though?

She likes to keep me happy, generous to a fault :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All I can say is thank god for grandparents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

€10 an hour is mad if the kids are in bed asleep I think. Fair enough if it was during the day.I'd stretch to €7 at the most . I babysat my cousins one NYE about 20 yrs ago and started at 7pm . the aunt and uncle rolled in at ten to five in the morning. after about an hour of furiously searching pockets , down the couch etc I walked away with the princely sum of £3.50 ! I didn't go back needless to say but I think there's also a limit on what to expect/ deserve .