Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what to do with stock bull for the winter

• 22-12-2014 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

wondering what ye do with the bull over the winter

at the moment my lad in with the dry cows and he is a fecking nuisance to be honest, he getting precalver with the cows, I have no sheds suitable for him and don't really want put him out as he tear the place up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

A man topped mine up with liquid nitrogen last week, not a bother on him:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

wondering what ye do with the bull over the winter

at the moment my lad in with the dry cows and he is a fecking nuisance to be honest, he getting precalver with the cows, I have no sheds suitable for him and don't really want put him out as he tear the place up

Keep himself and one or two cows on a few acres of rough ground, well out of the way. Everyone including the bull seems happy with the situation.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Had mine running with a few autumn heifers last winter, fooker kept escaping under the electric fence, managed to get a 13 month old heifer incalf, thankfully she calved down big enough. This year we turfed him out with 12 hardly drycows in a sandy field down the far enough of the farm, not a bother on him so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

We leave him with the cows but they are out by day and in at night. No bother with him. Once the cows start calving and we can leave them out he goes with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Our fella is in a field beside the yard by himself, not a stir on him.