Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda siochana memorabilia

• 10-12-2014 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hi all, I am new to this site and I was wondering if anyone had or knew of a friend or shop selling memorabilia from AGS. I have a few cap badges and two 1922-1982 Garda Siochana jubilee medals. If anyone knew of anyone selling that would be grand. cheers
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Hi all, I am new to this site and I was wondering if anyone had or knew of a friend or shop selling memorabilia from AGS. I have a few cap badges and two 1922-1982 Garda Siochana jubilee medals. If anyone knew of anyone selling that would be grand. cheers
    John

Maybe try the Emergency Services forum as well: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The Garda Jubilee medal commemorated the 50th rather than the 60th anniversary, it was issued in 1972.

You can see it at the weblink below, it's the one on the right in the first photo and both sides are shown in the third photo which I've linked to here....

gpair2.jpg

http://irishmedals.org/garda-medals.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Collecting01

coylemj ya sorry thats the one I have i just mixed up the dates.thanks for the speedy reply all the same.

thanks preusse i looked but i couldn't find anything.:)
    I have an old garda truncheon case I came by and was wondering if there was any one of the old batons out there for sale?
    regards John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No harm in trying lads that sell militaria as it sometimes winds up in their stock.

thanks whisky_galore
    i have my eyes open i will give it a scan and also RUC,RIC and DMP items are also of interest to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

thanks whisky_galore
    i have my eyes open i will give it a scan and also RUC,RIC and DMP items are also of interest to me.

Something on adverts for RIC items. Not sure about the prices as it is not my area of collecting:

RIC Sword with scabbard and plaque: http://www.adverts.ie/7001596

RIC whistle: http://www.adverts.ie/7009714

RIC badge: http://www.adverts.ie/6966225

thanks again preusse i will have a look into them.

I forgot to say I am also interested in Garda books and if anyone has any book they would be willing to part with I will give you a fair price.