Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are people getting more agressive / short tempered

• 01-12-2014 4:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭

I'm encountering more rudeness and verbally Agressive than I ever have before.
    I don't think I've changed my attitude to people but I'm encountering hostility way more often these days. These are non www people, everyday meetings.

Are people quicker to jump down your throat these days?

I was speaking to a doctor friend recently and he said it and I didn't get a chance to ask him to elaborate on it, so I'm asking you !

Well are you angry ! Should I not be asking ! Feck off OP I hear you say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

worded wrote: »

I'm encountering more rudeness and verbally Agressive than I ever have before.
    I don't think I've changed my attitude to people but I'm encountering hostility way more often these days. These are non www people, everyday meetings.

Are people quicker to jump down your throat these days?

I was speaking to a doctor friend recently and he said it and I didn't get a chance to ask him to elaborate on it, so I'm asking you !

Well are you angry ! Should I not be asking ! Feck off OP I hear you say!

Just wasted 15 seconds of my life that I will never get back reading that absolute drivel and another 20 typing this. Feck sake. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr Im putting you on my list of enemies OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Without a doubt. People are living their lives through social media and becoming very cocky/rude/offensive because of it. Its a rude and welcome awakening when someone whos an asshole on the internet gets a verbal/physical smack in the real world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

More people are probably too used to not having to face consequences for what they do and say online and on their phones and possibly begin having trouble differentiating acceptable behaviour in the real world from the online.

Like so:

stephen-forgets-that-he-isnt-on-the-internet.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I don't think we are. I think depending on where you go, even in the online space, you're going to meet a minority of people whom you just don't gel with for whatever reason. That's all they ever will be, a minority.

Most people aren't rude or unpleasant, certainly not in my experience anyway. I've met far more pleasant people in my lifetime than I have unpleasant individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Yes. see the way folk drive.. a recent thread on car crashes.. There is little courtesy left..No manners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

My sister lives in London and she was saying it, she has lived there 20 + years.

I must ask the doc friend what he meant.

I'm increasingly noticing Agressive behaviour myself which
    Made me start this thread. People are under a lot of pressure with mortgages / rents and life but I'm the same and don't go around being a bolix.

Im having a tough time this year but I'm flabbergasted at some people, mainly strangers I encounter sometimes in their work places etc

I don't think we are. I think depending on where you go, even in the online space, you're going to meet a minority of people whom you just don't gel with for whatever reason. That's all they ever will be, a minority.

Most people aren't rude or unpleasant, certainly not in my experience anyway. I've met far more pleasant people in my lifetime than I have unpleasant individuals.

Bit I'm noticing a higher a lung of people are quick to get in you face.

Perhaps we are becoming more like America and the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

People are getting stupider and it's difficult to be tolerant with so many stupid people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have found that Americans are some of the most polite and well mannered people around, now the Spanish ,wow.

It does seem that our moral values are getting lower as Ben said already with a lot of people interacting on the social websites it's a lot easier to be an asswhole.

Thank you for reading this :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Without doubt OP. In general people are more self centred and aggressive than at any other time I can remember. Just drive around the streets of Dublin in particular to witness this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

You startin OP?

i.e, in general, people are getting a bit more aggressive, maybe they're having to, just to stay afloat. I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

You startin OP?

i.e, in general, people are getting a bit more aggressive, maybe they're having to, just to stay afloat. I dunno.

I feel pumped today. I'm going to rip someone's head off!

A person I know who works with highly stressed individuals said the best thing to do with someone like this is thank them and blind them with kindness. It diffuses them.

I'm more the bull when attacked and attack back, but it can be exhausting and zap energy.

Don't argue with a fool, they will drag you to their level and best you with experience, same perhaps true of narky people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Aggressive? No, I don't think so. Rude? No I don't think so, either.

Assertive? I think so. It's been ingrained in the Irish psyche for a long time to be meek and non-confrontational and be polite in public and grumble in private.

This is eroding as people get better exposure to other cultures and less of the Catholic hang-ups and so aren't made to feel guilty for simply asking for what they want and complaining when they don't get it.

A lot of people have difficulty discerning the difference between assertive and rude though (regardless of whether they're giving or receiving), which is why some people may think that people are more "rude" nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Definitely. For all our airs and and graces and thinking we are so highly evolved and sophisticated, most of us are just a week's starvation away from turning on each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

A person I know who works with highly stressed individuals said the best thing to do with someone like this is thank them and blind them with kindness. It diffuses them.

I'm more the bull when attacked and attack back, but it can be exhausting and zap energy.

Don't argue with a fool, they will drag you to their level and best you with experience, same perhaps true of narky people

Oh yeah, next time a guy smashes my car up with a bat it would be best to go over and give him a hug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

We were told at school to always treat others as you would like to be treated. I try to do this as much as I can but some people make it so hard. I guess as the saying goes all you can do is smile in the face of ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Well, they did invent aggression and are the only countries in the world in which you witness aggressive people, I suppose.

Me too, but I'm meeting a higher amount of rude / unpleasant people recently.
    Hopefully it's just a run of bad luck.
    But I've a feeling people are under stress themselves and are more likely to vent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think there is definitely an increase in aggressive online behaviour.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭neil_

Maybe you're all just becoming more annoying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I took a couple of days off work (gammy leg + mental recuperation time) and spent the whole morning watching cat videos. I was zen all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Heckler wrote: »
    Without a doubt. People are living their lives through social media and becoming very cocky/rude/offensive because of it. Its a rude and welcome awakening when someone whos an asshole on the internet gets a verbal/physical smack in the real world.
    I think so online too. Wouldn't go near an online discussion on Facebook, BreakingNews.ie, Politics.ie, online newspapers or - heaven help us! - TheJournal.ie. Unreal nastiness. E.g. if someone offers a view towards the water charges (and I think IW is a farce too) that's a bit more moderate than "Burn Kenny and Burton at the stake" they get ganged up on and accused of being shills. The only place I'd get involved in discussions online is here (and only certain discussions) because people generally have their heads screwed on more, there are far more rational people, and it's moderated (not saying there aren't the headcases but it's still nothing like the aforementioned online spaces).
    I think there is definitely an overall increase in defiance across Irish society since Anglo and everything else coming home to roost, and this is a positive of course, but not when it gets nasty and directed towards people who aren't to blame.
    There is also a staggering sense of entitlement/abdication of personal responsibility in Irish society. If you deal with the public you'll know what I mean.

I think there is definitely an increase in aggressive online behaviour.

I'm referring to person to person a abrasive / Agressive behaviour

Don't post back a reply or I will deal with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

u wot m8? ill rek u and burn down your gaff you soft cnut shut ya face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Robsweezie wrote: »
    u wot m8? ill rek u and burn down your gaff you soft cnut shut ya face

You vicious bawstard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

I have. I no longer let fools waste my time or set my agenda: instead of polite I just tell them to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

A sizable number of the population are struggling since all the cutbacks, increases in taxes and unemployment. People are more stressed. Working longer hours for less money.

Suicide is a major problem in this country.

When people are under pressure and are stressed they are liable to be unreasonable or angry.

Maybe there are some very good reasons why people are angry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You're allowed to be angry and stressed.

You're not allowed to let that anger and stress turn you into a dickhead. Deal with it like an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

I have. I no longer let fools waste my time or set my agenda: instead of polite I just tell them to **** off.
    That seems more like assertiveness - not necessarily aggression. It's aggression when the person on the receiving end *doesn't* deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭berger89

working in retail i can definitely agree that people are becoming more and more ignorant and rude. there doesn't seem to be any such thing as good manners, politeness, please/thank you.
    and because of this, i find myself becoming a more short tempered, easily frustrated person :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Bof No1

I think Jobeenfitz hit the nail on the head, when he spoke about all the pressure people are under since the start of the fitup of Ireland by the EEU and ECB. Unfortunately, because we've been 'colonised' for a long time, our state of mind has not been allowed to grow to acceptable norms, I offer our loss of touch with reality during the 'celtic tiger' as one example of this. We started earning a few bob more than normal and suddenly, the dogs in the street are buying houses in Spain, France etc., we lost the run of ourselves, because it was something we weren't used to. The same situation is happening now, because we're in a worse situation than before the 'celtic tiger' and don't know how to handle it! It's my opinion, that we're being rude and aggressive to the wrong people, the normal 'joe soap' in the street is just lashing out at whoever crosses his/her path, not realising, that the people in authority are the ones who should be in the firing line. I'm from Cork, the so called rebel county and I have to say, I'm embarrassed at the way we've rolled over to have our tummy tickled. We don't have to be violent in our actions, a simple campaign of civil disobedience would soon have the powers that be sitting up and taking notice, there aren't enough prison places or Gardai to solve the problems this would cause, if enough people were to enact such a situation. Sorry for the rant, just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I saw a chap on the street jumping up and down and shouting 21 today.
    I felt happy for him and went over to congratulate him.
    He punched me in the face, started jumping up and down again and shouting
    22 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

People in general I'm not too sure about. But motorists definitely seem to be more short tempered and aggressive than ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

seamus wrote: »
    Aggressive? No, I don't think so. Rude? No I don't think so, either.

Assertive? I think so. It's been ingrained in the Irish psyche for a long time to be meek and non-confrontational and be polite in public and grumble in private.

This is eroding as people get better exposure to other cultures and less of the Catholic hang-ups and so aren't made to feel guilty for simply asking for what they want and complaining when they don't get it.

A lot of people have difficulty discerning the difference between assertive and rude though (regardless of whether they're giving or receiving), which is why some people may think that people are more "rude" nowadays.

Assertiveness is one of those buzz words that has taken prominence over the last few years. You're right, people should be able to say no without feeling guilty over it.

But for the most part, every time I come across someone who bangs on about being assertive, it's just a mask for them to be a prick. They think they're being assertive but the reality is much different.

I'd rather deal with someone who knows they're a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Assertiveness is one of those buzz words that has taken prominence over the last few years. You're right, people should be able to say no without feeling guilty over it.

But for the most part, every time I come across someone who bangs on about being assertive, it's just a mask for them to be a prick. They think they're being assertive but the reality is much different.

Yep. Assertive doesn't mean that you have to be an asshole, but too many people use it as an excuse to be like that.

It's similar to someone saying "I'm entitled to my opinion". Yep, you're entitled to it buy if you want the freedom to form and express opinions than you have a responsibility to actually think about them. And I'm allowed say you're wrong.

It's one thing to be an eejit and to know it

Bit to be a fcukin eejit and not to know it !

It's one thing to be an eejit and to know it

Bit to be a fcukin eejit and not to know it !

It's perfectly normal

Grayson wrote: »
    It's perfectly normal

Normal - that's an interesting link

Funny

The phenomenon was first tested in a series of experiments published in 1999 by David Dunning and Justin Kruger of the Department of Psychology, Cornell University.[2][3] The study was inspired by the case of McArthur Wheeler, a man who robbed two banks after covering his face with lemon juice in the mistaken belief that, as lemon juice is usable as invisible ink, it would prevent his face from being recorded on surveillance cameras.

I'm referring to person to person a abrasive / Agressive behaviour

And I'm referring to online aggressive behaviour.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Thats the difference between assertiveness and aggression

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Areyouwell wrote: »
    People in general I'm not too sure about. But motorists definitely seem to be more short tempered and aggressive than ever.

Always thought it was funny how some fuking fools go mad doing hand gestures and shouting in their cars about having to wait an extra minute or two. It's like they feel invincible in their cars because I'd hope there's no way they'd act like that beside other people. How hard is it to just stop and think for a minute that every single car on the road has another person in it who is trying to get home just like themselves?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I blame the shite music that is out nowadays.

Back in the day when Slayer, Megadeth, Metallica and Pantera were hitting top of the charts, people were able to get the aggression out by listening to it in a controlled environment. The music itself was very good and technically great.

Nowadays you have Justin Bieber, Flo Rida, Ed Sheeran, One Direction etc. topping the charts it just makes you angry at the people that buy that ****.

That's my theory anyway. ;)

Normal - that's an interesting link

Funny

The phenomenon was first tested in a series of experiments published in 1999 by David Dunning and Justin Kruger of the Department of Psychology, Cornell University.[2][3] The study was inspired by the case of McArthur Wheeler, a man who robbed two banks after covering his face with lemon juice in the mistaken belief that, as lemon juice is usable as invisible ink, it would prevent his face from being recorded on surveillance cameras.

And he thought he was a fcuking genius :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

cournioni wrote: »
    I blame the shite music that is out nowadays.

Back in the day when Slayer, Megadeth, Metallica and Pantera were hitting top of the charts, people were able to get the aggression out by listening to it in a controlled environment. The music itself was very good and technically great.

Nowadays you have Justin Bieber, Flo Rida, Ed Sheeran, One Direction etc. topping the charts it just makes you angry at the people that buy that ****.

That's my theory anyway. ;)

I wish to subscribe to your newsletter...I agree, I think it's like these artists are reflecting that people today are assholes, art or lack thereof representing the prevailing nature/mindset of people in a particular era. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Thats the difference between assertiveness and aggression

I know that, many people don't is what I'm saying. They think and call themselves assertive, when really, they're just a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

justin bieber and one direction are the f*cking blame..sorry i didnt mean to get angry