Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The indicator trick

• 10-12-2014 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭

I catch a bus to work each morning on the Navan road. Inbound there is a 24 hour bus lane and of course a regular single driving lane [merged from 3 lanes to 2 to 1 further back to the road].

I see that traffic normally slows approaching a roundabout creating and what happens is that impatient / ignorant drivers will enter the bus lane with their indicator on signalling they are going to turn left at the roundabout. They'll fly up the bus lane at 80km/h for easily 300/400 metres , skipping all the traffic ques and then just prior to entering the roundabout they'll cancel their indicator and proceed straight on. I see it daily.

This morning, I was surprised to a TC motorbike Garda out catching people doing this. He hid behind a signpost and caught a driver in an Audi A4 flying up the bus lane with his indicator on. The Audi driver must have spotted him too late and slapped on the brakes and immediately tried to turn left in to a small industrial unit complex until the Garda put his hand up and stopped him. Everyone else seemed to be abiding by the bus lane rules this morning as a result :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Even if you turn left it's still illegal.

The gardai used to be great for this at the bottom of Snugborough Road but I haven't seen them there since the recession started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

hardCopy wrote: »
    Even if you turn left it's still illegal.

The gardai used to be great for this at the bottom of Snugborough Road but I haven't seen them there since the recession started.

So how does one legally turn left in this scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Only enter the left most lane when the road markings indicate you are permitted to do so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Only enter the left most lane when the road markings indicate you are permitted to do so..

The flaw in this is that usually by the time you reach these road markings, the turning left lane is filled with people who are coming from the bus lane and you can't merge in.

This happens daily on my commute to DCU and I've no other choice, otherwise everyone behind you starts beeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Pov06 wrote: »
    The flaw in this is that usually by the time you reach these road markings, the turning left lane is filled with people who are coming from the bus lane and you can't merge in.

This happens daily on my commute to DCU and I've no other choice, otherwise everyone behind you starts beeping.

I find that if you change lane at the earliest point you're legally allowed to, and are confident/assertive/play chicken with the maneuvre, anyone already in the lane will yield to you bcause they know they shouldn't be there and would have concerns about how it would fare for them in the even of an impact.

I'm not suggesting you do anything dangerous/illegal, but there's nothing wrong with being assertive when you're obeying the rules of the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Karma.......

.....by not taking the p1$$ - you don't have to enter the bus lane half-a-kilometer away from where you want to turn left - just within a few metres where the line becomes broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

hardCopy wrote: »
    the bottom of Snugborough Road
    Lol, there is an actual road by this name? Sounds like a place in a Tolkien book.

On topic, yeah I see this indicator trick too sometimes. The cheek of some dickheads. And if caught they probably just say "I didn't know I shouldn't do that" with a big grin on their stupid face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

What about the left turn to the industrial unit the OP mentions before the roundabout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I have often been stuck here:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3456738,-6.4514787,3a,75y,193.38h,75.19t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sXOdMWT-oqMdKtex8zO_AIA!2e0

the bus lane is usually full of people long before they are supposed to merge, it's actually handy enough because I skip the people illegally in the bus lane then merge where I am supposed to, and if I have to force my way in then so be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

BMJD wrote: »
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3456738,-6.4514787,3a,75y,193.38h,75.19t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sXOdMWT-oqMdKtex8zO_AIA!2e0

the bus lane is usually full of people long before they are supposed to merge, it's actually handy enough because I skip the people illegally in the bus lane then merge where I am supposed to, and if I have to force my way in then so be it

I must be psychic because it was the exact junction I was thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Veloce wrote: »
    I catch a bus to work each morning on the Navan road. Inbound there is a 24 hour bus lane and of course a regular single driving lane [merged from 3 lanes to 2 to 1 further back to the road].

I see that traffic normally slows approaching a roundabout creating and what happens is that impatient / ignorant drivers will enter the bus lane with their indicator on signalling they are going to turn left at the roundabout. They'll fly up the bus lane at 80km/h for easily 300/400 metres , skipping all the traffic ques and then just prior to entering the roundabout they'll cancel their indicator and proceed straight on. I see it daily.

This morning, I was surprised to a TC motorbike Garda out catching people doing this. He hid behind a signpost and caught a driver in an Audi A4 flying up the bus lane with his indicator on. The Audi driver must have spotted him too late and slapped on the brakes and immediately tried to turn left in to a small industrial unit complex until the Garda put his hand up and stopped him. Everyone else seemed to be abiding by the bus lane rules this morning as a result :)

Yeah it happens down my way also. En route into Adare from Limerick, just after coming off the Motorway people use the hard shoulder as if taking the exit just before the roundabout entering Adare, but opt to re-join main traffic instead.
    Anywhoo, a female driver once saw a 2Gardaí stopping all cars driving up the hard shoulder and tried to re-join main traffic but no-one would let her out so I did.

Anywhoo, Mom & I were going to stop in Adare for some lunch so I indicated to pull into a parking space and she indicated in-front of me and pulled in just ahead. She came back & Thanked me profusiously shaking my hand. She said that would've been her last chance and I'd apparently saved her by allowing her re-join main traffic and not have the 2Gardaí see her.

Common Issue: Driving in bus-lanes/hard-shoulders to avoid traffic queues in varying parts of the country from what I have seen,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Yeah it happens down my way also. En route into Adare from Limerick, just after coming off the Motorway people use the hard shoulder as if taking the exit just before the roundabout entering Adare, but opt to re-join main traffic instead.
    Anywhoo, a female driver once saw a 2Gardaí stopping all cars driving up the hard shoulder and tried to re-join main traffic but no-one would let her out so I did.

Anywhoo, Mom & I were going to stop in Adare for some lunch so I indicated to pull into a parking space and she indicated in-front of me and pulled in just ahead. She came back & Thanked me profusiously shaking my hand. She said that would've been her last chance and I'd apparently saved her by allowing her re-join main traffic and not have the 2Gardaí see her.

Common Issue: Driving in bus-lanes/hard-shoulders to avoid traffic queues in varying parts of the country from what I have seen,
    kerry4sam

Common Issue: Driving in bus-lanes/hard-shoulders to get ahead of law abiding motorists who wait their turn. They're stealing our time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

This arrogant nonsense goes on every evening on the N11 from just after UCD Belfield heading southwards towards Stillorgan.

The left hand indicator goes about 1 kilometre before it is even physically possible to make a left turn !!

I have seen the odd occasion when a Garda has picked up the offenders. It is almost entertaining to see the dive out of the bus lane when the motorist sees the Garda too late. For those who make it out of the bus lane I have seen Gardai walk out to lane 2 and take the offender out of the line to deal with them.

People driving in the bus lane to jump the queue really infuriate me because they can create an unreasonable danger for a driver making a legitimate left turn which involves you crossing the transition zone where the bus lane breaks only to be confronted by one of these a"£$holes zipping up the inside.

Maybe some of these people are special........:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

BMJD wrote: »

there is a junction similar to that here in dennehy's cross in cork and people always queue in the bus lane leaving the actual lane free and clear, i've pushed in on the yellow box (as the lane direction goes) and gotten a few dirty looks for "queue jumping" but none dared to beep at me for fear of drawing attention to the fact they are in the bus lane.

what's worse is when ever a bus was in that bus lane they would stop and merge properly with traffic that was moving into the lane at that point, it was the cars illegally in the bus lane who had a problem with you encroaching on "their" lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This used to be a massive issue on the Docks until they changed the street layout. It's a little better now but still not great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Reminds me of when I was a teen and stupid. Was riding a Honda 50 with a pal and lets just say the paperwork may not have been entirely in order.

I see a Garda checkpoint ahead and quickly turn off the main road, not knowing that I have turned into a Cul de Sac that leads right to where the Gards are. One walks over, knowing full well the story. "Is there a problem with the bike lads." Misunderstanding the question "Yes" I say, "The back brake does not work."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Used to have this problem on the stretch of the Long Mile Road as it meets the Naas Road. Saw plenty of people caught there, even nearly crashing into the back of a car that dived back into the driving lane when he spotted the Garda car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

hoodwinked wrote: »
    there is a junction similar to that here in dennehy's cross in cork and people always queue in the bus lane leaving the actual lane free and clear, i've pushed in on the yellow box (as the lane direction goes) and gotten a few dirty looks for "queue jumping" but none dared to beep at me for fear of drawing attention to the fact they are in the bus lane.

what's worse is when ever a bus was in that bus lane they would stop and merge properly with traffic that was moving into the lane at that point, it was the cars illegally in the bus lane who had a problem with you encroaching on "their" lane.

Same story on the Sandyford road. Some morning these fools queue up in the bus lane even though the other lane is empty and it would be quicker to follow the legal route.

Brilliant breezing past and having them let me in ahead of them where the bus lane ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

OSI wrote: »
    I'm amazed people still try stuff on that road. They often try to fly up the bus lane over the bridge for the railway station and back down the otherside to skip the queue. Except there's a no straight ahead sign at the top to try and stop them doing it. The Gards used to be the other side of it at least 3 or 4 times a month catching people doing it. Same with the bus lane coming up to the rounadbout.

What is more common now is people actually driving into the N3 parkway station, going around the roundabout and going straight back out now. They're basically pretending to drop people off at the station to cover themselves in case they get caught by the Guards. Unfortunately some are doing their best to maintain the speeds they were doing on the N3 at the train station.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

josip wrote: »
    Common Issue: Driving in bus-lanes/hard-shoulders to get ahead of law abiding motorists who wait their turn. They're stealing our time!

And far worse: The fecking eejit doormats who let them back in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

There is a roundabout in Waterford which appears to have a hard shoulder/extended - useless - parking area leading up to it. It is fairly obvious it is not a driving lane. People who do not know the junction slip into this 'lane' to undertake the queue that is indicating left, but the hard shoulder (or whatever it is) ends in a kerb about a metre short of the roundabout. So then they have to sit and sit until either there is a break in the traffic, or someone generously lets them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

I have the opposite I think its great when they do it. :P

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3629242,-6.2197468,3a,75y,280.26h,88.18t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sIZkPwMh9AqhxQf8zlp8BYQ!2e0

You can even see it on the google maps link above...bus lane busy..driving lane empty..happy days!

Clontarf road to turn on to alfie byrne road, every morning I drive by maybe 20/30 cars (illegally) queueing in the buslane to turn left as I continue in the (moving) driving lane and then enter at the correct place..usually someone will let you in pretty fast..it saves me loads of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

The hard shoulder on N11 south is used as a private lane by some pricks who just sail past hundreds of cars at their leisure :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 33 Funtrepreneur

What most people fail to realise is that many bus lanes are only bus lanes during the time indicated on the sign posts. I've got a few looks for driving in bus lanes when it was perfectly legal to do so. But I'm not condoning using the bus lane if there is a queue and you intend to cut back in further up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I never use the bus lane like that, i'll always wait for the broken line. But of course it can be a pain as the lane is often filled with idiots driving in the bus lane and blocking it.

Worse is when the bus lane is empty, i'm turning left so i put my indicator a a hundred yards before the turn, and you still get a muppet behind you turn into the bus lane and accelerate so they block you from entering the lane at the broken lines. Why to people deliberately try and cause crashes like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

That coming up to the halfway house roundabout OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

Wouldn't call it a trick more like bad driving.
    Go's to show the garda were right to add more things to the penalty scheme with ignorant drivers like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

What most people fail to realise is that many bus lanes are only bus lanes during the time indicated on the sign posts. I've got a few looks for driving in bus lanes when it was perfectly legal to do so. But I'm not condoning using the bus lane if there is a queue and you intend to cut back in further up.

Big queue of traffic last Xmas waiting to go to the Blanchardstown centre.

I happily ran up along the queue down the busline not giving a **** until bluelights appearred behind. Stopped up, wondering what the problem was will he ambled up to the door.

"Do you know thish ish a Bush lane?"

"Do you know it's after 7pm?" (19:08, according to the car)

That right there was the dirtiest look I've ever gotten from a Garda. It was totally ****ing worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

Go's to show the garda were right to add more things to the penalty scheme with ignorant drivers like that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 33 Funtrepreneur

Dartz wrote: »
    Big queue of traffic last Xmas waiting to go to the Blanchardstown centre.

I happily ran up along the queue down the busline not giving a **** until bluelights appearred behind. Stopped up, wondering what the problem was will he ambled up to the door.

"Do you thish ish a Bush lane?"

"Do you know it's after 7pm?" (19:08, according to the car)

That right there was the dirtiest look I've ever gotten from a Garda. It was totally ****ing worth it.

Ha ha, would love if that happened to me. They can't stand being wrong. Better have everything else in order though as he probably would have tried his best to find another issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

People try something similar down on the Jack Lynch Tunnel if you are coming from the Midleton direction.

3 lanes of traffic with the right hand side lane meant for traffic going to Dublin but people drive down it trying to cut in to go through the tunnel.

Love the look they have when they try cut in front of me. Big hopeful faces looking like butter wouldn't melt.

Indicate all you want my friend, you aint getting in on my lane. Not on my watch :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The Gardai did no such thing, this is just new legislation to deal with the fact that no one was following the old legislation because it wasn't enforced. The problem is that non enforcement cannot be solved with more rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

That left-indicator thing just p!sses people off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Any chance of buses in the bus lane, 24 hour bus lanes on the old N3 and not one bus in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Was a motorcycle garda on the blanchardstown on-ramp to the bypass there this morning, just waiting to nab people.

Of course, this is the same location where people coming down the previous on-ramp sometimes have to fight to merge at the bottom because traffic's jammed up solid, and everyone else is arriving from behind. Oddly, this morning it was ****ing empty on the road, so he stood freezing for no-one's benefit but his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

That motorcycle garda that patrols around the navan road is a major hothead too, he stopped me a couple of years back if its the same one for running an orange light as you come down off the M50 toward the travelodge and he was flipping out, like really going crazy saying I could've easily stopped. I didn't really say anything just kind of shrugged and I think he took my licence for a few minutes but luckily nothing ever came of it.

At the halfway roundabout I actually turn left there in the morning to head down to Rathborne so I do jump into the bus lane a bit early most of the time as traffic in the right lane is usually at a standstill or close to it. I usually use the bus stop or a bit after it as the guide for switching lane and by that stage you can usually see if the garda is there anyway. What I love doing is going into the bus lane early and then driving as slowly as possible up to the roundabout to hold up the people going straight and cutting everyone out LOLOL I'm a bastard

It is a bad road design though as the roundabout isn't being used to its full capacity as a lot of the time the right lane has a car going right towards the park and the left lane is empty so if it was better designed and both lanes were full the backlog back to the M50 wouldn't be as bad. Also the pedestrian facilities for crossing at that roundabout are absolutely dire with people trying to clamber over the crash barrier in the middle to walk towards the phoenix park racecourse apartments so the whole thing needs to be redeveloped really.