Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

husqvarna 65

• 16-12-2014 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭

Hi guys. New in this neck of the woods (no pun intended :P) just a quick question for ye..

There is an old 65 in the shed that my dad used for years. It no longer starts, local shop told him at the time it stopped that the engine was worn out on it and not worth fixing and wanted him to buy a new saw :rolleyes:.

Just wondering would it be worth getting it done up now or can decent parts be got for them? I have seen parts on ebay etc but would be afraid they would be poor quality and last no length.

Also I read about guys putting bigger engines in some saws.. would this be an option for a 65?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Is it the L65? Thats a vintage saw, no chainbrake etc.
    I think they were Yugoslavian built as well.
    If you can get parts to fit then it will be a case of fix and keep it as a souvenir, not as a working saw.
    If all it needs is piston/rings then its probably doable, if it needs a crankshaft and other parts then I wouldn't bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Is it the L65? Thats a vintage saw, no chainbrake etc.
    I think they were Yugoslavian built as well.
    If you can get parts to fit then it will be a case of fix and keep it as a souvenir, not as a working saw.
    If all it needs is piston/rings then its probably doable, if it needs a crankshaft and other parts then I wouldn't bother.

If there was petrol sitting in the carb that will need rebuilding, and might be the only problem, unless it was not starting when it was put into the shed

I bought a 141 husqvarna that was sitting up I rebuilt the carb and never looked back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Why only keep it as a souvenir?

It was not working when it was left up as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

sean1141 wrote: »

Because its an old saw with little performance and most probably no chain brake in case of kickback.
    Parts will be likely unavailable or if they are will be reproductions.
    These saws date from the mid 60's to the very early 80's and while torquey don't cut like anything more modern.
    If it is worn out then you can check it by doing a compression test.
    You want to see over 90psi, if its lower than that the rings are probably worn out. Trouble is when you pull the cylinder you will need to have a base gasket to replace the original. You can make one if you know the thickness of the original one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 574 ✭✭✭18MonthsaSlave

Hi guys. New in this neck of the woods (no pun intended :P) just a quick question for ye..

There is an old 65 in the shed that my dad used for years. It no longer starts, local shop told him at the time it stopped that the engine was worn out on it and not worth fixing and wanted him to buy a new saw :rolleyes:.

Just wondering would it be worth getting it done up now or can decent parts be got for them? I have seen parts on ebay etc but would be afraid they would be poor quality and last no length.

Also I read about guys putting bigger engines in some saws.. would this be an option for a 65?
    The local shop would be Millers or Camsaw I'd guess if you are in Laois and all they would be interested in would be selling him a new saw.
    If the saw has sentimental value then restore it and use it occassionally. If not fond of it then buy something new and cheap/expensive based on expected usage.
    If there is no knock on the crankshaft then the saw is repairable and the saws were very good saws in their day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Your resources would be better spent replacing it with a more reliable, modern saw.

There is nothing unreliable about a Husky 65. I knew a guy who had three of them for cutting out the roots of ash trees to make hurls.

To quote the original poster:

"There is an old 65 in the shed that my dad used for years. It no longer starts"

His one is not reliable. Why sink money into it when it most definitely is better spent on a more modern saw.

Saying an Husky 65 is not reliable is akin to saying a knife or spade are unreliable; they are that well made and that well engineered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Saying an Husky 65 is not reliable is akin to saying a knife or spade are unreliable; they are that well made and that well engineered.

That's a ridiculous thing to write. It's a machine with hundreds of parts, not a bloody hand tool.

Every machine will eventually become unreliable, as a result of normal wear and tear or poor maintenance leading to components wearing out or failing.

If you want a saw that's as reliable as a spade or a knife, that's known as a Hand Saw, not ANY kind of 2 stroke machine!

Have you any experience of the Husky 65? If not then keep your cakehole shut. Along with the Partner R16 and Echo 60S they were about as unbreakable a saw as you could ever find.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Gents, tone it down a bit please.

A tad more oil and a little less petrol...:)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Have you any experience of the Husky 65? If not then keep your cakehole shut. Along with the Partner R16 and Echo 60S they were about as unbreakable a saw as you could ever find.

The 65 is a fine saw but depending on the condition of the saw Sean has, there may be little point in trying to get it going, except for the craic and a bit of nostalgia, and it all depends on what's wrong with it really.

If it's just worn out, as well it could be at between 30 and 45 years old, then it simply can't be reliable in that condition even if getting it to cough is handy enough. Reliably unreliable maybe. Or reliably becoming a pain in the backside and a source of annoyance if you want to use it for any kind of work.

A man NEEDING a work saw would be wise to spend their money on a newer saw, with low vibration mounts, electronic ignition, inertia chainbrake, lower emissions etc. All the benefits of a modern saw with none of the downsides that trying to keep running an old one brings.

I wonder how many spades made in the 1970's are still in use today.

Reindeer wrote: »

Plenty.

Is that you, Trigger?

http://youtu.be/BUl6PooveJE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

A man NEEDING a work saw would be wise to spend their money on a newer saw, with low vibration mounts, electronic ignition, inertia chainbrake, lower emissions etc. All the benefits of a modern saw with none of the downsides that trying to keep running an old one brings.
    It wouldn't be a work saw as such. There are two good modern saws here too. It would be more so a back up saw/novelty. It would only be used for sawing up the bit
    Reindeer wrote: »
    There are one or two here at home that I would say were around in the 70s.. my ride on lawn mower was made in the early 80s

Plenty.

With the correct maintenance, there may be a couple in use - but I have never seen a 45 year old spade in use in my entire life. On a wall, maybe - but not in use. So, I would have to assume it's fairly rare. And even yourself have to consider the likelyhood of your answer.

This guy is asking us if he should take the saw to someone to have them work on it. That could easily turn in to a potential money pit. Now, if he were savvy and could do the work himself, the answer would be different. But not by much as the parts are very difficult to come by in good condition, let alone new. But the fact remains, the saw does not run. Saying something is as reliable as a stick with a pan on it when it won't even start is a bit disingenuous at best. A saw is not a tool, it is a machine. A machine has to be maintained. His machine hasn't had maintenance in years, and he is unfamiliar with their repair as well. If he is extremely lucky, it will be bad fuel and simply washing the tank out may help him. If not - It will likely need new hoses and the carb rebuilt at the very least, as well as having the tank cleaned out and new filters. That's the least of his worries - the worst is that breaker point ignition system that may likely need new points and new gapping because he's let it sit in a damp shed for years. Can he do this himself? No, not as far as he is letting on. Can even his local saw shop do that work, assuming they can get the parts? Maybe. Is it worth 40-70 euro an hour? Unlikely.

If you like, you could perhaps volunteer your time and help the guy out and perhaps save him some grief.

Sean,

A few parts here including a carb kit for 11 dollars.... Other used parts look to be in good condition. Still a long way from everything you might need, but it's a starting point for some bits if you want to go ahead and refurbish the saw:

http://www.sawagain.com/husqvarna-65/?sort=featured&page=1