Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cow with no milk

• 29-11-2014 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭

ive a big fat 4 year old limo cow calved with a week. she has always had heeps of milk but year has noting, calf in hungry. any reasons why this has happening.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Take your €400 odd for the calf. Bang with the cow and replace with a suitable heifer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Take your €400 odd for the calf. Bang with the cow and replace with a suitable heifer.

Seen very good continental calfs going for €450 In the mart. Then I seen ones reared going for €400 😳😳.. How this happens I don't know.!

OP dry cows making good money at the minute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

topgeas wrote: »
    ive a big fat 4 year old limo cow calved with a week. she has always had heeps of milk but year has noting, calf in hungry. any reasons why this has happening.:confused:

Did ya strig out each quarter? Is there milk there at all or only a small amount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

Did ya strig out each quarter? Is there milk there at all or only a small amount?
    milk there but very little. i feed with last night so she could build up the milk. ill know soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Throw the dairy Nuts into her. If that dosen't work, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Maybe she calved before her time. I agree throw her lots of dairy nuts, mightn't be any harm to give her a shot of something in case she's a bit sore or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Ask the vet, I had one before like that, the vet gave her an injection that made her come into milk. I`m not sure of the name of it but i know its out their.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Oxytocin is the name of it, altho sometimes they may not give a drop without after, best to talk to vet first. Did she clean alrite? If she is over fat she mite have a metabolic disorder maybe.?

Milked out wrote: »
    Oxytocin is the name of it, altho sometimes they may not give a drop without after, best to talk to vet first. Did she clean alrite? If she is over fat she mite have a metabolic disorder maybe.?
    ya she over fat. she well fit to kill. around 750 -800kgs. got oxytocin yesterday. ill give her few days on dairy nuts as well and see what happens. ill update in few days.

sent her off yesterday. agent phoned today , she made 1250. she had melted a bit since calving. happy enough with price. will have returns in day or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

topgeas wrote: »
    sent her off yesterday. agent phoned today , she made 1250. she had melted a bit since calving. happy enough with price. will have returns in day or so.

Not a bad price , what did you do with the calf ?

stuck him under hereford x cow. he flying. cant beat the hereford for milk. he also helps himself to 1 or 2 others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Bazzers

I had a limo heifer and calf , super lm heifer calf, but the cow doesn't have alot of milk ,do heifers have less milk first time round? should I Ai her and sell her as an incalf?

Any advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

They'd have a small bit less milk as a heifer but from my experience is that if she's lacking as a heifer for milk, she'll forever be lacking.

Are you giving her any dairy nuts to help her along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Bazzers wrote: »
    I had a limo heifer and calf , super lm heifer calf, but the cow doesn't have alot of milk ,do heifers have less milk first time round?

They certainly do. Particularly a heifer still growing and developing herself. It's likely she'll never be the milkiest, but she could turn out have enough just the same.

shes on a mixture of dairy /beef nuts, so I'll se what kind of a job she'll make on the calf and might sell her on as an incalf if thinks don't work out,shes just gone a 3 yr old. Thanks lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Have one here now with no milk. Going to put the calf on milk replacer and mart the cow. I bought her in-calf. don't sell her incalf your just giving someone else your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Feckthis wrote: »
    Have one here now with no milk. Going to put the calf on milk replacer and mart the cow. I bought her in-calf. don't sell her incalf your just giving someone else your problem.

Do suckler cows get ketosis?. Easy to check. Happens in dairy cows and they get a serious drop in milk because of it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Do suckler cows get ketosis?. Easy to check. Happens in dairy cows and they get a serious drop in milk because of it

Not a primary ketosis in the same way that dairy cows do.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant