Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you didn't know your age: How old would you be?

• 01-12-2014 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭

I'm sure this thread has been done before but I've been applying to stuff like visa's at the minute and its sort of brought home to me my actual age.

So how old do you feel?

Mentally I feel like I am about 25-26, the idea of settling down to one job for the rest of my life or buying a house in the suburbs freaks me out a little and I still love a good wild night at the weekend if its available and the idea of seeing a million new places. I've also only recently only reached the same bank balance I had at that age :(

Physically though I probably look about 35 even though I'm in better shape physically than when I was younger and I'm assured men only get better with age :p (and don't anybody dare contradict that statement :mad: )

I'm 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

The same age that I am, the only age to be, 35.

There is no cooler age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The same age you were.

Is this a conceptual question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm 39 and always think in my head I'm around 25 . 6 years ago when I got married and bought our house I felt way to young, but since I had kids I feel even younger.

I just love the craic and excuse to mess around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

If I didn't know my age I wouldn't be able to tell you my age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm 31 with the face of a 25 year old and the body of a 28 year old. However I have the sex drive of a 40 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I'm 31 with the face of a 25 year old and the body of a 28 year old

I'm reading that in a Buffalo Bill voice :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Ohh and I have the toenails of a 70 year old. Filthy yellow things. Toenail fungus is an incredibly difficult thing to get rid off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

In my head I am 25, my body screams 45 but I am 41.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I look and feel and AM 34. I've always felt my age and never really got the "ooooh I feel like an 18 year-old trapped in a 35 year-old body" thing. I haven't got my **** together at all but not all 34 year-olds do, so I suppose I'm one of those kinds of 34 year-olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I dont drink, smoke, go out and think all the forementioned are useless wastes of time and money. I must be 60+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Schwiiing wrote: »
    I dont drink, smoke, go out and think all the forementioned are useless wastes of time and money. I must be 60+.

Make that 90+.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I feel like I'm in my early twenties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

Living age; 21
    Look; about 16 ):
    feel; 40+!!
    I'm quite ahead of people my age from life experiences, mature and don't really get along with people my age; I rarely drink or go out, don't really socialise much, haven't gone on a holiday since 2008 (before leaving home).... I even feel like I should be in a house than a bedsit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Always felt younger than my age, but in recent years - possibly even just months - I am starting to feel mid 30s (which is my age). Can't go out on the razz anymore, can't do the very late night/late lie-in thing. If I go to bed really late, I'll still wake up early. I like the idea of a house in the suburbs and just going to friends' houses rather than going out, and I like housekeeping.

I've had good innings - it's about time I grew up. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

About 17. No sense of responsibility, free spirit, bit of a party animal, like going out, knacker drinking, pre drinking so hard I'm too drunk to drink when I get out, I like dying my hair strange colours, like purple, I get on really well with younger people, the idea of settling down almost gives me hives, I go out, party hard all night, and go to work still ****ed up with hardly any sleep and I am 26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

About 17. No sense of responsibility, free spirit, bit of a party animal, like going out, knacker drinking, pre drinking so hard I'm too drunk to drink when I get out, I like dying my hair strange colours, like purple, I get on really well with younger people, the idea of settling down almost gives me hives, and I am 26
    To me that's normal. I didn't feel inclined towards settling down until 10 years after being 26. Enjoy your youth as long as possible - you've long enough to be growing old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I'm 30 in 2 months :cool:

Look about my age, maybe a tad younger, 27-28ish.

Feel about 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I'm 24, look around 18 (hate getting IDed at this point) feel older though, maybe 30? Feel ready to settle down and have kids :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

If mirrors were never invented id know im 22ish with the body of a 16 year old, thats who I am and im staying that way !feic the mirrors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was walking over a bridge and there was this homeless buck snoring his head of and I was a wee bit jealous!

Sign of getting old I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I was walking over a bridge and there was this homeless buck snoring his head of and I was a wee bit jealous!

Sign of getting old I think!

That's a sign of something alright... not necessarily a sign of getting old though?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Age is stupid. We define our age based on a 365 day year. What if a year was known to be 300 days? We would grow up faster and get our pension earlier and become an adult earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

Im going to be 5 next year

SMJSF wrote: »
    I even feel like I should be in a house than a bedsit!

Thats because nobody should be ever be in a bedsit !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

I'm 24 but look 17/18

I'm a dry s***e though. So 80. I've never drank and the only drug I've taken is paracetemol. I hate loud music and the thought of ONS and swapping spit with people I've just met makes me gag.

I look and feel and AM 34. I've always felt my age and never really got the "ooooh I feel like an 18 year-old trapped in a 35 year-old body" thing. I haven't got my **** together at all but not all 34 year-olds do, so I suppose I'm one of those kinds of 34 year-olds.

The feeling your that much younger does strike me as weird but as more and more of my peers settle down I really get what people mean now, I guess its about being out of sync with the stereotypical life stages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

So we were guessing ages recently and someone guessed me to be 28
    Which is about what I feel and act

However I rember being sent round to all the neighbours houses to tune in channel four when it first appeared
    I was 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Depends:
    When I try to run I am 75.
    When i am looking at TV 35.
    When I look in mirror 48.
    When I look in mirror naked 65.
    When I am singing 22.
    When I am on computer 104

Lots more but I won't bore you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I'm 23, look no older than 18 without a beard so I'm told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

LoganRice wrote: »
    Im going to be 5 next year
    i feel ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,434 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

SMJSF wrote: »
    Living age; 21
    Look; about 16 ):
    feel; 40+!!
    I'm quite ahead of people my age from life experiences, mature and don't really get along with people my age; I rarely drink or go out, don't really socialise much, haven't gone on a holiday since 2008 (before leaving home).... I even feel like I should be in a house than a bedsit!

You sound like any average 21 year old I know tbh.

I'm 38 myself, juvenile sense of humour aside I'd say I was mentally around the same as the average 40 year old. Physically though due to various issues I'm like "How the fcuk am I still alive?" I'd be that old! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

The feeling your that much younger does strike me as weird but as more and more of my peers settle down I really get what people mean now, I guess its about being out of sync with the stereotypical life stages.

Yeah, a good few of my close friends have settled down in the last few years out of nowhere but enough haven't for me not to feel like the odd one out. I suppose if they all were, I'd feel left out.

It's pretty much the case that the ones who stayed in Ireland have done all the marrying and having kids malarky and those of us who left, haven't yet. I think the stages are not as a rigid as they were at all. People having kids later in life, going back to study something else to change career (like me) in their 30s and even later, choosing to rent etc.

I might've felt differently in another time but I don't feel odd living in a small, rented flat in the centre of a European capital with Himself in this day and age. Anything goes these days, I think. I'm in grand nick and have my health but then most 34 year-olds do.

I think some people equate getting older with getting boring and sitting in watching telly all the time, so perhaps that's why I feel my age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

A very young 18 and I still look it besides being 23. I was a mentally mature 18 year old, made teenage years hell, till everybody caught up, I thought the problem was partly me until I went to college.

My dad is 59 and he looks just about 40, though he has the whole Patrick Stewart going on and has been bald for years too, I think we're the same apart from baldness. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I feel my age - 25. I look about 17 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

EazyD wrote: »
    I'm 23, look no older than 18 without a beard so I'm told.

You look better with out the beard miss

i feel ya!

You'll get jail for that!

You sound like any average 21 year old I know tbh.

I'm 38 myself, juvenile sense of humour aside I'd say I was mentally around the same as the average 40 year old. Physically though due to various issues I'm like "How the fcuk am I still alive?" I'd be that old! :pac:

I'm a bit like yourself, a few years older, but juvenile sense of humour and loads of medical issues, so happy to act child like whilst I'm still around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

40 on Mondays. 35 on Tues, Wed & Thurs. 25 on Friday and 60 on Saturday mornings. On Sundays it depends on how bad Friday and Saturday were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

I'm sure this thread has been done before but I've been applying to stuff like visa's at the minute and its sort of brought home to me my actual age.

So how old do you feel?

Mentally I feel like I am about 25-26, the idea of settling down to one job for the rest of my life or buying a house in the suburbs freaks me out a little and I still love a good wild night at the weekend if its available and the idea of seeing a million new places. I've also only recently only reached the same bank balance I had at that age :(

Physically though I probably look about 35 even though I'm in better shape physically than when I was younger and I'm assured men only get better with age :p (and don't anybody dare contradict that statement :mad: )

I'm 30

That is not a very big difference TBH

About 16. Drove past a few teenagers who were on their way into a field with bags of cans on Saturday night in that cold weather without a care in the world. I gave them what looked like a disapproving look but it was really a look of utter jealousy. I'm 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

So how old do you feel?

I'm 30
    Going back to college hopefully next year, the whole idea has me feeling like a teenager again. Unfortunately I probably look my age, thirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Vomit wrote: »
    That is not a very big difference TBH

It totally is! I'm 26 and it'll be 100 years a different lifetime before I'm 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭shuffle65

I will turn 50 next year...

50?

Jesus there's no way I feel 50....

Maybe within the next 9 months I'll grow into my age... (I hope not)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

It will be my 10th birthday soon. :) 10th birthday since I started my 20's. :( That means I'm old now. I still feel like a teenager. Sorry, I meant I still feel a teenager, she's getting a restraining order. :(

Well on the one hand, I have had a huuuuge amount of that thing they call 'life experience'. By 22 I had done the things that most people my current age would be doing (and some things they should never have to do). If I think of all that, I'd be nearer 40.

On the other hand, I'm a total messer, giddy, don't take life too seriously etc. so probably doing now what my 22 year old self should have been doing! Except now I earn decent money and can afford adventures! (Still the sensible head of a grown up though :().

Looks wise, I reckon I look around 28 maybe.

Aul one so I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm 39, look 39 and act like a 39 year old.

I did the whole beering and hooring thing in my 20s, a quiet pint in the pub suits me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Unfortunately,

I recently stopped dying my hair,

I have gone from a late 30's to mid 50's in 3 months.

Don't want to go back to dying my hair, most women my age dye theirs and I wanted to be different

Not sure I wanted to add so many years years to my life though

Think I am gonna have to rethink my hair dye policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭shuffle65

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    Unfortunately,

I recently stopped dying my hair,

I have gone from a late 30's to mid 50's in 3 months.

Don't want to go back to dying my hair, most women my age dye theirs and I wanted to be different

Not sure I wanted to add so many years years to my life though

Think I am gonna have to rethink my hair dye policy

Unless it really suits you grey, dye it! Plenty of time for letting it go grey...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

In my head: 35.

My actual age: 23.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

My actual age: 23.....

Mwahahahahah!

You told me you were 45?!!!