Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyber Monday

• 01-12-2014 8:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

Are you buying anything in this new Cyber Monday deal thing retailers are doing? We're all americanised this Christmas! Gotta say I don't normally buy online for the sake of it but I am looking around...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Just like on Friday will be going out of my way to avoid spending a cent today either online or in the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

Just like on Friday will be going out of my way to avoid spending a cent today either online or in the shops.
    That'll teach 'em to sell things to you at a cheaper price. The bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Elessar wrote: »
    We're all americanized this Christmas!

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

If there's good deals on then why not?? I wouldn't usually get involved in the 'sales' or anything but I took a look around during 'black Friday' and ended up buying a new TV and saving a few hundred quid on it's regular price...win win really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sure who doesn't like a wee bit of Cyber on a Monday morning ....

ASL OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

Irishcrx wrote: »
    If there's good deals on then why not?? I wouldn't usually get involved in the 'sales' or anything but I took a look around during 'black Friday' and ended up buying a new TV and saving a few hundred quid on it's regular price...win win really..
    Ah but did you actually need a new TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Irishcrx wrote: »
    and saving a few hundred quid

I also saved hundreds on not bothering getting involved in the frenzy buying stuff I don't need...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Skip to their beat, buy buy buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Nope, I'm broke after the weekend!!

You don't really need to go out of your way to avoid buying stuff online though, do you? In fact, it takes a lot less effort not to buy something online today, doesn't it?

Not quite as dramatic though as just answering "no" to the OP I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

cml387 wrote: »

Well yeah actually , my old one had a broken screen..

cml387 wrote: »

I most certainly did not need a new TV. My TV was absolutely perfect, albeit 5 inches shorter than what I thought I actually bought 8 years ago but perfect nonetheless.

However, my new TV is pretty feckin fantastic with everything built in so I don't actually need to record to my UPC box any more, and Netflix is right there without having to turn on another device.

Feckin technology wha.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 Karpackie

Buying sh1t you don't really need is fun. I want that yoke that Tubridy was zooming around on the Toy Show on Friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

The shoes i was looking at last friday went up €13 today so cyber Monday can kiss my hoop!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Had a look, but to be honest there's nothing I really need, so no.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Good work.

The bulwark of Americanized capitalism is teetering on its very foundations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Mmmmm delicious delicious consumerism....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm sitting here waiting for the flash sale of depleted uranium to start.

You never think you need 30mm caliber ammunition but when there's a sale, whaddya know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The hilarious thing about Black Friday is that if you went online you would get the discount without all the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

However, my new TV is pretty feckin fantastic with everything built in so I don't actually need to record to my UPC box any more, and Netflix is right there without having to turn on another device.

Feckin technology wha.

So your feed from your UPC box is no captured on an internal hard drive? :confused:

Also: say wha u want girl but derz nutin beter den havin da xfactor on da big scren wen ur munchin on ur chineze yum yum nigtz in r da best and no guards der to kil ur good tim

Cormac... wrote: »
    So your feed from your UPC box is no captured on an internal hard drive? :confused:

Also: say wha u want girl but derz nutin beter den havin da xfactor on da big scren wen ur munchin on ur chineze yum yum nigtz in r da best and no guards der to kil ur good tim

The UPC box records things to its own hard drive, however, if you no longer subscribe to a channel that you recorded from you are not able to watch the programme. It's linked to your UPC subscription.

I'll have to take your word on X Factor, I don't watch it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I bought a pair of Doc Boots for my grandson. They were €78 on Friday.
    With discount and a further 15% off with a code, just after 12 last night I got the boots for €10.20 :D
    They had sold out of all sizes except his next size up so he's all set for spring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Saw some deals, waited for them, but only 10% off RAM. Bullsh|t, tbh. Saw some Android mini-PC, but was still overprice in the "deal", so will check the Chinese sites for what I'm looking for for the Android box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I really need a new computer/laptop so I thought I'd wait till today. The bargains aren't that great really. There's a few quid off but nothing amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

The UPC box records things to its own hard drive, however, if you no longer subscribe to a channel that you recorded from you are not able to watch the programme. It's linked to your UPC subscription.

I know that :) I worked for a TV supplier for a while :) ... what I wasn't sure from your OP was that you said you 'don't need to record to your UPC box anymore', does that mean the TV has it's own hard drive and you recording onto the TV etc. It's a bit confusing :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Any good places for Nurtibullets?