Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 Dundrum meetup

• 01-01-2015 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭

Just to confirm that the very successful Balally Luas stop Dundrum meet ups are kicking off again from this Sunday 4th Jan .

Easy pace 40 / 50 k with coffee ideal for beginners.

** Drop bar road bikes only please **

Rolling out 9.00 am

See you Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

What's the pace like? I'm finished work at about 7 that morning so not sure the energy levels would be great for a ~30kph spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,899 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Kinet1c wrote: »
    What's the pace like? I'm finished work at about 7 that morning so not sure the energy levels would be great for a ~30kph spin.
    You'll be grand the pace is about 20-25kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭bazzamac

Havent done much since August but would be up for it if you dont mind the excess that I'm carrying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭TripleMinor

Good to have you back again Bikerbhoy....Ill be there on Sunday.

Looking forward to it

Use a referral link when purchasing a Tesla and get free Supercharging KMs https://www.tesla.com/en_ie/referral/stephen958732

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

I'm in!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Looks like it could be a frosty one Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭zindicato

Be joining ya this time

Are we still on for the morning if so its the luas station at Rockfield?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Is it the exit by the lift of balally luas station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

bazzamac wrote: »
    Are we still on for the morning if so its the luas station at Rockfield?

Correct

gadetra wrote: »
    Is it the exit by the lift of balally luas station?

In not sure where the lift is but we meet at the bike racks at the Balally Luas stop

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    In not sure where the lift is but we meet at the bike racks at the Balally Luas stop

cool. Gonna miss it now anyway, have a great one!

Morning all . . due to a fairly heavy frost I think it best to postpone this mornings spin on safety grounds. It will certainly be safer in an hour or two so maybe best if everyone does their own thing today as it warms up later.

Cheers

went out there today saw nobody so went back to dundrum ended up following some of the orwell boys to enniskerry :-)

zindicato wrote: »
    went out there today saw nobody so went back to dundrum ended up following some of the orwell boys to enniskerry :-)

PM bikerbhoy your number and he can add you to our whatsapp group, you would have got the above message this morning in your phone.

How were the roads ? The garden and shed roof were white with frost at 9

ted1 wrote: »
    PM bikerbhoy your number and he can add you to our whatsapp group, you would have got the above message this morning in your phone.

How were the roads ? The garden and shed roof were white with frost at 9

just need to download whatsapp again deleted in my phone the last time( was eating too much battery):P he's got my number already thanks, roads were ok went down last week to trim when it was more horrible so this time it was fine for me, but there were some slippery parts of the road going down there so just took my time.....also found a bag left at the side of the road in enniskerry had some wallet and id , cards on it so took it down to Bray garda station and by the time i arrived there roads were much better so decided to go up killiney hill on the way back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Anybody going out this Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Any one on for this Sunday?

If roads are good I should be there

Anything happening this sunday?

bazzamac wrote: »
    Anything happening this sunday?

I'm on for it.

sbs2010 wrote: »
    I'm on for it.

Scratch that. Am a bit wrecked - will skip tomorrow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

What time do you meet at?

godtabh wrote: »

Usually 9 at balally Luas..bit late for you I think ;-)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

colm18 wrote: »

I may have baby sitters for the morning so might be up for a late start.

Also is there a route. I may not make 9 but if you are heading to stepaside and beyond I may meet you there

I won't be there myself,hoping to get out at
    7 or so for 3-4 hours

colm18 wrote: »
    I won't be there myself,hoping to get out at
    7 or so for 3-4 hours

I saw your route. Looks good

Any interest in starting the ball rolling , so to speak , on this again for the winter months ?
    Will make a call based on feedback .

yeah - I'd be on for it alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

id be interested. I have no experience in groups though. what kind of pace ?

D3PO wrote: »
    id be interested. I have no experience in groups though. what kind of pace ?

Ideal start for you so . . . 20- 25 kph to start with 40- 50 k distance initally

ok cool I can deal with that :) thanks.

I've a wedding this weekend, but should be free most other weeks.

oh I should mention that im also unavailable this weekend but free most other weeks.

D3PO wrote: »
    oh I should mention that im also unavailable this weekend but free most other weeks.

No worries just judging interest at this point.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Only made it down for one of these last year, but thoroughly enjoyed it and would make the effort to get down more often if they started up again. Still slow as feck on a bike, but 20-25 is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

did this last year with bikerbhoy and a few others, cycling was new to me and was a great intro.. now in a club on the northside so won't be heading..unless there's a saturday spin.. don't think about it, just do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I'd give a few of these a lash on future Sundays.

Probably most of them, if there are a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭rob w

Would be interested too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I would be interested also. Not available this Sunday and would be available every second Sunday for the next month or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭mjp

Yeah id be on for it alright as I live nearby. Be good to see if could get a Saturday crew aswell if there was interest or if suited others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

I'd be interested. Could work Saturday or Sunday, but would like if it was earlier rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

I'm interested as well, Might only make it once or twice a month though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I only have flat handlebars, alas, and am probably too slow.

ted1 wrote: »
    I've a wedding this weekend, but should be free most other weeks.

Good man Ted , hows things ?

I only have flat handlebars, alas, and am probably too slow.

Sorry drop bar bikes only Im afraid and we would only be going as fast as the slowest rider initally . . this group is about beginners learning to be comfortable with group riding while increasing distance week on week speed will come later.

So no need for anyone to feel they would be too slow or hold group up . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

No prob. Enjoy the zoom.

I'm calling all my spins this from now on :pac: