Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone reversed into me

• 07-12-2014 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭

At the title says somebody reversed into me today in a carpark :( I could see them coming towards me in my mirror and beeped but they kept going. She seemed decent enough - admitted liability, exchanged details and told me to call her tomorrow once I have a price. She doesn't want to get her insurance involved if possible to save her premium going up. I called the guards straight away then when there was no sign of them 30 mins later called the station and they said as long as she'd admitted liability and we had each others details we didn't need the guards to come..

I'm driving a 2012 ix35 with 3 years Hyundai warranty left so am a bit peeved as I've keep it spotless so far - she's driving an 01 mazda that looks like it's no stranger to being reversed into things(!) Do I go to Hyundai or an independent garage to save her a few quid!? :confused: I've never had anything like this happen before..

(That's steaks of dirt/muck not scratches in the first one! Pity I didn't wash the car as planned - I wouldn't have been in that bloody carpark!:rolleyes:)
    Panel out of place:
    330929.jpg
    Scratches all the way down to the bumper
    330930.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

go to both, get quotes form both, present her with quotes... then she will see wether it is worth her premium going up, do it as quick as possible anyway.. these things happen, though I always think if you can reverse into a car without seeing what you are doing you can reverse into a child without seeing what you are doing, however I wouldn't be a cnut about it either, if there was a reputable garage that can do the work cheaper than the main dealer I would go with them but then thats just me.. good luck, these things happen and I am sure your vehicle will be back to spotless in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

its what you dont see brings price up as bumper bar is bent as bumper is not sitting correctly.are you telling porkies as picture show front bumper and rear bumper with tailgate ajar lol??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

both pics are rear of car...red lights is the clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

greasepalm wrote: »
    its what you dont see brings price up as bumper bar is bent as bumper is not sitting correctly.are you telling porkies as picture show front bumper and rear bumper with tailgate ajar lol??

They're both pics of the back. Light wasn't great as it was getting dark. I had my 2 dogs in the back of the car (they're fine thank god) so had the tailgate like that to let the air in for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

ahh grand size is misleading as it looked like a bonnet with no headlamps,missed the red bit in corner ,poor mutts the stress and a bit of excitement glad they are ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Phone your insurance company let them sort it.
    Your only wasting time getting quotes as soon as the cost is known it will be different story and it will be implied it's too expensive and a friend of a friend can do it for peanuts.

Plus I'm sure you'll want a loan car when it's in being repaired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Ive just had a very similar situation call your insurance. It will cost more than you and her think. The person also wanted to keep insurance out of it but when I presented him with a quote he went down the insurance route. If your like me and need a car to get to work then you have to factor in a hire car if you have no access to a second car. It adds up quickly. Contact your insurance in the morning. Even if she does just pay for the repair its worth having the insurance in place. Let the insurance company do the leg work, after all its what you pay them for.

visual wrote: »
    Your only wasting time getting quotes as soon as the cost is known it will be different story and it will be implied it's too expensive and a friend of a friend can do it for peanuts.

A friend has just said the same thing to me lol! The thought of not having the car for a few days is the most annoying thing. Yes I can get the bus to work but it'll add 2 hours onto my day...to convenience somebody else and save them a few quid for not looking in their mirror. She was a few feet away when I started beeping but didn't stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

To be honest, I'd get the quotes and then present them. It doesn't look like a bad bump so will be relatively cheap to fix and will also mean you don't need to declare a non-fault claim during insurance renewals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

visual wrote: »

Ring yours just for notification purposes, ring hers and lodge a claim against her policy. I've rarely seen a 'private' arrangement work out well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

to be honest, I wouldnt be going getting different quotes...
    pick who You want to repair it, who you feel will do the best job returning it to pre accident condition.. get them to factor in a hire car for the duration of the repair and present it to her.
    I would give her then 24hrs to come up with the cash or I be calling her insurance...

We're actually with the same company (FBD) so should make things easier? Stressed out thinking of it tbh and the hassle it's going to be. Hyundai is nearest to work so I'll go to them first and get a quote and take it from there - they can only go down in price after going to the main dealer! There's a great independent place not to far from my house so if I could work remotely I'd probably just leave it in there - see what my boss says tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 forrest gump

Had the same problem during the summer but the Guards weren’t called which turned out to a big mistake, after swapping details? The communication on her side dropped and was left with no alternative but to go through her insurance company, which it turned out that she was in arrears so as a result her insurance company wouldn't pay up, and the only option that I was left with was to through the motor insurance fund, which takes a long to sort out and would have affected my insurance at renewal as there would have been an open claim. So just be carefully and call the Guards and always get them involve and come out to the scene of a crash, as it won’t come down to your word against another.

First estimate from the dealer is in and around €800 - new bumper and fog. Waiting for the indy place to call me back. The bumper is kinked and fog badly scuffed and loose - didn't realize the fog was that bad until today.
    The woman text me this morning telling me to call as soon as I have the estimate...but I don't think she'll be expecting that much! I'd be expecting around €500 if it was a respray so €800 doesn't seem really high to me?

EDIT - respray and new fog will be €450 max from the independant place..

So which do I go for. I'm not sure how much longer I was going to keep the car so I'm wondering if the cheaper job will affect my resale value!?! She was shocked when I told her - was expecting around €250.. :|

EDIT again - main dealer has come back with the official estimate after 3.5 hours - €1103 :eek:

• Moderators Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Hyundai taking the easy but expensive route to replace everything. Obviously going to cost a nice bit more.

Independent place looks about right for a new fog and a respray (tidying up the scuffs too of course). Is there anything other than the paintwork on the bumper that needs work? ie. The black plastics. I assume those wouldnt be repairable.

My old car was a magnet for people bumping into it, and the indi I used was brilliant, but I did notice some spidering on the bumper a while after I got it fixed (bumper was probably filled and sprayed twice while I had it, so that didnt help. Car was also black, so showed up everything).

Either way, you're not paying for it. Just comes down to a matter of 1) which is more convenient and 2) do you think the indi will do as good a job?

As far as I know, if it goes the insurance route, they'll do their own assessment so her options are probably; not through insurance = ~€450, or through insurance = ~€1100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

tk123 wrote: »
    First estimate from the dealer is in and around €800 - new bumper and fog. Waiting for the indy place to call me back. The bumper is kinked and fog badly scuffed and loose - didn't realize the fog was that bad until today.
    The woman text me this morning telling me to call as soon as I have the estimate...but I don't think she'll be expecting that much! I'd be expecting around €500 if it was a respray so €800 doesn't seem really high to me?

EDIT - respray and new fog will be €450 max from the independant place..

So which do I go for. I'm not sure how much longer I was going to keep the car so I'm wondering if the cheaper job will affect my resale value!?! She was shocked when I told her - was expecting around €250.. :|

EDIT again - main dealer has come back with the official estimate after 3.5 hours - €1103 :eek:

I'd go independant as have done twice in the past with different cars and both times they did a great job.
    No point paying extortionate prices even if it is not you paying. They will do as good a job as the authorised garage and you are doing a good turn for the person even though technically they don't deserve it. Tis the season!

Hyundai taking the easy but expensive route to replace everything. Obviously going to cost a nice bit more.

Independent place looks about right for a new fog and a respray (tidying up the scuffs too of course). Is there anything other than the paintwork on the bumper that needs work? ie. The black plastics. I assume those wouldnt be repairable.

My old car was a magnet for people bumping into it, and the indi I used was brilliant, but I did notice some spidering on the bumper a while after I got it fixed (bumper was probably filled and sprayed twice while I had it, so that didnt help. Car was also black, so showed up everything).

Either way, you're not paying for it. Just comes down to a matter of 1) which is more convenient and 2) do you think the indi will do as good a job?

As far as I know, if it goes the insurance route, they'll do their own assessment so her options are probably; not through insurance = ~€450, or through insurance = ~€1100

My dad told me to go with the indy but I still wasn't sure... I mentioned that the indy guy just took photos of the scratches to show his boss where Hyundai had been under the car taking photos. My dad then got under and is now agreeing with Hyundai - and he always likes to save a few quid so that's saying something!! :rolleyes:

The clips to hold the light are smashed, and the bumper is visibly kinked meaning the whole back of the car is off - just by a few mm but enough to make the tailgate higher than the bumper on the side she hit - I can get my fingers under it. He also thinks the paint will start to splinter or spider as you say around the kink.
    BTW Hyundai call the silver part that's scratches the bumper and the black part moulding to confuse things!

The car was registered in July 2012 - if it was older I'd probably settle for the patch up job but think I want to go with the dealer now to have it back the way it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I would still go through the insurance, that's what you pay them for.

I'd prefer to tbh but she called the dealer there and has arranged payment with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

She has absolutely no control over what you do. It's your decision what route to take. Remember that if it does go through insurance, they generally pay 10% of the value of the repair to cover the impact on the resale price. You'll also want a rental car for the period your car is being repaired, so include that in whatever estimate you give her.

She contacted the dealer this morning and has agreed to pay them directly. Dropping it in on Monday morning, tell drop me around to work and then have it ready for Monday evening.. I've ruined myself driving an auto the last few years and didn't feel confident taking a manual off them :o

All sorted yesterday thank god! Dealer dropped and collected me from work as I was 5 mins around the corner so very handy. The car is perfect and they gave it a quick clean - it smells AMAZING!! I'm thinking of calling them and asking what they sprayed inside it lol! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joe912

why would you go to dealer they will most likely just give the job to somebody else and stick 500 on for doing nothing, also if you trade it in they know it was damaged. by the way that wont be getting a new bumper of anybody even if they charge for one. it has a couple of scrathes and popped out.

joe912 wrote: »
    why would you go to dealer they will most likely just give the job to somebody else and stick 500 on for doing nothing, also if you trade it in they know it was damaged. by the way that wont be getting a new bumper of anybody even if they charge for one. it has a couple of scrathes and popped out.

How will they know that a brand new bumper was damaged?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

How much was the job altogether, I claimed off my insurance this year for about 1400 and my insurance only went up 160 euro, it seems bizarre that she just didn't let it go through insurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Do everything through insurance as others have said.Get the best job done to your car.Also you don't owe this woman anything.I foolishly went down the cheap panel beater route,to save a guy money.In the end I had to threaten him with the guards to even get the money off him.I learnt my lesson...

Johngoose wrote: »
    Do everything through insurance as others have said.Get the best job done to your car.Also you don't owe this woman anything.I foolishly went down the cheap panel beater route,to save a guy money.In the end I had to threaten him with the guards to even get the money off him.I learnt my lesson...

this somehow implies that a company does a better job because the insurance is paying which simply isn't true.
    if the other o.p hasn't got a written admission of liability or video evidence or eyewitness. regardless of insurance how would she prove that it was the other persons fault.

whupdedo wrote: »
    How much was the job altogether, I claimed off my insurance this year for about 1400 and my insurance only went up 160 euro, it seems bizarre that she just didn't let it go through insurance

TBH I forgot to ask - I was just relieved to get the car back on time and not have to deal with it anymore! I wondered at time was she maybe using her age to try and get around me? The quote I was given was €1103 - light, bumper, lower moulding (with sensors put back in) + labour. I got the impression that she's done this more than once and the dealer even said she was a 'seasoned professional'

I beeped at her when she was a good 4 feet away from me and all she would have seen in her mirrors (if she had of looked) was the back of my car with 3 break lights - with the height distance of my crossover compared to her saloon I still don't know how she didn't see me.. Thinking of upgrading my dash cam to a dual channel one with a front and rear feed after all this!

EDITed to add - @ Joe912 she admitted liability from the off so no need to prove anything but I covered my bases just in case and rang Fingal Co. Council to ask them to save the CCTV footage just in case she disputed it once she got the quote..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

rang Fingal Co. Council to ask them to save the CCTV footage just in case she disputed it once she got the quote..

Did they do that for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Had the same problem during the summer but the Guards weren’t called which turned out to a big mistake, after swapping details? The communication on her side dropped and was left with no alternative but to go through her insurance company, which it turned out that she was in arrears so as a result her insurance company wouldn't pay up, and the only option that I was left with was to through the motor insurance fund, which takes a long to sort out and would have affected my insurance at renewal as there would have been an open claim. So just be carefully and call the Guards and always get them involve and come out to the scene of a crash, as it won’t come down to your word against another.

I thought if you are hit by an uninsured driver you claim of your own policy and it won't affect your NCB. Could depend on your type of policy

Did they do that for you?

They can't give it out for data protection purposes but I was told they should be able to save it - I didn't follow up because it wasn't disputed.

you would probably have to go through the gardai to get it.