Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

show me yours and I'll show you mine[kennels that is]

• 06-12-2014 1:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

I built these last year after many years of suffering with substandard kennels,it wasn't cheap costing around 5,000 when totally finished.Best money I ever spent though,the most important thing I did was to roof it which was the biggest cost,the dogs have kingspan boxes to sleep in but curiously they prefer to sleep on the roof.I'd like to see yours please,[kennels of course].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

hathcock wrote: »
    I built these last year after many years of suffering with substandard kennels,it wasn't cheap costing around 5,000 when totally finished.Best money I ever spent though,the most important thing I did was to roof it which was the biggest cost,the dogs have kingspan boxes to sleep in but curiously they prefer to sleep on the roof.I'd like to see yours please,[kennels of course].

Why do you rate the roof so highly?? Often toyed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

great job where did u get those water spouts and how much , i saw thwm before great clean job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

Why do you rate the roof so highly?? Often toyed with it.

the roof is very advantageous in a number of ways,it helps to maintain heat in the kennels to a degree,it keeps the dogs dry in wet weather,also it keeps me dry when I'm cleaning out or doing anything else with the dogs.I can't recommend the roofing highly enough.

snipe49 wrote: »
    great job where did u get those water spouts and how much , i saw thwm before great clean job.

the drinkers are a brilliant job,a supply of water is available to the dogs at all times,they only need to touch them in order to get a drink,even older dogs quickly learn to use them, eliminating the need to constantly be filling bowls, I got them from slaneyside kennels in Wexford,they can be found online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

That's one professional set up in fairness to you, fit looking Dogs as well.

The Aussie wrote: »
    That's one professional set up in fairness to you, fit looking Dogs as well.

Thanks,as they say down my way "I don't know meself since I did it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

[QUOTE=hathcock;93332288 dogs have kingspan boxes to sleep in but curiously they prefer to sleep on the roof.I[/QUOTE]'

Its too warm for your critters!That's why they are crashing out on the roof.:D
    Watch them,I'll bet they go in for awhile and then come out and lie up on the roof?Dogs prefer a warm place to lie on than have an insulated roof.
    So for an experiment take out if there is any sheeting in the roof of one of the boxes and see how they react then?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    '

Its too warm for your critters!That's why they are crashing out on the roof.:D
    Watch them,I'll bet they go in for awhile and then come out and lie up on the roof?Dogs prefer a warm place to lie on than have an insulated roof.
    So for an experiment take out if there is any sheeting in the roof of one of the boxes and see how they react then?

The walls and floors are insulated as well,apparently warm in winter cool in summer,they cost 200 quid each so they had better be good.

the roof is very advantageous in a number of ways,it helps to maintain heat in the kennels to a degree,it keeps the dogs dry in wet weather,also it keeps me dry when I'm cleaning out or doing anything else with the dogs.I can't recommend the roofing highly enough.

They are a fine job in fairness.
    All the professional ones seem to roof em. Not convinced of the need given the cost myself but that's purely preference.
    I used the money to give more space and put in a bigger slab. I will be building better kennels inside the runs this summer all right. I have em drawn on a whiteboard in the garage and costed just need to save up the funds and get the longer evenings to go at em.
    It's actually very like what you have there just inside a pen and all walls if you get me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

The walls and floors are insulated as well,apparently warm in winter cool in summer,they cost 200 quid each so they had better be good.

Ohh they are good ok

All the professional ones seem to roof em. Not convinced of the need given the cost myself but that's purely preference.
    I used the money to give more space and put in a bigger slab. I will be building better kennels inside the runs this summer all right. I have em drawn on a whiteboard in the garage and costed just need to save up the funds and get the longer evenings to go at em.
    It's actually very like what you have there just inside a pen and all walls if you get me
    Its a costly business alright but well worth any money spent,I strongly recommend that you go all the way and roof it,you won't know yourself if you do.

If u look around u could pick up some good secondhand sheet for the roof. Its a great job for pups if there covered over. Make sure to put a good fall on the slab and a gully to take away the water.

My pens are 3 X 13' x 20'. To roof them would cost a few arms and legs.
    I'm just building a kennel within the middle pen that's all I'll be roofing. I'll look for a picture to explain.

As for falls they fall into the centre already with a gully.
    They have timber houses for now and when cold I have a spare room in the garage. The new big kennel is to replace this.

I want to place a new full height kennel at the back of the middle pen that all 3 can access and I can walk in.
    This will be roofed but only the Kennel part not the pen.

41BCB16A-57B1-4EA7-9127-1EEAD97AA003-247-0000004983F852DA_zps6c9e4618.jpg

F0445329-7FFC-4B9F-9CAC-E860FD80184C-247-00000047929DD06E_zps1b279014.jpg

My pens are 3 X 13' x 20'. To roof them would cost a few arms and legs.
    I'm just building a kennel within the middle pen that's all I'll be roofing. I'll look for a picture to explain.

As for falls they fall into the centre already with a gully.
    They have timber houses for now and when cold I have a spare room in the garage. The new big kennel is to replace this.
    That's big all right pal. well done Rome was'nt built in a day.;)

I want to place a new full height kennel at the back of the middle pen that all 3 can access and I can walk in.

Great looking job. How much for the mesh panels each.There a great job.

great potential there,I'd love to see it roofed,but then I'm not paying for it.

snipe49 wrote: »
    Great looking job. How much for the mesh panels each.There a great job.

Mesh incl post with feet and bolts cost a grand or so. Was a year or 2 ago and have told the mrs so many lies about it i forget :D
    Ah It was 1k to 1100 max. 10m of concrete in there, gates, gullys, screeds, timber, drinker etc. I upgraded my drill at the time also so costs got rolled together but all in all about 2.5k maybe. That was going at it myself.

I find with it open the wind blows through it and it dries in no time.

great potential there,I'd love to see it roofed,but then I'm not paying for it.

Well I tell you what, Chip in half there and we'll go at it :pac:

I will if you gimme the pointer:;)

He'd only make a feck of you that fella :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

here is mine.adding an other pen to it so will make 4 and on the slab putting in a timber one for training/holding dogs.when the season is over of course[how do you insert big images]

allan450 wrote: »
    here is mine.adding an other pen to it so will make 4 and on the slab putting in a timber one for training/holding dogs.when the season is over of course[how do you insert big images]

I just take photos,save to desktop and upload from there.fantastic kennels by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

their temp for now but happy with them.il be happier when i get an other pen added on and the timber ones up.i was talking to you before would you believe over the phone only coped it when i seen your kennels

top man

[how do you insert big images]

Create a photobucket account & you can copy & paste from there. You can even download the app & do it straight from the phone which is what I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

Not as good as other lads but does the job will be roofing during the summer. ;)

IMAG0283_zpsoqoxsgas.jpg

IMAG0525_zpssv0dgfd9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Spaniel heaven

Im jealous lads very jealous

Not as good as other lads but does the job will be roofing during the summer. ;)

IMAG0283_zpsoqoxsgas.jpg

IMAG0525_zpssv0dgfd9.jpg

Nout wrong with that lad! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Liam_D

I only have the one dog so this is perfect for him, I made a "pallet" from bits of fencing D rail and he sleeps on this most of the time instead of inside the box. They like being off the ground prob why yours like sleeping on the roof.

Liam_D wrote: »
    I only have the one dog so this is perfect for him, I made a "pallet" from bits of fencing D rail and he sleeps on this most of the time instead of inside the box. They like being off the ground prob why yours like sleeping on the roof.

1st class job

IMAG0283_zpsoqoxsgas.jpg

IMAG0525_zpssv0dgfd9.jpg

excellent layout,when roofed it'll be terrific,nothing wrong with it as it is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

Great photos lads, absolutely fantastic kennels...lucky doggies!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Woodcock shot

Great photos lads, absolutely fantastic kennels...lucky doggies!!

I'll 2nd that, ye'd put mine to shame