Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to buy crystal clear PVC tablecloth cover?

• 06-12-2014 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Am wondering where I might be able to quickly source a crystal clear PVC tablecloth cover? I have failed to find any in Ireland - either in a materials' shop, or in an online shop. I tried quite a few UK online stores, and two major US ones and one French one - but they are not delivering to Irish customers, contrary to their promises.

Any further suggestions? Has anyone spotted them anywhere?

I don't want to go as far as Asia because I need this thing to arrive a week before Christmas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Cut out a section out of a poly tunnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

senteacher wrote: »
    Has anyone spotted them anywhere?

Not the really good transparent ones that you can see right through, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Damn, I only have clear ones.

Not CRYSTAL clear ones

Have you tried Guineys? They do tablelcoths, not sure if they have what you want, but worth a try. Also Arnotts do tablecloths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

senteacher wrote: »

Am wondering where I might be able to quickly source a crystal clear PVC tablecloth cover? I have failed to find any in Ireland - either in a materials' shop, or in an online shop. I tried quite a few UK online stores, and two major US ones and one French one - but they are not delivering to Irish customers, contrary to their promises.

Any further suggestions? Has anyone spotted them anywhere?

I don't want to go as far as Asia because I need this thing to arrive a week before Christmas.

Pay me and I'll go :)

Not your typical AH thread, to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

don't know your size table, but if it's for xmas this is nice http://www.ebay.ie/itm/TRANSPARENT-GOLD-STARS-COVER-XMAS-VINYL-WIPE-CLEAN-TABLECLOTH-CO-click-for-sizes-/231360092381?pt=UK_HG_Crockery_RL&var=530622559754&hash=item35de22d8dd

Of course that's stars and not completely clear.

crystal clear one here http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Transparent-Wide-140-Cm-0-1-Mm-Tablecloth-Length-Selectable-Food-Safe-Film-/251736529449?pt=UK_HG_Crockery_RL&var=550662765239&hash=item3a9caa9a29
    ebay from germany, shouldn't take too long to get here.

There's loads, so search ebay yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Ann Summers do pvc stuff,or any good fetish shop maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I haven't seen a PVC tablecloth since my granny died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Are these the ones?

A coffin is usually the norm round here for laying out people rather than the kitchen table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

Why don't you just cling film the table?

dmc17 wrote: »
    Are these the ones?
    Imagine how cool that would be to impress strangers with. .

'So what do you do for a living?'

'I run an online tablecloth shop' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Couldn't afford a coffin?

Edit:

Beaten to it by Kevin McCloud. That dude has grand designs about himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Imagine how cool that would be to impress strangers with. .

'So what do you do for a living?'

'I run an online tablecloth shop' :)

It could lead to some riveting conversation alright.

"We have red ones, green ones, stripy ones, clear ones, crystal clear ones..............zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Have you tried the tablecloth district?

Birneybau wrote: »
    Couldn't afford a coffin?

Edit:

Beaten to it by Kevin McCloud. That dude has grand designs about himself.
    Na, she had it on her table like, it had all types of fruit bowls and stuff in the design. That was thirty odd years ago, thought they went out with wainscotting and three ducks flying up the wall.

Oil Cloth.

Sorry. What ze ell is wainscotting?

Chucken wrote: »
    Oil Cloth.

Sorry. What ze ell is wainscotting?
    Don't know the right name for it, it's what it was called around here, you know the wooden panelling that went half way up the wall in the old houses? I'm sure you remember!

I saw it history books :p

I'm confused as to why anyone wants a see through table cloth though.
    The table can still be seen.

Chucken wrote: »
    I saw it history books :p

I'm confused as to why anyone wants a see through table cloth though.
    The table can still be seen.
    Might be for a picnic on a glass bottomed boat.

Of course! Why didn't I think of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

McGregor Plastics on Sth William St in Dublin.

I used get clear plastic tablecloths to cover the rather nice tablecloths that I had been given, when I had young children.

Maybe the OP has a similar reason.

PS Wainscotting is lovely! Were you thinking of antimacassars? :confused:

I didnt even know those things had a name. My Nana used to call them 'The Lace'
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=antimacassar

McGregor Plastics on Sth William St in Dublin.

I used get clear plastic tablecloths to cover the rather nice tablecloths that I had been given, when I had young children.

Maybe the OP has a similar reason.

PS Wainscotting is lovely! Were you thinking of antimacassars? :confused:
    Ha, like babushka dolls only for tables!

Is it really a thing? I thought I made that word up. Yeah, like half way up with a bit of moulded trim and then some woefully morbid wallpaper above?

Yeah, well, children are really good at destroying nice things! And the table was horrible.

Have another look at wainscotting and report back! :D

Wouldn't a glass table be a better long term solution, plenty there on dungdeal.

Yeah, well, children are really good at destroying nice things! And the table was horrible.

Have another look at wainscotting and report back! :D

I got sidetracked on that site. I WANT this stairs:
    http://lh3.ggpht.com/_83x4Hsgapzk/Sd2T2yfKjeI/AAAAAAAABcE/1QYgHatYPXI/paintedbrightstaircase.designersblock_thumb%5B1%5D.jpg?imgmax=800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 senteacher

Thanks to all who replied. Great suggestions there, such as the glass bottomed boat one!

Looking_around, I tried out your second link and ended up ordering from that. They promise delivery within 13 working days, which is a bit close to Christmas for comfort, but it'll have to do.

Many thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭roroliam

P.W.Shaws Mullingar. McCarthys Prosperous. Staklums Thurles. House to Home Gorey. Joyce'sHomecare New Ross. Take Me Home Nutgrove. Pat Hollands Dundalk . Hegertys Buncrana. Diamonds Stores Donegal. Expert Hardware Kimmage. Joyces 365 Athenry & Tuam. Knocklyon Hardware. Feirne Ennis. Fayles Birr. P Flynn Banagher. Heivans Athlone. Allenstein Carlow ,Clonmel & limerick. Maddens Dunshaughlin. P.Smyth Enniscorthy. Baker&Cooke Portlaoise. Telfords Portlaoise & Mountrath. Providers Longford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Come to my gaff.

roroliam wrote: »
    P.W.Shaws Mullingar. McCarthys Prosperous. Staklums Thurles. House to Home Gorey. Joyce'sHomecare New Ross. Take Me Home Nutgrove. Pat Hollands Dundalk . Hegertys Buncrana. Diamonds Stores Donegal. Expert Hardware Kimmage. Joyces 365 Athenry & Tuam. Knocklyon Hardware. Feirne Ennis. Fayles Birr. P Flynn Banagher. Heivans Athlone. Allenstein Carlow ,Clonmel & limerick. Maddens Dunshaughlin. P.Smyth Enniscorthy. Baker&Cooke Portlaoise. Telfords Portlaoise & Mountrath. Providers Longford.

See this After Hours? Take note. This is how to answer a question. No more of the aul guff :mad:

Wouldn't a glass table be a better long term solution, plenty there on dungdeal.

Oh no, cold! Cold and difficult to clean. Needs to be cleaned from both sides too.

Also not a good idea when small kids are around.

Probably why people are selling them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

heh. I'm guessing someone has directed the OP to Petersons? If not, why not?

My Kitchen table is glass. I keep an oil cloth on it. Keeps scratches off the glass

Just thought Id share that.

(gets coat...:o )

heh. I'm guessing someone has directed the OP to Petersons? If not, why not?

Goddamit. I forgot :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

if it needs to be crystal clear then PVC ain't much use

you could get a sheet of perspex or better still polycarbonate and cut it to the table top size