Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Produce insurance within 10 days but sick??

• 17-12-2014 1:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

I was stopped by a garda for a minor offence and asked to produce licence and insurance cert within 10 days. I'd just renewed my insurance and was waiting on the certificate which finally arrived today. The problem is I've just been diagnosed with infectious bronchitis and advised not to go out until next week, I'm meant to report to the garda station by tomorrow.

Can I ring the station and explain the delay, and will they accept doctors cert for this?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

You won't die if you go to the garda station...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Get someone to drop it in for you or you will be summoned to court for failing to produce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

visual wrote: »
    Get someone to drop it in for you or you will be summoned to court for failing to produce

X2

happened me , was too lazy to go in and produce cert of insurance ( taught theyd forget about it..) , got a summons in the post ,called into the station with my cert and they said thats no good here , show it to the judge on your court date. Went to court produced it end of story :D

Long story short , just go in and produce instead of all that unnecessary hassle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

Clars1909 wrote: »

I was stopped by a garda for a minor offence and asked to produce licence and insurance cert within 10 days. I'd just renewed my insurance and was waiting on the certificate which finally arrived today. The problem is I've just been diagnosed with infectious bronchitis and advised not to go out until next week, I'm meant to report to the garda station by tomorrow.

Can I ring the station and explain the delay, and will they accept doctors cert for this?

Thanks!

Just produce at the station or else you will have a court summons and a fine
    Make sure to cough in the station lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Go in coughing and spluttering and on your way out say 'I really should be in quarantine, I'm just back from working with Ebola patients in Sierra Leone'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Get someone else to oroduce it. Stay in. Not a good idea to be infecting other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Karl Stein wrote:
    Go in coughing and spluttering and on your way out say 'I really should be in quarantine, I'm just back from working with Ebola patients in Sierra Leone'.

Wouldn't advise that, least not on a plane anyway. Remember the Italian guy? Raw deal for him.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

How about phoning the Garda station and asking them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Yes, sure great idea to go to garda station, and infect all the officers.

OP said he's got doctors cert, so if he shows up later, and shows his doctors cert, then I can't imagine this could end up wrong for him.
    In the end that's what doctors cert is for - to show that he is not able to proceed with normal tasks like working, or visiting garda stations.

I wouldn't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Yes, you can do nothing, wait for summons, take a day off, go to court , sit around for hours until your case is called, produce sick cert.

Or just get a friend to call round to the guards with the cert.

That's the worst excuse I've seen for not producing documents to the Gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i'd say if you called the station and reasonably explained that you had a contagious illness and were advised to stay at home, they could get a car to pop to your house at a quiet part of the day.

they done it for my grandad before when he needed a garda witness to a form being signed. he was recovering from a stroke though, so a little more serious maybe, but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭LucidLife

bladespin wrote: »
    Wouldn't advise that, least not on a plane anyway. Remember the Italian guy? Raw deal for him.

Raw deal? He got nothing other than coughing up a few quid I thought? Money in the amount I saw stated matters very little to all Italian business men I know too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

That's the worst excuse I've seen for not producing documents to the Gardai!

I take it you've never had a bad case of bronchitis so.

OP call them to see if they will accept it from someone dropping in. If not, explain that you have a doctors cert stating that you are unwell.

Your health and the health of others should clearly take priority over a trivial issue.

circadian wrote: »
    I take it you've never had a bad case of bronchitis so.

OP call them to see if they will accept it from someone dropping in. If not, explain that you have a doctors cert stating that you are unwell.

Your health and the health of others should clearly take priority over a trivial issue.

I have had plenty, still went to work!
    Give up the smoking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

I have had plenty, still went to work!
    Give up the smoking!

I said a bad case. I very much doubt you'd be at work not to mention that is a pretty inconsiderate thing to do.

I digress, OP call the station and see what they say. I doubt you're the first to have this happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

CiniO wrote: »
    Yes, sure great idea to go to garda station, and infect all the officers.

OP said he's got doctors cert, so if he shows up later, and shows his doctors cert, then I can't imagine this could end up wrong for him.
    In the end that's what doctors cert is for - to show that he is not able to proceed with normal tasks like working, or visiting garda stations.

I wouldn't go.

I wouldnt advise showing up past the date with a sick cert. guard could have started the summons process which might mean only way out is a day in court with your sick note.

Give them a call and ask to speak to the guard in question I'm sure they will understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Crumbs868 wrote: »
    I wouldnt advise showing up past the date with a sick cert. guard could have started the summons process which might mean only way out is a day in court with your sick note.

Give them a call and ask to speak to the guard in question I'm sure they will understand

+1. With the recent scandals of the Gards dropping penalty points it's much easier to get advice from the only people who know how you go about not getting an automatic summons from the PULSE system when you physically can't make it to a station. Make sure you get the name and number of Garda you talk to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

bladespin wrote: »

I just re-read that story. Utter bollocks he was prosecuted for that. He should have appealed, this is just complete "think of the children" jumped up nonsense hysteria. And of course no district court judge will pass up an opportunity to make a name for himself and his kangaroo court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

OP your health is more important than anything else so if you are not well enough to go out then dont. If you call to the station and produce it saying you were ill and ask the station to stamp the date on the back of the insurance cert after the 10 days. Then email the garda traffic corps email traffic@garda.ie with a picture of the insurance cert front and back (you can do this with a smartphone) you wont have any bother.

If you were to end up in court you will have a doctors cert saying you were ill and hence the delay, proof you were insured at the time and proof that you made every effort to contact gardai as quick as you could.

You could even scan it and email it to them now and say you will drop it to the station when you are well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

visual wrote: »

How hard can it be not to do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

OP your health is more important than anything else so if you are not well enough to go out then dont. If you call to the station and produce it saying you were ill and ask the station to stamp the date on the back of the insurance cert after the 10 days. Then email the garda traffic corps email traffic@garda.ie with a picture of the insurance cert front and back (you can do this with a smartphone) you wont have any bother.

If you were to end up in court you will have a doctors cert saying you were ill and hence the delay, proof you were insured at the time and proof that you made every effort to contact gardai as quick as you could.

You could even scan it and email it to them now and say you will drop it to the station when you are well.

I'd do everything possible to avoid having to take a day off work to go to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

OP, if the requested documents are not produced within 10 days the Garda system will automatically trigger a Court summons.

For all those advocating not going, how do you thing the system works? Are Gardai supposed to wait until a statute of limitations on excuses runs out?

OP, your doctor advised you about going out, you weren't put under house arrest.

Bollocks, if he can't make it, he can't make it. Ring Garda station and produce documents and sick note later or send someone else in.

OP, your doctor advised you about going out, you weren't put under house arrest.

He wasn't put under house arrest, but doctor issued him a sick cert and advised him to stay at home for certain reason. Health is the most important thing, way above in list of priorities to producing some silly documents.

The whole idea of requesting documents within 10 days is silly in the first place imo. Whats rhe point of it and what if someone can't make it within 10 days like op

He wasn't put under house arrest, but doctor issued him a sick cert and advised him to stay at home for certain reason. Health is the most important thing, way above in list of priorities to producing some silly documents.

The whole idea of requesting documents within 10 days is silly in the first place imo. Whats rhe point of it and what if someone can't make it within 10 days like op

I was caught without tax and NCT last year (don't even!) and I had 10 days to produce both.
    Tax was no problem, but NCT no chance.
    I showed up and produced all my documents as far as I has them and told them I would bring in NCT as soon as I had it.
    Of course I failed the first test :rolleyes: but back I went and showed them the paperwork and advised when my retest was. Passed that (phew!) and produced my cert at the Garda station.
    That was well over a month later, maybe even going on two months.
    I got a fine for non-display of tax, but that was that.
    The system is not rigid and the 10 days isn't written in stone.
    Remember, Mark 2:27. The rules cannot and must not be more important than us. If they ever are, it's time to pick up a torch and pitchfork and storm government buildings. :cool:

The point of producing the documents is to provide evidence that you have met your obligations under the law. You're supposed to have this evidence in the car at all times (3 disks and driving licence). If you don't then giving you 10 days to prove that you do have it is quite reasonable. If you don't like it, don't own a car. Simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

o8nfd8b

Chimaera wrote: »
    The point of producing the documents is to provide evidence that you have met your obligations under the law. You're supposed to have this evidence in the car at all times (3 disks and driving licence). If you don't then giving you 10 days to prove that you do have it is quite reasonable. If you don't like it, don't own a car. Simple!

A: bollocks and wrong and B thank God you're not in charge.

So what is it then?

OK so maybe I'm just not understanding it right.
    As far as I know as a driver I'm obliged to have tax, insurance and NCT discs on my windscreen, and licence in my pocket. That's all I need to legally drive a car.
    I thought that to addition to it, gards can ask me to provide additional documents within 10 days (f.e. NCT cert or insurance cert). Can they?

If they can, this is but nuts.

Imagine you heading on your 3 weeks holidays to Spain. You are driving to the airport, and on the way gard pulls you over and asks for your insurance cert and NCT cert to be brought to the station within 10 days.
    Obviously you can't do it, as you are just about to park your car on the airport parking for 3 weeks, and go away.

What then?
    Are you supposed to cancel your holidays and go back home to pick up documents to satisfy garda?

I understand it's different situation in relation to documents that you are obliged to have and don't have. Than maybe asking to produce them within 10 days makes sense. But not in case I showed example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

As far as I know as a driver I'm obliged to have tax, insurance and NCT discs on my windscreen, and licence in my pocket. That's all I need to legally drive a car.
    I thought that to addition to it, gards can ask me to provide additional documents within 10 days (f.e. NCT cert or insurance cert). Can they?

Imagine you heading on your 3 weeks holidays to Spain. You are driving to the airport, and on the way gard pulls you over and asks for your insurance cert and NCT cert to be brought to the station within 10 days.
    Obviously you can't do it, as you are just about to park your car on the airport parking for 3 weeks, and go away.

What then?
    Are you supposed to cancel your holidays and go back home to pick up documents to satisfy garda?

I understand it's different situation in relation to documents that you are obliged to have and don't have. Than maybe asking to produce them within 10 days makes sense. But not in case I showed example.

Thats a very good example. It is a bit nuts but it they certainly can ask you to produce certs as really the discs prove nothing.
    I guess knowing that they can do this, it might be wise to carry all certs on trip to airport so that having seen them, they will not ask you to produce. I believe though that even if a garda has all your certs in his hand, he could still ask that they be produced at a garda station of your choice within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

mickdw wrote: »
    Thats a very good example. It is a bit nuts but it they certainly can ask you to produce certs as really the discs prove nothing.
    I guess knowing that they can do this, it might be wise to carry all certs on trip to airport so that having seen them, they will not ask you to produce. I believe though that even if a garda has all your certs in his hand, he could still ask that they be produced at a garda station of your choice within 10 days.
    If you inform the Garda you'll be out of the State he will most likely ask you your return date and tell you to produce the docs within 10 days of that. He's unlikely to set himself up for a bollocking from a judge when you show your boarding cards in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

slimjimmc wrote: »
    If you inform the Garda you'll be out of the State he will most likely ask you your return date and tell you to produce the docs within 10 days of that. He's unlikely to set himself up for a bollocking from a judge when you show your boarding cards in court.

One would hope that would be how it would go.

So what is it then?

A and B, the first two letters of the alphabet. Usually followed by points made. So the correct way to read them would be as two separate points. if you follow this little guide, you will no doubt be able to decipher my text.
    Or, translated it means, no. In some circumstances you cannot produce documents within 10 days. If you inform the Garda station of that, there is no problem. Hence your statement that there is no leeway under any circumstances is erroneous. Or bollocks.

A and B, the first two letters of the alphabet. Usually followed by points made. So the correct way to read them would be as two separate points. if you follow this little guide, you will no doubt be able to decipher my text.
    Or, translated it means, no. In some circumstances you cannot produce documents within 10 days. If you inform the Garda station of that, there is no problem. Hence your statement that there is no leeway under any circumstances is erroneous. Or bollocks.

I'm aware of what you meant. I was asking you for your interpretation of this rule since you think mine's incorrect.

What then?

My understanding of the rule has always been that they want to verify that your insurance/etc is valid, so if the windscreen disks are missing or they suspect that they're forged they'd ask you to produce the long form documents at the station. They can probably ask you to produce them regardless, but I don't see why they would really. They're just making more work for themselves.

If you were leaving the country and can prove that you won't be around I don't think they could reasonably demand you cut short your plans and if they did issue a summons, I suspect the judge would take a rather dim view of it.

In the long run I don't see this continuing though. All data on tax/insurance/NCT is fed into Pulse now AFAIK and it's trivial to run ANPR from a traffic car to check people without ever stopping them. If something's fishy, you can wave down the car or pay a visit to its registered address later.

I'm aware of what you meant. I was asking you for your interpretation of this rule since you think mine's incorrect.

OK, it is my interpretation that you have 10 days to produce the documents, unless you are unable to do so.
    The OP is not in a position to do so, he will either have to ring the Garda station and inform them or send someone else in in his stead.
    There is flexibility in these matters, so no point telling the OP he shouldn't own a car.
    I do not make any assumptions about the OP's health, it's up to the Gard to do that, if he/she thinks it's reasonable, the OP will surely be allowed to produce documents at a later stage.
    I'm just saying that the 10 days rule is not an absolute in situations beyond the control of the person who has to produce the documents.
    As always, I bet it depends on the individual Gard, if he's a dick, he may just do you. :cool:

OK, it is my interpretation that you have 10 days to produce the documents, unless you are unable to do so.
    The OP is not in a position to do so, he will either have to ring the Garda station and inform them or send someone else in in his stead.
    There is flexibility in these matters, so no point telling the OP he shouldn't own a car.
    I do not make any assumptions about the OP's health, it's up to the Gard to do that, if he/she thinks it's reasonable, the OP will surely be allowed to produce documents at a later stage.
    I'm just saying that the 10 days rule is not an absolute in situations beyond the control of the person who has to produce the documents.
    As always, I bet it depends on the individual Gard, if he's a dick, he may just do you. :cool:

I wasn't talking about the OP's situation at all. They have a legitimate difficulty here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

I wasn't talking about the OP's situation at all. They have a legitimate difficulty here.

The only difficulty I see is that the OP seems hesitant to let a family member etc produce documents on his behalf .... I wonder why ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

get off your death bed and vist the garda station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

What then?

But you are suggesting in the OPs case do nothing until it suits him(ie feels better). So applying your logic to your example do nothing and go on holidays to Spain for 3 weeks?

In both cases explain to the guards why you can't produce in the 10 days giving the reason, you will find that they are reasonable human beings who understand life's challenges

Ah, sorry, I read too hasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Clars1909

Thanks for all the advice guys, called the station and they were fine with someone else dropping in with the docs. All sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

You took your time thanking all those good folk who helped you:D:D:D

Jesus that was a real bad dose!
    Welcome back!

If you get stopped next week, will it be kidney stones ?ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You can get someone to produce for you. Just get them to bring ID with then to the station when producing and give them the details of when and where you were stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

You can get someone to produce for you. Just get them to bring ID with then to the station when producing and give them the details of when and where you were stopped.

O.P.'s post from 01/05 ;)
    Clars1909 wrote: »
    Thanks for all the advice guys, called the station and they were fine with someone else dropping in with the docs. All sorted.