Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What tips/tricks/inventions/methods you use to make yourself beautiful??

• 28-12-2014 11:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭

Hey all!

Thought I'd make a thread where we can share some of beauty secrets and tips etc...in ways we can save money, use natural ingredients, make some discoveries and educate ourselves! You get the idea :)

I'll start off don't have many but they work for me....

• I swear by drinking 3-4 pints of water everyday with a slice of lemon. I often get complemented on my skin and its mostly down to this. I noticed a difference in skin after 4-6wks....skin is always clear and only get spots if I haven't used a lemon in over 1/2 weeks.
    • Want your nails to dry ASAP?? Dip them in a glass of ice ice cold water for a few seconds...walla! Instant dry nails! Or sometimes if l don't have any ice l just stick my hands into the freezer for 1-2min!
    • Ran out of facial/body scrub? Cant afford to use your fav brand anymore? Go homemade! I like to use epsom salts (you can use sugar also) cause its a detox - (tho it would be more effective if you bathed in it) however every little helps! I mix it with honey or olive oil - really softens my skin.
    • The best moistuiser I'v come across, and don't think it can be beat - Baby oil...I love it! Love the smell, the the texture it gives my skin and keeps it soft for up to 3 days after...only use on my body!
    • Finally, steaming my face! l use thyme, rosemary (don't have to be fresh) and whatever oil essence l can find - add all to boiling water, towel over head, and let the pores open! Make sure to wash face before hand.
    And theres mine! Share away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭pushkii

sudocream for spots scratches etc, I wouldn't be without it also cicaplast sp? for same great for moisturising. dry patches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

• Ran out of facial/body scrub? Cant afford to use your fav brand anymore? Go homemade! I like to use epsom salts (you can use sugar also) cause its a detox - (tho it would be more effective if you bathed in it) however every little helps! I mix it with honey or olive oil - really softens my skin.
    • The best moistuiser I'v come across, and don't think it can be beat - Baby oil...I love it! Love the smell, the the texture it gives my skin and keeps it soft for up to 3 days after...only use on my body!
    • Finally, steaming my face! l use thyme, rosemary (don't have to be fresh) and whatever oil essence l can find - add all to boiling water, towel over head, and let the pores open! Make sure to wash face before hand.

I'm sorry but a few of your beauty tips are big nonos and are most likely doing more bad than good.

Firstly never use a salt scrub on you face as the surface of salt is uneven and can cause microtears on you skin with harbour bacteria causing spots. Sugar scrubs for the body are fine but I wouldn't use them on the face.

Secondly baby oil yes is a great moisturiser and if it works for you great but other people I'd advise you make sure you patch test as mineral oil doesn't work for some people and same with the fragrance.

Lastly never ever steam you face it doesn't do you skin any good at all. Firstly pores cannot open and close so steaming doesn't open your pores. All that it is doing is damaging you skin and may even cause broken capillaries due to the high heats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Bored_lad wrote: »
    I'm sorry but a few of your beauty tips are big nonos and are most likely doing more bad than good.

Firstly never use a salt scrub on you face as the surface of salt is uneven and can cause microtears on you skin with harbour bacteria causing spots. Sugar scrubs for the body are fine but I wouldn't use them on the face.

Secondly baby oil yes is a great moisturiser and if it works for you great but other people I'd advise you make sure you patch test as mineral oil doesn't work for some people and same with the fragrance.

Lastly never ever steam you face it doesn't do you skin any good at all. Firstly pores cannot open and close so steaming doesn't open your pores. All that it is doing is damaging you skin and may even cause broken capillaries due to the high heats.

Apologies, l should have mentioned that scrub was only for the body....

Regards to the steaming, l find it great! lt does open my pores because l'm able to get more crap out of them. lv always stemed my face, has done more good than harm, tbh it hasnt caused me any harm...

Apologies, l should have mentioned that scrub was only for the body....

Regards to the steaming, l find it great! lt does open my pores because l'm able to get more crap out of them. lv always stemed my face, has done more good than harm, tbh it hasnt caused me any harm...

But the thing is steaming can't open your pores they aren't muscles they aren't capable if opening and closing full stop. It isn't helping your skin and broken capillaries aren't something that you will notice happening they just do someday they'll just appear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

If it works for stop animal cruelty then what's the problem?

Because it's bad advice. I assume there are loads of people reading this forum and thread looking for advice and help with their skin. They'll see a thread like this and think oh I should steam my skin not knowing the damage that it causes.

If it works for stop animal cruelty that's fine and if she's will to take the risks and continue on steaming she can. But don't go recommending something that can severely damage someone's skin some of this damage being only reversible for by spending €1000s on laser treatments.

I don't think ye understood my posts or saw enough science behind them so I'll explain it again.

Firstly pores can't open and close at all as they don't have any muscles to allow them to do so.

Secondly by heating the skin by steaming causes the capillaries under the surface of your skin to expand in a process called vasodilation. This increases and gives you the risk of bust or broken capillaries as they are more likely to break due to increased pressure.

Lastly the steaming drys you skin out as it disrupt the stratum corneum. This is the outermost layer of yours skins epidermis which is a barrier that protects you skin. So if you have oily skin steaming will dry it out thus making your skin worse and more oily. If you have dry skin it will become dryer and if you have normal or combination it will become dryer and oily depending on the combination.

Any research to back up your claims?

You are just another person on the internet (like stop animal cruelty) giving out advice.

I've never seen anything to say steaming causes the damage you say. I've had numerous facials over the years that started with steaming.

http://health.howstuffworks.com/skin-care/problems/treating/face-steaming.htm

Any research to back up your claims?

You are just another person on the internet (like stop animal cruelty) giving out advice.

I've never seen anything to say steaming causes the damage you say. I've had numerous facials over the years that started with steaming.

I do actually have proper research to back up my claims and I understand I'm just another poster on the internet and I accept that I'm not a qualified dermatologist or doctor.

Let's start with the link you gave first of all. Howstuffworks a website where people just another person on the internet post guides to doing things. These are in no way checked for safety or accuracy. Secondly on the second page it says steaming softens the stratum corneum which is the outermost layer of skin and yes its made up of dead skin cells however they're there for a reason for this layer it protects you skin. Look up the epidermis layer if you want to read more.

Secondly take a look at the sources on the article you have link the daily mail and a number of books and articles written by spas and people who haven't backed any of their claims with science.

Now on to my sources here's the first one ncbi(dot)nlm(dot)nih(dot)gov/m/pubmed/18455889/ you see here this study shoes that heat damages and removes the stratum corneum.

Now on to broken capillaries. Heating causes vasodilation which puts pressure on the capillaries as there is increased blood flow. This increases the possibility of broken capillaries. According to my doctor and derm this is widely accepted among the doctor and derm community. I don't have any studies on hand at the moment but I'm sure if you look it up you can find some.

I think you've ruined what could have been a really good thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Agreed - if you look into it, a myriad of things can cause broken capillaries like working in a hot kitchen, frequent sauna / steam room use and also hot showers.

Back to the tips!

I would be lost without coconut oil - use it for a hair conditioning treatment and to remove eye make up that will not budge.

Another hair related one is I always sleep with either a satin bonnet / scarf over my head. It stops my hair getting frizzy from rubbing against the pillow all night. I sleep in my right hand side and my hairdresser told me that it was in worse condition than the left. Can definitely tell the difference now.

Honestly ffs would ye get over yer self's the thread hasn't been ruined all I have done is shown that some of the advice that was given was bad advice which will hopefully stop people from trying it and if even one person doesn't steam their face thanks to this thread will this thread not have been a success. As it has stopped someone from damaging their skin.

People are still free to share their advice and tips and I don't see how I have prevented this is in any way l I have done is created discussion which I can't see how this is a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Interesting post by ananas. Lots of things include hot kitchens steam rooms hot showers all involve steam. Looks like steaming is bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I'm afraid to post anything now for fear ill be told I'm ruining myself.

Bored lad - These tips work for me, l'm not telling anyone to use any of them, its up to them. lts what l find works. l don't get told l have "fab, soft, clear" skin for no reason. I get great results from steaming my skin, and if l get broken capillaries, then l get them....and il think of you!

This thread was created to share tips etc....not to debate. You wanna debate it, start your own thread. l know your entitled to your opinion and so am l. The fact l recommend steaming your face seems to upset you, well tough...lm gonna steam away!

Like Stench Blossms said, you have ruined what could have been a really good thread. Thanks a mil!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Can we please take this thread back to it's original topic? Discussion and debate is always encouraged but please don't get snappy or rude with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Aspirin face mask is pretty good. Used to do that a lot!

Green Tea was a really good change from regular tea.

I sometimes do a brown sugar/olive oil body scrub when I really wanna ex foliate before a proper leg shave :o My skin always feels better after and I shave with conditioner.

My skin is a lot healthier now that I drink a lot of fruit infused water. Cucumber, strawberries and lemon infused in water fora few hours is delicious :) And the fact I've cut out a lot of products, I don't like using too many different products on my face, soap and water all the way.

I just want to reply to the above about showers and hot kitchens causing broken capillaries. Ya they can which is the worrying things for hot showers I try to have cool showers they took me a while to get used to but I find them fine now they stop me from spending hours in there. A hot kitchen I'd say is fine as long as your not sticking your head over pots or into the oven. Lastly the sauna and steam room I don't use these so I don't really know but as far as I remember if you want to use them the sauna is better than the steam room.

As for me ruining the thread all I'm going to say is that I thought this forum was for sharing and helping people with beauty problems and that it was also a place for debate and learning new things a place of science and not a place where someone gets attacked and bullied because they dared to say that someone was wrong and that this damages there skin even if they had science to back them up.

So to anyone scared to post their tips in case they are damaging is it not better to find out rather than continuing to damage you face and body. To anyone who wants to continue on with harmful techniques I wish you the best and if you chose to ignore scientific evidence that is your problem but I beg of you not to go recommending these tips to anyone else without telling them of the very real and extreme dangers and risks of using these techniques.

Vinta81 wrote: »

Can I ask what you mixing the aspirin face mask with as applying aspirin to your face do little to no good to your skin. Most of the claims I've read online state the aspirin contains salicylic acid and that it is antiinflammatory. However firstly it doesn't contain salicylic acid and secondly the antiinflammatory benifts are negligible. You would be better off using a salicylic acid and this would give you better results.

Green Tea was a really good change from regular tea.

I sometimes do a brown sugar/olive oil body scrub when I really wanna ex foliate before a proper leg shave :o My skin always feels better after and I shave with conditioner.

My skin is a lot healthier now that I drink a lot of fruit infused water. Cucumber, strawberries and lemon infused in water fora few hours is delicious :) And the fact I've cut out a lot of products, I don't like using too many different products on my face, soap and water all the way.

Re to the aspirin mask lm assuming you just crush up aspirin and mix with water?

+1 on using very little products on face, l dont even bother with a night cream, was advised a few years ago to just wash and clense my face and just let some air into the pores and breath!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Oh this sounds interesting...more please! How do you do it?

I had a spot a few weeks ago that wouldnt come out, so I made up a little paste of dispirin and water. And the head came out in a few hours...would it literally draw things up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭littleblackDRS

Firstly pores can't open and close at all as they don't have any muscles to allow them to do so.

Secondly by heating the skin by steaming causes the capillaries under the surface of your skin to expand in a process called vasodilation. This increases and gives you the risk of bust or broken capillaries as they are more likely to break due to increased pressure.

Lastly the steaming drys you skin out as it disrupt the stratum corneum. This is the outermost layer of yours skins epidermis which is a barrier that protects you skin. So if you have oily skin steaming will dry it out thus making your skin worse and more oily. If you have dry skin it will become dryer and if you have normal or combination it will become dryer and oily depending on the combination.

This is really interesting. Thanks for that! TIL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭rustyzip

I do actually have proper research to back up my claims and I understand I'm just another poster on the internet and I accept that I'm not a qualified dermatologist or doctor.

Let's start with the link you gave first of all. Howstuffworks a website where people just another person on the internet post guides to doing things. These are in no way checked for safety or accuracy. Secondly on the second page it says steaming softens the stratum corneum which is the outermost layer of skin and yes its made up of dead skin cells however they're there for a reason for this layer it protects you skin. Look up the epidermis layer if you want to read more.

Secondly take a look at the sources on the article you have link the daily mail and a number of books and articles written by spas and people who haven't backed any of their claims with science.

Now on to my sources here's the first one ncbi(dot)nlm(dot)nih(dot)gov/m/pubmed/18455889/ you see here this study shoes that heat damages and removes the stratum corneum.

Now on to broken capillaries. Heating causes vasodilation which puts pressure on the capillaries as there is increased blood flow. This increases the possibility of broken capillaries. According to my doctor and derm this is widely accepted among the doctor and derm community. I don't have any studies on hand at the moment but I'm sure if you look it up you can find some.

What would you recommend pre extractions if not dreaming, genuinely wondering :)
    As I usually ask for steam in a facial as I get blackheads either side of Chin, a few around my nose and forehead.

This is really interesting. Thanks for that! TIL.

If your looking for more discussions on this type of stuff with science and more science based skin care you should join us over on reddit @ reddit.com/r/skincareaddiction

rustyzip wrote: »
    What would you recommend pre extractions if not dreaming, genuinely wondering :)
    As I usually ask for steam in a facial as I get blackheads either side of Chin, a few around my nose and forehead.

Firstly I wouldn't recommend extractions at all as there are easier and gentler ways that are kinder to the skin to deal with black heads.

One of the best methods is chemically exfoliating daily with salicylic acid. There are some great ones is boots if you have a small budget but if you have a bit more money to spend I'd recommend you look a Paula's Choice. Secondly I would recommend that you try oil cleansing, you can you any oil you want for this as long as it doesn't break you out even baby oil or olive oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

Tips-

Using serum morning and evening. This had definitely helped with winter dehydration issues.
    Spritzing with toner during the day in a heated office helps with hydration too
    Double cleansing, double toning, serum oil and moisturiser in the evenings as soon as I come in the door
    Face masks twice a week and leave them on for an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I always dampen cotton wool before I use it on my face as I've heard although it's soft too touch it's actually way too harsh on your skin.

I make my own face masks from manuka honey. I just spread it all over my face once a week and this calms down any irritations I have and leaves my skin very soft.

If I've run out of concealer I always use the foundation that's just at the rim of the bottle or in the lid instead because it's a lot thicker and has great coverage.

Really enjoying reading this thread love hearing everyone's tips and tricks!

jadie wrote: »
    Tips-

Using serum morning and evening. This had definitely helped with winter dehydration issues.
    Double cleansing, double toning, serum oil and moisturiser in the evenings as soon as I come in the door

Can I ask what are your reasons behind double toning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

jadie wrote: »
    Tips-

What kind of serum do you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I use a 'greige' eyeshadow to define my eyebrows (the one I use is Urban Decay Pistol, it's in the Naked 2 pallette) - I find that most browns look wrong now that my hair is highlighted, and waxes and pencils don't work as well on fuller brows. This gives a nice subtle effect!
    Someone mentioned using the thickened foundation that settles around the top of the bottle as concealer, I do this too, works particularly well with Estee Lauder Double Wear!
    I only use a tiny amount of shampoo and conditioner on my hair, and rinse for ages. Avoids build up. Hardly revolutionary, but for years I assumed a big blob of shampoo was needed! Oops!
    When I get a hair conditioner I don't like I use it to shave my legs, works like a dream :)
    Muslin cloths are great for cleansing and gentle exfoliation.

dee_mc wrote: »
    I use a 'greige' eyeshadow to define my eyebrows (the one I use is Urban Decay Pistol, it's in the Naked 2 pallette) - I find that most browns look wrong now that my hair is highlighted, and waxes and pencils don't work as well on fuller brows. This gives a nice subtle effect!
    Someone mentioned using the thickened foundation that settles around the top of the bottle as concealer, I do this too, works particularly well with Estee Lauder Double Wear!
    I only use a tiny amount of shampoo and conditioner on my hair, and rinse for ages. Avoids build up. Hardly revolutionary, but for years I assumed a big blob of shampoo was needed! Oops!
    When I get a hair conditioner I don't like I use it to shave my legs, works like a dream :)
    Muslin cloths are great for cleansing and gentle exfoliation.

ld use a load of shampoo in my hair, just so the smell would last....but now you've mentioned that, l do have some bit of build up on my scalp...tiny amounts from now on:p

I always rinse with cold water too, just to close pores and some people say to give the hair more shine but l can never tell really

ld use a load of shampoo in my hair, just so the smell would last....but now you've mentioned that, l do have some bit of build up on my scalp...tiny amounts from now on:p

I always rinse with cold water too, just to close pores and some people say to give the hair more shine but l can never tell really

I just can't do the cold rinse thing!! Put it this way, my hair never ends up looking any better after the hot water runs out halfway through rinsing, so I'm not gonna go through the pain deliberately!
    Actually I'd imagine part of the reason my skin is so dry is because I love my very hot showers, I'll probably be as wrinkly and dried out as a raisin when I'm 50 but feck it, I'll live for today!

dee_mc wrote: »
    I just can't do the cold rinse thing!! Put it this way, my hair never ends up looking any better after the hot water runs out halfway through rinsing, so I'm not gonna go through the pain deliberately!
    Actually I'd imagine part of the reason my skin is so dry is because I love my very hot showers, I'll probably be as wrinkly and dried out as a raisin when I'm 50 but feck it, I'll live for today!

I'm sure someone will be along to confirm that for you rolleyes.png

l find it very refreshing! Sometimes ld try rinse my body as well (with cold water) apprently its good for circulation and prevents colds/flus :confused: havent had a cold or flu all year..but l do make my own homemade soup too!

I'm sure someone will be along to confirm that for you rolleyes.png

l find it very refreshing! Sometimes ld try rinse my body as well (with cold water) apprently its good for circulation and prevents colds/flus :confused: havent had a cold or flu all year..but l do make my own homemade soup too!

Sure someone might be along to confirm or deny that too!
    A hot shower is one of my little luxuries, does wonders for my back when it's sore. Oh hang on, maybe I'm 50+ already :D
    Another non-revolutionary tip, shower creams/cremes are supposed to be less drying to the skin than shower gels. I certainly find that to be the case.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Twee. wrote: »
    Can we please take this thread back to it's original topic? Discussion and debate is always encouraged but please don't get snappy or rude with each other.

Folks, I have already put one warning in this thread.

Lay off the snide comments.

Allow everyone to share their tips and tricks, as per the thread title. If posters wish to start a new thread on skincare myths or misconceptions then go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

Can I ask what are your reasons behind double toning?

I use the Clarins exfoliating toner and then add a hydrating toner from mario badescu.I use a prevage serum in the evening and skinician calming serum in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭mazdaminx

Foundation brushes as opposed to sponges are brilliant. I used sponges for a long time, thank god I stopped as I find the brush brilliant and easy.
    Concealer on eyelids works wonders if you don't have time to do your eyes properly.
    Sleeping on your back apparently is best position for preventing aging of the face, also silk pillow cases I've heard but have yet to try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

I also use the coconut oil for cleansing and using a acid toner has helped to reduce the visibility of black heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

My tip is (for me anyway) spending a fortune on expensive skincare makes no difference to my skin. I only use Eucerin and Nivea products, they are cheap and work fine. Actually they work really well. I sometimes buy the odd expensive skin product because I am lured in by marketing/reviews, but never really see any difference.

I do tend the spend more on make-up however. Not on all makeup though :)

I started using anti-aging skincare products at age 22. I'm 37 now and people say I look a lot younger :)

cactusgal wrote: »
    I started using anti-aging skincare products at age 22. I'm 37 now and people say I look a lot younger :)
    iv often thought should l start using them, think il wait til lm 25 :P

I think the sooner the better, just a moisturiser for the day, night cream before bed, and eye cream to prevent fine lines / crow's feet. No need to buy expensive products, I use Boots and Tesco brands, or whatever happens to be on sale. I also work in the entertainment industry, though, so there's always a certain pressure to look younger. That's showbiz for ya :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Some really interesting tips here- just a quick question for those who say that they oil cleanse. How do you do that? Just apply oil (coconut or whatever) to your face and wipe with cotton pads? I have very dry skin so I'd be interested in giving that a go.

Anyone have any tips for dry scalp? I suspect it's more than simple dry scalp for me (eczema or psoriasis is probably more likely) because it's very severe at times so I'll probably be taking a trip to a dermatologist eventually... but if anyone had any tips on this I'd give that a go first and see!

Some of my own:
    - Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream is really soothing for dry skin patches absolutely anywhere. And it's excellent for chapped lips too.

- Don't ignore your eyebrows. I have a mild obsession with them to be fair, but it baffles me as to how many women do nothing with theirs. On the other hand, I can't stand the really HD almost tattooed on look. They should look defined but still natural I think. I fill and define my eyebrows with a matt brown eyeshadow and an angled brush. Any cheap shadow will do so long as it's matt and obviously in a colour that suits your actual hair. Eyebrow kits are an absolute waste of money. I've tried a few and I get as good if not better results with the eyeshadow.

- I always do my eye make-up first and then my foundation. That way if there's any fall-off from eyeshadows, I can brush it off and not damage any of the face make-up.

- Buy decent brushes, clean them regularly. And watch tutorials on how to apply make-up if you want tips. There are thousands of really good muas on youtube, facebook, instagram etc with great tips and tricks.

- Eucryl powder is brilliant for stain removal and whitening teeth. Obviously regular cleaning with a dentist is the ideal, but this stuff is great for in between. I would say it's probably a bit too harsh for people with weak enamel on their teeth, but otherwise I'd recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Meangadh wrote: »
    Some really interesting tips here- just a quick question for those who say that they oil cleanse. How do you do that? Just apply oil (coconut or whatever) to your face and wipe with cotton pads? I have very dry skin so I'd be interested in giving that a go.
    I have oily skin and use coconut oil sometimes for cleansing. I just put half a tea spoon into the palms of my hands and rub them together so it melts and then I rub it all over my face and neck and use a soft cloth to remove it.

I then use this facial wash, take two pumps, massage the concentrated gel onto my face, let it sit for a minute and then rinse off. My skin has become so much clearer and I have a lot less redness since I started doing this. I also find that if I have any spots, if I put a dot of the gel on, and leave it on for a few minutes the spot will go down within hours, and I don't have any scarring/marks from it either. It doesn't work on all spots though.

When I need to have smooth lips I wet a soft toothbrush with warm water and gentle exfoliate my lips, I then put some toothpaste on a the same toothbrush and gently massage it into my lips and rinse with luke warm water. Leaves my lips soft and smooth for ages. I don't do this often, maybe one every 2-3 months.

After a bath/shower, I put on some body oil (I use this one from No7, its not greasy once it dries) and over that I use a body butter. Leaves my skin super soft.

For body exfoliation I don't always use a scrub, I sometimes just use my regular body wash and a pair of exfoliation gloves and its just as good, if not better than any scrub I've tried. Does leave a layer of oil/grease on your skin either like some scrubs do.

During the winter if my skin is dry, flaky or irritated I will mix a teeny tiny (less than pea size amount) of coconut oil with my moisturiser at night and it really helps my skin. You need a tiny bit though because otherwise you will have a greasy face obviously!

If my skin feels dry/tight I like to use a thermal water on it. I use this one by Avène, but various brands do them now.

After I wash my hair, and before drying, I like to apply some mousse through the roots/lengths, it helps my hair not become greasy as quickly, and also helps with frizziness and fly-away hairs. My hairdresser told me about this and I'm hooked since I started it. I never used mousse or anything just heat protectant that was it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

cactusgal wrote: »
    I think the sooner the better, just a moisturiser for the day, night cream before bed, and eye cream to prevent fine lines / crow's feet. No need to buy expensive products, I use Boots and Tesco brands, or whatever happens to be on sale. I also work in the entertainment industry, though, so there's always a certain pressure to look younger. That's showbiz for ya :p

What eye cream has been your favourite to use?
    Never thought at 19 I'd be enquiring about eye cream, but here we are :o

I don't really have many creative tips myself..
    I can't stress how good I find face masks to be, I'd use one weekly and apply a moisturiser and I love how my skin is after!
    Oh and when I put dry shampoo in my hair after I brush it out I always put it into a soft ponytail for a few mins/little while before styling my hair, it seems to just puff it out a bit more?
    Sorry for the bog basic/terrible tips haha, all I can think of really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Drink green tea and more water. Does wonders for your skin.

Op, you say you add lemon to your water? I used to do that too and two dentists gave out to me. Said you're basically making your water acidic and unless you drink through a straw you'll damage your teeth badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Also, if anybody can get stuff sent home from Australia, get Paw Paw. It's unreal.

Best thing ever for clearing spots and can be used as lip balm too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Also, if anybody can get stuff sent home from Australia, get Paw Paw. It's unreal.

Best thing ever for clearing spots and can be used as lip balm too.

You can get it here too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

Any tips for dealing with blocked pores on the nose?

They're small but there's just a lot of them and I've become more aware of them recently...but am wary of trying anything too radical in case of a breakout, maybe I should leave well enough alone??

I've started drinking water with lemon instead of tea/coffee first thing in the morning, getting used to it now and it's so much better for you! Will have to start drinking it through a straw now tho :eek:

tradhead wrote: »
    Any tips for dealing with blocked pores on the nose?

They're small but there's just a lot of them and I've become more aware of them recently...but am wary of trying anything too radical in case of a breakout, maybe I should leave well enough alone??

I've started drinking water with lemon instead of tea/coffee first thing in the morning, getting used to it now and it's so much better for you! Will have to start drinking it through a straw now tho :eek:

If there on the nose they are most likely sfs which are permanent so all you can do is minimise them the best thing for this is salicylic acid and oil cleansing.

To the person wondering about oil cleansing heres the usually routine that most people follow.

Firstly you want to spend your chosen oil all over your face. Some people like to leave it sit for a minute or two. Then you want to massage it and rub it on your face but don't rub too hard or for too long as it will cause damage. Lastly use a clean facecloth or microfibre towel to clean the oil off. If you are double cleansing you can follow up with your second cleanse if not continue on with your routine.

Now on to oils you can use pretty much any oil you want even stuff you might have laying around the house like olive oil. Sometimes it can take a while to find your hg oil but make sure you patch test as some oils like coconut oil are comedogenic.