Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondello info

• 29-12-2014 11:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys the Miss's has got me a session in mondello on the track in the f1 car. Just looking for information from people who have done it before about how long it takes, etc

Also thinking of making the weekend of it so is there nice hotels nearby and a few bars etc? I know the outlet centre Is fairly close aswell

Cheers in advance lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

It won't be an F1 car anyway :) Formula ford I think or something to that effect.

Usually takes a few hours - 4-5 maybe. You'll have some training in their school cars first, think they're Mazda 3's now, that's usually a bit of craic too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Mondello instructor here, there are a number of threads about the race school in here. Do a quick search and you will get loads of good info :) Naas is nearby and there is a few nice bars and hotels in Naas itself.

Cheers,

Is it set days only you can do certain things I.e I can't just pick the day it'll have too be a set date? And herself would like too watch but if I'm there 5 hours are we better off just me going in first and her following along a few hours later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

I've done it a couple of times. You'll have a ball especially if you're into motorsport.

Lightening, what road cars do you use now? When I did it it was the Rovers. I was shocked at how much grip they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

I did it earlier in the year and they were Mazda 3s. Great yokes to drive, especially when Aron Smith is sitting in the passenger seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

I've done it a couple of times. You'll have a ball especially if you're into motorsport.

Lightening, what road cars do you use now? When I did it it was the Rovers. I was shocked at how much grip they had.

Me too, the little rover GTIs.
    Is the tape over the speedo so people keep their eyes on the track, rather than checking their speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I did a couple of years back, the Mazda's and then Formula Ford? Really enjoyed it. I dunno if you need to stay out near it. I don't know the area though. We came out from Dublin quick enough. It was a couple of hours I think. Stopped for food on the way back. Had a really good in car video system, which you had to pay extra for to get at the end. I remember this being pricey but I think it was worth it. I still enjoy watching it. If funds ever allowed, I love to do a small bit of motorsport of some sort.