Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late for NCT, refused test, €22 fee?

• 12-12-2014 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭

I arrived 15 minutes late for my NCT this evening, and they wouldn't allow my car to be tested saying "we're two men down, we're so busy" etc.

Anyway, will have I to pay the 22 EURO fee and be classed as a no show?

The next available date is in March and my NCT is already out of date, so needless to say, I am pretty pi**ed off right now.

Has this happened anyone?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Did you want them to keep the ramp free till you decided to show up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

No . Did I say or suggest that or ask for a smartalic and unfunny reply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Mr Detail

Happened me a few weeks ago, I was twenty minutes late, got a flat. I chatted to the lads and they said hang around and see if they have spare time. 5 minutes later they took mine in.

I wouldn't have complained if they didn't to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Joshua5

I have to say it was pretty funny. It's funny cause it's true.

Joshua5 wrote: »
    I have to say it was pretty funny. It's funny cause it's true.

Why are you commenting? Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

To answer your question - you missed your appointment. €22 will be charged when you present your car for a test next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

"Did you want them to keep the ramp free till you decided to show up?"

Jesus, is there no end to these irritants on boards. Don't answer the question but treat us to your highly superior mentality.

Why are you commenting? Weird.

I'm commenting because that's what boards is about, peoples comments... If we didn't there would be no boards.. Weird right. But you seem to take offence at someone stating the obvious, you were late. Arrive early next time and you won't need to have a cry about it.

Cry about it? What on earth are you going on about.

I asked a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

I missed an NCT appointment before, completely forgot about it and I ended up having to pay the NCT cost again + e22? so I think you might end up paying more than 22 euro
    I arrived 15 minutes late for my NCT this evening, and they wouldn't allow my car to be tested saying "we're two men down, we're so busy" etc.

The next available date is in March and my NCT is already out of date, so needless to say, I am pretty pi**ed off right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I am pretty pi**ed off right now.

I'd imagine so is everyone else looking for a test but unable to get one until March because of people taking bookings and not turning up.

Try 15 minutes EARLY next time

Cry about it? What on earth are you going on about.

I asked a question.

You did say you are pretty p'd off about it. What where you p'd off about? The fact you got a 22 euro fee, the fact its not until march or the fact you were stupid enough to be late.

OP didn't cry and he is pissed now because the next available date is in March. Not his fault, really.

People are late from time to time for many reasons. Waiting another 3 months for a test is a joke.

OP - call them, explain your NCT is out of date and ask them to put you on their waiting list. I am sure you will get some dates before March. Make sure to look at other NCT centres, too - they might have more slots available.

You did say you are pretty p'd off about it. What where you p'd off about? The fact you got a 22 euro fee, the fact its not until march or the fact you were stupid enough to be late.

Wouldn't you be annoyed if this happened you? Annoyed with myself and annoyed with the NCT place.

I'd imagine so is everyone else looking for a test but unable to get one until March because of people taking bookings and not turning up.

Try 15 minutes EARLY next time

Thanks for pointing out the obvious.

Wouldn't you be annoyed if this happened you? Annoyed with myself and annoyed with the NCT place.

I did hear something on the radio the other day saying if you call them you will get it within three weeks.

Wow, just wow:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I'd be annoyed with myself, I wouldn't be annoyed with the nct centre because it was my fault.

So your NCT was already up, and you still missed the test?

I'd be annoyed with myself, I wouldn't be annoyed with the nct centre because it was my fault.

I said I was annoyed with myself.

wonski wrote: »
    Wow, just wow:eek:

Poster has never been late for anything obviously and is perfect in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I've never missed an NCT appointment. I believe there's a three month wait if you do.That's why I didn't miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Funny thing is, every time I get mine done I have to wait 25 minutes for them to get round to my car.

cml387 wrote: »
    I've never missed an NCT appointment. I believe there's a three month wait if you do.That's why I didn't miss it.

Is this a reply to the question I asked or something?

Are your answers an example of the attitude you took at the NCT centre.
    You were late for your test. So what?

Poster has never been late for anything obviously and is perfect in every way.

I can't argue with you there. Maybe I was a bit quick to assume you're a dumb ass missing the NCT, you seem to know a perfect person when you see them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭thadg

how did NCT win the contract for testing cars for the next number of years in Ireland when they hadn't the resources to handle the numbers with the last few years?

2 weeks should be the max waiting time. what a 3rd world country

cml387 wrote: »
    Are your answers an example of the attitude you took at the NCT centre.
    You were late for your test. So what?

I don't understand why you commented saying you never missed an appointment. So what.

My OP wondered had my story happened to anyone else. It didn't happen to you. So...

We are all adults and we can answer the question, can't we?

To summarize -

OP was late and will be charged €22 fee.
    OP let his NCT run out and we all know it was his fault but there is no need to call him stupid ( not to mention that maybe he bought the car without NCT, fixed it and wanted to test it now in which case he can't be called stupid at all).
    OP now has to wait 3 months to get his car tested due to missed appointment, unless he calls them so they can offer him another appointment that will suit him.

Was it that hard:confused:

I can't argue with you there. Maybe I was a bit quick to assume you're a dumb ass missing the NCT, you seem to know a perfect person when you see them

Abusive. Go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

I thought it was a very funny reply.
    YOU WERE LATE YOU HAD A SLOT YOU MISSED IT SUCK IT UP :):):):):):)

You missed the fact he seems to need a hug.

**hug**

Savage93 wrote: »
    I thought it was a very funny reply.
    YOU WERE LATE YOU HAD A SLOT YOU MISSED IT SUCK IT UP :):):):):):)

Did my OP not give that impression? I asked a question about the late fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

And even more stupid to put your stupidity on boards :):):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Op, is there any way you could go to another centre, within reason, of course. And just be aware that since Monday you'll get points for no nct.

I was led to believe that once you have the NCT booked, the Gardai can't give you penalty points? Is that wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

My Nct is up at the end of January so with all the recent changes and the apparent backlog I got on their website to book a test without holding out much hope of getting one in time .......... to my surprise there were slots available all day from January 2nd right through to January 8th!! Didn't even have to ring them, just picked the day and time that suited me ......... I'll try not be late :)

Does anybody know if you do the test and fail and your Nct expires while you're getting the car repaired will the Guards still slap you with the fine and points???

thadg wrote: »
    how did NCT win the contract for testing cars for the next number of years in Ireland when they hadn't the resources to handle the numbers with the last few years?

2 weeks should be the max waiting time. what a 3rd world country

Maybe if everyone should up at the correct times, it would cut the waiting times because there would be no need for all the re tests!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I was led to believe that once you have the NCT booked, the Gardai can't give you penalty points? Is that wrong?

yep, totally wrong

I was wondering this myself, I think it's up to the discretion of the Guard .......... it's ridiculous but I think they can now give you the points/fine every time they stop you regardless if you're waiting on a test or not!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

I'm afraid yes. It was the case up until recently but changed. No nct = fine & points :(

Maybe if everyone should up at the correct times, it would cut the waiting times because there would be no need for all the re tests!

Every time I am there there is a lot of people waiting, I doubt they were all late tbh. I had my car tested straight away on few occasions, but I also had few tests were it was stil parked up 30 minutes after my "allocated" slot - and I was there 20 minutes early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

MadDog76 wrote: »
    My Nct is up at the end of January so with all the recent changes and the apparent backlog I got on their website to book a test without holding out much hope of getting one in time .......... to my surprise there were slots available all day from January 2nd right through to January 8th!! Didn't even have to ring them, just picked the day and time that suited me ......... I'll try not be late :)

Does anybody know if you do the test and fail and your Nct expires while you're getting the car repaired will the Guards still slap you with the fine and points???

Yes...you can drive it to a garage for repairs, but you can't use it otherwise

I was wondering this myself, I think it's up to the discretion of the Guard .......... it's ridiculous but I think they can now give you the points/fine every time they stop you regardless if you're waiting on a test or not!!! :confused:

Great if that's the case I will lose my licence by March!! :rolleyes:

I hope I only encounter reasonable Gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Yes that is wrong, they still can.

corktina wrote: »
    Yes...you can drive it to a garage for repairs, but you can't use it otherwise

But how would they know where you were actually driving the car to ....... ???

You could say "just dropping it over to the garage now Guard" or "just picked it up from the garage officer" or "the car's all sorted so I'm just driving it back to the Test Centre now" ......... while your on your way round to your mates house for a chat and a cuppa!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

I presume you have only looked up online for available dates. If you ring them you will probably give you an appointment much sooner.

If they cannot give you an appointment within 4 weeks at the centre of your choice then you get the test for free :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

it's ridiculous but I think they can now give you the points/fine every time they stop you regardless if you're waiting on a test or not!!! :confused:

It's not ridiculous at all, you're supposed to ensure the vehicle you're driving has a valid test at all times.

What is ridiculous is that the general population thinks it too difficult to plan appropriately and renew it before it expires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭thadg

it was fine until they brought in the 1 year test for 10 year old cars and older. they should built more test centres or lost the contract. the uk have a better system , as usual

cocoman wrote: »
    I presume you have only looked up online for available dates. If you ring them you will probably give you an appointment much sooner.

If they cannot give you an appointment within 4 weeks at the centre of your choice then you get the test for free :)

I went ahead and booked tonight because of the new law ( I want to have a booking in case I get pulled over). But I will ring on Monday and try for a cancellation/sooner date. I will wait and see.